BANK ISLAM MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): BIMB (5258)

-0.08 (3.19%)

2.43 - 2.51

32 people like this. Showing 50 of 9,270 comments

DividendGuy67

Fuiyoh ... BIMB closed +3.83%. BIMB now climbs to my Top 5 largest stock from Top 7 yesterday. Thanks to BIMB and 23 other stocks that closed in green, my portfolio hit New All Time high again today for 4 consecutive trading days ... Thank-you Mr Market!

DividendGuy67

Looking closer, I was very lucky to have entered into BIMB near the bottom.
- My first entry was 9/5/23 at 2.03.
- I then keep buying more as price went down until it hit near the bottom of 1.75 - I didn't get the absolute low of 1.7, but it was good enough to be able to buy at 1.75.
- That brought my average cost down to 1.87.
- Then, we receive dividends. I took some small profits and my net cost after dividends and a small amount of realized means my average cost price is now 1.70. This is for my 5th largest holdings out of 48 stocks.

At 2.44 close today, my unrealized gains is now close to 43%.

And here I was, when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, I was only happy to target a long term Dividend Yield of 7.2%. Now it turns out, instead of gaining 7% (since I held less than a year), I have earned something like 43% gains. What a bonus.

Thank-you Mr Market.

DividendGuy67

It is amazing when you track its NTA growth over the past 10 years - this small growing stock has consistently grown its NTA by 14% per annum CAGR over past 10 years. It's NTA is 3.29. It's trading at 2.44, below Book Value, for a bank that grows its equity at the rate of 14% per annum over past 10 years ... it was so overlooked by the market.

It's Dividend Payout ratio is only 38% ... not stretching at all. This stock grows its Net Worth and grows its earnings and is having a conservative dividend payout ratio. And when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, it was yielding 7.2% dividend yield. What a bargain then.

It pays to own overlooked stocks when everyone was afraid and nobody wants to own it when it was crashing back in May 2022.

I know this bank's value and with a price action like this, there's no rush to take profits on its way up. I may trim it so that it doesn't become too big a proportion but otherwise, the strategy is still to sit tight on your winners and sit tight on your losers, so that your winners become a larger proportion of your portfolio and your losers naturally become a smaller proportion of your portfolio so that your portfolio can keep making new all time highs regularly especially when you own a portfolio of sound, good fundamental stocks and businesses ...

TheContrarian

I think you got the year wrong, it was crashing in May 2023 rather than 2022.

TheContrarian

Finally moving again.

TheContrarian

rlch

RM 2.6 if follow Affin can reach?

potenza10

just sold off yesterday at 2.41...sighhhhhh

TheContrarian

You mean last Friday?

Yippy68

Do you guys think MBSB got good future as soon as it turn to another Islamic Bank and listed in BURSA. My cost is less than 60 cents after receiving 8.5 sen dividend I hold big quantity especially last year after my big sweep in Bplant. Likely @Contrarian can contribute your good knowledge in Banking stock.

Yippy68

I made some profit after i bought Affin at 2,20 and sold at 2,65 around 30K, Thank @Contrarian for all you good sharing.

TheContrarian

@Yippy68, EPS is more relevant than high DPS because high DPS isn't sustainable if EPS drops. MBSB doesn't appear to have the all round strength of other banks. Just rebranding itself as an Islamic bank doesn't transform it overnight to rival Bank Islam which is long established.

Yippy68

Thank you and noted.

TheContrarian

@Yippy68, I feel you are too heavily concentrated in MBSB. Your recent venturing into Affin has brought you financial rewards. Affin share price ran ahead because it is more superior to MBSB. Similarly, Bank Islam share price has also recently run ahead.

newbie5354_

TheContrarian banking sifu? Which bank(or bank like) counters yet to move? Insas can move like Affin or BIMB?

TheContrarian

I already sold 97% of my Insas last month when it moved from below 90 sen to above RM1.30. Only bank I like now is BIMB.

