44 people like this.

938 comment(s). Last comment by Balian de Ibelin 2 months ago

Posted by Journey to Financial Independence > 2021-04-03 13:39 | Report Abuse

I started my investment journey with a nominee account (Rakuten Trade). But later this year I decided to switch into a direct account (Malacca Securities) after I found out their differences...

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/DirectNomineeAccount/2021-04-02-story-h1563151774-Direct_Account_and_Nominee_Account_Which_One_is_Better.jsp

Posted by benjikoh > 2021-04-06 23:27 | Report Abuse

I tried the calculate function on MPLUS to simulate the amount of brokerage I have to pay. But the minimum is RM40 Brokerage fees charged, but isn't the advertised fee RM8?

Posted by Journey to Financial Independence > 2021-04-07 14:05 | Report Abuse

@benjikoh, my account is M+ silver account (cash upfront), charged a minimum of RM9.70 per contract including stamp duty and clearing fees. You can ask your remisier/ dealer representative what type of account are you using to buy/sell. If your remisier does not reply to your message, it's time to change from M+ platform to others.

M+ registration link: https://registration.mplusonline.com/?ref-id=R345
Broker's comparison: https://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp

Posted by sky06walker > 2021-04-16 17:55 | Report Abuse

Newbie here, I hear that if using Rakuten, all shared purchased will park under Rakuten account not park under our individual account, is this statement correct? If park under Rakuten, we wont be recognize when AGM it's?

Posted by MrBorneo26 > 2021-04-30 07:04 |

Posted by bernardeng > 2021-06-05 15:19 | Report Abuse

Like MrBorneo26, I have accounts with both Rakuten and MPlus. My recommendation is to open account with more than one broker to compare stock recommendation and monitor stock performance if you can. As for the reason why Rakuten operate using nominee account type is because in addition to cash account which require cash to be deposited first before you can trade they also provide contra and margin accounts which require your stocks to be collateralized. The advantage of contra account over cash account is that you can trade and settle later (T+2) hence very useful for short term trading. As for the reason why I like Mplus other than cheap brokerage is because they provide very good market and stock updates and conduct free seminars for their clients very regularly.

Posted by SKLee198 > 2021-06-12 15:01 | Report Abuse

Hi i'm new to trade. anyone can share that is there any cost to maintain for these trading account? or any other hidden cost?

Posted by firstclass > 2021-06-22 17:11 | Report Abuse

Hello All. I am Newbie here. Just wish to know do I just need a new trading CFD account only to start trade or I can just sign up with one of the broker & this will come with the CFD account? Thanks

Posted by ShinGiTai > 2021-07-11 14:42 | Report Abuse

hi, for long term investment purpose, fund size > 1mil, do u guys think it's good idea to buy with Rakuten platform first due to cheapest charges, then later pay RM10 transfer the stock to other bank platform like RHB, Maybank, UOB KAylian for faster Dividends and safer security?

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-07-12 08:48 |

Noni

668 posts

Posted by Noni > 2021-07-26 00:08 | Report Abuse

I would avoid "bank-backed" broker. Too many hidden restrictions.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-07-26 08:41 |

msbr91

45 posts

Posted by msbr91 > 2021-07-29 20:51 | Report Abuse

@Noni May I know what is the hidden restrictions you have encountered before?

Meena12

Posted by Meena12 > 2021-08-22 19:22 | Report Abuse

Hi, Maybank is charging me a minimum of RM28 per transaction for both sale and purchase...
Is that normal, or please advise if I am paying high?

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-08-22 19:29 | Report Abuse

your broker could be maybank or Maybank Investment Bank.
please check.

open your mouth to complain and you will get cheaper

Posted by Meena12 > Aug 22, 2021 7:22 PM | Report Abuse

Hi, Maybank is charging me a minimum of RM28 per transaction for both sale and purchase...

Meena12

Posted by Meena12 > 2021-08-23 14:49 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker Hi Thanks a lot... Yes after requesting they have reduced it to RM12 now...
It is sad that even the broker didn`t advise about it, she insisted the minimum was RM28 last month.

normanash

20 posts

Posted by normanash > 2021-08-27 13:59 | Report Abuse

Ahh that easy for rakuten, lets say you want to buy hartalega, just go to bursamalaysia or if got other trading acc with cgscimb or kentrade you can check there, syariah complince or not :)

Noni

668 posts

Posted by Noni > 2021-09-03 10:15 | Report Abuse

@msbr91. Often not enough limit although I have shares. Keep asking me to top-up money.
Ask why? don’t want answer. Ask further, then only say company got restrictions. Ask what restrictions, cannot disclose to me. I am tired.

Posted by Bursa's Wall Street > 2021-09-28 12:32 |

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2021-10-31 06:28 | Report Abuse

Do we have a similar comparison for a corporate trading account? There are lots of info on individual trading accounts, the cost comparison, pros and cons, etc., but literally none (afaik) on corporate accounts.

Posted by sense maker > 2021-11-05 09:32 | Report Abuse

For those who trade on average more than RM5m to RM30m a year, which platform is reliable and cheapest in terms of brokerage fee?

