Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-04 07:26 | Report Abuse

Every year at the beginning of the year, investment banks would recommend some stocks which they think would out-perform the market. Maybank, Public Bank, CIMB, TM, Tenaga, Digi, Axiata, Sime, AirAsia etc, the same ones are always on the lists. Nothing wrong with the recommendations as most of them would do well I believe. But the problems of these recommendations are: 1. Almost every investment bank is recommending the same companies, is there any chance that they would earn extra-ordinary return as everyone is chasing the same stocks? 2. Nearly all funds, local or foreign own them because of the liquidity which is good. But if every fund has to own them, won’t the price been chased up long ago to its intrinsic value? 3. Is there any conflict of interest with the investment banks who have funds holding these stocks, or have business dealing with the companies recommending these stocks? 4. Most companies recommended are big capitalized companies. What is the potential of high growth in order to achieve high return in the future? 5. These stocks are well known by everybody in the market, the institutions and retail players. What is the chance that they are selling at bargain price, and hence the chance of high return? Do you have any hidden gem which is tucked in some where undiscovered, unloved and institutional investors have no mandate or interest to buy them for the time being, and selling at bargain price. The chance to earn 50% return a year, a double bagger, five baggers or even ten baggers. An ugly duckling which would turn to a beautiful swan in the near future? Which one and why?

22 people like this.

1,225 comment(s). Last comment by chang0509 2014-06-06 13:43

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-07-23 14:36 | Report Abuse

thanks kcchongnz, scgm dividend use to be 3 sen for many yrs when the share price stuck at 40 sen level for a long time. now dividend of 5 sen is great, hopefully they can maintain the 5 sen dividend

Jaack1

56 posts

Posted by Jaack1 > 2013-07-23 15:04 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr KC Chong,

Thank you for your detailed post on MFCB.
I appreciate for your continued guidance.

Tks/Rgds
Jack

Posted by TeckChuan Lee > 2013-07-23 19:25 | Report Abuse

KC, just to reconfirm my own figures, please guide me.

regarding your MFCB post, year 2012 report
1. You got your FCF/IC = 23%. What is your IC figure?
Here is mine. I got only 19%
248251+48216+10812+69442+9158+142466-793-51950=

2. What is your capex figure for year2012?

3. Common Stock = Share capital, right?

4. How do you get the PE ratio and Share Price of previous years? By estimation? In order to get DY, Market Cap for previous years?

5. Also, what is your Ebit figure?
My Ebit is 119,885

Thank for helping,

TeckChuan

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 08:13 | Report Abuse

TeckChuan,
Excellent! One of my best students. Can I call you as a student of mine????

Now I am using the annual report of MFCB instead of initially of the unaudited report when it was first published. So my figures in the financial statement as the same as yours now.

1) Initially I disregard the "Goodwill" as part of the IC. Goodwill is something the company paid for an acquisition over and above its book value and the overpayment is recorded as "goodwill". After looking at your computation and I though about it, we should include it as it is part of money or capital spent on the acquisition. Furthermore excluding it will result a higher ROIC, which may be projecting an over optimistic view on the operating efficiencies of the company. Since we are contemplating of whether to invest in the company, it is better to be a little conservative. So a cash return (FCF/IC) of 19%, instead of my previous 23% is still good right?

I also previously ignored the long-term receivables of RM793 from the IC. So now I take your figure. But this is insignificant. Actually very few companies have long-term receivables.

So here I learn something new from you.

2) My capex is 22.8m for 2012. Should be the same as yours as now we got the same cash return above.

3)Yes, common stock, share capital are the same

4)Share price for previous years is not a fixed figure, is it? So there is a range of the price and hence the dividend yield. Some may take the average price and DY.

5)We have the same ebit. But this is arbitrary too. For example, why do we ignore the "other operating income" as part of the ebit? It could well be part of the "operating income". Many companies also consider interest income, gain in sales of PPE, etc as operating income which I think is not right. I was lazy to find out exactly what are there. And ignoring it also is a conservative approach as I also carry out DCFA using operating income, if you notice.

Well done Teck Chuan

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 08:40 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz u should stop misleading people with your investing 101 nonsense. please, stop it. it is not good

Posted by TeckChuan Lee > 2013-07-24 08:44 | Report Abuse

Thank you for your clarification KC. I supposed everyone here can call you si fu. We will have a lot more to learn from you.

Currently digesting your template still, DCF model and strategy part.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 08:45 | Report Abuse

welcome to investing 101 by kccchongnz will teach u investing but not making money??? ahahahahaha

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 08:48 | Report Abuse

SAD kcchongnz fans. market at 1805 soo good still ur sifu stocks not up ah??? LOL....u know that is what happens when u try to learn something for free online.. LOLZ

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 08:49 | Report Abuse

only a mental tipu sifu will teach losers investing 101 online for free ler... this is the results.. NO MAKING MONEY LER

datuk

4,935 posts

Posted by datuk > 2013-07-24 09:33 | Report Abuse

Steel sector is lai lioa!!!!! hidden gem !

