14 people like this.

90 comment(s). Last comment by Laughgaodiemeliao 2016-01-31 15:18

Julietzhu

30 posts

Posted by Julietzhu > 2016-01-04 12:19 | Report Abuse

Really enriched my knowledge in stocks. A big thank to u. Are u really an old old man?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-04 12:23 | Report Abuse

I am second oldest in this forum. Uncke Koon number 1

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-01-04 12:27 | Report Abuse

maybe u two are relative.... just kidding. (^o^)

Newbhere

47 posts

Posted by Newbhere > 2016-01-04 12:40 | Report Abuse

In my opinion... OTB is a hybrid of value trader and value investor. He goes for uptrending stocks that have good valuations and have more potential upside. His method is quite effective as those counters (most of them), are also being monitored and pushed by the insiders and funds. He doesn't need to wait for a long time to make a landslide or tsunami sort of killing in the stockmarket (e.g targeting for the lowest price). He can just ride the wave and make whatever % there is (e.g min 20% to multiple baggers) at any point of the stock market cycle.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-01-04 12:55 | Report Abuse

Hey Icon yea ure right. Mercury is an arbitrage opportunities which can still never materialized. Previously full of cash (low ROE) as you are aware, used it to bought a company venture into construction (higher ROE), and profit guarantee for 3 years. So we will see.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-01-04 13:04 | Report Abuse

OTB methods is a very tired, consumed energy and low risk method which involved combination of many methods....but highest return.... He is so love and enjoy his work... With his method, unless your are very hardworking, if not impossible to get the highest performance...

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2016-01-04 13:49 | Report Abuse

I guess all of them are Trend followers.( long time never heard peoples use this term as it is not `fashionable' ) : )

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2016-01-04 15:07 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr. Ooi,

If you don't mind, may I take a look on your template .

I would like to see what will make you think a company in good fundamental.

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Jan 4, 2016 11:17 AM | Report Abuse

I have my own template of FA report. I also know what is margin of safety, target price base on Intrinsic value of the stock, Potential gain, EV/EBIT and others important ratio.
I copy the best from all the best sifu on FA. I believe I am equally good in FA.
I do not simply buy stock base on TA only. I use TA comes first and FA comes second strategy. All my recommended stocks are guarantee to have very good FA.
Icon8888, are I right ?

Posted by John Lim > 2016-01-04 15:23 | Report Abuse

research has shown that combining value with momentum will improve returns

Posted by contemplator > 2016-01-04 17:28 | Report Abuse

I personally think that no matter what methods you use, earning profit is of paramount importance (in decent way).

The difficulty for an investor is to CONSISTENTLY achieve APPLICABLE ANNUALIZED capital return (I believe using TA investors will be harder to achieve above target). Good profit for 3-4 years doesn't really prove anything. Consistent results for 10 years and above only can be considered as an capable investor (his/her wealth should have been significantly amplified during the 10 years).
I do not condemn Mr Ooi or praise Mr KC Chong, it is just my humble opinion.

I would recommend a book by Seth Klarman: Margin of Safety. His investing methods revealed in the book is quite orthodox to Warren Buffett but truly belong to value investing.

Investment is knowledge pay best interest
Investment is most intelligent when it is most business like. Benjamin Graham

Posted by Lew Peik Yin > 2016-01-04 17:31 | Report Abuse

Sifu, how about FAVCO?do u know the TP? Tqvm for your written up those useful informations!

alphajack

3,685 posts

Posted by alphajack > 2016-01-04 17:31 | Report Abuse

OTB banyak rajin fella...I used to troll him a lot but now I secretly admire him.

His stock picks have very good risk/reward that's why he also never chase risk, aka. didn't play Geshen, Comcorp, KTC all those hot goring stuff and he still can get such decent returns.

Claps*

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-01-04 21:02 | Report Abuse

Risk is come from you are not the to 3 persons faster to enter the counter.the person chase high = chase risk and will be the last person out ..wakakaka

Posted by Hierarch Artanis > 2016-01-04 22:03 | Report Abuse

Eye-opening. Thanks for sharing!

zefftan

173 posts

Posted by zefftan > 2016-01-05 01:34 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the write

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2016-01-05 02:55 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, assuming that you ANTICIPATE that the KLCI will fall 100 points in this quarter, would you react as a Value Trader or as a Value Investor.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 03:51 | Report Abuse

Value Trader

Not by choice, but by definition

Value Investors buy shares based on moat, let moat drives earnings and price gain one year after another

I buy a company share even if it doesn't have moat

So I don't qualify as Value Investor

Most people here don't

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 03:55 | Report Abuse

But I do buy shares as a value investor

Media prima, AmBank, Bimb-wa, etc

Those are bought bcos I believe they have moat

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2016-01-05 04:26 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, if you are CONVINCED that the stock market will experience a sharp fall, will you eventually sell all your shares reserved for trading but still retain those with moat?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 04:54 | Report Abuse

it is tricky question... not impossible to answer, but required a lot of thoughts... not easy to do that at 5am.. ha ha

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-01-05 05:24 | Report Abuse

Old man should sleep early instead of roaming forum at 5 am. (^o^)

feimah

907 posts

Posted by feimah > 2016-01-05 05:59 | Report Abuse

Icon, what is your tp for ambank?

