9 people like this.

109 comment(s). Last comment by Ven Felix 2016-02-18 01:12

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 08:40 | Report Abuse

poor paperplane.... every time I see you, I will think "poor paperplane..."

I always feel so lucky I am not a person like you...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 08:40 | Report Abuse

Good morning Mr Desa

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 08:52 | Report Abuse

I welcome Desa to comment on my articles

if make sense, i will response

if don't make sense, i will slap a "comment not valid, ignore'

JN8888

8 posts

Posted by JN8888 > 2016-02-01 08:56 | Report Abuse

Huat ar !!! Feburary liao ar!!!

This comment make sense bor? lol

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 09:00 | Report Abuse

this one make sense for everybody LOL

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-01 09:06 | Report Abuse

Ang ang bo hai lang. Huat lah icon8888.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-01 09:06 | Report Abuse

good morning...It did occur to me to sell off the portfolio in early January (when Wall Street started tanking) and stay away for a few months...Not bad for a few weeks work and 15 -20% return.
But I didn't.
I got catch up in my own writings
The take away lesson.....everyone is a trader pretending to be an investor.

It is very difficult to be a trader when one is writing about investing, and very difficult to be an investor when one is always in i3., writing about trading.

at the end of the day, everybody gets mediocre results because to get superior results, one has to be stubborn and right.

to be stubborn and right, wins big
to be stubborn and wrong lose big.
businessmen like KYY tends to be stubborn.

academicians, bloggers, portfolio managers, CFAs, traders...these are not stubborn people, they have no guts to be stubborn, they don't have what it takes...I included...the only free lunch in town is to be diversified.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 09:11 | Report Abuse

it is more complicated than that...

you write based on your perception

i write based on my experience

that is the difference between u and me

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2016-02-01 09:23 | Report Abuse

thanks icon for your giving your insight and reasons for your portfolio rebalance. Its logical and intelligent.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 09:24 | Report Abuse

you are welcome, chyokh

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-01 09:37 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

I read one article some key factors are developing and when too obese will turn down Crude Oil to USD7 ............ I read I also scared although I "hope" it will never happen

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 09:42 | Report Abuse

can share the article ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 09:49 | Report Abuse

mine is Desa1956@gmail.com

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-01 09:54 | Report Abuse

At the end of the day, the only members of the public who makes money from the stockmarket are people like my wife.
She probably makes two or three transactions a year, only focuses on shares of the highest quality.
Told me specifically not interested in any of the shares promoted by the i3 people...KYY or Icon included. Doesn't like shares that go up and down. Bought a fair bit of IGB Reits recently
When oil price came down to US$ 28....she says she wants to buy SK Petrol but I discouraged her.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-01 09:58 | Report Abuse

This one I agree....

Usually big shot earn big money jz 2-5 transactions per year....and the volume and trend is significant.........

everyday trade quality drop hence, lose more than EARN and consume energy........

I think there are many discipline traders earn big money from Icon/OTB/KYY comments also....depend on how discipline .....

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 1, 2016 09:54 AM | Report Abuse

At the end of the day, the only members of the public who makes money from the stockmarket are people like my wife.
She probably makes two or three transactions a year, only focuses on shares of the highest quality.
Told me specifically not interested in any of the shares promoted by the i3 people...KYY or Icon included. Doesn't like shares that go up and down. Bought a fair bit of IGB Reits recently
When oil price came down to US$ 28....she says she wants to buy SK Petrol but I discouraged her.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 10:01 | Report Abuse

your wife is smart, your son doing well, you must have done well in your career

that is why you approach this public forum with an elite mentality

you have shut yourself down, no more capable of learning, because you have very high regard for yourself and your family (which btw, I would like to send my warm regards and best wishes)

I am different, I absorb i3 forum members' wisdom like a sponge absorbs water

I learn many many things from different forum members

have a nice day

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 1, 2016 09:54 AM | Report Abuse

