AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

Changes
Ann. Date Date Type Name Title View
4 people like this. Showing 50 of 4,041 comments

Bursino

The market is dynamic. Irrational. Affin can be a profitable top tier bank, it will take some time to realize. It may or may not happen. Meanwhile make the best out of the present. 😁

Plantermen

A bank profitability really lies on its own ability to tap into the "Casa" deposit base against the spread in the bank's lending rates. With the State backing the capacity to increase its "Casa deposit ` is enormous. Look at PBB operations their huge 'Casa deposit ` is always a plus for their profitability. Not a buy call on Affin just my 2sen own view on Sarawak State share buy on Affin acqusition. Remember in the past Sarawak have 6 local popular bank operating prior to BNM/MOF countrywide merger and consolidation

klee

Sarawak,Johor,Penang n Selangor...the 4 tigers of Msia.Any banks with full backing of any of these 4 will naturally do very well.

Plantermen

Panic selling. Red sea across the board.

edithcapital

Someone just bought a big chunk of Affin shares at 3.11.

edithcapital

My personal target would be 3.33

Jonathan Keung

Noticed the $3.11 trade. Can be a direct block trade buying for his client account

Plantermen

Sarawak has 4.95% or below the mandatory disclosure holdings of any one party holding > 5.0 %. Premier Abang Johari has make public to acquire 30% stake in Affin Bank. LTAT has inked the MOU to sell part of their stake to Sarawak. The largest shareholders of Affin is LTAT 24% { minus 4.95% sold} HK based Bank of East Asia 23 %. Boustead holds 20%., KWSP 5% and other Glic linked funds holds 2 or 3%. We cannot rule out other friendly based parties to the Sarawak State has acquired more stakes in Affin Bank. It's always a number games to have majority stake in any companies

Plantermen

Not a buy call. Just my own take how the 30% or more is coming from. Please do your research before you buy or invest

Jonathan Keung

Sarawak business tycoons ( timber , oil palm & shipping } are backing for a local Sarawakian bank. They lost 6 Sarawak banks thru the bank consolidation merger and acquisition in the 90's.. They are happily backing Abang Johari for the Affin bank acquisition.

LubeTrader

If not for the boo-boo that occurred about 2 weeks ago and the memorable meltdown on Monday, I wonder how much it's worth now per share. Such are the hurdles it has to endure.

Plantermen

Look at how YTLP perform {never a straight line} on /off pull back. Set your target price and trust your own judgement.. Banks in Malaysia are said to be resilent and closely monitor by BNM.. Stability and most of all risk adverse vs banks operating in UK or EU

Bursino

In Premier we rest our hopes.
The Borneo Premier.
No, not the Premier products manufactured in Peninsula.

LubeTrader

Plantermen, I understand your explanation. I just that I couldn't accept the self-inflicted damage to the good reputation of the bank. I can't tolerate people labeling it as a 'pump & dump' counter. It's just not.

LubeTrader

Bursino, don't forget to also pray hard no more surprises. Just smooth sailing all the way.

Plantermen

Me too are puzzled why certain individual label it " pump & dump". Reminds me of YTLP in their early bull run { a few individuals keep asking people to sell and dump the shares } from the 2.10.... right to 2.50.....3.50.....4.00..... Now the price is 4. 35 { even after the pull back}

Bursino

Ditto @LubeTrader and thank you.
Digress from Affin
Artificial Intelligence will be the next big thing in Sarawak. Abundant natural resources and political stability. No earth quakes. Cheap Environmental Friendly Electricity ✔ Clean crystal clear water ✔ Vast tracts of land ( which can be cheap). Already in motion to groom talents - top scholars from Malaya are welcome to pursue their tertiary education in Sarawak FOC. UEC recognised. In fact there should be no worries on talents (unlike in Malaya) because Sarawak controls its immigration. Import from China and the whole ecosystem will be inundated with Engineers. Customs and Culture sensitivities are not an issue, can designate free zones like Dubai. I don't know, but I am invested in some Hornbill companies to preserve and growth wealth for the next 2 generations. 😁

Plantermen

Just to add on Sarawak State is the largest producer of natural gas in Malaysia. Previously sale of natural gas is channel directly under Petronas but now the distribution of natural gas is reverted back to the Sarawak State government under the purview of Petros { the gas aggregrator for the state licensing, distribution and retail} 13 multi national companies have received their licence from Petros. Another 3 more applications is still pending.

