POWER ROOT BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): PWROOT (7237)

1.48 - 1.49

10 people like this.

2,316 comment(s). Last comment by hw0706 15 hours ago

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 00:25 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, its goreng time than fundamental talk

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 00:30 | Report Abuse

i'd like to know what is wrong with this stocks' fundamentals. can you enlighten me?

as far as i can tell, seems like a growing profitable company, focused on one business (simplicity - which i like). as a result, its price is appreciating.

with a distinct lack of decent counters on bursa, i like this bright spot.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 00:37 | Report Abuse

in addition, if you're a smart investor, you'll note, certain sectors are more rewarding to invest in, than others. certain sectors, like plantations (two or three), fmcg/consumer, financials and packaging trade at higher multiples and attract much more of a following.

power root is smack-bang in the middle of consumer/fmcg, in particular halal coffee beverages. awesome. and its not a mixture of different businesses, therefore lacking the unnecessary complexity in trying to decipher what is going on.

one will should also be aware of the stronger USD, vs weaker commodities. in particular, coffee has been hammered over the last 12 - 18 months.

http://www.investing.com/commodities/us-coffee-c-streaming-chart

which strangely is around the same time the rally in oldtown and power root began...

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 13:26 | Report Abuse

there will be a pullback. but maybe not a major one. this stock is easy to trade because it is making very clear consistent horizontal support and resistance lines (on a technical chart). support is currently 2.10, then 1.90.

going on the "gap" up in the KLCI the day after elections, there has to be a pullback to close this "hole" in the chart (you can see this only on a candlestick chart, not line graph). just have an order queued at 1.88 (although it may not test this level again). You can set it for up to 2 weeks on CIMB itrade (which i use, and recommend).

i'm waiting to buy more time.com and harta

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 13:41 | Report Abuse

Harta not expensive?

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 13:49 | Report Abuse

good things are never on sale. never cheap. only time you will find this stock cheap again is the next stock market crash in 3-5 years.

in addition, these excellent companies like Digi, Harta, Dutch Lady etc is like trying to find diamonds in africa or oil in deepwater. very rare and very hard to find. on bursa generally speaking. every uncle and auntie with a sundry shop thinks they can list, therefore we have a plethora of mediocre, poor and fraudulent companies on the exchange with no incentive to clean it up. i don't like that at all.

which brings me back to why i believe harta, time.com, public bank etc will continue to go higher in a bull market, because there is no other viable alternative for fund managers to park their money. do you think for a minute they are buying MAS or dare-i-say KNM??

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 14:01 | Report Abuse

give a big "like" on your comment on Harta. after holding harta for 2.5year, I just sold it not long ago, Knowing that Harta will have capacity problem from this sept13 til sept14. their margin will drop without much sales increase. and at this time, look at Supermax nitrile volume increase, by this year end is almost 85% of hartalega total. I think harta price is fully valued at this time until NGC top up their volume. recent price hike simply caused by epf.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 14:10 | Report Abuse

thanks. actually thank Harta management for their excellent execution and respect for minority shareholders (who can put a price on that).

but taking a "big picture" look around, it seems that Europe is finally waking up to the folly of austerity, and the US has finally turned a corner. what this generally means is high, highs globally (i'm hoping), punctuated by minor "crashes" along the way.

i think the penny dropped, when i realized that the cyprus fiasco barely registered on the markets. it really gave us an indication of how bullish the momentum currently is. now is the time for buying. not selling. as far as i'm concerned.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 14:15 | Report Abuse

Hartalega has a great and visionary team. I just met up one of their manufacturing key personnel last week. You can rest assured that they are capable of executing the huge NGC project.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 14:16 | Report Abuse

the only think thats going to derail this is 'black swan' events like a major attack somewhere, general strike or rioting in kuala lumpur. and i can't predict or plan for that, except to have some cash handy and supplies under the stairs...

