68 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2018-09-25 23:49

Posted by Horsefield > 2018-09-23 20:10 | Report Abuse

Good write-up KC.
I don't see why value investing won't work in Bursa (or any other market) as long as the business is generating free cash flow which eventually transformed to growth or paid-out as dividend. It is very logically.

Posted by stock_investor > 2018-09-23 20:26 | Report Abuse

I agree that value investing do works in bursa. But i had been consistenly investing in nasdaq and hkex for past few yrs... what i can say is many stocks in bursa cannot earn money consecutively for few yrs unlike in nasdaq and hkex... u can hold a stock in bursa but until certain extent

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-23 20:37 |

Posted by Horsefield > 2018-09-23 20:44 | Report Abuse

stock_investor << I agree that value investing do works in bursa. But i had been consistenly investing in nasdaq and hkex for past few yrs... what i can say is many stocks in bursa cannot earn money consecutively for few yrs unlike in nasdaq and hkex... u can hold a stock in bursa but until certain extent
>>

True. Perhaps consumer product stock in Bursa has that quality, like Nestle, DL, or beer business as shown above.

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2018-09-23 20:48 | Report Abuse

In bursa, value investing happens when syndicate play.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-24 10:43 | Report Abuse

knowledge is not discipline.
knowledge is not even wisdom.....

no wisdom, Xinuan cash in bank appears great value investor dream stock.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-09-24 11:32 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 24, 2018 10:43 AM | Report Abuse
knowledge is not discipline.
knowledge is not even wisdom.....
no wisdom, Xinuan cash in bank appears great value investor dream stock.

Value investors with knowledge, experience and wisdom can see through that the cash in Xingguan was not real. Certainly it is not the "dream stock" of value investors, but that of BS investors, and the followers of BS investor.

Notice that those BS investor continued to buy and called others not following "stupid"?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-09-24 11:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 23, 2018 02:38 PM | Report Abuse
whether it works in Bursa is not as important as this....
Knowledge can help you to avoid huge mistakes but knowledge alone is not skill. Skill comes from constant practise, comes from choices and habits. Knowledge without practice is like the guy who reads some investment books and offers himself as stock market sifu. Not much use.

"Knowledge can help you to avoid huge mistakes", can't disagree with that. Did you know that those value investors with the knowledge of how to read financial statements avoided losing their pants when an idiot with his hidden agenda kept on telling them to sailang and margin Jaks and Sendai when they were selling at RM1.80+ and RM1.30+ respectively a few months ago?

I also agree knowledge without practice is of not much use, but I don't think anybody will disagree with me that it is at least much better than the one without the knowledge of reading financial statements, to understand the business, but only know how to BS and slogan calling, "sailang", "margin" and all that jest.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-24 12:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 24, 2018 09:25 AM | Report Abuse X

sslee

share market not for you.

AGMs are Games People Play
Forums also another Games People Play
Share market also Games People Play.

U think Warren the Bufalo really do as he says meh?

Warren the Bufalo just play the game better than most.

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 24, 2018 09:44 AM | Report Abuse X

sslee

Warren the Bufalo says don't be a stock picker....go buy Index funds.

Every stock picker in town quotes Wallen the Bufalo....

when u can understand that....u begin to get wisdom....

oh.....and by the way....Knowledge is not wisdom.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-09-24 12:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 23, 2018 03:21 PM | Report Abuse
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600152736.jsp
great blog

Wow, I can't get any words to describe you!

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-24 13:03 | Report Abuse

kc

if it is murder case.....u wouldn't say, why prosecutors dig up old cases.....why suicide cases cannot dig up old cases?

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-24 13:10 | Report Abuse

Lol

Ong_win

1,902 posts

Posted by Ong_win > 2018-09-24 14:12 | Report Abuse

The same things reproduce and reproduce. Recycle and recycle. Better go to school teach form 5 students. They will be very excited

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-24 23:29 | Report Abuse

Your surest way to create wealth in the stock market:

Purchase shares of superior businesses at discount to their fair value and allowing those businesses to compound value over long periods of time.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 00:38 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 00:45 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 00:49 | Report Abuse

for heavens sake, I was an auditor once....I know the strength and weaknesses of historical figures......ex engineers looking for the magic formulas in the figures to become rich.....lol.......

Posted by cheoky > 2018-09-25 00:54 | Report Abuse

heaven sake, must be a mistake to allow you to pass through as an auditor. u sign out the 1 account?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 01:13 | Report Abuse

cheoky...auditors are also business men....but they know...deep in their hearts they know.......

