14 people like this.

93 comment(s). Last comment by enning22 2017-07-11 15:36

Posted by cheoky > 2017-06-11 12:48 | Report Abuse

Land lease agreement is alrdy indication fgv shareholder is subordinated to debtor, settler.

The One •

2,949 posts

Posted by The One • > 2017-06-11 12:53 | Report Abuse

Yes agreed.. FGV shall improve and especially with No.1 has stepped in. Hence FA is not that matter currently since GE is around the corner.

Bruce88

Posted by Bruce88 > 2017-06-11 12:53 | Report Abuse

Isa is another king of corruption with zero contribution.

pputeh

698 posts

Posted by pputeh > 2017-06-11 13:06 | Report Abuse

Ask yrself why is Najib placing Isa to head FGV? WHY? Does Najib owe him a debt? In business you have to place the best man to head the job. No favour to friends or someone you owe a debt to

Posted by VenFx > 2017-06-11 13:32 | Report Abuse

The Guilty who committed CORRUPTION should be Hung .

Posted by probability > 2017-06-11 13:48 | Report Abuse

"Business sense is not just some storytelling, mumbo jumbo, and changed whenever one feels like to suit his interest. It must be supported by the foundation, some numbers. Otherwise where is the business sense come from?"

beautiful statement...

cend0l

188 posts

Posted by cend0l > 2017-06-11 14:04 | Report Abuse

Like how you spotted JAKS to be a lemon too? ;)

Alex

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex > 2017-06-11 14:22 | Report Abuse

thanks KC
...too bad can't play short. if not can huat from ur lemon analysis

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-06-11 16:11 | Report Abuse

I agree with KC.
How much we have to suffer, because of political interference into business?
It is said, we learn from experience. But, this huge loss experience from political goons with no real business acumen, is something we have to do without.
How can a nation be continuously losing big?
When will our political landscape change? Or will it ever change?

“But I won’t touch FGVB more of its corporate governance. Those at the helm appear to be all political appointments; especially the person at the very top has not shown any credibility in the past. These people were so used to handling the money and affair of the corporation as if it is their own.........

limch

2,965 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-06-11 16:19 | Report Abuse

Another why is why Isa still FGV chairman despite so many calling him to resign? Latest is Muhyiddin also call Isa to resign.

pputeh Ask yrself why is Najib placing Isa to head FGV? WHY? Does Najib owe him a debt? In business you have to place the best man to head the job. No favour to friends or someone you owe a debt to
11/06/2017 13:06

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-06-11 16:56 | Report Abuse

share price down, then we claim spot a lemon
share price go up, everyone quiet

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-06-11 16:57 | Report Abuse

this kind of statement, pantry lady also know how to comment.

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-06-11 17:10 | Report Abuse

Political interference in business is here to stay. To survive and excel, learn to navigate and co-exist besides the FA and business sense. No two way

1,795 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2017-06-11 18:03 | Report Abuse

160) kcchongnz +23.4% 123414.59 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71070.jsp
26% MAGNI 6.510+0.06 4.190 4800|21% FIBON 0.695 0.555 37000|20% FAVCO 2.960 2.380 8400|19% FLBHD 1.690 1.600 13700|15% LATITUD 5.170 4.900 3500 (123363.00:51.59|239.41)

1,795 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2017-06-11 18:05 | Report Abuse

KC only ranked 160 but talk like no 1 tftey.
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/ibot/125102.jsp

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 18:06 | Report Abuse

Jaks reaches $ 2 sooner rather than later.......now, that is good business sense.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-06-11 18:08 | Report Abuse

what lemon, orange or waterlemon-lah... as long as the share can rebound back to 2.00 next week is consider good fruit.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 18:25 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR: Cumulative foreign net purchases year-to-date crossed the key RM10bil to reach RM10.14bil as the foreign buying streak has now stretched to 17 straight weeks, says MIDF Research.
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/06/05/net-foreign-buying-on-bursa-crosses-key-rm10b/#MKeQ8tAMkWfem5RB.99

If still cannot make money, it is because maths not as powerful as business sense.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 20:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 06:06 PM | Report Abuse
Jaks reaches $ 2 sooner rather than later.......now, that is good business sense.

ok ok, lets don't talk about something which is not materialized yet. Lets talk about your so-called business sense on your Jaks here.

Shoot.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 20:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by ks5S > Jun 11, 2017 04:56 PM | Report Abuse
share price down, then we claim spot a lemon
share price go up, everyone quiet

Obviously you just don't get it. I started to talk about this lemon three years ago in the link given, not now as you do.

I share this experience with the public here so that the investing community can avoid similar lemon in the future.