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 14:22 | Report Abuse

don't mind to share which stocks are in watch list?

rxo2626

110 posts

Posted by rxo2626 > 2013-06-06 14:38 | Report Abuse

wituu duluuu...sekarang orang panggil Walicafe...

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 16:37 | Report Abuse

Currently watching (some from Felicity's blog - Serious Investing);

Tasek - We all know how much Malaysians love cement, right?
Lafarge Cement - ditto
Aeon - We all know how much Malaysians love shopping, right?
Aeon Credit - We all know how much Malaysians love credit, right?
Allianz
Public Bank
Tune Insurance
Alliance Financial
Axis REIT
MBM Resources - Hino & Perodua
Diabochi - We all know how much rubbish lies around everywhere, right?
Adv Packaging - ditto
Apollo Foods - We all know how much Malaysians love sweets right?
Hup Seng - I like cream crackers
Oldtown - I like coffee
Johore Tin - We all know how much Malaysians love condensed milk & biscuits, right?
Tambun - Affordable housing is important now and in future
Hua Yang - ditto

(Unusual - interesting companies)
Formosa Prosonic - I like car audio & hi-fi - Kenwood/JVC - DY ~9% - revenue almost 10x market cap - ridiculous!
Classic Scenic - Small cap - Picture frames? - high DY
Latitude Tree - Small cap - Play on US housing recovery

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-06 16:55 | Report Abuse

strong list!

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-06 19:53 | Report Abuse

Oh. how could i forget...

Carslberg - I love beer!
GAB - who doesn't love Heineken and Guinness
Wing Tai - Uniqlo, Top shop, Pumpkin Patch etc.... and Property. (I usually don't like unrelated business, but i make an exception in this case)

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-07 02:30 | Report Abuse

of course my comments are for humour only. according to analysis i believe they are well run, decent, dividend paying companies to partner with.

Posted by danielttoob > 2013-06-08 00:08 | Report Abuse

Well up...keep it on

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-09 12:00 | Report Abuse

Arv18, what u think of this counter, can touch RM3/-? Tq.

ncm6116

37 posts

Posted by ncm6116 > 2013-06-10 13:07 | Report Abuse

for me shariah only..gogo poweroot...touch the sky n don't drop :-)

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-10 18:17 | Report Abuse

As long as there is no major global Terror event, or Riots in KL, this should be NO PROBLEM-O (my personal opinion - i am no market magician, so don't come crying to me). my entry is lower. Please, PLEASE do you OWN research!

@ncm6116 i respect your Syariah only decision. power to you, sir!

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-10 18:20 | Report Abuse

Remember that this company is planning to pay dividends in the form of MORE stock. I don't know if they are going to cancel Treasury shares to do this or what, so this may be dilutive.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-12 18:39 | Report Abuse

Pwroot profit taking, hope tomorrow will go up........................lah!

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-12 21:53 | Report Abuse

So far. LOVING the ride. Feels like I'm dating 5 MAS air stewardesses at the SAME TIME! Hahahahahaha.

Jumbo2

119 posts

Posted by Jumbo2 > 2013-06-12 21:57 | Report Abuse

Jumbo root very large, power root enough for performance?,...

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-12 22:04 | Report Abuse

Tongkat Ali 4 me ..... Kicap Fatimah 4 her :) why not maaaa ?

Surin

1,082 posts

Posted by Surin > 2013-06-13 10:42 | Report Abuse

Going down now? What happens?

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-15 13:28 | Report Abuse

Why DRP, not right issue?

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-15 13:32 | Report Abuse

Fat Cat Tim Buddy, u bought alot of CSL to goreng to RM5.?

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-15 13:43 | Report Abuse

DRP is offer to u from percentage of ur dividend at a certain price which they will determine nomally about 10 per cent below market price. It's good for the company as well as the shareholders . The company can accumulate cheap capital for future expansion n the shareholders can buy its shares at a cheaper price.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-15 14:47 | Report Abuse

Fat Cat TimBuddy, i don't think u r so stupid as that to buy so so so .....much shares in CSL n ..............DON'T BELIEVED is my answer!

