153 comment(s). Last comment by Ricky Yeo 2018-03-07 13:24

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 12:38 | Report Abuse

OTB wanna give chance to new people, same to KYY

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 12:40 | Report Abuse

Ricky, your thought process is wrong, totally wrong. If you work for KYY, he will be very upset, and maybe use couples of vulgar languages also I guess?? haha.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-26 12:45 | Report Abuse

Well suits you. If you enjoy judging people based on result, just like how you would judge yourself based on your own result, if that makes you happy. Maybe you can ask the FM in your profile picture. I was expecting more reasoning from you instead of haha.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2017-12-26 12:46 | Report Abuse

i dont understand the whole public shaming thing

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 12:50 | Report Abuse

Ricky, it is like going school, end of the day, result is how ppl judge you. But result is not everything. A person might be good at designing, which is hard to judge from academic. But still, you need to have some measurements, and that is the return year by year on FM which help you make decisions.

A person might score 9A, 10As, 13As, or 16As in SPM, but he/she might fail miserably say, in subject he not good at like Biology is tough for a accounting students.

But we at the investment field need to have a measurement, that why people look at result, be it 5-yr, 10-yr, 3-yr, against benchmark, against morningstars whatsoever.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 12:53 | Report Abuse

Well, if George Soros and Warren Buffett is not generating great results consistently past 20 years, you think people will thought of them as great investors not?

Yes, their thought process matters, but it is results that matters also, and RETURNs (numbers!) that is telling you the stories.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-26 12:56 | Report Abuse

Result not important? Which sochai say that?

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-26 13:05 | Report Abuse

Of course result matters, but like you said, 10 years is minimum requirement, how many years have you look at before judging someone? Like I say if a fund or investor can blow up after 5 years of great result, is it better to judge based on process or outcome? I would say understanding someone's process give you a better idea of guessing if he will do well as oppose to looking at result.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-26 13:07 | Report Abuse

And as much as result is important, dont you think comparing your 100% return in HYC with a one year portfolio 9% return is nonsense to say the least?

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 13:11 | Report Abuse

Not at all Ricky. If a person can pick Hengyuan, he or she is in great.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-26 13:12 | Report Abuse

Haha. I believe you.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-26 13:21 | Report Abuse

Now I've own Scientex since 2012, cumulative gain is 700%+ now, can I be the winner please? Every time when I can't win an argument;talk down someone;boost my ego (like my balls aren't big enough), I'll bring this sentence out 'What!? only 100% a year, I record 700% in 5 years or 140% a year'. Stupid.

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2017-12-26 14:11 | Report Abuse

I invested 4k of HSBC share since 1986 (3200 shares) with advised from my badminton kaki at that time. Already 31 years. Already appreciated 600 times. Can I be the winner?

I personally i think, this is a stupid question. This is pure luck, ok

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 14:22 | Report Abuse

whatever Ricky, we can argue till cow come home and no conclusion, Scientex 700%, superln 500%, KESM 700%, whatever. 9% is just not acceptable in bull market, the FM fail. FIRED!

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2017-12-26 14:31 | Report Abuse

PAPER, IF 9% KENA FIRED...HOW ABOUT YOUR 4.9% RETURN BELOW? OR DID I MISS SOMETHING? KIKIKI.

193) paperplane2016 +4.9% 104887.57 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/70928.jsp
24% MSC 3.290+0.08 3.930 7500|20% AEONCR 13.520+0.727967 9.573333 1500|15% EKOVEST 0.940+0.112 0.952 15000|11% DATAPRP 0.280 0.135 40000|7% FLBHD 1.250 1.600 6000|5% JCBNEXT 1.720+0.02 1.700 3000|5% BORNOIL 0.090 0.113333 57000|4% HEXZA 0.805+0.05 0.925 5500|4% TIENWAH 1.560+0.1 1.760 2800|4% MMCCORP 1.890+0.04 2.330 2000|0% BORNOIL-WD 0.040 0.050 4750 (104877.45:10.12|259.38)

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2017-12-26 14:38 | Report Abuse

Guy believe me , if you today earn a lot money in stock market or even you got 10 year experiance recod , don't happy so fast , 1 year bad luck your portfolio will be reduce 50%。reduce50% is very easy , don't believe? Just wait and see , Malaysia stock market not same with Us market

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 15:28 | Report Abuse

Yeah, I am fired alredi. Jobless now

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-12-26 15:29 | Report Abuse

Loss 50% possible, so u need to apply stop loss trigger with discipline

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2017-12-26 15:31 | Report Abuse

if your volume is big its not easy to cut loss

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2017-12-26 17:13 | Report Abuse

Why KC never recommend Hengyuan? May be he would recommend next year when the fundamental of HY already proven and stable.

