7 people like this.

90 comment(s). Last comment by Dolly_Chai 2017-01-06 15:53

Posted by nickthebest > 2016-12-29 15:24 | Report Abuse

Great! The pattern applies for me as well

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 15:33 | Report Abuse

that is why I also trim my portfolio to raise some cash loh. Trump looked menacing

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-29 15:33 | Report Abuse

so KYY found a successor and retires today.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 15:39 | Report Abuse

Let's hope the worst does not happen lah....

Btw, send my regards to your brother mango juice. Wish him happy new year.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-29 15:44 | Report Abuse

The rise and fall of Empires.

That is how America will fall....have to fall.

small problem....big man fall, small man dies.

connie

37,592 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-12-29 15:45 | Report Abuse

happy new year icon .. may 2017 bring u more GOLD aka $$$$ with your (or rather mr K's) GOLDen rule !!

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2016-12-29 15:46 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 16:03 | Report Abuse

connie same to you. Happy 2017 !!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 16:06 | Report Abuse

KYY will be back.

i3 is a giant black hole, no blogger can escape from its gravitational pull

Posted by cheoky > 2016-12-29 16:22 | Report Abuse

icon if the time frame is not one year, said 3 years or 5 years any change to your philosophy?

25,060 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-12-29 16:29 | Report Abuse

KYY will be back cos he need sheeps to off-load his shares to.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 16:30 | Report Abuse

cheoky, not to say cannot buy. The draw back is that the longer the time, the more potential for downside events also. This is based on my real life experience. For example, if you buy SAM Engineering early this year to benefit from its new plant to be completed by end 2017, you will get caught now. The one year investment horizon is just nice. It is not too late until you miss out the opportunity, and it is not too early until you have poor visibility

Posted by ConnieChoo2015 > 2016-12-29 17:02 | Report Abuse

icon sifu, are you still holding the airasia?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 17:15 | Report Abuse

Of course holding

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2016-12-29 17:22 | Report Abuse

Air Asia would have huge Forex loss in Q4. Watch out.

eskaylien

84 posts

Posted by eskaylien > 2016-12-29 17:32 | Report Abuse

icon, if you are still holding airasia, then you would have broken the golden rule!
Based on most analyst projections, AA will report lower earnings next year, albeit from a very high 2016 profit base.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-29 18:04 | Report Abuse

2017? put money in FD will outperform all. wanna BET?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 18:11 | Report Abuse

eskaylian the rule applies to purchase of new stocks

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-29 18:12 | Report Abuse

I know

Posted by tftey > Dec 29, 2016 05:22 PM | Report Abuse

Air Asia would have huge Forex loss in Q4. Watch out.

Tee Tom

167 posts

Posted by Tee Tom > 2016-12-29 18:54 | Report Abuse

Malaysia stock market is still not a mature market like American/Europe. Long term (3-5 years ) investment for me is not suitable. Screen throght the Bursa market and the long run growth stock can be counted on finger.

red_85

1,259 posts

Posted by red_85 > 2016-12-29 18:57 | Report Abuse

airasia next year earning likely to be lower than this year..so sell?

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2016-12-29 19:13 | Report Abuse

KYY ada orang fly him around guna helicopter yg u macam mana u tahu next yr better than tis yr?

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-12-29 19:40 | Report Abuse

Good luck. Tough year for 2017 to find growth. Trump, rm depreciation, poor economic growth, won't be easy. Wish u success.

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2016-12-29 20:14 | Report Abuse

Icon, you really have a heart of gold. Best of luck 2017. We all need it.

ckkhen

194 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-12-29 21:35 | Report Abuse

Icon,
Are u still keeping AJI?

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2016-12-30 00:50 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

I dont think the forex loss matters, since its mostly hedged, therefore there should be a financial instruments derivative gains to set off against.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-30 06:53 |

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-30 07:00 |

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-30 07:05 | Report Abuse

Can ýou use KYY's rule successfuĺy when it is obvious to me that KYY himseĺf cannòt apply his rule in all þransáctions profitably at aĺl times, How do you select the stocks using this rule?

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-30 07:21 | Report Abuse

My investing philosophy and method (tool) remaìns unchanged.

No new year resolution for this.

