POWER ROOT BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): PWROOT (7237)

1.48 - 1.49

10 people like this.

2,316 comment(s). Last comment by hw0706 13 hours ago

William

412 posts

Posted by William > 2014-01-08 12:07 | Report Abuse

just unloaded all... take some profit 1st

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-01-08 12:33 | Report Abuse

got volume also

Posted by Derreck Lim Kar Weng > 2014-01-08 12:39 | Report Abuse

power come d nice nice =D hope closing also this high

eu7985

1,086 posts

Posted by eu7985 > 2014-01-09 00:23 | Report Abuse

Sell too early, sell all 2.08, but qty on hand not much, only 6000 unit.

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-01-09 00:33 | Report Abuse

hehee ... Ah Huat white coffee ,,, Huat aar !

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-09 09:38 | Report Abuse

Guys, past 3 weeks, volume have gone up, its about time for the 3rd Q report as well, hang on for a while, major shareholders have bought more, with price increasing, they own more than 50% so we hope some good news will come, when they reward themselves, we have ours

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-01-09 11:58 | Report Abuse

all div only declared in 3H. so got to wait

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-01-10 01:23 | Report Abuse

today not bad

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-20 15:50 | Report Abuse

Does anyone have any info on its Q3 performance? Thx

fitfit

97 posts

Posted by fitfit > 2014-01-21 13:14 | Report Abuse

Ah Huat white coffee, 2014 Huat !

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-01-21 13:16 | Report Abuse

Firebird2, if you are asking about Q3, then you can go up to "Disclosure" icon and the quarterly reports are all there. If you are asking about Q4, my guess is next month.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-21 13:26 | Report Abuse

Their financial year end in Feb. So far only 2Q has been reported. Financial quarter May, August, the next one is Nov, which they will announced by End Jan, which is end of this month. The final 4Q will be Feb14 which would be announced in May14. Thanks AK

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-21 13:31 | Report Abuse

AK, possible someone knew the results beforehand and buying ahead? Good news? Lets huat tog

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-01-21 13:35 | Report Abuse

Anything is possible. But be careful of market sentiments.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-21 13:45 | Report Abuse

Right, anything is possible, just we be careful while we huat

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 00:46 | Report Abuse

quarterly result coming up soon in next week, could be 30Jan, its CNY eve.I am worrying Zhulian Part2 may replay in ah huat because the similarity 1) Malay market & key export market in turmoil..Egypt vs Thailand. any comment from all the sifu? I wish to have a peaceful CNY..

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 00:57 | Report Abuse

hello vin vin..still here with pwroot or cabut?

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-01-26 01:20 | Report Abuse

kiikikii 。。。 阿 发 白 咖 啡 ,喝 了 一 杯 又 一 杯 , 一 杯 再 来 一 杯 。

发 阿 ! cheers

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-26 09:25 | Report Abuse

Hi Jimstock, nice to hear from again.............still holding very tight not even 1 lot missing n still waiting for RM3.00. How about u...........still holding?

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 22:41 | Report Abuse

Hi vin vin, besides pwroot, not many good stock around which suit to my tast

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 22:41 | Report Abuse

taste, so continue to keep lah

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 22:45 | Report Abuse

some consumer stock already show weakness of the market, latest spritzer report, profit drops 1/3. Lets wait and see our ah huat performance next week.

26,534 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-01-26 23:04 | Report Abuse

power root drink is non-essential drink, so ppl will cut spending on non-essential stuff when cost of living rise.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-26 23:08 | Report Abuse

you may be right, this is my major concern as well for pwroot..hoping for their property segment contribution for this quarter..

keanpoh

91 posts

Posted by keanpoh > 2014-01-27 14:01 | Report Abuse

I am expecting an exciting quarterly report from Power Root.

Unlike Spritzer, Power Root's product is coffee based and everyone knows coffee is addictive. People are less likely to give up coffee than bottled mineral water. As long as the company is able to differentiate itself from its competitors (more and more players entering the instant coffee market), the company should continue to do well. The product differentiation can be done through advertising to create brand awareness which I can see the management team has done well in this regard judging from the Huat Ah! Huat Ah! Huat! campaign which includes the introduction of a Chinese New Year movie starring local star Ah Niu (although I have a feeling the movie move is a little bit overdone. Well, we'll see how effective is this move as the movie will debut the local theatres starting 6 Feb 2014).

