MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

10.10 - 10.16

Entitlement

Upcoming

Happening

Ann. Date Ex Date Type Subject Amount
38 people like this. Showing 50 of 22,926 comments

newbiedoobie

What's the best entry price? I don't hold any MBB shares yet so thinking of entering but 10 seems too high. Do y'all think there will be a correction soon?

SeekUndervalued

@newbiedoobie, there is no best entry price. There is no too high, there is always higher. There is no too low, there is always lower. Even there is correction, the price won’t drop too much as MBB will announce their next dividend soon.

Mytime

Above 10 carry high risks. PE trading among highest in the bank stocks.

bullrun168

Walaoeh, what happend ?
Super damn hot man Maybank today !
Now Maybank was traded at @RM10.18 (+0.14) (+1.4 %)
Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

stkoay

Closed at new High
....and volume traded 16m shares is 60% higher than 4 wk avg volume of 10m
....next wave up start already :)

jeffchan1901

@newbiedoobie

You need to understand first what sort of investor are you? Are you in it for the short term or are you into long play? Secondly you need to look at MBB past 10-year trend and see which is the highest price it ever achieve (RM11.08 in 7 May 2018) and research why during that period it was high. Will the reason causing it to increase to that high can ever repeat itself? Next look at the DY % - for me, as long as it is higher that and savings fund returns you can get, then it is a no brainer. You age will certainly be a consideration in this. If you are about to retire and want to build a sustainable, consistent return for your monthly expenses, then consider whether Harimau meet your needs, assuming an average annual dividend rate of RM0.60 sens per share, ceterus paribus, that would be your answer. Hope this gives you an idea on how to consider when to go in.

Mytime

Be patience, why jump aboard a over crowded ship? Ignore the upside. Nothing goes up forever. Retailer mindset is safe entry. Only investment funds are active buying at this price. Of course those who bought cheap encourage to enter now cause they have nothing to lose. But will they top up at this price????? I don't think so

Mytime

Maybank will drop the DRIP plan if the stock price is high because they knew the take up rate is low

Tedinvestor

I personally think now is not good entry price. Dividend rate already dropped below 6% at RM10 stock price. Dividend not as attractive as previously. Only those who bought at 7 to 8 are considered save buy. In fact Public Bank, Alliance and RHB bank valuation looks attractive compared to Maybank. Even cimb are cheaper

abcb

Before Pakatan Harapan, MAYBANK worth only 6.10,and now after Pakatan Harapan became Government, MAYBANK worth more than 10.00

Tedinvestor

MCO lockdown was the reasons behind the falls.

stkoay

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/719313

It is estimated that the top six GLICs collectively manage close to RM1.9 trillion. Assuming 10% to 15% of this amount is invested in foreign equities, a 10% "clawback" of the foreign portion could bring approximately RM20 billion to RM30 billion back into the local market, Yee said.

stkoay

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/719313

Rakuten equity research vice-president Thong Pak Leng named RHB Bank Bhd (KL:RHBBANK), Malayan Banking Bhd (KL:MAYBANK), CIMB Group Holdings Bhd (KL:CIMB) and Alliance Bank Malaysia Bhd (KL:ABMB) as its top picks in the banking sector for their solid dividend yields, and Hong Leong Bank Bhd (KL:HLBANK) and Public Bank Bhd (KL:PBBANK) for potential upsides.

“We continue to like the banks given their strong fundamentals, dividend yields and earnings growth. Loan growth this year is projected to be solid, within the 5.5%-6.0% range, while net interest margins will remain stable for the year, amid a more stable interest rate regime,” he said.

Tedinvestor

Don't trust investment bank. Currently I'm holding Maybank and RHB.

SeekUndervalued

@Tedinvestor, me too. Once Maybank announces its dividend, the share price will increase further.

Tedinvestor

Hopefully they make more profits in the coming quarter.

Bursa to deliver strong 2Q results as trading activity surges — CGS
By Ishra Kamiso / theedgemalaysia.com
19 Jul 2024, 01:17 pm

KUALA LUMPUR (July 19): Bursa Malaysia Bhd (KL:BURSA) may report an 8.2% year-on-year (y-o-y) growth in net profit for the second quarter ended June 30, 2024 (2QFY2024), thanks to robust trading activity in the capital market, CGS International said.

Quarterly net profit will probably come in at RM82.5 million, lifting first-half earnings to RM157.5 million, according to CGS in a results preview note. That would be above market expectations, accounting for 55% of the Bloomberg consensus full-year estimate, it noted.

