12 people like this.

48 comment(s). Last comment by paperplane2016 2016-03-07 15:10

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-02-26 16:00 | Report Abuse

Desa & KYY now play golf.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-02-26 16:01 | Report Abuse

Hahaha, I especially liked the last post by Frank. Much humor.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-26 16:04 | Report Abuse

Why no one want to be begger?
It is high pay job.

noobnnew

973 posts

Posted by noobnnew > 2016-02-26 16:08 | Report Abuse

Another piece well written by KC. I always enjoy when I read your article.

To be frank, as a finance graduate, I myself also does not imply so many thing during my analysis. One of my professor told us that most of these jargon and formula was designed to let those people with non-financial background to think that investing is deep and complex so that we can earn big fat bonus and most of the time the people that develop financial theory and design financial derivatives do not actually know what they are doing. That is why we have sub-prime crisis in 2008.

Looking forward for more article from you and have a nice day,

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 16:42 | Report Abuse

Nothing to add except a bad carpenter blames his tool.

Secrets of the tycoons
..........the secret of the tycoons is that they all have margin accounts, they all have higher risk appetite than their neighbors at one stage in their lives.

.....but they come a time when they all sought safety in a CFA and university professor designed portfolio of relative safety with all the Greek alphabets regarding risks and returns.

Posted by Bandar20201965 > 2016-02-26 16:46 | Report Abuse

Uncle Desa, last time you told people to avoid margin account But after KYY jelly you, talk different oledi.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 19, 2016 05:11 PM | Report Abuse

Hellen cannot be higher risk than AhJib.
We can survive AhJib, we can survive Yellen

But I think people should close their margin accounts.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 16:49 | Report Abuse

Margin calls is not the end of the world.....one day I will produce a proper article on a portfolio using KYY as a case study......Mr Koon admitted margin call but is it end of the world? In the case of KYY , a margin call can still come when he is up 300 % for the last 12 months......you cannot understand that unless I show you how.

And the bottom line is that the performance is still better than without margin account. It can be proven conclusively......it is so counter intuitive but true.....once I show you how.

Posted by murali > 2016-02-26 16:54 | Report Abuse

If U use margin and practice OTB's loss cutting methods u will surely loss like hell

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 16:59 | Report Abuse

Margin account is just a facility, the end result is not predetermined.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 17:05 | Report Abuse

You can start a margin account, up 500 % at one stage and have a margin call when you are still up 300% if you buy enough stocks right at the top.........it is just a matter of arithmetic.

Posted by Bandar20201965 > 2016-02-26 17:07 | Report Abuse

Wah Uncle Desa, how to get 500% shares? Can share ah?

Posted by murali > 2016-02-26 17:10 | Report Abuse

Desa if i were u i would just keep my mouth shut so nobody will know i am not so pandai...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 17:10 | Report Abuse

Future.....no idea.....

Hindsight ......everyone has perfect hindsight.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 17:32 | Report Abuse

Murali, if I were you...I will jump into the river.

Posted by Bandar20201965 > 2016-02-26 17:43 | Report Abuse

Please Uncle Desa, share share larr. What shares can go up 500%?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 17:58 | Report Abuse

If margin a share that goes up.....everyday, you can buy more shares......everyday the banker give you more money to buy shares.

No margin account.....you cannot buy anymore shares.

The first guy becomes a tycoon.

The second guy makes enough to eat a little bit.

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-02-26 18:11 | Report Abuse

Desa, your CW very good

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 18:27 | Report Abuse

How to be tycoon if cannot buy?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 18:30 | Report Abuse

Your equity in a margin account goes up when your shares go up

It is a wonderful feedback loop.....

Virtuous feedback loop

Higher it goes, more you can buy
More you have more, more the bankers give you money to buy.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 18:31 | Report Abuse

CW not bad.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-26 18:50 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 26, 2016 04:49 PM | Report Abuse
Margin calls is not the end of the world.....one day I will produce a proper article on a portfolio using KYY as a case study......Mr Koon admitted margin call but is it end of the world? In the case of KYY , a margin call can still come when he is up 300 % for the last 12 months......you cannot understand that unless I show you how.
And the bottom line is that the performance is still better than without margin account. It can be proven conclusively......it is so counter intuitive but true.....once I show you how.

Good good good. I promise I will help you to compile the data, and analyze too if you don't know how to. But bear in mind we must use a complete and established records, say at least for the last 5 years with an assumed investment outlay, say RM50m and say with another 50% margin.

For your ease of study, you can study the last 5 years articles written in i3investor to get those actual stocks purchased and sold.

