GDB HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): GDB (0198)

0.285 - 0.295

1,841 comment(s). Last comment by ConstructionMinion 3 days ago

Posted by Simnchong > 2020-12-31 18:17 | Report Abuse

Hi William, any announcement for director dispose off Market?

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-01 12:07 | Report Abuse

Monday construction gg. Hsr cancelled

shrobin

233 posts

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-03 13:36 | Report Abuse

When to Sell Stocks

Unlike traders who follow charts to make buy and sell decisions, value investors, after buying shares, seldom sell in the short-term. This is especially true for those following quality investing; they invest in great and sustainable businesses for the long run to let compounding does it magic, and hardly sell their shares as it is not easy to find another quality stock to replace it for the long haul.

One of the biggest mistakes or wrong reason to sell a stock is boredom. Don’t be a bumble bee buzzing around from one position to the next. However, what is bought must eventually be sold.

Those people relying on charts use technical signals to make market timing on selling. Some of these signals include a loss of momentum, reaching an overbought state basing on relative strength indicator, or suffering a breakdown on the stock chart. Price targets are set based on price ceilings that the market has defined in the past. However, few chartists have been successful in consistently selling at the right timing following those technical sell signals.

For value investors, buying a stock at the right price is vital, as your return depends on the price you pay. However, without selling, your gain is only a number and you won’t realize the “real” profits. In fact, for most stocks, if you don't sell at the appropriate time, the benefits of proper buying disappear.
There are a few good reasons to sell a stock.

A stock should be sold to realize profit if the share price has risen rapidly above its perceived intrinsic value. This is especially true for cyclical stocks which have risen too much in price during their up cycles. If we don’t sell at their high prices, we may not see the profit later when the down cycle comes as the good time may not be sustainable. The question is, by how much above? For this, I will present my opinion in a coming article.

A stock should also be sold if we discover that we have made a serious mistake in our investment thesis for the stock. We have discovered some cockroaches hiding in the closet. We sell even though we have made a loss in the stock.

We should also sell the stock if later, there is a fundamental change for the worse of the business, something we did not see or anticipated in our previous analysis. In other words, the story has changed. This doesn’t mean we should sell the stock due to the drop of its stock price or reduced company’s earnings in a quarter or two, whereas the long-term fundamentals have not changed.

I often sell a stock when I sense signs of management incompetence or unethical and untrustworthy behaviour. Honesty and credibility of the management is very important, for if they are not, not matter how good is the business and how much the company will earn, as a minority shareholder, they won’t share the fruits of success of the company with us.

As a retail investor, our investment capitals are limited. If we have found a better stock which may provide better return, we may have to sell the existing stock for some proceeds to invest in the better stock with better future. It is the opportunity cost we are weighing on.

In a bull market when stock price goes up a lot and we find that we now have too many stocks in our asset class, we may need to sell some stocks to re-balance our asset allocation as a good practice.

Of course, sometimes we may need money such as starting a business or buying a home, hopefully not for an expensive holiday overseas, we may have to sell the stocks we have.

By KC Chong

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-03 17:25 | Report Abuse

Thank shrobin :)

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-03 18:39 | Report Abuse

Welcome GENER.....

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-03 23:32 | Report Abuse

Hsr canceled, so time to sell

spectre007

1,406 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2021-01-04 00:46 | Report Abuse

What has Gdb got to do with HSR? What nonsense is this?

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-04 07:46 |

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-04 11:10 | Report Abuse

all still alive ???

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-04 11:27 | Report Abuse

Just Bought Another 3000

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-04 12:31 |

M3T0123

30 posts

Posted by M3T0123 > 2021-01-04 12:44 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr. Aaron, would you mind to share what's share are you holding now?or 100% cash?thx

Posted by makemesomemoney > 2021-01-04 16:41 | Report Abuse

@aaron, alive and making loads thanks to GDB :)

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-04 19:35 | Report Abuse

Great. Close 0.94...

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-06 16:32 | Report Abuse

好机会再上船了。

Posted by newinvestoronboard > 2021-01-07 12:46 | Report Abuse

what is the news causing the massive selling?

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-07 15:20 | Report Abuse

疫情+政局混乱+各种项目取消

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-08 09:19 | Report Abuse

还有short sell

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2021-01-08 17:41 | Report Abuse

Ok if drop 70cents. i may consider to top up :P

IbnuShaari

390 posts

Posted by IbnuShaari > 2021-01-08 20:25 | Report Abuse

I hv already started buying back. Will accumulate more if further down.

