86 comment(s). Last comment by Alex Foo 2017-06-22 09:37

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-20 23:45 | Report Abuse

Proton IPO was RM5 in 1993, the first share I own via my first IPO application. First timer's luck.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-20 23:47 | Report Abuse

u name a 2nd board counter which I dunno....hahaha

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-20 23:50 | Report Abuse

Proton was main board.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-20 23:51 | Report Abuse

whole 2nd board counters I bought b4.....hahaha,from autoways,buildcon,belton,kpsd,golden frontier,mgr,perfect food,scib,mcl,repco,bridgecon,to union paper and many more

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-20 23:52 | Report Abuse

There was a then 2nd board counter MESB which went above RM10, right?

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-20 23:55 | Report Abuse

yup,more than RM 15 lo.....ipower lagi RM 30 over, I even bought scib at RM 38 sold at RM 33, 3 lots lost 15k in a few hours back then

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-21 00:07 | Report Abuse

Usually what I did then was apply for every 2nd board IPOs and hold until above RM10.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:20 | Report Abuse

apply never get one, they only give a few lots to those apply a bit to advertise back then. I remember I apply penas corp at RM8 or RM8.5 10 lots,3 names get nothing when open at above RM 20. even the pantry lady for the company got a few lots

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 00:24 | Report Abuse

Whoa!

Lively discussion here!

Yes,

I also applied for Proton IPO I think in year 1992 (not 1993 I think as it was in the most powerful bull run year, I think)

I applied for 5,000 Proton Shares I think about Rm5.00?

They only gave me 1,000 shares. The monies for the 4,000 shares (about Rm20,000) were refunded by cheque.

Ha! Some crooks intercepted and Cashed the cheques to our horror. But I think Proton or SC compensated all. So nobody suffer losses.

Because of the bad experience I sold off Proton shares at Rm7,000 for 40% profit & left the KLSE.

I totally missed the Strong Crazy Bull Run Year of 1993.

And Dr. M cautioned the people not to chase the hot hot market. But nobody listened to him.

Then Daim Zainuddin came out to warn. He said he only trade for coffee money as market is too high to chase.

Only then in early 1994 KLSE corrected. It ding dong ding until 1997 When Asian Financial Crisis Struck!

I was out of the Share Market.

It was July 2 1997 when I went to change some ringgit for Sing Dollar in Boon Lay, Singapore. No exchange or trading for Ringgit as it was suspended. George Soros caused the Ringgit To collapse, starting with the collapse of Thai Bath.

The Crash was a terrible blood bath for all who got caught fully invested at peak prices.

3 of my friends gone bankrupt

1) Mr. Neoh of Batu Pahat lost Rm5 millions

2) Mr. Ho (S P Motor Boss) lost Rm3 millions

3) Mr. Lee of KL lost Rm500,000

All 3 owed loan sharks & disappeared!

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:31 | Report Abuse

me stuck on BAT 8,000 at RM 25.00 during the diam announcement.drop to RM 17.00 in 3 days.the late mr.goh wee cheng( his sons now directors of macro kiosk)also lost a few mil. he kena force selling his public bank at 80cts only in 1997.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:37 | Report Abuse

damn repco drop from RM 200 to RM 10,i greedily bought 10 lots within 30 mins rebound to RM 11.70,my fren told me better don't sell and a few days later I sold at RM 6.00 only. spirit a construction 2nd board stock rite?

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 00:38 |

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 00:41 | Report Abuse

Yes Espirit a second board

IPO at Rm2.00

At open jumped to Rm8.00

Those were the GoGo years

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:46 | Report Abuse

a fren's fren in 1993,people crazy about stocks but instead he bought a land in Macalister road pg for 1 mil sold to Tropicana for 8 mil a few years ago.many who make in 1993 bangrupt in 1997 but I manage to scrap thru. all because the higher stocks goes up the more scary I become.i will only hentam stocks when they are low, when up a lot I buy more less and less.

