47 comment(s). Last comment by yctee 2015-09-04 09:24

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 21:39 | Report Abuse

ahahahaha, one support padini, one anti-padini .
It will be fun looking at the comment section.

*grabs popcorn.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 21:41 | Report Abuse

If I am not mistaken, according to Magic Formula (Thanks for kcchongnz posting, or else I wouldn't know this formula), PE 8 is a reasonable PE for a company that grow at 0% annually.

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-05-06 22:26 | Report Abuse

8倍本益比及以下:业务不稳定,负债高,时赚是亏???????

I don't understand!

or you PE is not normally used PE.

PE below 8 is definitely good for a net cash company like padini

at the current price of 1.38, the pe is 12 and DY =7.25%

if PE = 8 , then the price is just around 80sen , DY is then 12.5, with the
cash holding of about 2M , I do not see padini has any problem to pay 10sen dividend as promised.

please sell to me now at 80 sen, I am most willing to buy. 1 M shares I still can afford, if you got 10M , I can easily gather a few friends to buy from you. my contact number is 0123435681

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-05-06 22:32 | Report Abuse

CFTrader,

please do not quote Kccchong , I know he does not like to use PE to evaluate a company.

in which article he had said " PE 8 is a reasonable PE for a company that grow at 0% annually" ?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-05-06 22:39 | Report Abuse

apini: very great analytical comment. It had shown that you really understand Padini in depth. I like it.

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-05-06 22:39 | Report Abuse

I don't have padini shares, but 80sen or below with the dividend of 2.5 sen every quarter is definitely a good good buy

Posted by Tom > 2015-05-06 22:44 | Report Abuse

说得好 kakashit

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 22:44 | Report Abuse

lol, I thank Kcchongnz to introduce Magic Formula in the forum. Or else I won't know it.

I don't say that kcchongnz use PE to value a share.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 22:48 | Report Abuse

Oh sorry, it's not Magic Formula. It's Absolute PE Ratio Valuation.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/46422.jsp

Gotta read here.
I won't spit out something that doesn't exist... hihi.

Posted by contemplator > 2015-05-06 22:49 | Report Abuse

The most important is the notion you form about its business. PE is an indicator (not exclusive) of the worthiness of money swapped with the piece of business sold to you. In the future if the business is good then its dividend is gonna to be good also. Afterall valuation is an art than science: intrinsic value vs market price should be the most important aspect considered.

Posted by contemplator > 2015-05-06 22:50 | Report Abuse

The investment is most intelligent when it is most business like. Ben Graham

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 22:55 | Report Abuse

I won't talk much about FA or TA in this forum.

There are a lot of pro sifu here. 在下不敢班门弄斧。

But I had to reject your term "The investment is most intelligent when it is most business like. Ben Graham"

To me, nothing beats money/portfolio management - one of the "cold" subject in investing

Posted by contemplator > 2015-05-06 22:55 | Report Abuse

These two gentlemen have formed their notion about Padini. What about you? Have you look into the cash flow of this company? what is its gross profit margin, net profit margin, ROE, Current ratio, financial stability, owner earning, microeconomics, DCF value, reverse DCF value, integrity of management?

Posted by contemplator > 2015-05-06 22:57 | Report Abuse

Well you don't reject my term "The investment is most intelligent when it is most business like" they are Benjamin Graham's. Chills

Posted by contemplator > 2015-05-06 22:59 | Report Abuse

Will be willing to hear and learn if you share how to money/portfolio management - one of the "cold" subject in investing.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:00 | Report Abuse

d

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:03 | Report Abuse

padini will be PN17 within the next 3 yrs.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 23:04 | Report Abuse

Problem is , I myself aren't excel in that subject too... I'm still learning and probing the subject by trial and error method.

I would appreciate someone whom excel in this "portfolio management" to share some tips with the public.

You could score a 150% gain in one counter (5% allocation) but your total portfolio might be in losing position because of the losing-performance of your largest holding.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:07 | Report Abuse

yes, Money management is the No.1 most important element in trading.

there are books teaching on this subject on how one can manage their exposure tru beta reading and proportion of funds invested. pretty complicated. but one can form their own simple rules to protect the unexpected.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 23:09 | Report Abuse

To find a good soldier is one thing , to control and allocate the position of the soldier is another thing.

Cheers =P

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:10 | Report Abuse

The difference between a successful trader and a losing trader has a lot less to do with the successful trader’s ability to pick winners than you might think. All traders are going to experience losers and lots of them. It’s a fact of the business.

A winner, however, embraces the understanding that a large element of any one trade is randomness — in effect, any given trade is, on some level, a gamble. Losing trades are inevitable, and the winner takes that inevitability into account. Many longtime successful managers have done it with a winning percentage just above 50% and even the best traders are right only about 60% of the time.

It isn’t necessary to achieve that success rate to profit in the long-term, though. It isn’t even necessary to be 50% right (see "Win some, lose some," below). The depicted scenario assumes a 40% win rate — in other words, eight winning trades out of 20. The key to making a 40% win rate profitable is to structure your trades so that your winners profit at least twice as much as your losers lose — and that your initial stake can withstand the inevitable string of losses.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-05-06 23:14 | Report Abuse

Yes ! Optimusprime, you are good.

These is the "cold" material I'm talking about.

