RANHILL UTILITIES BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RANHILL (5272)

0.995 - 1.02

6 people like this.

3,558 comment(s). Last comment by RiskRover 10 hours ago

Posted by moremoneyy > 2022-01-11 14:02 | Report Abuse

Can anyone share their view on the company? not sure if this is good to hold for long term as compare to Cypark

Superb99

6,575 posts

Posted by Superb99 > 2022-01-13 14:54 | Report Abuse

ya, this is a super long term counter...lol

derekooi

22 posts

Posted by derekooi > 2022-01-14 10:31 | Report Abuse

Dont see any share buyback for now.
Do you think they will issue cash dividend instead of share dividend next round?

Posted by TronPuzzle > 2022-01-17 09:52 | Report Abuse

Good morning,
I would like to buy Ranhill shares but I can't find the platform and where to do it.
Any suggest? Thanks!

gkent2000

230 posts

Posted by gkent2000 > 2022-01-17 11:51 | Report Abuse

TronPuzzle here you go

Posted by TronPuzzle > 2022-01-17 13:59 | Report Abuse

Thanks! Gkent2000

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-01-19 10:23 | Report Abuse

This company indeed is for long term. The downtrend in share price should be mainly due to slower revision in tariff rate and lower profit for the past few year

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-01-19 10:25 | Report Abuse

Their cash flow remains healthy, so I think their dividend should remain good. But i hope the management would give out cash dividend instead

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-01-19 10:28 | Report Abuse

Actually, another potential catalyst could be the remaining project from the Rasau Water. Hopefully they will atleast get win a project given their latest acquisition.. they should have the technical expertise...

Swen11

17 posts

Posted by Swen11 > 2022-01-19 16:34 | Report Abuse

My target price is reaching soon.

BigZakar

261 posts

Posted by BigZakar > 2022-01-20 08:21 | Report Abuse

i will buy if dip below 50 cents

Swen11

17 posts

Posted by Swen11 > 2022-01-20 09:29 | Report Abuse

Emm. It is for sure it will be below 50 cents but I suggest enter at 42 cents and sell at 46 cents. Keep = gg. Don’t trust this counter in long term. For those who keep saying this counter is for long term, from rm1 until 0.05 still blindly say for long term. No eyes see. Hahaha.

Scylla

676 posts

Posted by Scylla > 2022-01-21 11:13 | Report Abuse

Drop back to 0.2 all ppl will panic sell

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-02-01 14:54 | Report Abuse

Ok lah still can get share dividend during this difficult time !

Swen11

17 posts

Posted by Swen11 > 2022-02-07 16:52 | Report Abuse

Still Ok la? Salute!!! Hahaha.

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-02-08 10:58 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Ranhill6/

Long term investors need to hold tight! i believe in their energy business

Awence

39 posts

Posted by Awence > 2022-02-10 07:55 | Report Abuse

Feel like adding more shares, is this still the good time now? Have Ranhill met their target amount of buyback yet?Thanks

Posted by khairibin44 > 2022-02-10 16:25 | Report Abuse

Recovery in utilities demand. Malaysia is progressing well into Phase 4 of National Recovery Plan (NRP), as national vaccination rate has hit an advanced stage while number of new Covid-19 cases remains under control. Demand for utilities, i.e. electricity and gas, are expected to continue its recovery trend into 2022 in tandem with the economic reopening. Furthermore, national borders are expected to be relaxed in 2022, with vaccinated travel lane (VTL) with a number of countries.

http://www.hlgs.hongleong.com.my/published/article/sZfDhuCScasA801njvoV7b7WtHntsXgfqxuwQZ9sHKordZFEqO3QMcp3uS6o6FpWquRKb7Pc_rao_S7Mv3YniA2

Awence

39 posts

Posted by Awence > 2022-02-15 15:11 | Report Abuse

Jadi orang tak tutup pili air? Khaiiribin44?

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-02-16 21:42 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9p1bS1ThwY&ab_channel=RealLifeLore

Why Indonesia is Moving Their Capital City

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-02-16 22:30 | Report Abuse

This stock will hit 1.30 after GE !

Tesla

905 posts

Posted by Tesla > 2022-02-17 14:05 | Report Abuse

politic link company, won't fly anymore unless Unmo come back in power. waste time. drop to 20 cent soon.

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-02-20 23:29 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bursa-chairman-companies-ignore-esg-will-be-deprived-equity-debt-financing

Companies that choose to ignore sustainability/environmental, social and governance (ESG) considerations in their business will not be sustainable as they will be deprived of both equity and debt financing to fund their projects.

According to Bursa Malaysia chairman, Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar (pictured), these companies will have to pay a higher insurance premium to underwrite some of their risks and will have difficulty in recruiting talents to drive their business.

