157 comment(s). Last comment by paperplane2016 2016-01-18 23:19

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2016-01-16 10:11 | Report Abuse

0650hk lai lai lai

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2016-01-16 10:53 | Report Abuse

Ah moi, according to the guest speakers, investors believe that China deliberately devalued the yuan to revive their faltering economies. It's fallacy because China is slowing down but not in danger of any recession.

The real reason is because China cannot afford to continue pegging the yuan at a certain rate and had to succumb to the huge market forces of yuan flight. When they did that the first time in Aug, they thought that it'll be enough hence they guided the market that there'll be no more but they did it again this month.

So, be prepared for currency wars though not a deliberately one by other emerging markets. Thus, expect prolonged weakening of regional currencies or at least until oil prices stabilize

It looks like export based and domestic construction companies benefiting from the slew of infra works (provided they are not cancelled - highly unlikely based on comments of a government think tank. Budget cuts expected to affect expenditure slash for all ministries instead) to be a safer bets for the year.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 10:59 | Report Abuse

ayoyo I agree with your view

what stocks you think are worth paying attention ?

Posted by murali > 2016-01-16 12:23 | Report Abuse

Tkp2 only 2 years old in stock mkt?seriously????if then i need to dig a hole for myself to hide.....

Posted by murali > 2016-01-16 12:25 | Report Abuse

Chonghai another low profile smart guy in i3 i like.....diam diam ubi.....sure n steady....i started to curi curi follow him lately.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-01-16 12:32 | Report Abuse

Ayoyo

Currency war....

I am talking about currency war... you are talking about currency war.. but different outcomes

Currency war is all about trying to gain an edge in exporting by weakening ones currency....

I am saying thanks to AhJibKor.. he has given Malaysia a head start in the game.. unintentionally.. with his 1MDB... RM will not go down more.... but RMB will be going down more soon as China is going for a deliberate devaluation.. its manufacturing companies will come alive.. US is bracing for this prospect.. Malaysian companies no need??

Prices of export companies not toppish??

IMO... Malaysian export companies play is in the 35th minute of the 2nd half...

Mr k has bailed out already.. deliberately..
sneakily... quitely...

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-16 12:40 | Report Abuse

who is Mr. K?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 12:47 | Report Abuse

Mr Mock The Poor

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-01-16 12:47 | Report Abuse

HaHa K is for Koon

Watch.. what he is doing... not what is saying..

Posted by Chuin Ting > 2016-01-16 13:42 | Report Abuse

chong hai, can you further explain what is meaning of indo china.

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2016-01-16 14:33 | Report Abuse

@icon, I'm a very unsophisticated speculator. I buy on chart breakouts and then a lazy check on its low PE and growing quarterly profits. Nothing spectacular. Thus, you can see me in some of the stocks you hold. I like that you give a wider perspective to your selections. Makes a better conviction

I think it's important how investors view this market panic which will determine their positions. Do they see it as a growth shock or recession? . SnP500 was trading around 15xPE prior to fall, and now it's around 13x.if you think it's a growth shock, then it's near buying levels based on historical growth multiples. If you think a recession is coming, then you wouldn't buy until at least another 10% fall. So, if what's your take?

@moi, currency war is a deliberate attempt to devalue to increase competitiveness. The problem now is structural. Genuine large and real outflows of yuan flight and China seems to be naive in dealing with this issue. You can try to Google effects of yuan devaluation on the US or the world

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2016-01-16 14:38 | Report Abuse

Amidst the oil bloodbath, Warren buffet continue to accumulate stocks in Phillips 66. A true contrarian

Posted by Lawrence1120 > 2016-01-16 14:41 | Report Abuse

Dear Icon8888,
At what price u will buy Comcorp again?

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-01-16 14:46 | Report Abuse

Philip 66 is an oil refiner... not producer... there is a big big defference

Philip 66s raw material is crude oil...

Experts are even foreseeing a drop in the prices of oil products.. not just prices of the crude oils...in near future

53,265 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-01-16 14:47 | Report Abuse

Behind every cloud is a silver lining.

Why Warren Buffet bought Phillips 66?

Since Phillips is a Refinery the fall of Oil Price means better profit margin. With cheap crude oil as feed stocks for refineries profits will accelerate upward!

Hmmm?

I got one very good stock which beneit the most from cheap oil.

Will post soon.

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2016-01-16 14:47 | Report Abuse

Chart wise, the dow is not seeing capitulation volume compared to when in August but prices falling with consistently building volume. This could mean only 2 things, that we have not seen the lows yet or the market has priced this in hence no sudden shocks (as compared to august when china's action was a surprise move)

Either way, there's always a buying opportunity for good stocks, where one has priced a fair value of PE12 or ev/ebit of 12 fair value on their fav stocks. Maybe discount that to pe 8 or ev/ebit of 8to 10 should provide some good reference to start your buying

53,265 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-01-16 14:50 | Report Abuse

Should read as,

I got one very good stock which will benefit the most from cheap crude oil.
This one is a real bargain overlooked by the masses.