SALAM

1,024 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2016-12-30 08:57 | Report Abuse

My NY resolution : CUT LOSS BEFORE LOSSES TAKES OVER YOUR LIFE.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-30 09:56 | Report Abuse

KYY screw up doesn't mean the concept doesn't work. He invented the concept but poor in implementation

His concept works when he gets the future EPS correct. Unfortunately he tried to do it by business sense, etc or by basing decisions on latest Q historical EPS without in depth analysis of future prospects

The devil is in the details. I have discussed this in my previous article Clash of Titans - Uncle Koon's Obsession

3iii Can ýou use KYY's rule successfuĺy when it is obvious to me that KYY himseĺf cannòt apply his rule in all þransáctions profitably at aĺl times, How do you select the stocks using this rule?
30/12/2016 07:05

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-30 10:02 | Report Abuse

KYY rules do work, but he over do it loh....!!
The other thing , that his the buying position very big...so when he decided to cabut...there is no liquidity to take him out...most of the time loh...!!

Thats why he need to make con call...to create the buying interest loh..!!
But people nowadays know his tricks loh....!!
His lies had been exposed mah....!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-30 10:02 | Report Abuse

I have always been using KYY Golden Rule. It is just that I am not disciplined to do it 100% of the time. Sometime I buy sell without following that rule (for fun). Now I am saying that I should reduce or limit my NON KYY Golden Rule activities

3iii What rules have icon discarded to replace by his newest new year resolution?
30/12/2016 06:53

VitaminM

50 posts

Posted by VitaminM > 2016-12-30 10:40 | Report Abuse

I rather follow Cold Eye and KYY both methods. The success come to our execution and timing

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-12-30 11:18 | Report Abuse

i always follow cold eye, mr koon & bro icon888 rules to buy & hold share. no exception. (^o^)

Posted by cheoky > 2016-12-30 13:09 | Report Abuse

thxs

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2016-12-30 14:48 | Report Abuse

Indeed KYY done very well despite a few mistakes. Who on earth doesn't make mistake?

Posted by Sebastian Sted Power > 2016-12-30 16:27 | Report Abuse

who don't know mother is zha bor

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2016-12-30 18:44 | Report Abuse

This is a common sense! Not an invention by anybody! A common sense rule!

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-12-30 21:07 | Report Abuse

Lol

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-12-30 21:10 | Report Abuse

Bro Icon, Bro CharlesT (murali reborn), happy new year !!!

Bro Icon, special thanks to all your tips and blogs, really helpful, i have a good 2016.

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-12-30 21:13 | Report Abuse

Bro tkp2, happy new year 2017..congrates for yr.big fat return in 2016...

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-12-30 21:15 | Report Abuse

thanks bro, wish you Ong, Heng, Huat in 2017 :)

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-12-30 21:16 | Report Abuse

Buy only when they get margin calls
:)
See Mycron can rebound so fast and furious which you will most likely took years to make this much gain in a short term.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-30 22:46 | Report Abuse

Happy new year to CharlesT, John Lu and tkp

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-12-30 22:51 | Report Abuse

Happy new year bro...wishing u another huat huat year in 2017

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2016-12-31 11:04 | Report Abuse

As New Year is approaching, just bear in mind your own investment objectives, your risk tolerance, your own foresights on the companies you intend to investment your hard earned monies, what and why if scenarios, your time horizon for your investment, etc before putting your monies into the stocks....................no need to follow strictly those Gurus but you can learned the ways they mastered the markets and think out of the box based on your attitude and temperament.

gohku

373 posts

Posted by gohku > 2016-12-31 12:52 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Dec 30, 2016 10:02 AM | Report Abuse

I have always been using KYY Golden Rule. It is just that I am not disciplined to do it 100% of the time. Sometime I buy sell without following that rule (for fun). Now I am saying that I should reduce or limit my NON KYY Golden Rule activities

Mr Icon, you mean non KYY Golden Rule investment method does not work ?

All this while, i am reading investment books and i find the best is margin of safety method of investment .

Please explain so that i can learn.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-31 12:58 | Report Abuse

get a margin account ready and loot next time.

PlsGiveBonus > Dec 30, 2016 09:16 PM | Report Abuse

Buy only when they get margin calls
:)
See Mycron can rebound so fast and furious which you will most likely took years to make this much gain in a short term.