Another factor I like about Power Root is its global footprint. The company is exporting its products to more countries than Old Town White Coffee. With expanding global footprint, it is expected to contribute to continuous top line growth for the company. However, this will also depends on how well its product is accepted by foreign markets. I like its position as the top brand in the instant coffee business in UAE and with this, I believe the management is able to replicate its success to the other foreign markets as well. So, I will pay attention to oversea sales growth in the coming quarter earnings release.

Another thing to look for in companies like Power Root is its ability to continuously innovate. Operating in such low barrier to entry market (plenty of competitors), the company has to keep coming out with new product offerings (new taste and new product line). I pay attention to R&D spending and am looking for considerable amount being spent into this area.

So essentially, for the company to be more valuable (increasing stock price), Power Root has to:
1. Continuously expand its global foot print
2. Spend on product differentiation (advertising)
3. Keep innovating for new taste, new product offerings.
4. Maintain or even improve its profit margin while doing the above 3 items.

Looking at the past results, I am confident that the management team at Power Root is able to achieve these and continue to excel.

Oh, I forgot to mention, the company pays good dividend and has a strong balance sheet too.

I look forward to the coming quarterly earnings release.

Note: I have a position in the stock.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-27 14:07 | Report Abuse

Keanpoh, a very good write up, Thx for sharing.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-28 07:22 | Report Abuse

The quarterly reports will be out any time now not necessarily on 30/01/2014 n let us hope for a better results..........huat ah ..........

RedJacket

30 posts

Posted by RedJacket > 2014-01-28 17:08 | Report Abuse

Yeah, quarterly results would be out either tmr or Thursday.
I think PWROOT is a good company to just buy and keep.
Should be good for the next 2-3 years at least and I am targeting rough rough RM4.00-5.00 in 2-3 years time.
In my opinion, some of the key selling points for PWROOT are:

1) Assume sales to grow at 15-20% over the next few years

2) Net margins currently at 12%, though i believe its possible to grow to at least 15% over the next few years. (Note that they had net margins of 22% in 2008). Just need to cut back abit of advertising, can liao. I think their advertising spend may be abit overkill.

3) So, if 15-20% sales growth, combined with some margin improvement, looks like got alot of potential to grow earnings, maybe even 25-30% growth for the next 3 years

4) I think given the current market situation, where else can find 25-30% sustainable earnings growth (2-3 years), yet trading at just 12x next year's earnings? ROE is also in the >20%s now, and this shows efficiency in management.

5) New Ah Huat movie should be a boon for the stock in the coming weeks. Assuming the movie doesnt flop too badly.

6) Large shareholder "Felda" has been throwing PWROOT's stock, but at the same time, many of PWROOT's directors have been buyers of the stock even at this price. So, with management's vote of confidence, I am much more assured about the company's prospects.

7) Competition is not an issue--- yet. I have found that PWROOT has been avoiding competition by expanding into countries where OLDTOWN for example is in. e.g. So far, PWROOT has not expanded into China, but instead, concentrated in the middle east. Just look at their youtube arabic adverts, potential plans to set up a plant in the UAE, setting up of offices there...and you know that they are about to make a big push there.

8) Eqypt political turmoil a problem, but this was barely noticeable in the recent quarterly results. This goes to show that growth in Malaysia, and even their other export markets have been enjoying fantastic growth which more than offsets the lost of sales in egypt.

9) Also, market cap is currently approaching RM700m. Funds wont really notice this stock below the RM1b mark. but once that happens, share price might really fly!

10) PWROOT recently initiated the Dividend reinvestment program, which lets you reinvest the dividends at a 10% discount to the share price. This, coupled with a healthy 4-5% dividend yield, could rank the stock among the dividend/growth plays for consumer stocks!

BOTTOMLINE:
Regardless of near term results, I believe PWROOT to be worthy of a long term investment and expect alot of its potential to really bloom over the coming years. I have been invested in PWROOT for more than a year now, and have been accumulating even at RM2.15 recently.

It is now among only 2 of my CORE holdings in the Malaysian market which suits my criteria in terms of quality, potential, and valuation (among other criterion), and I intend to reinvest my dividends into the stock.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-28 17:18 | Report Abuse

RedJacket, very good analysis of things to come.
Thx for sharing

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-28 17:33 | Report Abuse

Tq Redjacket for a very good write up n sharing

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-28 17:42 | Report Abuse

I suppose once the supply chain network to Middle East is establish well, it will lead to more customers in and around that region. Sales will increase substantially.
Vinvin still holding to every piece of this counter?