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-25 08:31 |

4,784 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-09-25 08:52 | Report Abuse

Dear KCChong.
Posted by qqq3 > Sep 23, 2018 03:21 PM | Report Abuse
Wow, I can't get any words to describe you!
24/09/2018 12:58

Please allow me to describe qqq3:
He is the lowest of the low, the worst of the worst, the most heartless, the most disgusting, deceitful, unkind and utterly distasteful person I had come across. He is void of any human decency, humility and humanity.

He is feeling great and proud now that he has outlasted most of his nemesis by his bullet proof thick skin. His shameless self invincibility is second to none and should outgun the shameless MO1 to shame.

He had perfected his choo-choo-buffology, bodek-logy, bootlicking, king of PLP with his simplicity flattering. Everyone can now look forward to be hoodwinked and blown away by his perfect simplicity bullshit-logy.

In short he is “paranoia” and “schizophrenia” mental derangement with delusions of grandeur, disconnection between intellect, emotions, action and etc.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-25 08:54 | Report Abuse

>>>Posted by qqq3 > Sep 25, 2018 12:38 AM | Report Abuse

kc....

does OTB count as value investor? <<<<

Reviewing his promotion of HY.

Buy at $ 6. TP of $16 or $18.

What do you think of his TP then?

Was the intrinsic value of HY $ 16 then?

What is the market price of HY today?

What is the intrinsic value of HY today?

Just thinking through the above promotions by otb, this is not value investing.

Snake oil salesman does similar promotions regularly.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

sslee

like I say, u are weird, ....indeed weird. But stock market not for u.....

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2018-09-25 09:11 | Report Abuse

I stopped following when Homeritz, Jaycorp, Luxchem make me loose 22% to 27%. I have yet to recover a singke sen from rm1500 tution fee

OKH8888

1,902 posts

Posted by OKH8888 > 2018-09-25 09:12 | Report Abuse

@sslee, qqq3 talks alot but no substance, he good at condemn and mouth full of shit. Be careful talk to him, you might be infected with the virus.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 09:15 | Report Abuse

Posted by smalltimer > Sep 25, 2018 09:11 AM | Report Abuse

I stopped following when Homeritz, Jaycorp, Luxchem make me loose 22% to 27%. I have yet to recover a singke sen from rm1500 tution fee
======================

don't take it so hard....It is just a phase everybody goes through.

Free world, remember?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 09:20 | Report Abuse

OKH

naive and arrogant can also make u a lot of money......at times.

OKH8888

1,902 posts

Posted by OKH8888 > 2018-09-25 09:39 | Report Abuse

Your track record proof that your mouth full of shit and cannot be erase.
Double confirm and confirm. The proof is as solid as steel and final conclusion your mouth full of shit. Those mouth full of shit can never be successful whether he is a gambler or an investor. Luck will not be with him.

I better go away, otherwise I will be like shit too

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 09:46 | Report Abuse

okh

my track record I very happy but none of your business.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-09-25 09:48 | Report Abuse

3i portfolio is really outstanding during bear market. Investors are being risks adversed in the bad times with the priority of capital protection. This is another proven track record for consumer staple business. It won't last for long. Many companies have been badly hit by surging in commodity prices in past 2 years. We are waiting up cycle bottom line in second liners.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 09:52 | Report Abuse

naive and arrogant can also make u a lot of money......at times.

I think is a topic by itself, especially in a forum such as this full of retailers, dreamers and people who don't pay attention to management quality and business sense.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-09-25 10:17 | Report Abuse

tough to find a rare gem that fits everything ( ie. level of margin to recovery stock )

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2018-09-25 10:21 | Report Abuse

bang on the money. invest in the big names. 99% of the market is there. the liquidity is there. hence price discovery. i like sime over ppb. f&n over heim. just my 2 cents.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 10:24 | Report Abuse

I am in Layhong and Layhong w.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 10:25 | Report Abuse

bought Grade A eggs at $ 11.40 over the week end.....shit...normally $ 10.00.....so I come back buy Layhong la.

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-09-25 10:33 | Report Abuse

Investing in stock market is more like the combination of Arts & Science.

My winning formulas are so far the combination Value investing + Trending.

For example, Lay Hong.

If it is lousy company without solid track records, I won't go in even how low is the price.

After analyzing the annual reports & all news in the past 3 years, it is no brainer buy & soon it would rebound. It proved me right again on that.

We need all kinds of people in bursa, so we can have panic sell. Fear will make price drop very fast.

In my opinion, panic buy won't make price increase.

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-09-25 10:35 | Report Abuse

But trending investing is more like opportunism, you right you win, you wrong you die.

If not coupled with value investing, you are just gambling only.