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-01-05 06:13 |

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-01-05 06:27 |

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-01-05 06:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by alphajack > Jan 4, 2016 05:31 PM | Report Abuse

OTB banyak rajin fella...I used to troll him a lot but now I secretly admire him.

His stock picks have very good risk/reward that's why he also never chase risk, aka. didn't play Geshen, Comcorp, KTC all those hot goring stuff and he still can get such decent returns.

Claps*

Ans : It is my hobby and interest to learn in stock market. I spend many hours a day to analyse stocks. I want to improve my performance.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-05 08:42 | Report Abuse

Ya. Comcorp has lots of most with its BA I assume? Icon.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 08:55 | Report Abuse

sifu plane, eat roti canai already ?

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-05 09:00 | Report Abuse

Not yet leg. Today sent kids to school no time. Later go far roti canai and teh tarik.and after that sing song falling down falling down.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 09:05 | Report Abuse

ha ha, you are a loving father kah ? Usually moneymen very busy with works, seldom have time for kids.

Enjoy your roti canai and teh tarik, I am always here if you later on need some sparring exercise

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-05 09:07 | Report Abuse

Sure. Money I got a lot Liao. My priority is my son.

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-01-05 12:25 | Report Abuse

paperplane2016, a lot money generated from stock market? How you do it? I also hope I can be like you.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-05 12:27 | Report Abuse

ya loh, share share some wisdom with us, we all greenhorns here

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2016-01-05 23:09 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, sorry went to bed before your answer. Not nice of me to ask you a silly question especially at such an unearthly hour. Luckly you didn't attempt to answer. Anyway, let you know that I enjoy reading your articles, as they are informative, interesting and best of all profitable ($$$).

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:26 | Report Abuse

Super investor is none of the above,
they make 100% return in Comcorp in two days
and they beat Warren Buffet into dust

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:34 | Report Abuse

Note : WB is value investor but not super investor

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:38 | Report Abuse

To become a super investor
one need to survive in a country full of scandals and unpredictable future and still make a profit from the greater chaos, in this country the problem is the shit can even drop Warren Buffet glass stock like MyEG, ifca, fgv, many glove counter, and many unreasonable investing experience.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:40 | Report Abuse

If Warren Buffet come here to invest, he may loss his fortune :) and become begger behind the street.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:43 | Report Abuse

There is reason why Warren Buffet didn't want to invest here...

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:44 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffet need to become super investor to make a fortune if he ever think of land his foot on this land.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-05 23:48 | Report Abuse

Do you know what is super investor advise to most newbie here?
Absolutely not about reading a book written by some very famous big money making born in first world country and successful story

gohcheehoh

578 posts

Posted by gohcheehoh > 2016-01-06 00:09 | Report Abuse

Love this information so much. Still hard to choose or balance value traders and value investor. Now I more toward value trader.

Posted by BenBlurBlur > 2016-01-06 00:50 | Report Abuse

I think u got OTB wrong. OTB is not one person. OTB is a group. OTB maybe makes use of value but OTB is definately not passive. OTB's group influence price. OTB is more like a very active shark is it? Thank u

khingjoo

11 posts

Posted by khingjoo > 2016-01-06 09:07 | Report Abuse

Definitely a good article. Would appreciate if Mr Icon8888 can illustrate with a case in study to differentiate the Value Investor from Value Trader. I invested in TienWah since last month, am I a Value Investor or a Value Trader?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-06 09:09 | Report Abuse

khingjoo have u read Part 1? Part 1 describe the differences between value trading and value investing

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-01-06 11:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by BenBlurBlur > Jan 6, 2016 12:50 AM | Report Abuse

I think u got OTB wrong. OTB is not one person. OTB is a group. OTB maybe makes use of value but OTB is definately not passive. OTB's group influence price. OTB is more like a very active shark is it? Thank u

Ans : I hope I can be so powerful like what you said. I take it as a compliment.

Posted by sarifahselinder > 2016-01-06 15:42 | Report Abuse

I agreed dgn Ben sebab I juga dah lama sangsi OTB syndicate.

Mungkin Value Syndicate? Macam mana i con? Lagi terror!

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2016-01-06 16:24 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr. Ooi,

Thanks for your reply.

I would suggest you might want to inspect a series of financial data instead of taking the lastest data only.

A good company will be doing better and better. And, this will be recorded by the financial statement.

Would like to share with you the template I am uinsg now - http://intelligentinvestor8.blogspot.com/search/label/Financial%20Statement%20Analysis%20Template

And, hope to exchange idea and learn from all sifu.

Cheers!

khingjoo

11 posts

Posted by khingjoo > 2016-01-06 17:25 | Report Abuse

Thank you my most respected Icon8888, I will try to look up your part one, as I am new here.

Newbhere

47 posts

Posted by Newbhere > 2016-01-07 07:45 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr Ooi,

If you don't mind, can you please share all your methods of computing the IV? I believe you are using about 5 to 7 methods. The template that you have given earlier on only shows one method.

Thanks.

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-31 15:18 |