Watch out for the Next Post soon

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-01-16 14:55 | Report Abuse

And... since export companies have benefited from the overly weak RM due to AhJibKors doing...

It is only fair that you all should help out AhJibKor with his headache from his 2016 Budget revision.... a 3% to 5% windfall tax on that extra profits that export companies made as they have benefited from the overly weak RM due to AhJibKors doing... is in order

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 15:19 | Report Abuse

I also found one recently...

Calvintaneng Behind every cloud is a silver lining

I got one very good stock which beneit the most from cheap oil.

Will post soon.
16/01/2016 14:47

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-16 15:21 | Report Abuse

Icon 8888; must share with me ok. Thanks.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 15:25 | Report Abuse

@@

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2016-01-16 15:35 | Report Abuse

Icon, how about Luxchem?
From previous history, luxchem recorded good margin and eps on 2008-2009 when oil drop heavily.

Posted by Lawrence1120 > 2016-01-16 15:47 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr.Icon8888,
Do u organize any talk or seminar?
Would like to learn from u :)

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-16 16:00 | Report Abuse

I would like to join too.

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2016-01-16 16:52 | Report Abuse

I'm getting to believe what this investment guru Hu Li Yang mentioned, the storm is on it way https://youtu.be/WTxKH_wkfa0 . The rhythm is oil down, then share and property down.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 17:01 | Report Abuse

Thanks, I like Mr Hu...

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-16 21:31 | Report Abuse

Hu li yang estimated crisis to be happen in 2014.

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-16 21:36 | Report Abuse

Try to understand how the Economic cycle works, ride on the correct timing, invest in good property and good stocks at low, hold it, and sell at high. Be patience, wishing to be millionaire before 30

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-16 21:36 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/PHe0bXAIuk0

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 23:32 | Report Abuse

Ryan u below 30 kah ? wah nowadays young chaps all super performers...

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-16 23:38 | Report Abuse

Yup. 27

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 23:39 | Report Abuse

So clever...

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-16 23:43 | Report Abuse

Too late to join the world of adults because of study life. Missed the boat of property and stock booming 2008 -2014. Hiassss

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 23:45 | Report Abuse

Young Man U havnt missed anything, a bright future ahead, don't worry...

Stick with i3, sure make $$$

X D

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-17 00:09 | Report Abuse

I last time RM1.6 k only...

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2016-01-17 00:19 | Report Abuse

icon do u sell any stock or add recently?how about mudajaya and tecguan now
one plant havent start one cpo price not stable

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-17 00:22 | Report Abuse

I dumb dumb hold woh

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2016-01-17 00:24 | Report Abuse

support u la bro still 100% in share de me

Kyou

1,225 posts

Posted by Kyou > 2016-01-17 00:28 | Report Abuse

good article..thanks for sharing...^^ its reli useful for me

Posted by Ahbeng Beng > 2016-01-17 00:30 | Report Abuse

This article doesnt take shale bubble and lots of bad loans into account. If you are holding dollar, there isnt much investment option to choose from. So the media is right in the sense that they are talking in american perspective and dont give a fxxk to malaysian.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-17 00:45 | Report Abuse

Top10 from last....I wonder shld I still listen you leh.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-17 01:49 | Report Abuse

Wah, if you continue your pace like this week, you can become no1 leh icon! From bottom!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-17 09:55 | Report Abuse

I don't mind being number 1 from bottom...

It is nice to cool down my readers. They have been a bit over enthusiastic recently, ha ha

Yaw Lam

65 posts

Posted by Yaw Lam > 2016-01-17 11:25 | Report Abuse

Hello icon sifu, do u still think gadang is a good buy at current price? HOld or buy?thanks

Julietzhu

30 posts

Posted by Julietzhu > 2016-01-17 14:26 | Report Abuse

Hello, my dear hero. May I ask about MPHB Cap? Is it a good buy..

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2016-01-17 19:45 | Report Abuse

only one advice from Mr Market, never fight with him and follow his trend. : )

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-18 23:13 | Report Abuse

I think he look forward as top loser?

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 23:15 | Report Abuse

Woow, p.plane2016 u r so powerful like Moody for i3 liaw.

549 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-01-18 23:17 | Report Abuse

I tell u what, paperplane is only good in playing barbie doll, monopoly, UNO cards...for stock market he is -5% in 2016

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-18 23:19 | Report Abuse

Come let sing let it go, let it go