What good is your comment above?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 20:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by 4444 > Jun 11, 2017 06:03 PM | Report Abuse
160) kcchongnz +23.4% 123414.59 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71070.jsp
26% MAGNI 6.510+0.06 4.190 4800|21% FIBON 0.695 0.555 37000|20% FAVCO 2.960 2.380 8400|19% FLBHD 1.690 1.600 13700|15% LATITUD 5.170 4.900 3500 (123363.00:51.59|239.41)

Posted by 4444 > Jun 11, 2017 06:05 PM | Report Abuse
KC only ranked 160 but talk like no 1 tftey.
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/ibot/125102.jsp

Do you have any idea, any idea at all that a return of 23.4% in 5 months 10 days, will compound RM100000 into in 30 years time, with consistency?

What is your problem?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 20:46 | Report Abuse

posted in Jaks forum before, it makes business sense that the best share to buy is the shares of a company that has relative certainty of catalysts that will proper the share higher.....it is only a matter of time.

Taking a businessman approach to the stock market is not the most stupid thing in the world. it is probably the smartest thing in the world.
Stock market is short term , businessman is longer term. Businessman sleep well as long as rewards are great and odds are in his favor. 2 -3 years to double up isn't that long a time.

Among the catalyst to look forward to include....
progress in IPP picks up steam in an S curve as expected, resolution in Evolve Mall and Pacific condominium, Suke construction picks up, other IPP projects, new institutional shareholders, ..and of course, completion of IPP on schedule and according to plan.

every single one of the catalyst is a near certainty.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 08:46 PM | Report Abuse
posted in Jaks forum before, it makes business sense that the best share to buy is the shares of a company that has relative certainty of catalysts that will proper the share higher.....it is only a matter of time.

ME; WHAT CATALYST? WHAT CERTAINTY?
POWER PLANT IN VIETNAM IN OPERATION ALREADY AH? COLLECTING MONEY AH?

Taking a businessman approach to the stock market is not the most stupid thing in the world. it is probably the smartest thing in the world.

ME;SO WHAT IS YOUR BUSINESSMAN'S APPROACH ABOUT? CAN ELABORATE AH?

Stock market is short term , businessman is longer term. Businessman sleep well as long as rewards are great and odds are in his favor. 2 -3 years to double up isn't that long a time.

ME;SO HOW LONG IS YOUR LONG TERM?
2-3 YEARS TO DOUBLE UP? CAN SHOW HOW AH?
2-3 YEARS FROM NOW AH?

Among the catalyst to look forward to include....
progress in IPP picks up steam in an S curve as expected, resolution in Evolve Mall and Pacific condominium, Suke construction picks up, other IPP projects, new institutional shareholders, ..and of course, completion of IPP on schedule and according to plan.

ME:RESOLUTION IN EVOLVE MALL AND PACIFIC MALL? WHAT RESOLUTION? NO MORE LAD? CAN DELIVER ON TIME AH?

HOW SUKE PICK UP? HOW? WHAT STAGE NOW?
COMPLETION OF IPP? WHEN?
BY THE WAY, WHAT STAGE IS IT IN NOW?

every single one of the catalyst is a near certainty.

ME: CATALYST, WHAT CATALYST? CERTAINTY? WHAT STAGE IS THE CONSTRUCTION NOW? HOW MUCH MORE?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:06 | Report Abuse

Maths teachers not much business sense.

That is true, not just this time.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:06 PM | Report Abuse
Maths teachers not much business sense.
That is true, not just this time.

SO WHAT IS YOUR BUSINESS SENSE? PLEASE ELABORATE. AND PLEASE ANSWER ANSWER ALL THE PERTINENT QUESTIONS ABOVE TO SHOW THAT YOU TRULY GOT ANY BUSINESS SENSE.

IS YOUR BUSINESS SENSE JUST A MUMBO JUMBO THINGY.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:11 | Report Abuse

same in the case of Sendai...taking in all the facts I know, latest results have not yet taken in the higher revenue, margins and profitability in coming quarters.

again, this means a good share to buy.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:14 | Report Abuse

what business sense is, is difficult to teach.....but it is easier to say what business sense is not.....business sense is not a set of formulas, ........

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:11 PM | Report Abuse
same in the case of Sendai...taking in all the facts I know, latest results have not yet taken in the higher revenue, margins and profitability in coming quarters.
again, this means a good share to buy.

So, no more golden rule? Throw into the dustbin already? So fast?

How you know higher margin and profitability? You got insider information ah? As an "accountant", do you know trading on insider information is illegal?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:14 PM | Report Abuse
what business sense is, is difficult to teach.....but it is easier to say what business sense is not.....business sense is not a set of formulas, ........

Oh, like that one ah? It is talking cock loh!