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-01 10:04 | Report Abuse

mine is Desa1956@gmail.com
Icon , finally I got your email. Huat ah.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 10:10 | Report Abuse

icon, my portfolio down -2.7% now, I am really poor compared to someone -12%. kesian me sikit can? Don't always use vulgar language personal attack me. I nak cari makan only

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 10:14 | Report Abuse

if you billionaire macam KYY, no need so many transactions a year mah

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 10:15 | Report Abuse

i pity you because of your character and personality, not your portfolio

it takes a lot of foolishness to be able to behave like you, especially some one who believes in buddhism

Posted by paperplane2016 > Feb 1, 2016 10:10 AM | Report Abuse

icon, my portfolio down -2.7% now, I am really poor compared to someone -12%. kesian me sikit can? Don't always use vulgar language personal attack me. I nak cari makan only

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-02-01 10:16 | Report Abuse

I see a lot stock god during bull time
I also see a lot stock god turn stock shit when turn to bear
hope ur portfolio continue make money...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 10:18 | Report Abuse

nobody is stock god... only Desa thinks he is stock god..

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-01 10:18 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 and all,

Happy day ahead.... I wish you a productive week ahead.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 10:18 | Report Abuse

same to you

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-02-01 10:34 | Report Abuse

if you dare to share the portfolio, mean u very confident to stock market skill, u're Stock God already (my definition)...hehe

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 10:38 | Report Abuse

I put it there for discussion lah, bro... stock god stock ghost what is the relevance ? can eat meh ? most important your own wallet happy mah... everything else is BS...

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-01 10:59 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, email sent.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 11:00 | Report Abuse

can go through meh ? it is a faked email address

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-01 11:02 | Report Abuse

Can go thru. Hahahaha. Oh it's fake one.
Cool la.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 11:02 | Report Abuse

it probably belongs to Desa

joelyk

45 posts

Posted by joelyk > 2016-02-01 11:14 | Report Abuse

whatever it is,tq icon for your postings,quite informative,keep it up but please hold fast with your conviction ,don't be like some bloggers who sway from their purpose after their conscience being hijacked by greed n employ pump n dump tactic.Don't worry about those critics because they like salt in the dish,without them the dish you cook will taste bland,right?lol

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 11:17 | Report Abuse

ha ha true, need salt ... hahahah

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2016-02-01 11:20 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing Icon!

I agreed with your point of investment diversity, and I'm still a strong believer of export counters due to benefit from low material cost and local low demand concern.

The revocation of Iran sanction, which have threatening saudi's position. due to keen of US commitment, Saudi would continue to hold they market prime as strong as possible, cutting down the oil supply seem hard to happen unless the agreement signed among OPAC and don't forget Saudi oil cost is just about 5 dollar. hence, I believe the oil price will be sideway move for sometimes.

Just my humble opinion :)

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-01 11:27 | Report Abuse

Nakata. Hello

Where is ur sibling Nikiti?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 11:29 | Report Abuse

in my opinion, nobody knows what is ahead of us

last year around June, Ringgit also strengthened. But from August onwards, it was like diarrhoea and slided all the way to 4.40

that is why I don't dare to write off export counters

u never know

Posted by stockraider > 2016-02-01 11:43 | Report Abuse

Yes why should u write off export counters ?

The ringgit although do strengthen abit, it is still good for export counters.......bcos msia still competitive based on currency.

Our nearest competitor BAHT, is at around baht 35 v USD 1 whereas
Msia Rm 4.14 v USD 1

This mean Msia still have huge price advantage in short term loh....!!
Msia political situation still no good....the current development still look like window dressing only mah.....!!

Raider see even Ringgit move towards Rm 3.80 v USD 1.....the export counters still can adjust & compete efficiently loh.....!!

The strategy why u buy export counters, is bcos it is a proxy.....to move your monies oversea to hedge agst msia mah.....!!

The problem is some of the export counters price move too much ahead, this trigger profit taking mah....!!