If the write-back in sales and service tax recorded in 2QFY2023 is excluded, net profit would have been 71% higher in 2QFY2024, CGS flagged. Bursa is scheduled to announce the results by month end.

“Bursa is a key beneficiary of the pickup in trading activity in the capital market,” CGS said. The house raised its target price to RM11.10 from RM8.70, and kept the stock on an ‘add’ call, equivalent to a ‘buy’ recommendation.

The average daily trading value of the equity market more than doubled y-o-y to RM3.62 billion in 2QFY2024. In the derivatives market, the daily average rose nearly 10% to 85,600 contracts.

Income generated from the equity market accounted for 48.4% of Bursa’s 1QFY2024 revenue, while derivatives made up 14.1%.

“In addition, we are encouraged to observe an across-the-board increase in trading activity of all major types of investors in Malaysia’s equity market,” CGS said.

The forecast for 2QFY2024 also took into account 'flattish' other income — including fees for listings, depository services, market data, member services and connectivity, conferences and exhibition-related income — CGS said. All in, The research house raised its FY2024-FY2026 earnings per share forecasts by 17%.

For FY2024, CGS is calling for a net profit of RM303.8 million, or 38 sen per share, above the consensus estimate of 35.9 sen per share.

Shares in Bursa have climbed 43% so far this year, thanks to the surge in trading activity and a slew of initial public offerings, while analysts remain bullish on the stock. A majority of 10 out of 15 research houses covering the counter have a ‘buy’ call, while the rest have ‘hold’ ratings, according to Bloomberg.

The stock has also blown past the consensus 12-month target price of RM9.25, and was trading at RM9.89 at Friday's noon trading break.

i7investors

KUALA LUMPUR (July 19): Economists are mostly maintaining their 2024 economic growth forecast for Malaysia after the official advance estimate showed a faster than expected growth for the second quarter (2Q).

The Department of Statistics Malaysia reported on Friday that the gross domestic product (GDP) is estimated to have grown 5.8% in April to June compared to the same period last year, driven by consumer spending and exports.

This is the biggest rise in six quarters, and compares to the median 4.7% expansion predicted in a Bloomberg survey. In the first quarter, the economy grew 4.2% year-on-year.

UOB Global Economics & Markets Research, noting that the advance 2Q estimate surpassed its own projection of 4.6% for the quarter, said it will revisit its forecast for the full year when the final 2Q number is released on Aug 16.

"With average GDP growth of 5% in 1H2024 and a continuation of year-ago lower base of comparison in 2H2024, there is upside risk to our full-year GDP growth forecast of 4.6% for 2024 (BNM est: 4-5%, 2023: 3.6%)," it said in a note.

“The ongoing global tech upcycle, higher tourist arrivals and spending, continued investment flows and implementation of catalytic initiatives under the national master plans remain key growth catalysts amid lingering external uncertainties,” it added.

stkoay

https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2024/07/1080092/bursa-hits-three-year-high-foreign-investors-return

The top three net buys by foreign investors were Malayan Banking Bhd, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd and Tenaga Nasional Bhd (TNB), while YTL Power International Bhd, RHB Bank Bhd and Hong Leong Bank Bhd were among the top three net sells by foreign investors.

Local institutional investors focused their net selling in the financial services and construction sectors, with Maybank, CIMB and TNB among their top sells.

stkoay

EPF took profit when FF bought....when market corrects, they will buy back at lower level...

....trading for profit and at the same time making the trade to be less volatile

sell

Bank worker union launches nationwide picket over alleged union-busting, fight for fair salaries
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2024/07/22/bank-worker-union-launches-nationwide-picket-over-alleged-union-busting-fight-for-fair-salaries/144636

SeekUndervalued

How much dividend do you think they will announce next month? 30 cents, 31 cents, or 32 cents?

Ahboy96

40cents?

SeekUndervalued

Hahaha. 40 cents? If 40 cents, the share price will be at least RM 11 bro.

SeekUndervalued

Never ending picket. If you are the bank CEO, you will also feel headache. Hahaha. In my opinion, once you fulfil their requirements, next year they come again as they know you will fulfil their requirements. Then every year also picket, picket, and picket. If I am the CEO of the bank, I also headache. Might as well free the whole company to you. Hahahaha. Bank working environment already considered one of the best working environment in Malaysia. So many public holidays and also annual leaves, still not satisfied? If still not satisfied, just quit your job and look for others. Why waste time if you feel you can be appreciated and worth huge salary by others? The bank is not forcing you to work with them. This is open market, if you feel your work/task is worth more money and the boss can't offer such salary or benefits to you, just move on to other jobs.

AssaultedPeanut

I am hoping it will be at least 32 cents...