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-09-25 10:37 | Report Abuse

one more thing, I will add one more, "Daily life experience" in stock investing. Like what qqq3 done in Lay Hong.

qqq3 bought Grade A eggs at $ 11.40 over the week end.....shit...normally $ 10.00.....so I come back buy Layhong la.
25/09/2018 10:25

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-09-25 10:39 | Report Abuse

value investing = 公司体质
trending = 众人反应 (过激和羊群反应)
daily life experience = 个人体验

Combination on the above

Hybric8888

1,902 posts

Posted by Hybric8888 > 2018-09-25 13:17 | Report Abuse

qqq3, stupid ass worst than a con man, buy egg invest in egg company. Really stupid ass

bought Grade A eggs at $ 11.40 over the week end.....shit...normally $ 10.00.....so I come back buy Layhong la.
25/09/2018 10:25

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 13:23 | Report Abuse

buy eggs invest in egg company....makes good sense....

Hybric8888

1,902 posts

Posted by Hybric8888 > 2018-09-25 13:44 | Report Abuse

qqq3 May be talked to chicken can understand, stupidity to the highest level. Con man is a con man cannot change. May be lick my ass is better. KC value investing is as good as buy chicken eggs invest in chicken egg company. F***K

buy eggs invest in egg company....makes good sense....

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-09-25 15:01 | Report Abuse

To be fair every approach has its weakness. It makes no sense to commit fully on a stock using only its pass track of record. It simply makes no sense

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-09-25 15:01 | Report Abuse

*past

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-09-25 15:06 | Report Abuse

Agreed, all got its own weaknesses & strengths, it is up to the users of applying it. Ultimately, making money is the only goal in investing, no matter how you choose on the methods.

godhand To be fair every approach has its weakness. It makes no sense to commit fully on a stock using only its pass track of record. It simply makes no sense
25/09/2018 15:01

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-09-25 23:32 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 25, 2018 12:38 AM | Report Abuse

kc....
does OTB count as value investor?

ME:WHY ASKING ME? YOU HAVE BEEN CONTINUOUSLY BASHING HIM, AND YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE BASHING FOR?

The guy says he is FA and TA specialist....( maybe u too).....doesn't care about management analysis (MA) or Business sense (BS).....He calls MA and BS bull shits, he says he only interested in facts and figures.....qualitative aspects such as Business sense, quality of management does not interest him..........

ME: YOU HAVE BEEN BASHING ME CONTINUOUSLY TOO. AM A TA SPECIALIST? IS THAT ONE OF THE THINGS YOU CAN'T STAND ABOUT ME?

No wonder he recommendations so many lousy companies. He says follow his FA and TA, have trust in his super duper record sure make money one.

ME: YOU ARE JUST A PIECE OF SHIT COMPARED WITH HIS PAST RECORD. YOU STILL DON'T KNOW ABOUT IT?

me? I am Business Sense, Good management then numbers guy....in that order........No wonder I and that OTB guy like oil and water.....

ME: WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT BUSINESS SENSE? PLEASE WRITE AN ENLIGHTENING ARTICLE ON IT. TO ME YOUR BS IS ALL ABOUT BULLSHIT.

GOOD MANAGEMENT GUY? HOW YOU EVALUATE MANAGEMENT WHETHER IT IS GOOD OR BAD? WHY DO YOU THINK JAKS AND SENDAI HAVE GOOD MANAGEMENT? YOU HAVE BEEN SHOUTING SAILANG AND MARGIN ON THEM. SURELY YOU CAN WRITE SOMETHING ABOUT HOW GOOD THEIR MANAGEMENT IS.

YOU AND OTB GUY LIKE OIL AND WATER? YOU LIKE WATER? MORE LIKE SAI WATER TO ME.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 23:42 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 23:47 | Report Abuse

qqq3 ignorance and arrogance can also produce a lot of profits....at times. But we all know this is not sustainable.
Everyone has been trying to find a more sustainable way, no one has perfected it. If one is found, it will soon be broken by others.

okh....this article not just about luck or skill and hard work? But “Mild success can be explainable by skills and labor. Wild success is attributable to variance.”

So, don't be too seduced by people who shows you super duper records especially ones based on ignorance and arrogance.
25/09/2018 22:20

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 23:49 | Report Abuse

qqq3 stock market can be like fighting an enemy with no form.
ignorance and arrogance is easy

but the more you know, the more you know you don't know. can be very frustrating.
25/09/2018 22:43

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/qqq3/175056.jsp

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-25 23:49 | Report Abuse

kc....your dream career....

https://vimeo.com/250990345

but in reality a less harmful form of Jho Low