Posted by kien911 > 2017-03-07 12:20 | Report Abuse

I'm totally new in this investing. can anyone guide me where should I start? or any demo version recommended? I don't even know how to read the technical stuff.. appreciate much for the helps

39 comment(s). Last comment by kien911 2017-03-09 14:07

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-03-07 12:21 | Report Abuse

you ask like that I refer you to kcchong loh

he will guide you from A to Z

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 12:23 | Report Abuse

ICON 8888 is a great sifu. Just he don't take disciple.

What a pity

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-03-07 12:25 | Report Abuse

Can join CPTeh's Cohort 27 at Rm500 (or maybe just buy him a few cups of coffee) for basic TA intro

Alternately u can buy a book also or google for free TA teaching online

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-03-07 12:29 | Report Abuse

If u understand Mandarin go buy Cold Eye's books, started with his first and second book first.

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 12:30 | Report Abuse

CP The, Buy him TEH (Tea)

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 12:56 | Report Abuse

rule number one...avoid chartists.

that is the best advice I can give to beginners.

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-03-07 12:58 | Report Abuse

Always started with FA,then use TA to make buy n sell decisions

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2017-03-07 12:59 | Report Abuse

Id agree with stockmanmy on this. FA first and foremost. TA second.

When you understand the company down to its bones, it'll be much easier to hold when the stock goes down. Since you know the market is being irrational.

If you are a chartist, cannot sleep at all, cause up down, you dont know why, just know you need to buy before others and sell before others. Which is close to impossible.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2017-03-07 13:00 | Report Abuse

charles, where to find coldeye books?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 13:03 | Report Abuse

chartists are murderers

they murder even without victims knowing they have been murdered.

all beginners start by being momentum players, part of the crowd.

and they all die there without graduating.

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-03-07 13:11 | Report Abuse

Fortunebull....lol....good one!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 13:12 | Report Abuse

KYY had a good start as a beginner.

He didn't know any thing about chart , sailang into HK market when it crashes when Thatcher announces pull out from HK and made his first fortune.

Not having met a chartist turns out to be a great blessing.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 13:15 | Report Abuse

kc chong also useless one.

that belongs to academia , not in the battle field.

Icon8888 > Mar 7, 2017 12:21 PM | Report Abuse

you ask like that I refer you to kcchong loh

he will guide you from A to Z

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 13:26 | Report Abuse

I am happy tody, All great sifus hv come out with their sincere words of advice including Stockmammy

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 13:29 | Report Abuse

But I will still refer youngsters to KC Chongnz
Icon does not take student

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-03-07 13:40 | Report Abuse

Jon,go popular bookstore can find coldeye's books...book no 1 for FA,book 2 for his investment philosophy n book no 3 for suntze plus investment philopsophy

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 13:44 | Report Abuse

in the life of every share , there are pivotal moments.

the more you know of a share, the more you can benefit from pivotal moments.

That beat all three books of coldeye.

pivotal moments give real margin of safety ....not NTA, not accounting jargon.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 13:50 | Report Abuse

lol

and who flagged me?

loser.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-03-07 14:01 | Report Abuse

Chartist might not right all the time, but sometime it allows you to detect bullish moments and you can hoot kow kow by increasing exposure substantially, Huat ah

My point is that if charts can allow you to score one big one every year, enough already

so never say charts no use

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-03-07 14:07 | Report Abuse

I recommend KC Chong. What is one year of hardship learning when you can get many returns during and after the course? The alternative is to follow delayed stock picks written by KC Chong or Tradeview. Avoid charties (TA) at all cost!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-03-07 14:08 | Report Abuse

I suggest KCChong and OTB subscription concurrently

Learn both at same time as does not cost much

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 14:08 | Report Abuse

Chartist can b use by Kungfu master like Icon

3,024 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2017-03-07 14:10 | Report Abuse

Always keep in mind - invest, don't speculate. You are no match against those syndicates. They will jack up the price, when u started to follow, they already started to dump.