Thankfully Ranhill business nature revolves around ESG

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-02-21 22:54 | Report Abuse

This is no.1 recovery stock !

gkent2000

230 posts

Posted by gkent2000 > 2022-02-23 11:52 | Report Abuse

Tesla : politic link company, won't fly anymore unless Unmo come back in power.

kysiow

Posted by kysiow > 2022-02-26 14:35 | Report Abuse

Who can explian why this company net profit increase, but net profit to ordinary share holders become lesser and lesser? They paid the most of the profit to who?

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-02-26 23:19 | Report Abuse

Previously if 80 % subsidary Ranhill SAJ (johor water treatment and suply) NP 20 million the NP to SH will be 16 million and 4 million to non controlling interest.

So Q4 result if NP of 16 million to non controlling interest is from SAJ then SAJ must has make NP of 80 million and NP to SH should be 64 million

So I really cannot understand why Q4 NP 22 million but NP to SH only 5.7 million.

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-02-27 00:04 | Report Abuse

Or one possibility is wholly owned companies make a loss of 58 million.
Hence NP (80-58)=22 million NP to non controlling interest 16 million. Hence NP to SH balance (22-16)= 6 million.

Note:
Ranhill SAJ 8O% holding
Ranhil powertron I 60% holding
Ranhil powertron II 80% holding

The question which wholly owned companies made a loss of 58 million?

kysiow

Posted by kysiow > 2022-02-27 00:26 | Report Abuse

So who can ask ranhill this question, why non controlling interest can get more profit than ordinary share holders?How they calculated it?

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-02-28 17:27 | Report Abuse

Already send questions to Ranhill IR. Waiting for the reply.

Swen11

17 posts

Posted by Swen11 > 2022-03-01 15:23 | Report Abuse

Been waiting 0.042 for a month, should be coming soon. Grab it at 0.42 and sell it at 0.48. Easy money 15%.

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-03-16 08:51 | Report Abuse

Dear Ranhill IR Mr. Choo Chee Keen
ir.info@ranhill.com.my

My name is Lee Soon Sheng. I am a shareholder of Ranhill and would like to seek an answerp from Ranhill’s BOD/Management of the following.
I refer to Ranhill quarterly financial report:
Q1: Net Profit; RM 13,069,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 7,298,000 (55.84%)
Q2: Net Profit; RM 13,091,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 9,051,000 (69.14%)
Q3: Net Profit; RM 17,941,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 8,521,000 (47.49%)
Q4: Net Profit; RM 21,995,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 5,710,000 (25.96%)

The Net profit to shareholder is deteriorating
My Question:
Q4 Net profit to non-controlling interests: RM 16,285,000.
If assume the non-controlling interest are Ranhill 80% subsidiary companies that men NP of these subsidiary company is RM 81,425,000 and NP to Ranhil is RM 65,140,000
Since the NP of the group is RM 21,995,000 hence some wholly owned companies of Ranhill is making loss of (81,425,000 – 21,995, 000) = (RM 59,430,000) thus NP to shareholder (65,140,000-59,430,000) = RM 5,710,000
Question 1: Which wholly owned companies make a loss of RM 59,430,000 in Q4?
Question 2: What are Ranhill management actions moving forward to reduce loss of these wholly owned companies?

Your prompt reply will be appreciated.

Best Regards
Lee Soon Sheng

Dear Lee Soon Sheng,

First of all, thank you for your continuous support to Ranhill as a shareholder and for taking the time to write to us.

Secondly, pertaining your inquiries, kindly find below our responses:

Q1: Which wholly owned companies make a loss of RM59,430,000 in Q4?
A1: The low Profit After Tax And Non Controlling Interests (PATANCI) & high percentage of Non Controlling Interests (NCI) for Q4 & YTD were due to HQ overhead (Q4: RM13.7m, YTD: RM28.1m) and Corporate sukuk interest expenses (Q4: RM9.2m, YTD: RM36.3m) which was not shared by NCI. The NCI of RM35.5m consists of profits to NCI from Ranhill SAJ, Power division subsidiaries and Ranhill Worley Sdn Bhd whilst our shares will be approximately RM94+m (from similar subsidiaries) for the year deducting the Corporate sukuk interest (RM36m) & HQ expenses (RM28m), resulting in a PATANCI of approximately RM30m.

Q2: What are Ranhill management actions moving forward to reduce loss of these wholly owned companies?
A2: Ranhill Management has been constantly initiating cost control measures to reduce cost across the group whilst exploring expansion opportunities to improve profitability.

We hope we addressed your concern accordingly.