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-24 09:49 | Report Abuse

Datuk, what kind of steel is most demanding

buybackma

790 posts

Posted by buybackma > 2013-07-24 10:02 | Report Abuse

Man of Steel ...

datuk

4,935 posts

Posted by datuk > 2013-07-24 10:09 | Report Abuse

absolutely correct...it's an iron man....but.............not iron lady hor! kikikiki

fatinvest

146 posts

Posted by fatinvest > 2013-07-24 10:15 | Report Abuse

Uncle Chong, another one chasing and barking behind your back?
Sounds like he is not happy that you are giving free lessons teaching people how to pick stocks le!
This so called newbie guy must be one of those 'sifus' making money by giving talks and all that!
You grab his potential 'students'( and money ) so he is barking at you liao!
You 倒米啊?

Posted by DrPitchard > 2013-07-24 10:31 | Report Abuse

Would like to step in, to support kcchongnz from the vicious attack of newbiestock, who is obviously a rabies infected victim.

I am a strong supporter of FA and have been investing/trading for many years now. What kcchongz is discussing here perfectly makes sense and should be the absolute fundamental when it comes to investing in equities.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 10:35 | Report Abuse

LOL

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2013-07-24 10:37 | Report Abuse

trading & investing is 2 different ball games, what you learn might not translate into real trading situations. this is what we call school of hard knocks. learn from experience and not just rely on text books.

contra plays and short term investing is different. what's important is your time frame (holding period) this makes a winner or a loser. this is my personal viewpoint. happy trading

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 10:38 | Report Abuse

support kcchongnz all u want little people. the fact is that his stocks neva go up and he is a conman that is all. ler. call me whatever u want,. this site is free for all to talk and so u can talk

lins

18 posts

Posted by lins > 2013-07-24 10:50 | Report Abuse

shaddap la newbiestock. u jealous kkchongnz got supporters even if his stock never go up is it? people want to follow this 'conman' so what can you say? and yes we are 'little people' so why are you wasting your time on us 'little people' ??you've talked enough to let everyone know and your job is done.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 10:55 | Report Abuse

fastinvest,DrPitchard (first time see your name), chlooi and others, thanks for the good words. I did no these words are sometimes soothing.

But if you have read any of the posts of this fellow who attacks me now, you would know this fellow is not a sane person. He is definitely something wrong one! Notice I have totally ignored him?

fastinvest, I 倒米啊? Do you think that he can teach to earn money? That fellow kookoo one. Don't waste time on him.

Lai lai lai, 上课了。。。。 Yes,whatever I write and answer (mostly) here is not for anyone to make money in the share market, but to learn something which may be, I said may be useful for your investing experience.

So for those who think of getting tips of what share to be fried, how much money you can make etc, this is not for you.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:03 | Report Abuse

that truth is kcchongnz stocks neva go up all tipu only. dont get defensive ler. calling names and all. dont practise double standards. i am just saying what i can see. u dont like it dont read ler.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:04 | Report Abuse

there are many people who support me too just that they dont want to get involved cos they will get harrassed as i am ler. that is all.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:13 | Report Abuse

beginer ask kcchongnz and gang for stock advice. they are really "good"

fatinvest

146 posts

Posted by fatinvest > 2013-07-24 11:14 | Report Abuse

newbie, go back to your supporters by all means.
or else we have to call kcloh liao

Posted by Chang Chiang > 2013-07-24 11:16 | Report Abuse

Dear Kc, what is ur view on Whitehorse ( code 5009 ). Is it a hidden gem worth investing? I apologise to bringing this up again, but i really would like to know ur view on it before i make any long term investment no it. It is in the tiles business that i consider not that competative in Malaysia. And the current price at 1.69 is much lower then it NAV of 2.94 . Dividend is almost 6% . My main concern is there seems to be not much interest in it and the price seems to be stucked. Pls guide me.

beginer

136 posts

Posted by beginer > 2013-07-24 11:16 | Report Abuse

Kcchongnz Can i share your hidden gems?
My email:lim111@hotmail.com.
Tq

lins

18 posts

Posted by lins > 2013-07-24 11:18 | Report Abuse

ya go back to your supporters. like you said we don't then don't read right? then you also don't like then don't come to this page .

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:22 | Report Abuse

lins are a part of the losing money gang on i3 i guess. LOL. dont be angry with me ler. its ur sifu u should be angry at ler.

lins

18 posts

Posted by lins > 2013-07-24 11:24 | Report Abuse

i am sorry but i don't buy shares because im a dealer. =]

fatinvest

146 posts

Posted by fatinvest > 2013-07-24 11:25 | Report Abuse

Ya, ya, ya newbie I lost two houses for following uncle Chong, so are you happy now ?
Stop barking here and go back to where you belong.
GO!