Could you share more about position thingy ?
I'm eager to learn more.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:15 | Report Abuse

Posted by CFTrader > May 6, 2015 11:14 PM | Report Abuse

Yes ! Optimusprime, you are good.

These is the "cold" material I'm talking about.

Could you share more about position thingy ?
I'm eager to learn more.

CFtrader.

u saw the slide i just posted?
i deleted, bcos the less ppls know the better for us.

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-06 23:16 | Report Abuse

oh ... money/portfolio management ......

very simple one. why make it difficult?

why use some technical terms the you yourself also don't know?

if you really interested ,

ask my good friend tkp1

he is the expert

he used this method to turn around from losing money to gaining big.

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-06 23:27 | Report Abuse

optimusprime,

why 3 years? one year can not ke?

3 years ..... want to play safe?

what can not happen in 3 years?

people call you sifu you know, they are waiting for you to tell them what to do know, not 3 years later

why not you tell them

2016 padini hit 2.80

2017 padini start to drop from the height of 5.00, limit down all the
way

2018 enter PN17+1 ( a newly created PN)

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-06 23:33 |

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-06 23:38 | Report Abuse

hahaha......

I see, I see.....

how come you don't know 3 years later , you don't want but the bangali like very much.

hahaha.....

Posted by optimusprime > May 6, 2015 11:32 PM | Report Abuse

3 yrs for a reason.
padini is now like a 50yr old woman. many young chics is now fighting with her. and they have 36d 24 36

now padini is 38ff 34 46 (too bloated and sagging)

next 3 yrs padini go into manopause. no man wants it anymore.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-05-06 23:43 | Report Abuse

padini will be the next bonia

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:47 | Report Abuse

bonia is more superior than padini and in different sub sector of fashion. it has no direct competitor.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-05-06 23:49 | Report Abuse

bonia superior??...even pasar malam ah sum also carry coach or fake LV la hahaha

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:51 | Report Abuse

tell me who is bonia competitor? LV? Coach?

Sunkist118

999 posts

Posted by Sunkist118 > 2015-05-06 23:55 | Report Abuse

Padini lor

Sunkist118

999 posts

Posted by Sunkist118 > 2015-05-06 23:56 | Report Abuse

Who is padini competitor mah Bonia lor

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-06 23:58 | Report Abuse

no. bonia= leather story, padini= middle class clothing.
bonia has no direct competition in its class.

Sunkist118

999 posts

Posted by Sunkist118 > 2015-05-06 23:59 | Report Abuse

Sembonia lor

Sunkist118

999 posts

Posted by Sunkist118 > 2015-05-07 00:00 | Report Abuse

Braun buffel their competitor also mah

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-07 00:04 | Report Abuse

sembonia own by bonia la.

braun buffel no money to do advertisement in msia also. very few outlet.

no critical mass in this part of the world. uncle auntie cannot pronounce braun buffel la.

albukhary

2,727 posts

Posted by albukhary > 2015-05-07 01:14 | Report Abuse

braun buffel also partially owned by Bonia.

albukhary

2,727 posts

Posted by albukhary > 2015-05-07 01:17 | Report Abuse

If not mistaken, Bonia owned the distribution right of Braun Buffel for few Asia country.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-07 02:23 | Report Abuse

read that many years ago. but no sure if they still hold the license to sell braun buffel? anyway braun product is not popular in malaysia.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-05-07 02:28 | Report Abuse

many yrs ago esprit was a hot cakes, a must have by all fund mgr globally. due to trend change and their inflexible response, it bcame a brand nobody want to associate, as they cheapen the product thru heavy discount in tier 2 shopping area. (sell to the poor) its reputation is further tarnish and began the downfall of its share price. it drop nearly 90% of its value from peak.

padini is walking the same path as esprit, just more pariah.

lenyan

172 posts

Posted by lenyan > 2015-08-10 16:21 | Report Abuse

收股息是买股票最烂的一个理由!!

bpng0904

82 posts

Posted by bpng0904 > 2015-09-03 23:17 | Report Abuse

a good company pays good dividend and continues to grow; a bad company does not pay dividend and cannot grow

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-09-04 06:55 | Report Abuse

"收股息是买股票最烂的一个理由!!"
这是在股市多年來所听到最莫名其妙的的一句话。前人成立股票市场的主因是集资,发展生意,分享盈利(股息为其一)。曾几何时,新生代竟然把最初的理由当着是最烂的理由。唉!难怪我在Padini 会亏钱,大概是我一直以来都是以最烂的理由來买股票。该输。

nokenzo

591 posts

Posted by nokenzo > 2015-09-04 07:15 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr bsngpg, long time didn't hear from you, I also chose to invest in stock which gives reasonable DY. Mr Market will decide on the price of the stock, irrespective of fundamental, eventually, I think, an equilibrium will strike. Hope so. Hope to get in contact with you.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-09-04 07:55 | Report Abuse

Mr nokenzo: very nice to hear from you too. You are one of the people with good manner in public forum. Please keep up. We need to contribute our best to create atmosphere of positive energy. Thks

yctee

77 posts

Posted by yctee > 2015-09-04 09:24 | Report Abuse

Padini and Parkson are 2 counters I never touch, simply because every time I pass by their outlet, can hardly see any customer . Just wonder how they survived ?