KL shares easier at close

Publish date: Fri, 02 May 2014, 06:48 PM
KUALA LUMPUR: Share prices on Bursa Malaysia closed the day lower as the Wall Street's weak overnight performance muted investors' sentiment, with the FTSE Bursa Malaysia KLCI (FBM KLCI) 2.44 points easier.
The benchmark index ended at 1,869.08 points after hovering between 1,866.05 points and 1,871.69 points throughout the day.
A dealer said Bursa Malaysia's weaker performance was in line with most Southeast Asian markets.
"The borderline growth in China's manufacturing activity also curbed investor appetite for further risk and prompted profit-taking," the dealer said.
Kenanga Research, however, said mixed readings from the key indicators were still suggesting that the local benchmark is in a state of consolidation.
"Thus, we are holding a cautiously optimistic view for now. Immediate overhead resistance is capped at 1,882 points while the downside buying support is pegged at 1,858 points," it said in a note.
Market breadth was negative as losers led gainers 422 to 355 while 330 counters were unchanged, 510 untraded and 14 others were suspended.
Turnover was lower at 1.15 billion shares, worth RM1.51 billion from 1.5 billion shares, worth RM2.5 billion, recorded one Wednesday.
The local market was closed yesterday for the Labour Day holiday.
Among actives, Sumatec added 2.0 sen to 28 sen, China Stationery gained half-a-sen to 14 sen, Astral Supreme lost 2.0 sen to 14.5 sen while 1 Utopia and Malaysia Airlines remained flat at 6.5 sen and 23 sen.
Of the heavyweights, Maybank erased 2.0 sen to RM9.88, Public bank fell 20 sen to RM19.94, CIMB eased 9.0 sen to RM7.42 while TNB and Axiata were unchanged at RM11.90 and RM6.73. -- Bernama
Be the first to like this. Showing 12 of 12 comments

Cweed

I think klse won't crash le... Foreign funds dah masuk balik in April.

Ikan bilis like us cannot influence the market. Up down, jerung dictates. We can just follow the ombak. Hati2 Tak telan jerung, tu je... Hehehe... Remisier cakap, usually May is a quiet month.

2014-05-02 22:52

jennylim

2014-05-03 12:24

jennylim

2014-05-03 12:25

jennylim

why why why everyone want to be sifu leh?

why ? everyone want to get attention then charged newbies for giving advise isit?

me jenny only give free advise, never will charge u. my sifu tell the name everyone go hiding la. better dont tell. kikikiki.

2014-05-03 12:29

jennylim

hahaha.

2014-05-03 12:42

henry123

Be careful with Kukuman, he made so money lose money.

2014-05-03 14:24

henry123

Especially in Dsonic, this Kukuman ask everyone to buy at 4.80

2014-05-03 14:25

henry123

Kukuman, why you keep asking everyone to buy Ecoworld at highest?

2014-05-03 14:28

henry123

Pity you Kukuman. 365 days talking in Benalec you are still wrong..wakakaka

2014-05-03 15:10

kukumon

2014-05-03 22:53

fortunebulllz

2014-05-04 09:40

kukuuman

hello mr fortunebullz and henry123