29 comment(s). Last comment by hstha 2018-11-10 12:46

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 18:39 | Report Abuse

too bad I cannot write as well as this Tong.....but still the same ideas la......

and to all the critics in i3......fingers to u....

"All innovations go through stages of perception; from “ridicule” to “debate” and finally to “ it was obvious”.

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-11-09 19:12 | Report Abuse

qqq, whoever can write well must be right ah? critic must be wrong ah? then kc always right and u must be damn wrong lo..

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:16 | Report Abuse

write well with facts and logic la.....

this tong can do it better than me....but still same ideas la.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:18 | Report Abuse

that value investor kc.....not same class...nowadays value investors pitiful, I pity value investors....so many shares 90% discount to NTA.......

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-11-09 19:28 | Report Abuse

qqq, value investing not just about 90% discount NTA...don't think like cpteh...he like to list all stock below NTA and conclude value investing won't work.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:34 | Report Abuse

lizi...if stocks go from 10% discount to NTA to 90% discounts to NTA....it is proof value investing do not work....

and u know that can be real painful for all involved.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:36 | Report Abuse

some stocks go from 1 time NTA to 5 times NTA, I also want to be in that business........

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-11-09 19:38 | Report Abuse

already say discount to NTA is not the whole thing of value investing lo...btw, ah tong, your idol who can write well also talk about value investing every week leh, u go shoot him la..

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:42 | Report Abuse

tong is smarter than me....cannot shoot him.

kc good enough target, easy target.

Jay

Posted by Jay > 2018-11-09 20:18 | Report Abuse

1. the scheme is exactly like what the Budget 2019 mentioned (because the idea came from Tong). the only difference is Tong haven't solicit public investment that's why it does not need to be regulated yet
2. Regulators can only come out with a proper framework when given independence. But now SC is pressured into coming out with such framework in Budget 2019 and deputy housing minister even gave a deadline of two weeks, the independence is doubtful
3. innovative stuffs doesn't equal to productive or beneficial stuffs. subprime crisis was caused by mortgage-backed securities (MBS), collateralised debt obligations (CDO), no-income-no-job(NINJA)loans and bunch of other innovative products
4. the condition on which subprime happen is not overbearing debt, it's simply the underlying speculative behavior which turns a productive asset like house into a speculative financial product. to the extent speculative buyers buy multiple houses with cash that they don't have (rely on refinancing)

Let's be honest, Tong was a developer himself and now he runs the property platform. Whose interest is he gonna look out for?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 20:28 | Report Abuse

Let's be honest, Tong was a developer himself and now he runs the property platform. Whose interest is he gonna look out for?

what kind of question is that?

the buyers look out for themselves and buy what is suitable to themselves...that has never changed.....it is as always....buy if they like project, the location and the price....and here is an alternative financing scheme.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 20:29 | Report Abuse

as for the unwarranted fear....I am aware many think this creates a possible subprime crisis in future. I have no space here to elaborate but I can assure you that you are dead wrong and you should go read up the topic first on the conditions under which subprime happened i.e. overbearing debts.

FundMyHome has the opposite effect – it reduces debt (bank mortgage) by using equity (investors).

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 20:32 | Report Abuse

there is nothing wrong in buying 20% stake as first home.....need to change the idea that must buy 100 % stake when still young....and immediately become a mortgage slave.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 20:35 | Report Abuse

just like in business...a 20% stake can some times be better than a 100% stake if the 100% stake causes a lot of cash flow problems.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 20:49 | Report Abuse

buy 100% also make sure of the house, buy 20% also make full use of house....why not? can save interest costs also....

some body using the houses better than leaving them empty, unoccupied....good for the economy.

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-11-09 21:02 | Report Abuse

I am still not impressed. As investor I see no reason to join. I prefer leveraged up 10x method. As an observer, I still think it is not good to create "fake affordability"...sooner or later someone got to bailout the house...it is better to admit the problem now than further delaying it.

3,492 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2018-11-10 10:13 | Report Abuse

Back to basic.
Who are the beneficiaries of the scheme?
Who are the losers ?
Is this type of financial instrument fair to buyers ?
Or it just design to be Ah Long in a legitimate and guaranteed way to milk from buyers at least 5% profit a year ?
With all the risk pass to the buyers ?
So is it a fair and just manner to make money from those B40 ?

君子爱财
取之有道

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 10:21 | Report Abuse

ks...wrong questions....u want profits/ losses go gear up like lizi says.....this p2p is for buyers who do not want to pay interests and no gambling......

3,492 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2018-11-10 10:30 | Report Abuse

If really want to help house buyers, why not the bank come out with a more innovative way ?
DIBS helps flippers more than actual demand, but now all killed in action.

Banks surely can do a better way to enhance eligibility for housing loan.
Let say for first 5 years, buyers just pay the interest on loan.
From 6th year onward, pay interest plus principal at progressive rate, say 1% of principal for 6th and 7th year, 2% for 8th and 9th year and so on.
Up to the buyers to negotiate for higher installment when they are promoted and want to pay more to reduce tenure of the loan.

It definitely help more house buyers to be eligible for loan while they are earning less as freshmen in job market.

3,492 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2018-11-10 10:38 | Report Abuse

What Tong wrote in his article above only safeguard the interest of the fund provider (so-called Investors), but bluntly disregard the interest of the buyers whom he claimed wanted to help.

Tong is not a Robin Hood lah.
Rather he is a vulture eyeing easy target as his prey..........

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 10:53 | Report Abuse

I like this sentence by tong...

"All innovations go through stages of perception; from “ridicule” to “debate” and finally to “ it was obvious”.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 11:05 | Report Abuse

ks....the developer may say to u.....I give u 10% discount if traditional financing and no discounts if p2p.....then it becomes tough choice between the two.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 11:23 | Report Abuse

ciku...u must be the only guy alive who believes ah jib kor......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 11:47 | Report Abuse

ahjib kor got wisdom? u dare to say such a ridiculous thing? from the guy responsible for 1 MDB?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 12:06 | Report Abuse

ciku...very disappointed in u.......scary even to think Malaysia still got people got good opinion of Ah Jib......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 12:25 | Report Abuse

ciku......i can tolerate idiots...cannot tolerate people who still got good opinion of ahjib......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 12:29 | Report Abuse

ciku...I cannot tolerate anyone who still have good opinion of ahjib....says more about u than about ahjib.....

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 12:46 | Report Abuse

Some people in this forum have the same strategy with some criminals in news. Be aware!

First they will try to impress you with a story like I bought this stock at a very low price two years ago.... Then, they will try to make you believe they are top traders with a lot of good stories, which are not real.

Their intention is simple. They want you to buy the stocks they bought and sell the stocks they sold.