TheContrarian

2.50 broken through.

smartly

if closing can stay above 2.50 then nice....

TheContrarian

Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?

TheContrarian

QR out, declared second interim dividend of 4.22 sen.

TheContrarian

I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.

5354_

Like Affin should be foreign funds.

Posted by TheContrarian > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?

5354_

Maybe those posted earlier have sold.

Posted by TheContrarian > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse

I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.

TheContrarian

I will be lonely here.

5354_

After QR EPF U-turn buy back? 16.81 sen total BIMB dividend DY 6.70%(RM 2.51) is better than EPF 2022 & 2023 dividend?

TheContrarian

We wait and see if there's notification from EPF.

TheContrarian

It is lonely here.

TheContrarian

Go, go, go BIMB.

TheContrarian

EPF has been selling but someone else is buying aggressively.

Mabel

Haha no worries...

This counter no need to monitor so much...so steady mah...

Dividend investing is like planting a tree...

The earlier you start, the bigger your tree is going to grow.

And before you know it, you will be resting in the shade of your own financial forest, enjoying the fruits of your labor, year after year...

Why?

Because dividends... GROW.

And that's how some Dividend Machines reached their milestones in dividends.

For the past 10 years...

DBS (Bank) increased their dividends by 158%
Wilmar (Plantation) increased their dividends by 112%
So if you think $5,000 in annual dividends today is too little...

Your $5,000 'passive' income just became:

$12,900 if you invested in DBS
$10,600 if you invested in Wilmar
All you did is buying the right dividend stocks...

...And wait

Get paid in year 1...

...And wait

Get paid more in year 2...

...And wait

Get paid even more in year 3...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kcet4aPpQ

TheContrarian

Loneliness can drive a guy to sell.

TheContrarian

Wow, 2.59.

Go go go Genting

Oops wrong forum

TheContrarian

EPF buying back BIMB.

DividendGuy67

Fuiyoh ... biggest gain in my portfolio today. Feeling blessed and thankful ...

DividendGuy67

Managed to trim a little bit, but still my Top 15% holdings by market value. Dividend yield on cost is 8.3%. Can hold for a long time if not look at markets and just collect dividends. Of course, sitting on winners and do nothing is often the right strategy unless it is a bear market or clearly sideways market.

TheContrarian

rlch

RM 2.6 if follow Affin can reach?

@rlch , already reached 2.60 and is now higher than Affin. Thank you for your recommendation.

Mabel

BIMB
Share Price 7 Day 1 Year
2.57 1.6% 16.3%

Upcoming dividend of RM0.042 per share

Eligible shareholders must have bought the stock before 15 March 2024.
Payment date: 05 April 2024.

Payout ratio is a comfortable 68% but the company is paying out more than the cash it is generating.

Trailing yield: 6.5%.

Within top quartile of Malaysian dividend payers (4.7%).
Higher than average of industry peers (5.3%).

5354_

DY 6.6% who sell? I buy more because 1% more than EPF just declared dividend.

5354_

024-03-04

EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (a substantial shareholder) acquired 1,483,900 shares on 28-Feb-2024.

TheContrarian

Sold half at 2.58 this morning.

KJTAN7

Build my portfolio on May 2023. My target is accumulate more share on this stock

troy88

Solid!

TheContrarian

Sold balance at 2.61. Approximately 15% gain within 5 weeks.

mryong

islamic bank growth

5354_

Axiata loss RM 2.457 billion RM 2.8 can why BIMB RM 553 mil profit cannot?

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2024/03/16/pm-anwar-political-stability-transparent-policies-attract-foreign-investors/

Shame on u PMX! When PN was in power last time , u tried to topple PN through defection. Now u tell PN not to topple u for the sake of foreign investors

JT1601

When will it drop back to RM2.4. Want top up...

Lu pandai main reverse psychologi ni