RedJacket

30 posts

Posted by RedJacket > 2014-01-28 19:01 | Report Abuse

P/S:
Just to clarify abit,
15-20% sales growth is per annum basis
25-30% earnings growth is also per annum basis

Mind sharing how many shares you guys are holding?

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-28 19:14 | Report Abuse

Small timer here, still holding 20,000 units, sold some last year, if there is a chance to take up more I will

RedJacket

30 posts

Posted by RedJacket > 2014-01-28 19:31 | Report Abuse

20k shares is pretty good d
If i had more money, i would buy more also.. but looks like i am maxed out for now. lol

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-28 19:43 | Report Abuse

I'm still holding 60,000 units n will accumulate if it drops below RM2.00 but I prefer it to go up so that everybody....................huat ah...........

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-01-28 19:50 | Report Abuse

Red, its good to diversify to hold other counters too, so no worries. No one is sure which one moves faster. For vinvin, its good that you have them with you. Hopefully Pwroot delivers for all too

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-29 17:39 | Report Abuse

Financial report ended 30/11/2013 as follows:-http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/966887.jsp ..............not bad, slightly better than the last quarter.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-29 17:44 | Report Abuse

Sorry, slightly lesser than the last quarter but slightly better than the same quarter the year before.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-29 17:51 | Report Abuse

As a whole it's still considered quite alright not affected by Egypt's troubles.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-29 18:06 | Report Abuse

Sorry missed the word 'much' after the word 'not'

RedJacket

30 posts

Posted by RedJacket > 2014-01-29 20:30 | Report Abuse

Vinvin, if you think the results were good, then i have better news for u. lol...
Same quarter last year had some one-off gains on disposal.
Roughly, if you exclude gains on disposal, same quarter last year would give you RM7.6m in earnings.
So... ~14% earnings growth year on year.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-01-29 20:55 | Report Abuse

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1529673 Please read the above which I think will be good for Pwroot's future businesses.

RedJacket

30 posts

Posted by RedJacket > 2014-01-29 21:54 | Report Abuse

yup, already read that one.. I think its very interesting.
Their Ah Huat brand is just one year old, but it has gained alot of goodwill through advertising and marketing efforts over such a short time span.

Its good that they try the restaurant business again. this is something that they had previously tried and failed with their Alicafe counterpart brand.
In anycase, its just an associate business now (20% ownership), but with overriding royalties of 1.5%.
Could be big business.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-30 10:51 | Report Abuse

PWRoot- dragged lower by impairment loss
Author: Alex Lu | Publish date: Thu, 30 Jan 09:10

For QE30/11/2013, PWRoot's net profit dropped 9.5% q-o-q to RM8.7 million on the back of a 7%-increase in revenue to RM76 million. Compared to the same quarter last year, net profit was 2% higher while revenue was 8% higher. Revenue increased q-o-q due to increased local demand. The bottom-line dropped q-o-q due to impairment loss on trade receivables of RM2.9 mil from Egypt. Excluding the impairment loss (and adjusted for tax), PWRoot's net profit could be higher by 13% q-o-q or 28% y-o-y to RM10.8 million

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-30 10:52 | Report Abuse

4% dividend yield, stable and expanding business. good for long term holding.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-30 10:55 | Report Abuse

"Revenue increased q-o-q due to increased local demand". Zhulian and Spritzer blame the slow local sales for their poor performance where as pwroot is going stronger.

Jimstock

465 posts

Posted by Jimstock > 2014-01-30 10:59 | Report Abuse

pc of mind for cny ..to all the faithful ah huat supporter..happy cny and huat-ah!

anson938

1,997 posts

Posted by anson938 > 2014-01-30 15:29 | Report Abuse

Movie huat ah huat ah huat,its will showing at cinema effective on 30 Jan 2014 in singapore.

anson938

1,997 posts

Posted by anson938 > 2014-01-30 15:38 | Report Abuse

Who know when it showing in malaysia cinema?the movie Directive by Ah Niu,啊牛,發啊,發啊,發。。。。。。

anson938

1,997 posts

Posted by anson938 > 2014-01-31 01:36 | Report Abuse

The cny Ah Huat movie will showing on 06 Feb 2014 at cinema Malaysia.huat ah huat ah ,huat.......