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 00:54 |

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:56 | Report Abuse

that time a rich auntie,her son in law a director in sg besi(this stock I forgot chage to what name before delisted) bought 10,000 on SH CHAN at RM 58.00 and told me to buy. I told her I am too scared to buy......hahaha

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 00:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by Apollo Ang > Jun 21, 2017 12:46 AM | Report Abuse

a fren's fren in 1993,people crazy about stocks but instead he bought a land in Macalister road pg for 1 mil sold to Tropicana for 8 mil a few years ago.many who make in 1993 bangrupt in 1997 but I manage to scrap thru. all because the higher stocks goes up the more scary I become.i will only hentam stocks when they are low, when up a lot I buy more less and less.

Exactly,

One guy who made some from the GoGo years took out his modest winnings of Rm300,000 & bought a roadside land in jalan Reko, Kajang

Later he built a shop & sold electrical goods. He escaped the crash

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 00:59 | Report Abuse

that time HWA TAI the most notorious over RM200 along wif repco.MCL now jerasia also RM 55. by the way when u start gambing in bursa calvin?.....)

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 01:05 | Report Abuse

Yes, I supplied cars to Mr. Neoh of Batu Pahat then when Hwa Tai shot up to Rm200.00

Mr. Neoh paid Rm15,000 for a direct computer access to KLSE.

No need to go to Stock market as his shop the NEOH TIAN SER Motor has Real Time Quotes then.

I didn't participate in the madness.

And he told me HwiTai Factory only 20 or more minutes away.

So I drove to Hwai Tai biscuit factory in Batu Pahat outskirt to take a look

It was a shock. The HwaTai factory looked old and run down

How could its share be worth Rm200.00. Really unbelievable.

Real madness, then

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 01:10 | Report Abuse

woo hing n tai tong delisted but shop still exist,how about seng hup the lighting shop?

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 01:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by Apollo Ang > Jun 21, 2017 12:59 AM | Report Abuse

that time HWA TAI the most notorious over RM200 along wif repco.MCL now jerasia also RM 55. by the way when u start gambing in bursa calvin?.....)

I got burnt in early days.

After reading THE INTELLIGENT INVESTOR by Ben Graham I turned into an investor

Woohing & Tai tong I don't know as I was out of the market then.

Seng Hup is still a lighting shop I think

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 01:30 | Report Abuse

u ask me anything about 2nd borad counters,i know likely 90% if not all....hahaha

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 01:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by Apollo Ang > Jun 21, 2017 01:30 AM | Report Abuse

u ask me anything about 2nd borad counters,i know likely 90% if not all....hahaha

I was not in the Market and especially the Second Board

One day I saw TTB on TV 3

He smiled & said that the stocks to buy are in Second Board

That was the impression I got from him - a gambling guy.

However, my Johor Sifu later invested in his ICap Biz at par value of Rm1.00

He said TTB got insider news due to his being a Prominent Fund. So he got first hand information in early days.

But those days are now over.

Maybe Apollo can share some interesting insights into 2ND Board to enlighten us?

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 21:25 | Report Abuse

Hi guys,

Latest news from Star

GEELY WILL SIGN JV WITH PROTON THIS FRIDAY?

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-06-21 21:33 | Report Abuse

@calvin thanks for sharing the 1997 stories. I am only <10 years old that time. I wonder how trader/investor survived during that period.

So were you working that time? or full time investing? meaning if serious bear market like 2009-2009 we should be out of stock market for a while? then do what oh, tanam jagung? =)

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-06-21 21:36 | Report Abuse

@calvin at your advice i devoured coldeye and graham (graham i only read summary, and learn that he is the FA guru).

I also learn TA, and here are my picks so far. Welcome to comment because I want to know what you think =)

JHM, Vitrox, Penta, all semicon I know, and I'm exposed to this single industry. But i chose these for >75% of my portfolio currently due to

ROE at least 20% and above
proven and improving sales record
economic moat they say. Good targeted market.