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 14:19 | Report Abuse

Each Sifus hv their technics! Stay focus

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 15:37 | Report Abuse

there is nothing wrong with charts. I use charts all the time.

What is wrong is the way chartists and TA experts use charts.

you see, I use brains plus charts.

chartists and TA experts use charts minus their brains.

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 15:40 | Report Abuse

Well said.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 15:48 | Report Abuse

you don't believe me when I say experts use their tools minus their brains?

it happens to FA experts like KC
it happens to TA experts
it happens to doctors

it happens to all experts who wrongly use their tools when applying to the human condition

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-03-07 15:49 | Report Abuse

modify a bit, u r there. must minus people name

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 16:02 | Report Abuse

who ask KC to make me angry?

anyway academicians do not do well in the battlefield.

klee

3,127 posts

Posted by klee > 2017-03-07 21:05 | Report Abuse

stockmanmy,i only knew you have lots of saliva minus the brain.

lion188

110 posts

Posted by lion188 > 2017-03-07 21:14 | Report Abuse

Buy Parkson. Now near rock bottom price but no contra advised.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-07 21:18 | Report Abuse

lee

your chartists friends betrayed you already.....

silly.

Chinaboleh

687 posts

Posted by Chinaboleh > 2017-03-07 21:26 | Report Abuse

kien911 nice to meet you. You did not mention how much capital you want to invest. I recommend cheap stock to you eg Xinghe only 3.5 sen but profitable.

kien911

103 posts

Posted by kien911 > 2017-03-08 12:11 | Report Abuse

thx guys for all advice.

kc chongz seems nice. I really appreciated the advices.

chartist means they invest based on the chart?

but I rather get to know the companies profile and business nature and depends on the market situation and movement to invest.

is this one of the ways to invest? or is this a slow way? but I will gain more confident on the market structure and business nature rather than 'chart'

thx guys for all the replies

kien911

103 posts

Posted by kien911 > 2017-03-08 12:13 | Report Abuse

Thx Chinboleh.... will truly consider about your tips.

I totally new beginner so I think I would just invest RM1~3K at the moment to get a feel of the movement.

ezobear

474 posts

Posted by ezobear > 2017-03-08 12:26 | Report Abuse

Do not buy any tips from any sifu/taikor, read a lot & build the competency on your own stock analysis .... slowly practice on how to catch the fish at your own decision ..

http://www.malaysiastock.biz/ start your own portfolio using this free only website ... make it as real as possible ... analyze what is right & what went wrong ... revision, practice repeatedly

Go to homily chart ... their software is quite good but do not take 100% from their sharing ... TA+FA+financial psychology+big picture thinking+discipline = winning formula @KLSE

kien911

103 posts

Posted by kien911 > 2017-03-08 12:44 | Report Abuse

ezobear

what is this website for? demo? diff from this website?

thx for the tips

ezobear

474 posts

Posted by ezobear > 2017-03-08 13:14 | Report Abuse

1. You start your analysis (Stock Selection based on Ta/FA/Growth)
2. You can use this"portfolio" feature in the website to see your selection performance
3. review it periodically & do self reflection
4. Write down/update your own strategy of investing based on lesson learnt & your risk apetite
5. Once you think you are ready .. start trading
6. Repeat 1-5 until you become an expert

Value Investing is good but remember the rapid change in business environment (Always remember the Nokia's burning platform & Kodak Film story --> Who move my cheese). read the Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham

Growth stock --> Blue Ocean Strategy but need patience & expertise to understand the "realized" potential

FA --> must learn on how to read AR & QR
TA --> powerful elements of stock analysis --> The impact created by Dow is still significant (Dow Jone Index). Read Elliot Wave Theory & Gann's Technique

FINALLY PRACTICE!

Personal Advice: 孙子兵法: 不要百战百胜,要“一战而定”. No need to invest in too many counters, ONE in a Quarter is enough but make sure you win BIG!

kien911

103 posts

Posted by kien911 > 2017-03-09 14:07 | Report Abuse

Thx ezobear!!!!