LubeTrader

Buyers are super confident, defying the strong sell call.

edithcapital

LTAT selling shares to Sarawak now

LubeTrader

Why is it done on the open market? Not direct transaction at fixed price? Between 11.20 to 11.22am just now, I noticed several blocks of 500k units changed hands.

Jonathan Keung

LTAT sold 4.95% to Sarawak state. Additional 20% comes likely from thier Boustead own shares portfolio. Abang Johari wants 30% stake in Affin. Strong possibility he collecting from the open market

edithcapital

LubeTrader, it's not done in the open market, 20 transactions of 5k lots transacted using otc

Plantermen

Just wait for the official acqusition announcements from Abang Johari. Sarawak and Sabah asking the 35%quota in Parliament. Currently they holds arounds 26 %

ZenSen

What will be the likely acquisition price?

Plantermen

Million dollar question.?

ScotFree

Wahh! Huat ka siao

edithcapital

😀

LubeTrader

Rally cooling off. Now begins the period of waiting for the signing of the purchase agreement.

Jason Lee Chinhan

Deep dive again tomorrow. Red Sea all the ways. 😂

Bursino

You good-lah. You can know what is going to happen tomorrow. You should have let us know earlier. Now cannot do anything-lah.

Jason Lee Chinhan

It's too late should have run when green green day 😂

Jonathan Keung

Market overall showing weakness chart wise showing price consolidation

Bursino

I am convince Bursa has peaked. I am putting in motion, actions to mitigate events that in the likelihood will bring about unfortunate consequences.

Bursino

it takes a ความมหัศจรรย์ (kwarm mahat satjan) to breach 1700 by end year as touted by the optimists.

Plantermen

Affin closed at the day low 3.10/3.11

Jason Lee Chinhan

It will get lowered. Better switch to CIMB which more stable day day green green.

Jonathan Keung

Strong pick up on Friday. Hopefully can sustain the price upward momentum

Jonathan Keung

Sustain buying across all 9 banking stocks. The big 4 { MBB+30, CIMB +33 , PB+25 & HLB+55 } all traded higher today. RHB ,Affin, ABMB , Ambank all play catching up.

Plantermen

JP morgan and Goldman sachs { Both the 2 iconic US heavyweights IB } have upgraded Malaysia equity market after 6 long years. This has attracted inflows & a relook in our local market scene

turbochart

I'm sorry. I quit already 😁. Today small gain 700 only

Jonathan Keung

Road block at 3.30

turbochart

Ppl angry I happy 😂
Ppl hungry I worry 😜

turbochart

Ppl turun interest Malaysia Naik interest😀

LubeTrader

Too many retail buyers playing contra. Buy solely for capital gain then spread false info hoping for price to drop to buy in again, bragging at each successive cycle.

Plantermen

Market is open. We have day or flip players, short term and long term. Warren Buffet says buy the shares is liking buying the business. Let it grow

Plantermen

The 3 mid tier bank's listed share price on Bursa. Affin at $3.33, Ambank $ 5.01 and Alliance bank at $4.46. In terms of bank assets, network, EPS or loan growth. Affin is quite close to their peer. But when come to share pricing. Affin as a group is a poor cousin vs it's peer. Not a buy call just my own view looking at the statistics

Bursino

Noted. Confidence deficit. A new owner and management can help mitigate long held stigma attached. Continue to hold.

Jonathan Keung

Today Affin bank $3.40 +7 Ambank $5.17 + 16, ABMB $4.47 +1. Still lots to catch up

ScotFree

Huat Ah!!! Hehehe