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2017-06-11 21:18 | Report Abuse

there is not guarantee of profit by investing on business sense, same goes to the very subjective valuation thingy or bla bla bla magic formula. The combination of two yields better result. Figures anyhow cannot tell you the future but it could be a good gauge for one to look into the past of a company. in fact there is nothing much to argue, if anyone insists on his own way and still making money, who are us to condemn their method?

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2017-06-11 21:23 | Report Abuse

"what business sense is, is difficult to teach.....but it is easier to say what business sense is not.....business sense is not a set of formulas, ........"

I agree with what stockmanmy said, since we all agreed behind every stock is business, what makes you think that why the founder first started the business? Do you think everyone of them has a set of figures for them to judge? It all comes from what they know about the industry as well as their business sense.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:26 | Report Abuse

Posted by ipomember > Jun 11, 2017 09:18 PM | Report Abuse
there is not guarantee of profit by investing on business sense, same goes to the very subjective valuation thingy or bla bla bla magic formula. The combination of two yields better result. Figures anyhow cannot tell you the future but it could be a good gauge for one to look into the past of a company. in fact there is nothing much to argue, if anyone insists on his own way and still making money, who are us to condemn their method?

No argument with you on this.

But why you guys keep on saying that FA practitioners have no business sense, and never look at the business itself?

Do you even know that looking at the business (with some sense) is part of FA?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:29 | Report Abuse

Posted by ipomember > Jun 11, 2017 09:23 PM | Report Abuse
"what business sense is, is difficult to teach.....but it is easier to say what business sense is not.....business sense is not a set of formulas, ........"
I agree with what stockmanmy said, since we all agreed behind every stock is business, what makes you think that why the founder first started the business? Do you think everyone of them has a set of figures for them to judge? It all comes from what they know about the industry as well as their business sense.

That is the reason why 80% of them failed.

I have nothing to say if you think that you engage in a billion dollar power plant project, you do not need to get some figures to make a decision.

Well, I guess we are different. If you think you are right, be my guest.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:30 | Report Abuse

business sense in relation to FGV.

of course, the government hopes FGV do well, then Felda being the largest shareholder also do well .

but when push comes to shove, socialist goals not compatible with capitalist goal....and Felda has objectives to fulfill.

There is mounting tension tension between Felda and FGV, my predictiion.....FGV will be taken private.

social goals not same as capitalist goals.

furthermore, they have wasted all the IPO money on overseas acquisitions.

just make sure a bit more bad news and lose a few more quarters,,,,I think it can be taken private at less than $ 1.50........

When push comes to shove, Felda is more important than FGV shareholders.

The government should really engage me as the master strategist...................

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:32 | Report Abuse

kc says....I have nothing to say if you think that you engage in a billion dollar power plant project, you do not need to get some figures to make a decision.

============================

don't be so arrogant, kc.......armies of CFAs, accountants, and bankers have poured through the figures already and it took them a long long time.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:32 PM | Report Abuse
kc says....I have nothing to say if you think that you engage in a billion dollar power plant project, you do not need to get some figures to make a decision.
============================
don't be so arrogant, kc.......armies of CFAs, accountants, and bankers have poured through the figures already and it took them a long long time.

My comments above is regarding your friend's comment that "I agree with what stockmanmy said, since we all agreed behind every stock is business, what makes you think that why the founder first started the business? Do you think everyone of them has a set of figures for them to judge? It all comes from what they know about the industry as well as their business sense.

regarding your statement above, so you do believe that it requires something more, much more, than your "business sense" in a project like that, don't you?

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2017-06-11 21:43 | Report Abuse

of course looking at the business is part of FA. Let's take Jaks as scenario.

Personally i think jaks is good investment from business point of view, of course they have their challenge especially on their evolve mall, but given the IPP project they are having, (strong china partner with successful record even in Vietnam, coal supply contract secure, government guarantee), i believe they can do well. Of course not all people look at this the same way, you might argue that the required rate of return doesn't match your appetite and that is totally acceptable. Same thing happened to another case which i found out when i read felicity blog, he mentioned that he is not comfortable with Inari dependent on single customers, so he skipped the stock but the stock performs so well throughout this few years! Does it mean felicity is not good, or Inari is not good? This is just different point of view. We should be more open-minded and think rational because it is a business we are talking. For me everything must come into a picture, not just looking at business, or past figures, or must buy below pe of 10, or etc etc rules.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 21:45 | Report Abuse

argue no point, kc

if you try to convince people that for a $ 2 billion IPP, the cashflow projections shows no money to make....provided the project is completed on time and according to schedule........no one will believe you.

the truth is...it is very profitable.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2017-06-11 21:50 | Report Abuse

lol of course people have gone through intensive valuation of the project and comes to a IRR which they deemed suitable for them, we got no information on hand and not all including myself can do the valuation. Looks at ekovest sell of duke highway to EPF, they got their valuer too before they acquire the highway, who are we without any information to doubt them?How can i tell if that is an overpaid by epf? If you are not comfortable might as well move on there is nothing wrong. If we are to invest, isn't it we should trust the management in the first place? When we invest we entrusted our hard earn money to the company and hoping that they will do something that bring values to us. On the other hand you might find those company which you feel comfortable.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 21:56 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:32 PM | Report Abuse

Armies of CFAs and accountants involved preliminary in this project? are you sure? What did they do here?