12,805 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-12-26 17:57 | Report Abuse

>>>John Lu Haha...77% in 4 years?...this year HYC alone already make more than 100% la
25/12/2017 10:03<<<<

Kindly share here for our education, all your previous Hengyuan equivalents of past years?

>>>>John Lu Long term? The investment method has change over the past few decade...if 30 years ago u said invest hold for long term still can work for those company like PUblic bank, genting etc...nowadays is momentum trading which we look for 3 months to max 12 months lo <<<<

So, John Lu's method is momentum trading.

When share prices go up, he buys. When share prices go down, he sells.

No wonder, he was very angry at those who are value investors.

>>>>Unless u have 10 mil or 20 mil cash like Kyy then ok la buy and keep to get dividen every year...if less that 5 million must have fast capital gain...buy long term? How long is long term? 10 years? 20 years? Keep for next generation? Come on...dont make me laugh lo
26/12/2017 00:08<<<<

Essentially, John Lu has little capital and needs to make his capital quickly. Thus, he has to keep being active in the stock market.

But the truth is the majority loses money in the stock market. Why?

Yes, I can see that KC's method will not be his cup of tea.

12,805 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-12-26 18:01 | Report Abuse

Those in the investing industry will likely dislike KC's investing method. Buy and hold for the long term ... how are these investors going to generate the commissions and fees for those working in this industry.

Yet, as a long term serious investors, your return from the market is not timing the market or playing the market, but do exactly what KC advocates.

It works for Buffett and a few others. It should work for you too, provided you have the knowledge and the temperament.

12,805 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-12-26 18:03 | Report Abuse

>>>paperplane Look at the list above, you think the top 10-20 are just randomness? I don't think so.
26/12/2017 10:28<<<

Unless he shares his last 20 years experience, the last 4 or 5 years may just be randomness or just the market lifting up all boats.

12,805 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-12-26 18:09 | Report Abuse

>>
Henly I invested 4k of HSBC share since 1986 (3200 shares) with advised from my badminton kaki at that time. Already 31 years. Already appreciated 600 times. Can I be the winner?

I personally i think, this is a stupid question. This is pure luck, ok
26/12/2017 14:11<<<

HSBC has gone through very volatile periods over the last 41 years (since 1986).

Your statement just illustrates many points:

1. Select a good company
2. Invest early
3. Hold for the long term.
4. Stock market and returns can be very volatile over the short term (in fact, may lose 50% in 1 year)
5. In the long term, a good company grows intrinsic value and delivers great return.
6. The returns in the early years may seem not great, but at the end of a long investing period, the gains are just huge (from compounding).
7. Was it luck that you are holding a 600x multibagger today? Maybe but most of it is attributed to your ability to recognize a good company and holding them for a long time to capture its earnings power and the power of compounding. Yes, a little luck but a lot of right knowledge and temperament.

Imagine the next doubling of HSBC will deliver you a 600x2 = 1200x multibagger.

Posted by MrPandaMan > 2017-12-26 21:22 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr. Ooi, how to be your follower in a new year 2018?

Posted by stockraider > 2017-12-26 21:43 |

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2017-12-26 22:36 | Report Abuse

Data and news flow are at a hyper speed with today internet technology. Information and news cannot be hide. Dissemination of information happen in second and minute. That is the reason why country leaders can no longer fool around with their lie to con the people at large. Today you can see religion preacher with video uploaded, only to be at the laughing stock of the community at large.

We have to admit that FVI approaches is out of date or just insufficient in today investing environment, don't be too ego and defensive.

Posted by Tom > 2017-12-26 23:02 | Report Abuse

我看你是把中线投资和长线投资给搞乱了
你之所以说fvi out of date 是因为你根本就不会 fvi.....fvi 多数是走长跑的,资金慢慢增长,而不是说你投资,很快就可以看到资金翻倍

再说他根本就没有说过 fvi 是最棒的,他只是告诉大家正确的投资观念

Posted by Henly > Dec 26, 2017 10:36 PM | Report Abuse

Data and news flow are at a hyper speed with today internet technology. Information and news cannot be hide. Dissemination of information happen in second and minute. That is the reason why country leaders can no longer fool around with their lie to con the people at large. Today you can see religion preacher with video uploaded, only to be at the laughing stock of the community at large.

We have to admit that FVI approaches is out of date or just insufficient in today investing environment, don't be too ego and defensive.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-26 23:06 | Report Abuse

Haha..today HYC up another 96c...1 day up equal to KC whole year 9%...who is the winner now?