Posted by Harvey_Ng > 2021-11-14 20:24 | Report Abuse

Anyone is using Ambank's Amequities? It seems to be good rate trading above 10k

Posted by chinvest17 > 2021-12-12 11:19 | Report Abuse

There is a catch on CIMB Clicks 0.0388% brokerage rate with minimum $8.80.
Minimum $8.88 is per matched Order.
Say you have 3 matched order, each trade value 10,000.
Total brokerage is 8.88 * 3 = $26.64. Not 30,000 * 0.0388% = $11.64

Posted by chinvest17 > 2021-12-12 11:29 | Report Abuse

Malaysia increase stamp duty from 0.1% to 0.15% from 2022.
Many countries don't impose stamp duty for stock trading, including Singapore, US.
While China impose 0.1% on the selling side only.
Also, Malaysia stamp duty still apply when you invest in foreign market through Malaysia broker.

kyy123

Posted by kyy123 > 2022-01-02 21:44 | Report Abuse

Why online trading, remisier still get paid from broker, not really understand because i invest my money and did not rely on my remisier, they still get paid, what an easy job lol.

NKH123

Posted by NKH123 > 2022-01-06 10:21 | Report Abuse

Can I check if SST still applies for each transaction in 2022

Posted by chinvest17 > 2022-01-08 17:47 | Report Abuse

No more SST in 2022.

Actually 0.15% stamp duty do not apply to all stock type
0.10% still apply to Warrant, REIT, Trust, Close-ended Fund.
While ETF, no stamp duty until 2025.

normanash

20 posts

Posted by normanash > 2022-01-16 17:01 | Report Abuse

Kentrade oledi accept online tanfer for fund topup now..

Posted by PatienceCounts > 2022-02-05 15:05 | Report Abuse

If i hv an Affin Hwang investment bank collateral online account, can i change it to cash trading account online without going thru the bank officer?

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-03-06 09:59 | Report Abuse

UobKAYHIAN and M+, which brokerage is better, in term of remisier support?

sensonic

690 posts

Posted by sensonic > 2022-06-18 22:55 |

Posted by happytrader78 > 2022-09-30 16:50 | Report Abuse

anyone using kenanga?

im using UOB KAY HIAN
quite CHEAP for collateral account, only 0.3%, 0.2%, 0.1% or min RM 8

but would like to explore Kenanga too..
Does anyone know the rate?

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2022-09-30 17:40 | Report Abuse

Stopped using Cimb itrade as it is now fully China owned

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2022-09-30 17:40 | Report Abuse

Using MBB now

Posted by Robert Waters > 2023-06-04 11:20 | Report Abuse

How come there is no iFast here ? It is a brokerage that grows fast.

Posted by ngyeebin > 2023-09-05 22:57 | Report Abuse

Anyone know DFAL?Doo Financial Australia Limited?

Posted by chinvest17 > 2023-10-02 18:31 | Report Abuse

Rakuten Contra Account no longer can buy Structured Warrant from 02 Oct 2023. 0 multiplier no matter how long, even with Jul 2024 expiry.

Posted by Michie928 > 2023-11-17 07:54 | Report Abuse

Newbie here, is affin hwang is good for starting new acc for invest?

Posted by KiloGrand > 2023-11-17 12:00 | Report Abuse

Hi I started my investment journey with AmEquities LYH. Their support team members are responsive and friendly in guiding me to open the trading account.

Posted by KiloGrand > 2023-11-17 12:02 | Report Abuse

They provide many benefits too. It is free to open a trading account with them and I can use the MQ Trader Stock Analysis System for free too! That system is quite nice to use and did make my investment journey easier!

Posted by KiloGrand > 2023-11-17 12:08 | Report Abuse

As a newbie, if you are interested in their service, you click submit your request to them through this link:
https://sams.i3investor.com/sams/i3/page/am2/personal/ea9770a9497e

Their representative will approach you very soon.

Posted by caterpie > 2023-11-17 12:19 | Report Abuse

Thanks @KiloGrand

I have submitted the request and they have contacted me within minutes.

They answered my questions with patience and I have decided to proceed with the account opening with them!

Btw how to get the free MQ Trader System?

Posted by mohammadfitri > 2023-11-17 12:20 | Report Abuse

Hi @chinvest, M+ contra account still can buy warrant. Here is my remisier contact number you may check with further details +60 10-222 8313

Posted by KiloGrand > 2023-11-17 12:24 | Report Abuse

@caterpie

Once your account is successfully opened with them then you can upgrade to MQ Trader Pro Package by linking your trading acc with your MQ ID.

For the time being, you can visit MQ Trader to explore the system first
https://klse.i3investor.com/mqtrader/app/index

Posted by caterpie > 2023-11-17 12:24 | Report Abuse

ohhhh @KiloGrand tq!

Posted by sink or swim .. > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

looks like M+Online and amEquities offer cheapest fee . Agree ?

Posted by Balian de Ibelin > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

if any feed is delayed even 5 seconds, you will lose a lot of money.
Could be millions of losses over a long span of time.

Cheapest may be good for amateurs. 🤣

For serious traders, the most expensive may be the cheapest. 🤣

besides feed delay.

the early morning queueing is another factor.
Some cheap cheaper cheapest, you will find that your morning queueing, you will always be the last one in the queue.

and each and every day until Jesus comes, you will always be the last one in the queue.

You want cheap mah?
so dun expect people to work hard when you pay them peanuts monkey wages. 🤣

14,354 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

"i3lurker

your broker could be maybank or Maybank Investment Bank.
please check.

open your mouth to complain and you will get cheaper

Posted by Meena12 > Aug 22, 2021 7:22 PM | Report Abuse

2021-08-22 19:29"
=====================================
It is highly unethical on the brokerage institution to keep mum on fees.
This shows discrimination exist even in financial sectors.
It is unprofessional ethics exercised by the financial institution.
How are they able to lower fees more than 60% from the usual fees after negotiation?
This is criminal act.

could be the Petaling Street branch? 😝 Sounds like discount on fake watches.