Still raider suggest undervalue export counters & not to overpay loh...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2016-02-01 11:50 | Report Abuse

Secrets of Long-Term Investing Revealed

I’m married. Marriage is about commitment and patience. Marriage is not for the impulsive or the fickle. There are going to be ups and downs, good times and bad times. Through all of that, I firmly believe marriage is ‘worth it’ a million times over.

What does marriage have to do with long-term investing?

Keep reading to see why commitment matters in marriage, and in your investment portfolio.

In marriage, you get to build the deepest relationship of your life. All the little (and big) nice things you do for someone else are added to the ‘love bank’. These little deposits grow over time. You get the interest on your investment through reciprocity; the person you love most in the world doing little (and big) nice things for you.

The draw of marriage is building a deeper, longer bond with one person than you will with anyone else. That is very special.

Society knows marriage is special. That’s why getting divorced is a difficult process. You can’t just tell your spouse ‘we are divorced’ and be done with it. When you give your life-long (and legal) commitment to someone, you can’t just walk out the door with no strings attached.

What if we approached owning our stocks with the same conviction? That’s what long-term investing is about.

“People have a way of looking at me strangely when I tell them that long-term investing isn’t about having a great system, or a superior analytic intellect, or better access to information, or even the best advice money can buy. Long-term investing is about character, about depth of vision and the cultivation of patience, about who you are and who you’ve made yourself to be”

The Single Best Investment

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 11:56 | Report Abuse

thank you raider

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2016-02-01 11:56 | Report Abuse

Stocktrader,I like your view points on marriage but not so on longterm investment which subjects go all kinds of risks that we must avoid.

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2016-02-01 11:57 | Report Abuse

Correction: which subjects to all kinds....

Posted by stockraider > 2016-02-01 12:06 | Report Abuse

Jenny,

To help u below is the investment master advise;

Phil Fisher, called the three-year rule. This is what the late Mr. Fisher had to say about this topic:

“While I realized thoroughly that if I were to make the kinds of profits that are made possible by [my] process … it was vital that I have some sort of quantitative check… With this in mind, I established what I called my three-year rule.” Fisher adds, “I have repeated again and again to my clients that when I purchase something for them, not to judge the results in a matter of a month or a year, but allow me a three year period.”
Certainly, there will be situations where an investment thesis is wrong, valuation explodes, or there are superior investment opportunities that will trigger a sale before the three-year minimum expires. Nonetheless, I follow Fisher’s rule in principle in hopes of setting the bar high enough to only let the best ideas into both my client and personal portfolios.

As I have written in the past, there are always reasons of why you should not invest for the long-term and instead sell your position, such as: 1) new competition; 2) cost pressures; 3) slowing growth; 4) management change; 5) valuation; 6) change in industry regulation; 7) slowing economy; 8 ) loss of market share; 9) product obsolescence; 10) etc, etc, etc. You get the idea.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 12:12 | Report Abuse

grow some hair first lah, you...

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-01 12:15 | Report Abuse

Bonercythe(LAN-TAO profile)

Can I recommend you a useful TONIC.....U jz rub on ur mushroom-tortoise head...I think 1 decade will grow hair liao... wanna try??

Now CNY promotion we sell cheap cheap.....is an US organic herb product

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-01 12:26 | Report Abuse

ICon 8888 has been 隆門客 的 站 。

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-01 12:47 | Report Abuse

kopitiam haha

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 12:53 | Report Abuse

Posted by i4investor > Feb 1, 2016 10:16 AM | Report Abuse

I see a lot stock god during bull time
I also see a lot stock god turn stock shit when turn to bear
hope ur portfolio continue make money...

TOTALLY AGREE

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 12:56 | Report Abuse

after dropping -12% , reshuffle necessary, I guess??
refer http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/54010.jsp for more info.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 13:59 | Report Abuse

maybe end of Feb another reshuffle again?

youlee

762 posts

Posted by youlee > 2016-02-01 15:42 | Report Abuse

Stick to your plan! One of the Trading rules??

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-01 22:37 | Report Abuse

Forget it, icon goreng kaki. He write articles, goreng,dump. Write another again