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-26 23:08 | Report Abuse

9% in stock? If Unit trust then I accept...but in stock with 9% somemore in bull market...can u accept??

ccs999

674 posts

Posted by ccs999 > 2017-12-26 23:24 | Report Abuse

What is the problem with 9% return per year, in my opinion, 9% consider excellent return as well, compared to FD 4% and kwsp 6%, I am believed many big fund also doing around 10%, even when market is bull on 2014, Ambank return is 7%, constantly 9% for 25 years, I am very happy already, stock king W.B return is around 20% per year. I might could wrong. Thank you.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-27 04:43 | Report Abuse

@Henly I'm not out here to defend FVI or anything, but your statement is just load of nonsense. Don't you think you are contradicting yourself. It is precisely the point that hyper speed causes the value of information to approach zero, so whats your point of trying to be a fast decision maker or glue on the news 24/7.

Posted by HENGYUAN Sexy Babe @ RM21 > 2017-12-27 17:21 | Report Abuse

Ricky, you talk so many cock, come, lets join the competition next 10 years, then we compare, then you can make your hypocrite comments here.

Posted by HENGYUAN Sexy Babe @ RM21 > 2017-12-27 17:28 | Report Abuse

this logic is funny
if earning 9% is student scoring C
earning 70% is scoring A

You telling the whole word student A is no better than student C
and the logic so called no linear blah blah blah.

So SPM socring 9A is not better than 9C or 9D, that is a marvellous idea indeed.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-28 07:24 | Report Abuse

Sexy babe doesn't understand randomness, how to differentiate between skill and luck, focus too much on outcome than process, underestimate chance and overestimate skill, fooled by insider view, neglect base rate and outside view, thinks in linear, can't deal with uncertainty. Logic comes from reasoning and deduction. And after so many examples you still don't get it. Let me know if you are interested. I can recommend you a few books.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-28 07:35 | Report Abuse

Hengyuan up another rm1.10 yesterday...how about KC total portfolio?? Still 9%? Haha haha

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-28 08:01 | Report Abuse

I agree with Flintstones, buy HY and Petron, so you can look successful. It works on your ego perfectly!

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-28 08:39 | Report Abuse

John surely you can print out your total gain on Hengyuan and frame it on the wall so when anyone wants to discredit you, you can take a photo and show them. Maybe keep it in your wallet but that can be quite heavy because ego gets too big. But just dont get too eager, because someone who bought IFCAMSC will come up with their 1000% gain.

Posted by HENGYUAN Sexy Babe @ RM21 > 2017-12-28 08:51 | Report Abuse

Ego is good for investment, but manage it. Warren buffett, George Soros, Seth, Ray Dalio all have high EGO.

Posted by HENGYUAN Sexy Babe @ RM21 > 2017-12-28 08:53 | Report Abuse

I don't believe in the BULLSHIT or Randomness. One of in wallstreet is a TOTALLY BULLSHITTING BOOKS.

If really random, why people still PAY BILLIONS TO HEDGE FUND MANAGERS? MUST WELL THROW THE DART TO PICK STOCKS

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-28 08:53 | Report Abuse

Well if that makes you happy.

Posted by John Lu 《HENGYUAN upgrade to SIA LANG》 TP RM30 > 2017-12-28 08:55 | Report Abuse

Haha...paper sifu..dont waste time talking to stone...we counting our profit in HYC batter...oh yea sexy babe tp rm30

Posted by HENGYUAN Sexy Babe @ RM21 > 2017-12-28 10:08 | Report Abuse

yeah, sexy babe.

Buy one stock return 100% over good
or Buy 10 stocks return 9% good.

Well, if that makes you happy, go buy 10 stocks and return 9%, good luck

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-12-28 10:47 | Report Abuse

As always, they can only go back to their prized winner when they exhaust their argument points.

abu

90 posts

Posted by abu > 2018-01-02 13:05 | Report Abuse

When you are rich, you can hire people to service you, not mean that you are good or better. Be respect to engineer, without engineer, you may still staying in a cave. Newton is a lousy investor. but his contribution to the world (Newton's Theories) is much greater than any investor or rich man.

abu

90 posts

Posted by abu > 2018-01-02 13:08 | Report Abuse

论坛上我只看到赚了钱就趾高气扬的嘴脸。

abu

90 posts

Posted by abu > 2018-01-02 13:18 | Report Abuse

I believe kyy is an engineer too

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2018-01-02 13:29 | Report Abuse

FIGHT la , I saw a lot people when they start invest their earn money and talk big but finally all gone , someone go jump aeroplanes 。

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2018-01-02 13:39 | Report Abuse

As you can see this 2year many newbie sifu coming out to teaching investment 。that is niama puki , I duno why malaysia people so much idiot attend the class 。wear black glasses wear like a boss。

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-03-07 13:24 | Report Abuse

I hope sexy babe is still counting his profit