Warm regards,
Investor Relations
Ranhill Utilities Berhad

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-03-16 08:52 | Report Abuse

Dear Ranhill IR Mr. Choo Chee Keen
ir.info@ranhill.com.my

Thank you for your prompt reply. May I ask further what the equity holding % is of?
If I am not mistaken Ranhill SAJ is 80% subsidiary, Power division is also 80% subsidiary and Worley Sdn Bhd I am not sure of % holding.

Hence if we assume 80% equity holding and with NCI net profit of RM 35.5 million then the net profit of these subsidiary companies is RM (35.5/0.2) = RM 177.5 million and 80% Ranhill shares of net profit will be RM 142 million and not RM94+ as stated.

Your clarification will be appreciated.

Best Regards
Lee Soon Sheng

Dear Lee Soon Sheng,

Thank you for your follow-up inquiry. We shall provide the necessary response in due course.

Kind regards,
Investor Relations
Ranhill Utilities Berhad

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-03-16 11:25 | Report Abuse

very good question sslee. Hopefully the management would revert again soon

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-03-21 15:20 | Report Abuse

Dear Lee Soon Sheng,

As requested, the breakdown details of our equity holding as follows:

Ranhill Power I 60%

Ranhill Power II 80%

Ranhill Powe O&M I 60%

Ranhill Powe O&M II 80%

Ranhill SAJ 80%

Ranhill Bumi Persada 70%

Ranhill Worley Sdn Bhd 51%

Hope this clarifies. Thank you kindly.

Warm regards,

Investor Relations

Ranhill Utilities Berhad

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-03-24 16:32 | Report Abuse

So what was your conclusion sslee? kind to share your thoughts?

gkent2000

230 posts

Posted by gkent2000 > 2022-04-06 12:01 | Report Abuse

Rainhill is undervalued ?

gkent2000

230 posts

Posted by gkent2000 > 2022-04-06 12:02 | Report Abuse

Is this the best time start to pick up ?

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-04-06 12:58 | Report Abuse

Sorry for the late reply @winsenlim68 as I just saw your comment.
I already pare down my holding in Ranhill and move to plantation stocks that give good dividend.

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-04-06 14:53 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Ranhill7/
Just wrote another piece on the company. HODL!!!!!

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-04-06 14:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sslee for your reply. I think I'll still keep for now

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-04-11 16:06 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2022/04/06/moody039s-malaysia-to-record-6-economic-growth-in-2022

With the reopening of international borders, the influx of tourists would provide some boost in terms of consumption

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-04-23 15:46 | Report Abuse

As oil price remain elevated, I believe this would present opportunities for Ranhill engineering segment. Upstream increases capex which also means more works/maintenance jobs

firehawk

4,769 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2022-04-23 20:23 | Report Abuse

First of all, thank Sslee for his afford writing to the co.

Q1: Net Profit; RM 13,069,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 7,298,000 (55.84%)
Q2: Net Profit; RM 13,091,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 9,051,000 (69.14%)
Q3: Net Profit; RM 17,941,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 8,521,000 (47.49%)
Q4: Net Profit; RM 21,995,000: Net profit to shareholder: RM 5,710,000 (25.96%)

HQ overhead (Q4: RM13.7m, YTD: RM28.1m) and
Corporate sukuk interest expenses (Q4: RM9.2m, YTD: RM36.3m)

Analysis,
HQ overhead, Q4: RM13.7m, the other 3Q= 28.1m-13.7 = 14.4m (Avg = 4.8m per Q, however, from the NP and NP to shareholder, is believed that Q3 weighted heavier than the first 2Q. HQ overhead jumped drastically in Q3 and Q4.)

In short, for Q4, HQ overhead + interest expenses = 22.9m, while the profit attributed to shareholder merely 5.71m (1.356% over revenue 421.1m)

firehawk

4,769 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2022-04-23 20:37 | Report Abuse

From Q4 report,
The profit attributable to ordinary equity holder of the parent for the current quarter decreased by RM2.8 million from a profit of RM8.5 million in quarter 3 FY2021 to a profit of RM5.7 million mainly due to donation and corporate social responsibility works of approximately RM1.5m million and stamp duties of RM0.5 million.

Posted by infoSeek > 2022-04-29 14:11 | Report Abuse

rgds to the above info. seems ok .

Full year 2021 vs 2020 -
Revenue up by 3.65% ;
Net Worth up by 66.28% ;
Share Dilution up by 20.78%

hope the recent acquisition starting to bear fruit ...

stock price now = ~$0.50
for 2021 ( DPS 2.24 cents ) Dividend Return ~4.4%
for 2020 ( DPS 3.95 cents ) Dividend Return ~7.7%
for 2019 ( DPS 5.00 cents ) Dividend Return ~10%

data from i3investor

Posted by winsenlim68 > 2022-05-05 12:26 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Ranhill8/

Like any other recovery play, I trust Ranhill may still have some catalyst up their sleeve