9 people like this.

25 comment(s). Last comment by moneySIFU 2016-05-23 21:51

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2016-03-18 09:08 | Report Abuse

How about Latitude, Poh Huat and Lii Hen ? Can do an industry analysis on this ?

Posted by ValueGrowthInvestor > 2016-03-18 09:10 | Report Abuse

Please refer to my previous post where I did a comparison. SHH is by far the cheapest and most under the radar. Importantly, no large shareholders waiting to cash out.

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2016-03-18 09:12 | Report Abuse

Thanks. Kindly share the link here. TQ

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2016-03-18 09:20 | Report Abuse

TQ

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2016-03-18 09:21 | Report Abuse

CKWan11d, please be more objective in your comments. ValueGrowthInvestor is writing more on facts and figures than bull shitting. Final decision is on your own. Don't blame author.

Posted by ValueGrowthInvestor > 2016-03-18 09:27 | Report Abuse

My aim is to share with the investing public undervalued companies with high growth prospects which is exactly what I am doing. The market is not always right that is why people can generate extraordinary returns when the gap between price and value exist.

I don't really care about the short term share price movements, as you mentioned, that post is only a few weeks ago. Is Warren Buffett judged by his monthly results, or over his 50 year investment career? If you studied Buffett, you would know that growth in the company's net assets is better than growth in share price. To that argument, SHH's book value increased by 16% over the past year. That is even after a special dividend of 10 cents.

CKWan11d

567 posts

Posted by CKWan11d > 2016-03-18 09:49 | Report Abuse

ValueGrowthInvestor, in actuality, I treasure your well written analysis, perhaps more than the others. Just now, I purposely poked your nerve and your reaction and remark is what exactly I wish to see. Oh yes. There is a boy in every man. Man in this context means mankind.

You are a sincere person.

Hats off to you, ValueGrowthInvestor.

Posted by ValueGrowthInvestor > 2016-03-18 09:59 | Report Abuse

CKWan, do not worry about the share price in the short term. Look at earnings, cash flow and industry/company prospects. Data, facts and figures do not lie. Shareholders will be rewarded accordingly as management is willing to declare dividends.

Posted by BabyBuffett > 2016-03-18 09:59 | Report Abuse

VGI, may I ask. Where and when were these presentations held? In Johor? Thanks!

Posted by ValueGrowthInvestor > 2016-03-18 10:00 | Report Abuse

At Bursa.

CKWan11d

567 posts

Posted by CKWan11d > 2016-03-18 10:06 | Report Abuse

I know. Thank you very much ValueGrowthInvestor for reminding me.

< Price is what you pay, but Value is what you get> ...

CKWan11d

567 posts

Posted by CKWan11d > 2016-03-18 10:09 | Report Abuse

Your name (and fame) is an imprint in my brain.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-03-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

Personally I dont think it is what's going to happen going forward but what happened. When investor look at the record of SHH, SHH threw 30% of their operating cash flow into capex every year for the past 10 years but book value has not grown, while revenue has gone down by 50% and all of these are shown in their dismal ROE. That make sense why investors would give co like Latitude a higher valuation because of their stable history.

Posted by ValueGrowthInvestor > 2016-03-18 10:55 | Report Abuse

Hi JT, it is true that book value was eroded slightly despite capex spent during over the last 10 year period. But bear in mind that we had a financial collapse from 2007-2011 where discretionary stocks were affected.

We are in an economic upcycle where the US is growing relative to the rest of the world. In addition, all economic data from consumer sentiment to retail sales to housing starts are pointing upward. Furthermore, low pump prices have yet to trickle into increased consumer spending meaning that cash is still being hoarded.

Nevertheless, book value was hardly eroded during bad times and has grown quickly since then. Also remember that SHH did not revalue any of its properties since 1994. If they were to revalue, assuming property prices rose at CAGR of 5% per annum, their book value would be triple what it is now.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-03-18 11:03 | Report Abuse

Look around the world, other than US, which country is growing? Almost every country is loosening policy to stimulate growth, and US is the only country that might raise rates this year (although at a more gradual pace than originally intended). Where else do you find growth in today's economy if not US? I am bullish on US consumer play, in particular Liihen, Latitud and SHH because:
1) US economy is resilient to external slowdown because 70% of GDP is derived from consumption. This means that when the economy gets going, it keeps going.
2) US jobs market has been improving steadily. Unemployment now stands at 4.9%, down from double digits after the GFC. Finally, even the anemic wages saw improvement with a 2.2% increase y-o-y.
3) US housing start has been improving steadily.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-03-18 11:25 | Report Abuse

VGI I can be wrong, just offering another perspective for you to think about it. You need a dragonfly eyes, taking in perspective from different angle, calibrate and make a decision.

I have no insight into how US economy as a whole will impact SHH, it is way too macro for me to predict. It is predicting the unpredictable. I can only offer an alternative view which is a growing economy will potentially invite more competitors into the economy & industry.

Property revaluation is a non-issue. Cash flow determines how much the business is worth, regardless of whether the properties are being revalued or not. One could have taken all properties i.e. branches own by Public Bank, revalue them, and nothing will happen.

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2016-03-18 20:14 | Report Abuse

SHH -Sure Huat Huat you have my Vote !!!

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2016-03-19 12:25 | Report Abuse

Can Poh Huat HUAT too ?

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2016-03-19 17:42 | Report Abuse

Ah Huat still can Huat!

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2016-03-21 08:51 | Report Abuse

Possibly 1 of the cheapest stocks on bursa..

noobnnew

973 posts

Posted by noobnnew > 2016-03-21 09:42 | Report Abuse

shh...dun tell other. Let them sell down so we can buy more. The financial figure is good. US Housing Data is strong, nothing to worry.

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-03-31 00:17 | Report Abuse

flbhd is as good as shh. or may be better :)

Posted by loveygramps > 2016-04-05 12:48 | Report Abuse

Poh huat is very similar in valuations and also sells to the US. Also very much higher revenue and profit base. Would you consider them then?

5,846 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-05-23 21:51 | Report Abuse

Now only read this, yes, you are way ahead of market, WELL DONE!!!