We are eagerly waiting for your article, Desa.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 18:52 | Report Abuse

don't talk so much, just give us the article...

Posted by VenFx > 2016-02-26 18:53 | Report Abuse

Wakaka ,,Desa way run.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 19:04 | Report Abuse

Already given you hints ....

If you are a bit slow, just take a bit more time to think about it.

Margin account is based on your equity.....as long the shares go up, your equity increases, bankers give up more money....it's called a virtuous feedback loop.

That is the secret of tycoons.....if you want to write an article on the secret of tycoons write about the virtuous feedback loop.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 19:12 | Report Abuse

not interested in general statements

empty talks are useless

show us some substance

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 19:16 | Report Abuse

show us the details, we not interested in vague concepts and general statements

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 19:16 | Report Abuse

There's no learning without thinking
Start thinking
Icon

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 19:19 | Report Abuse

If unable to write, just admit

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2016-02-26 19:20 | Report Abuse

Kikiki desa i think whole world is waiting for ur QR..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 19:27 | Report Abuse

Show us the article, don't beat around the bush

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 20:00 | Report Abuse

Any thing more than 5 minutes is considered work......

And I have not worked for more than 20 years.

Retired long long time ago.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-26 20:17 | Report Abuse

showed us the article. don't give excuses

just admit if u have nothing

Posted by murali > 2016-02-26 20:35 | Report Abuse

Desa is dumb for sure...but sometimes i found u guys r dumber....or else u wouldnt waste so much of yr time on him...especially kcchong....

Posted by murali > 2016-02-26 20:36 | Report Abuse

If too free go to dig abalone or oyster...more productive...

Posted by murali > 2016-02-26 20:49 | Report Abuse

Unless u guys really enjoy making fun on idiot....then i respect yr hobby...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 21:18 | Report Abuse

Secrets of the tycoons revealed.
Too baked it escapes the muralis and the dumber than dumb.

coolinvestor

1,227 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-02-26 21:22 | Report Abuse

This time i totally agree with murali n tomm. Facing an empty shell is very tiring. However whatever you sound out, u will only hear back empty echoes...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 21:27 | Report Abuse

Which part you don't understand, investor?

So simple , remove the prejudices Then new insights will be so easy.

coolinvestor

1,227 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-02-26 21:39 | Report Abuse

Unfortunately. ..we are still hearing echoes ...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 22:37 | Report Abuse

Stock selections.......

What not to choose just as important as what to choose.

So far.....2000 posts I am a self appointed sell side analysts on Vivo, Petron, Shell, and too many to mention.

Free entertainment for me, useful for others......why not?

Stock selection.....buy Bornoil la....no down risk only up potential.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-26 23:09 | Report Abuse

Anyone with ambition to be tycoon is advised to follow KYY secrets of a tycoon, especially using margin accounts. And stock selections.

However , if you don't make it, it's your karma.....do more donations and try again.

youlee

762 posts

Posted by youlee > 2016-02-27 00:40 | Report Abuse

In your dreams!!!

Posted by Tom > 2016-02-27 00:51 | Report Abuse

hi youlee, that dynamite tastes great! xD

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-27 05:39 | Report Abuse

Kcchongnz, finally, this is what i wish you write.
Can ask how to derived the standard deviation of portfolio? I had hard time getting correct std dev for my calculation. Do i use annualised return monthly and see std dev past 12 months? If portfolio jist started how to get this trailing 12m std deviation? Appreciate your helP here.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-27 05:43 | Report Abuse

Can touch on var a bit??

youlee

762 posts

Posted by youlee > 2016-02-27 14:59 | Report Abuse

Hi yeah, common sense...tycoons comes from selling shares in their companies' IPOs for a start, not share investing like you and me!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-27 21:51 | Report Abuse

Posted by paperplane2016 > Feb 27, 2016 05:39 AM | Report Abuse
Kcchongnz, finally, this is what i wish you write.
Can ask how to derived the standard deviation of portfolio? I had hard time getting correct std dev for my calculation. Do i use annualised return monthly and see std dev past 12 months? If portfolio jist started how to get this trailing 12m std deviation? Appreciate your helP here.

It all depends on what the usage is. For Sharpe ratio, use annualized std obtained from daily share price return is good enough.

Annualized std = daily std *sqrt(260)
I think VAR uses daily std.

But this VAR thingy has no use in real life investing. Why do you want to know about VAR?

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-03-07 15:10 | Report Abuse

VaR is a requirement by BNM actually. But we all think VaR no use lah.
Monte carlo simulation more useless, using past events only.