Asia region to house the smart devices manufacturing. And couple with the DFTZ theme I picked a growth stock GHLSYS.

So all four. Can comment? =)

i still have 20% portfolio, that one is for goreng stock, haha....becoz too boring need some action you know =D

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 21:54 | Report Abuse

before the 1997 crisis people bought into 2nd board shares mostly thinking of fast money only,buy on hot news and chase stocks,never heard the stock fundamentals.i known many frens that time without knowledge of stocks simply just punt many bought a few hundred k without knowing how to pronounce the name of the company.in the end many owe remisiers during that time and never saw their face in the market anymore.also last time those came to punt on stocks without any collateral and contra can be rollover to a few months with interest only.a friend of mine bought perfect food 20lots@RM8.00 sold at RM40 in 3 months without taking up the scripts.but in the end he lost all using the gains to buy yahorng@ RM 10.00,mitra @RM 12.00 and ibhd @RM5.00 and he hold on until 2007 and sold yahorng at 40cts,mitra at 48cts and ibhd(I forgot how much he sold but I know very cheap)

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-21 22:07 | Report Abuse

I cashed out from the 2nd Board in April 2000 to buy a condominium unit.

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 23:27 | Report Abuse

I was out of the share market in 1997 because I met Alfred Ong who warned me to get out.

I owe Alfred Ong an everlasting financial debt.

For Lehman's brother crisis in year 2007/8 i already saw the subprime danger when i visited USA in 1999. At that time in San Francisco, Las Vegas, Los Angeles and San Jose I saw flyers every where at every street corner.

Placed inside bins are free flyers and handbills telling people to borrow like no tomorrow.

Taking a look at the flyers it read like this

1. Do you need to borrow money?
Come and see us.

2. You have no job? Never mind.

3. You have no asset as collateral? Can borrow.

4. Are you insolvent? No problem

5. Are you black listed. No problem

6. Are you a bankrupt? Also no problem.

Come and see us for easy loan.

At that time I did not know what's happening in USA.

Then it became clear that there was a property bubble in USA.

And by year 2014 George sorrow warned that the Housing Bubble will burst by 2007.

So I took heed to sell all in 2007 (except Opcom)
and left the market.

Both times I was out of the market crash.

This round people say it will be even worst than 1997 and 2007.

I am not sure as BERNANKE has invented QE1, QE2 & QE3.

If market should crash again I think the new discovery of QE by the printing press might come into play again.

As such we are now on uncharted territory.

It could go either
a) A big crash by another great depression
b) Hyper inflation due to rampant money printing
c) Remain status quo as FED balance it by rising or reducing interest rate. Money QE or less Qe.
Judgement day could be postponed indefinitely

For scenario a - doomsday prophet like Marc Faber and TTB will do well.

For scenario b or c all who keep to cash will underperform due to inflation and money dilution by QE.

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-21 23:29 | Report Abuse

Correction

By year 2004(not 2014) George Sorrow warned that by 2007 the property bubble in USA will burst

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-21 23:33 | Report Abuse

I once bought kramat tin back in 1995 or 1996 at RM 55.00,7 lots when it announce a 10 for 1 bonus,in the end tipu sc reject and I sold at RM 8 only

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-21 23:54 | Report Abuse

Apollo, during those years you played shares for what purpose? You were already very rich.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:00 | Report Abuse

I was not born rich, though I never work before in my life......hahaha

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:05 | Report Abuse

I played shares in order to raise funds to buy a home and achieved my objective within 7 years.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:07 | Report Abuse

so u make more than a mil,so tell me how lah? haha

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:12 | Report Abuse

Hahaha, doesn't have to make a million to buy a home.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:15 | Report Abuse

home in penang now cost more than a mil

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:20 | Report Abuse

I bought in year 2000. Small home for just one person doesn't need to cost a million. Anyway there was a property crash in year 2000.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:25 | Report Abuse

ok lah can u turn 300k to 1 mil in 3 years?