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-16 08:00 | Report Abuse

Fat Cat Tim Buddy, it's just like the song ONE THOUSAND MILLION SMILES.

Adam_Q

60 posts

Posted by Adam_Q > 2013-06-16 08:28 | Report Abuse

Fat- TP for CSL RM 5, smartag RM 1.8? how u get it?

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-19 17:05 | Report Abuse

I think Fat Cat Tim no longer interested in this counter. Didn't hear from him for quite sometimes.

ncm6116

37 posts

Posted by ncm6116 > 2013-06-20 11:11 | Report Abuse

what the long term TP for this counter? can reach 3.00 in 3 month?

Posted by screwdriver > 2013-06-23 20:40 | Report Abuse

whats the view on this counter currently? thx for sharing =)

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-26 20:22 | Report Abuse

I think next month there may be news regarding the final dividend payment n hope it'll be a good news. Nomally very year the announcement will be made some where in the 2 half month of July. I hope I'm right.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-26 20:24 | Report Abuse

its really holding up strong. i'm a bit conflicted. i wouldn't mind if it dropped another 20c to be honest. but at the same time I'm happy it is holding up. so confused.

Posted by screwdriver > 2013-06-26 20:48 | Report Abuse

what's the likelihood it would continue it's uptrend by now? thx =D

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-26 21:34 | Report Abuse

not sure. anything can happen. market isn't in the best of shape. we're heading into that choppy part of the year. anyways, 2Q results will be out soon. discussions about dividend payments will start. we'll only get a clearer picture then.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2013-06-28 13:57 | Report Abuse

Group began
development of the 3 acre land purchased in August
2011 through its subsidiary, Power Root Nnergy Sdn.
Bhd. The 3 acre land is located at Taman Bukit Dahlia,
Pasir Gudang, Johor Bahru and the development
project is called 1st Avenue consisting of 64 shop lots,
comprising of 21 shop lots (Phase 1) and 43 shop lots
(Phase 2). Phase 1, which is expected to be completed
by third quarter FYE 2014 was fully sold out and 60%
of the shop lots in Phase 2 have been sold todate. The
Group expects the development project to contribute
positively to the financial results of the coming financial
years in 2014 and 2015.
INDUSTRY OUTLOOK

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-28 17:39 | Report Abuse

It's a good news as the value of shop houses in J.B. is very high n the company can make good profit. Medium n long term investment are very good n if v can keep the shares until 2014 onwards. The shop houses are almost sold off even this is the company's first project if I'm not mistaken. The TRUST is there!

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-06-28 18:16 | Report Abuse

In any company/business if there's TRUST between the directors n the shareholders/investors the company will always be sucessful n progress to make good business n profit. This is what i think of this company. This is my opinion only.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-01 17:34 | Report Abuse

Pwroot has a lot of reserve n can effort to give a1 for 1 bonus share to reward their shareholders who have all along supported the company n the directors.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-01 17:38 | Report Abuse

I hope they (directors) r that kind!

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-01 17:54 | Report Abuse

There has been no payout for property sold earlier...... And no dividend given for past 6 months..... And giving bonus 1 : 1 juz dilutes shares.
It appears to be doing well but no money to shareholders unlike shipowners! Pay 4x a year div.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-03 08:01 | Report Abuse

Abudance, I think the profit from sales of shop houses will go into the 2014 account n accumulate now for investment is good. This is my opinion only.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-10 20:19 | Report Abuse

Arv18, what do u think of the new TP for this counter? The share price has not been stead lately.....up n down, up n down!

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-10 20:24 | Report Abuse

forget about the TP. it changes from time to time, its the market determines the price, however, the value is yours to interpret and calculate. cheers

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-10 20:38 | Report Abuse

Ipomember, as the price of this counter has been dropping lately do u think it's a right time to collect/buy?

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2013-07-11 07:45 | Report Abuse

Ipomember, off course buying at own risk. Just an opinion from u. Tq.