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-07-24 11:30 | Report Abuse

Extreme retard inc ceo, newbiestock is back to spread down right moron comments which is trash to the core, shoo...shoo...go back to the dog house and suck on the brown stuff that u create

pari57

439 posts

Posted by pari57 > 2013-07-24 11:31 | Report Abuse

Dealer not buying shares under their name. They have a lots of info which counter 2 buy. Makan Sorang la tu!!!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:33 | Report Abuse

Tan KW put up my portfolio in i3investor on 21/1/2013. Check this out.

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/13147.jsp

At the close of yesterday, the various prices of my stocks in the portfolio and their returns are shown below:

Reference date 21/01/2013
Stock Name Ref Price Price now Div rec Change %change
Kfima 2.02 2.11 0.080 0.170 8.4%
Pintaras 3.12 4.9 0.100 1.880 60.3%
ECS 1.06 1.22 0.025 0.185 17.5%
Plenitude 1.85 2.31 0.050 0.510 27.6%
Jobstreest 2.4 4.1 0.080 1.780 74.2%
Pantech 0.78 1.09 0.012 0.322 41.3%
SKPRes 0.34 0.32 0.000 -0.020 -5.9%
NTPM 0.47 0.565 0.015 0.110 23.3%
Kimlun 1.5 2.23 0.048 0.778 51.9%
Prestariang 1.21 2.14 0.055 0.985 81.4%

Average return 38.0%

KLCI 1636 1808 172.0 10.5%

Exactly 6 months has passed. What is the return of this portfolio? It is 38%, or annualized 76%. 76% in a year, my god!!!! How did you do that! This compares with only 10.5% of the broad market, more than 3 times above the market return, my god!

So does my FA works ,folks? Did Kumpulan Fima share price plunged?

I seldom talk about share price, and especially how much I made etc. But I think it is time to put up the performance of my portfolio liow.

So folks, please commend on return of the stocks I have selected with FA!

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-07-24 11:37 | Report Abuse

38%?! oppsss... :D :D :D

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:39 | Report Abuse

i told people to buy hlind at 4.3 4 weeks ago now 5.26 how much is that ???? can count ah? so please la OK.. u joker. 23percent in 1 month is how muchin one year?

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:40 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz trying to compare with number ah??? joker ler..

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:40 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz ur best call is kfima ler... LOL.. soon to PN17

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:41 | Report Abuse

hlind is up from rm4.3 when i recommended it 3 or 4 weeks ago la. count ler. u good at that right?

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:42 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz u know nothing about stocks nothing.. just plain silly luck ler wait and see how u will become a victim here soon when people start to lose money due to ur crap advice

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:43 | Report Abuse

Posted by iafx > Jul 24, 2013 11:37 AM | Report Abuse
38%?! oppsss... :D :D :D

?????? do you know how to read the return as shown in the table? 100% not. I know you through in and out already oh.

So where is your portfolio? How much have you made? MKland? How much have you lost? Some people just huhuhu in the forum. Talk about nonsense. Can't even compute simple thing like return, CAGR. Doesn't comprehend what is the basic balance sheet equation, ROE etc.

Some more changed post and then accused others of doing so.

The evidence is everywhere. You can't fool others all the time.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-07-24 11:44 | Report Abuse

What happened to your Elliot wave chart reading, tapir? You said klse will fall to 1000? Didn't happen? LoL

Please later don't beg to be friends again ya? Damn pathetic!

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2013-07-24 11:45 | Report Abuse

If Kfima turns to PN17 , half of the bursa stocks will be delisted . LOL !

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:46 | Report Abuse

Eh, this KC Loh is not me ah! Don't say I use another nick to hantam you.

KLSE 1000 already meh?

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-07-24 11:50 | Report Abuse

My mflour is doing fine since I bought a lot at 1.20. And they have started paying dividend Have you lost a lot at GAB and petgas recently? LoL

Recommend one more as your supporter would say: GCB

Hahahahah

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:50 | Report Abuse

hng33 is also not me ah! I know KPS is dropping, but don't scold me, I am not hng33. I am not disappearing when KPS share price drops. OTB? He is having fierce but friendly argument with me now. And we are not talking to our ownself, you know.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-24 11:51 | Report Abuse

u guys are mental. confusing me now.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:53 | Report Abuse

you long ago confused already. You are 100% kookoo one, probably since birth

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-07-24 11:53 | Report Abuse

ya, ya... ya, it sounds like me, looks like me but not me. of cos, no one would think ligam is your uncle, no worry :D :D :D :D :D

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-07-24 11:55 | Report Abuse

Confused? Anything changed? Hahahahaha

Don't forget to add crazy and nutjob among your credentials! LoL

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-24 11:55 | Report Abuse

The best combination in i3 is revealed. One kookoo one. the other one like somebody said, conman! The evidence is everywhere!