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-22 00:29 | Report Abuse

I bought. a house in year 1982 for Rm50,000 (medium cost house). I paid Rm5,000 to buy as transfer booking from the first owner. New acres charged me a very high transfer fee for this house in Tmn Sri Muda, Shah Alam

After keeping it for 17 yrs until 1999 I sold it for Rm92,000. After 17 years capital gain is only less than 100%

I bought a house by kl high court auction in 1992 for Rm160,000.
I sold it after 6 months for Rm270,000.

I made a gross of Rm110,000 in less than 1 year.

From this i learnt than the housing market is cyclical in nature.

If bought at wrong time it will be a lousy investment. But at the right time it will do wonders.

From here i also learn about cyclical stocks like steel, property stocks and other cyclicals.

For cyclical the timing of right entry is crucial.

We can make a lot at bottom if we get it right.
And we can also go kaput if we enter at top and later caught in the subsequent crash.

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:30 | Report Abuse

Depends on market condition. This past eight months or so my portfolio has given me a realized return of 130% up to end of May which doesn't take into account unrealized gains on Insas, Cresbuilder, Affin etc.

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:31 | Report Abuse

Calvin, I buy a property just to live in it.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:33 | Report Abuse

please don't count on percentage, count on amount. many of the stocks is illiquid how to make so much? maybe buy a bit can up a few hundred % but if buy a lot they won't push it up for u

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:43 | Report Abuse

I tabulated my realized gains up to end of May over my initial capital to get 130%. All gains have been reinvested. RM100 now becomes RM230. The RM230 represents purchase cost of portfolio without accounting for unrealized gains.

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-22 00:44 | Report Abuse

Yes, contrarian

I bought my first property during hot boom time.
I bought it in Sri Muda, Shah Alam but I worked in Kl.

So to save time i rented out the one in Shah Alam to tenant. Then i rent one from my landlord in Cheras.

Buying property then was a hedge against inflation.

I only bought the 2nd property 10 years later in 1982 from high court auction. Sold it within the same year.

I bought another one in year 1996.
I bought it from high court auction at Rm272,000.
I got a buyer for Rm380,000 at end 1996.
But i couldn't sell it as the property got 4 caveats.

And i went through the Asian Financial crisis of 1997 & 1998 until year 2,000 when i finally got my lawyer to clear off all 4 caveats and transfer the house to my name.

I sold it to my neighbour for only Rm360,000.

After adding high interest rate of 9% for 4 years I think I made only Rm35,000

This taught me the high cost of fund can eat into profit.

And also to avoid property with caveat from high court auction.

53,439 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-06-22 00:46 | Report Abuse

Correction: I bought my 2nd property from KL high court auction in year 1992

TheContrarian

8,895 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-22 00:48 | Report Abuse

Calvin, buy some Insas in the morning. It's very undervalued.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-06-22 00:59 | Report Abuse

I make wrong move,buying maxis in 2010 instead of kpj,in 2011 bought kian joo instead of hap seng. in 2013 bought sab instead of dsonic and inari.in 2014 bought century instead of osk property-wa, and last year bought sunway instead of ekovest.overall I make but I pick wrongly between 2 or 3 counters otherwise I make a lot instead of making some makan money only

michaelwong

3,068 posts

Posted by michaelwong > 2017-06-22 01:19 | Report Abuse

ignored this sort of stupid crapped stuff where he himself got stuck up in the muddy waters. His recommendation is of no value besides his yearning for political influence to dupe those newbies investors into his presence to believe those bankrupt corrupted goons who are killing themselves with their corrupted means to stay in power.

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-06-22 09:37 | Report Abuse

wonderful sharing sifus.....during 199x i am only a lad. 1997 im only in primary, 2008 im in uni....now i never experience a recession and now i'm in stock market.

if want crash liao please warn everyone in i3 ok? warn kau kau especially to unsuspected newbie like me.

please share more. What advice would you give to a trader/investor starter in late 20s with RM50k capital?