Investment bankers did the project appraisal and advisory as instructed and got paid for a fee, a high fee.

Commercial bankers evaluate their lending risks and they get to be paid first in the project with much less risks.

It is your interest to evaluate if the project is viable with the risks involved. Bankers do not take that risk for you besides the lower risk in lending.

The pertinent question for you is the return justifies the risks? Nobody takes care of your interest besides you.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 22:01 | Report Abuse

kc

no business sense.....you cannot make money from stock market....probably cannot even do business......just stick to math teacher.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 22:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by ipomember > Jun 11, 2017 09:50 PM | Report Abuse
lol of course people have gone through intensive valuation of the project and comes to a IRR which they deemed suitable for them, we got no information on hand and not all including myself can do the valuation. Looks at ekovest sell of duke highway to EPF, they got their valuer too before they acquire the highway, who are we without any information to doubt them?How can i tell if that is an overpaid by epf? If you are not comfortable might as well move on there is nothing wrong. If we are to invest, isn't it we should trust the management in the first place? When we invest we entrusted our hard earn money to the company and hoping that they will do something that bring values to us. On the other hand you might find those company which you feel comfortable.

I have no issue in your investment and trust in the management of Jaks. I have zero issue if you think Jaks is a good investment. I don't know the future.

One thing I am different from you; I do not place so much trust in a management which has not shown they can be trusted in the past, like you do.

My required return for a power plant like that in Vietnam, with a management with zero prior experience, with the Chinese calling all the shots, is much much higher that the estimated 12%.

That is me, and for sharing purpose. i never say you are wrong.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 22:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 10:01 PM | Report Abuse
kc
no business sense.....you cannot make money from stock market....probably cannot even do business......just stick to math teacher.

Tell me exactly what is your so-called business sense in Jaks.

My maths, and accounting too,is definitely miles ahead of you, even though you are an "accountant", and I am not. No argument about that.

I cannot make money in the stock market? How you know? haven't you read all the articles dedicated to you how the return of my portfolios like as established in the last four years in i3investor?

Have you got any established record or not to show that you made that much money? Please show!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 22:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 09:45 PM | Report Abuse
argue no point, kc
if you try to convince people that for a $ 2 billion IPP, the cashflow projections shows no money to make....provided the project is completed on time and according to schedule........no one will believe you.
the truth is...it is very profitable.

How much was Mudajaya's power plant project in India? How much did they make?

"Provide the project is completed on time and according to schedule"

Completed already ah? On schedule ah? When did Jaks first got the project?

"profitable"? How profitable?

Actually you still have no idea what the issue we are talking about.

It is about if that is so great with an IRR of 12% with all the risks.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 22:23 | Report Abuse

ks

promise me you will jump down when Jaks cross $ 2 and Sendai cross $ 1.50?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 22:28 | Report Abuse

Vietnam is not India
Jaks is not Mudajaya

now...that is definitely business sense, not maths.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 22:32 | Report Abuse

But one thing I can say speculating in Jaks, not investing, may make you money. That is when the naive are brought to buy the notion that accounting profit is something "real" when Jaks books in its construction "profit", taking it from left pocket to right pocket, and back to left pocket again.

This is a likely scenario.

But please don't brag about business sense. It is a speculative sense.

In fact, many have already made profit following the story, and money, when it was less than RM1 just a few months ago. No argument about that.

One does money money that way.

But in the future, hard to tell.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-06-11 22:37 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Jun 11, 2017 10:28 PM | Report Abuse
Vietnam is not India
Jaks is not Mudajaya
now...that is definitely business sense, not maths.

Doing business doesn't have less problem than India.

Mudajaya,in its hay days, is much much more established and capable than Jaks. Haven't you heard of how many power plants have Mudajaya build? No doubt about it. How many power plants has Jaks built? Jaks can't even smell its fart.

When Mudajaya started its power plant construction, it made huge profit too.

21,550 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-06-11 22:38 | Report Abuse

Jaks did it badly in almost everything they did

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-11 22:45 | Report Abuse

the best part is Jaks just sit back and collect money.

let their partner who has done more power plants than anyone else in the world bring in the cash.......

great business model, great business sense.