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-09 08:37 | Report Abuse

Will rebound if mco

EarnAmeal

135 posts

Posted by EarnAmeal > 2021-01-09 17:14 | Report Abuse

Check the price during MCO, RM0.40 is waiting

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2021-01-11 08:11 | Report Abuse

if the fundamental of the company remain the same and the price is RM0.40. I will definitely topup

IbnuShaari

390 posts

Posted by IbnuShaari > 2021-01-12 10:39 | Report Abuse

if GDB goes back to 0.40c, the market considered to crash!

tok_jeff

275 posts

Posted by tok_jeff > 2021-01-13 15:34 | Report Abuse

haish

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-13 16:50 | Report Abuse

lai balik

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-13 16:51 | Report Abuse

the stockist with capital to push on fundamental company

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-13 20:17 | Report Abuse

疫情不断,增加了建筑成本了。但是整体还是良好的。

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-14 11:34 | Report Abuse

涨回0.950了。。。很多人Miss The Boat

shrobin

233 posts

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-18 09:36 | Report Abuse

*RHB Morning Cuppa*

*GDB Holdings (GDB MK, NOT RATED, FV: MYR1.50)*
_Quality Contractor For Quality Developers_
Trading Idea
MYR1.50 FV based on 10x P/E. We like GDB Holdings for its strong track record in the high-rise construction segment and solid balance sheet. The company’s current construction projects are mostly mid- to high-end property projects by many reputable developers in the market, and the timely payments by these clients have ensured its healthy cash flow. With the latest contract win of MYR1.25bn, we expect earnings to triple in FY21F, as construction works are allowed to continue under MCO 2.0. FY21F dividend yield is attractive at c.6%.

Disclaimer: This message is for information purposes only. Reproduction or dissemination to third party is prohibited. No representation or warranty (express or implied) is given as to the accuracy or completeness of the information nor shall it be construed as an offer/solicitation or recommendation to buy/sell any stocks. Investors should make their own informed decisions by consulting your own independent adviser(s) before investing. We accept no responsibility or liability for loss or damage that may arise from the reliance of this message. For the full information regarding the stocks mentioned herein please refer to the relevant websites

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2021-01-18 18:25 | Report Abuse

Awesome.

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-18 22:23 | Report Abuse

Indeed very hands on and well managed construction company with timely and quality delivery for those developers willing to pay some extra premium

JaydenF

32 posts

Posted by JaydenF > 2021-01-18 23:19 | Report Abuse

TP RM3

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-21 16:24 | Report Abuse

Tp 0.8

Posted by chengcheekaan > 2021-01-22 16:33 | Report Abuse

Aaron, you're TP is damn accurate. I learn a lot from you sifu

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2021-01-22 17:04 | Report Abuse

Good closing. Target price achieved.

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-22 20:01 | Report Abuse

Thanks chengcheekaan

Posted by superlucky > 2021-01-22 21:41 | Report Abuse

gdb board of directors.....look at their previous relationship w pavilion, possible get slices of pizza?

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-22 22:23 | Report Abuse

Steady stock made so much in many round

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-23 05:52 | Report Abuse

Oxley Tower, an interesting project indeed.....

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2021-01-23 08:49 | Report Abuse

superlucky, mind to share what kind of relations pavilion has with GDB board of directors?

GENER

224 posts

Posted by GENER > 2021-01-23 15:36 | Report Abuse

they are brother. i think this project will goto GDB.

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-23 15:37 |

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-23 20:00 | Report Abuse

Buy and sale fr .38 till now and never let down till now

Dcmh

953 posts

Posted by Dcmh > 2021-01-23 20:01 | Report Abuse

Should be at par with ijm or suncon

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-24 06:41 | Report Abuse

Good growth, good financial management and excellent project execution are the hallmarks of GDB.......

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-26 12:21 | Report Abuse

may be construction need to stop work since they contribute many of the cluster ...

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-27 19:25 | Report Abuse

Strong gg ?

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2021-01-31 10:47 | Report Abuse

The following is an extract I have taken out from some of my readings. I have read such comments many times but I wonder how many of us can really do this! This include myself that sometime do the silly thing.

1) We will never know when exactly a stock will shoot up or reach that inflection point we have been waiting for.
All we can do is position ourselves in stocks that we find of value – be it growth, turnaround, or cyclical companies.
2) After we buy a particular stock, it may go down further, which is okay as long as we are eventually right in our thesis for the company, we will make a profit.
Stocks do not go on a straight line up.
Truly, having a long-term time horizon is one of the key competitive advantages any investor could ever have.
Remember, we are owning a stake in a business, so we should act like a business owner – not a stock trader.