Tedinvestor

I think banking industry is doing great. But higher Dividend is a bit difficult because employees union demands higher pay

jeffchan1901

Yeah, all these fund managers all do horse trading among one another. realising gains and supporting the price. Also to stop retailers from snapping up too many shares.

stkoay

Everywhere, all markets red, red.
Punter must be sacred till balls dropped off liao...haha.

This one punter has jumped off, so it remains steady...haha.

I had sold most early mbb and converted to cimb at 6.60..
Now, cimb is at 7.18 with more that 6% gain beside 6% coming dividend yearly..

If you wanna catch the bullet train in cimb, please do it fast before too late in the correction period..

It is cheap sale and good time to buy..

Tiger bank is very heavily float... I found it is hard to move by the way..

Let's join my cimb boat for more exciting investment, resilience and high growth since many cry father cry mother now in red sea...

Tedinvestor

Cimb valuation much cheaper compared to Maybank. Congratulations

Yes! Cimb much higher margin better growth..
Before too late, you need to move faster, not too slow...
Cimb is, running out like F1 speed

After cimb overtakes MBB then is too late to switch..
The dividend yield is low then..

Last FF continue snap up cimb in big way..they will continue else local fund $2B sapu up, FF will bought in expensive liao

stkoay

Wow up 2 sen.....steady steady tiger....

Long time no up...
Up 2c need to happy..
Else, really sianz..

Only cimb is up

Maybank (Trading Buy, TP: RM10.40): Aims to double Vietnam assets by 2027, expand investment. Malayan Banking plans to double assets in Vietnam to USD2bn (RM9.42bn) by 2027 and become the country’s top foreign bank for syndicated loans, to capitalise on a booming economy. It also aims for its securities unit to be the leading foreign broker, according to Maybank Vietnam country chief executive officer Michael Foong. The bank also aims to strengthen its role in foreign direct investment in Vietnam and will target new mid-tier corporate clients with annual revenues ranging from USD50m to USD100m. (The Edge)

Pbb gives tp10. 40 only...
It is really a pity for earning 30c from 10.10 to 10.40 by wasted so much energy here

Vietnam is not a good investment...
Maybe causing low valuation

stkoay

So happy to have a promoter working for me for free...(it's bcos this punter doesn't know which one is my current No. 1 in my portfolio...Haha)

....but this promoter tak boleh pakai one.....one day say this and few days later might do the opposite.

....example, few days ago suddenly jumped into RHB, then started to make a lot of noise to promote kaw kaw....but 2 days later when he read that FF were selling RHB, his balls dropped off and quickly jumped out...then today he started to talk negative about RHB...

....really tak boleh percaya.....haha.

stkoay

Posted by pang72 > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

Market uncertainty - > dividend defensive 7% yield (Rhb)
I confidently beat everyone just only invest in 7% yield till end year

Posted by pang72 > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

It is possible from Jan to Jun for 7% gain.
It is difficult now..
So, I declare I can't make 7% 2H24 so i keep into RHB to realise my dividend earnjng

Posted by pang72 > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

Up2c nia..

3 years stagnant.... Up what?

After 2027 still 5.70

Posted by pang72 > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

I decide to sold all... following foriegner fund... Sell rhb

Posted by pang72 > 5 hours ago | Report Abuse

FF is happy selling Rhb everyday to local retailers..
The price is depressed so you saw a high dividend yield..

IS t a fake hope? Or dividend trap?.

You hold another 3 years will know lo... Hahah

Mbb, Rhb, pbb all no good..
Finish...
I only hold cimb now...
Hold 10 years the same price...

Pbb will go below 4...worst

19 hours ago

Hold natgate better, crashing 20c then can't sleep..
All profit of 6% for 3 years, all lose in natgate..

OK kah.... Hahaha...

Really sohhhhi

19 hours ago

I suggest every sell MBB then buy cimb
You will enjoy cimb overtake mbb
The great moment...

19 hours ago

You will never know
But, it is happening

19 hours ago

Amanah SAHAM selling everyday, 10mils then 5mils then 2mils..

The selling till scare me.. Don't know what wrong for mbb

19 hours ago

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/720139

Maybank says systems secure amid report of alleged data leak

19 hours ago

Not sure selling because data leak..?

19 hours ago

I choose to avoid mbb..
Maybe, one night can't sleep, ceo kena tankap

19 hours ago

jeffchan1901

Dude. No one ask for your opinion. Its obvious you are an emotional investor. Knee jerk reaction to every price fluctuation. Btw why are u still here after selling all? #askingforafriend

11 hours ago