103 comment(s). Last comment by Fabien Extraordinaire 2019-05-12 14:12

3,755 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-07 23:12 | Report Abuse

If you are 24 yo today, how much is your expected salary when you are at 60, i.e. 36 years from now?

For dumb-dumb, you will expect yearly increment of 4%.
For average or slightly above average, yearly increment 8%.
For high achiever, yearly increment 12% to 15%.

Say if you are with average performance, effective increment 8% yearly taking into consideration 4 promotions/job switch through out your working life, you are expecting 16x your current pay.

If you are earning 3k now, 36 years later (if you retire at 60), you should be earning 48k a month.
Based on last drawn pay at 48k, you need 5.76m equivalent to 120 months of last drawn pay.

If you are spending 60% of your income, when you retire at 60, last annual income is 576k. 60% means 345.6k a year.
If you can generate 10% to give 576k a year, you will be very much prepared for inflation up to 4% a year.

Planning for retirement is not calculate based on what you need today, but to be contemporaneous to the time of retirement.

55,114 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-05-08 06:01 | Report Abuse

GOOD ONE!!

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-08 10:22 | Report Abuse

>>>
Compound your saving at 10% a year is not from putting your money in the bank earning a meagre 3% interest, but by investing prudently in good businesses when they are selling cheap.
>>>

>>>>
Also be mindful that earning a compounded annual rate of 10% will be unlikely to come from following tips, rumours and hypes in the stock market, or simply “tikam” any stock in the market. For if you do so which likely will result in losing big in the market, your dream of compounding your investment will be derailed for a long time, or even will never happen.
>>>>

>>>>>
There ain’t tooth fairy and free lunch in the stock market. If there is, everybody who dabbles in the stock market would be rich, and there wouldn’t be this phenomenon of 90% of individual stock investor is losing money in the stock market as shown in many studies.

>>>

Thanks for sharing.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 10:26 | Report Abuse

this is typical scare tactic and false promises to get customers............

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-08 10:33 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 8, 2019 10:26 AM | Report Abuse
this is typical scare tactic and false promises to get customers............

In the internet space, newbies must really have this "scared" mindset, especially with snakeoil salesman cum conman, quack quack quack aka stockmanny, Brightsmart, Desa6769, Loneranger of numerous nicks, who would con you buying Jaks at RM1.80 and Sendai RM1.40, with his sailang and margin calls. He changed his nicks numerous times so that he could continue to cheat and con.

If you are not ""scared"", you will lose all your money to this conman.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 10:36 | Report Abuse

I cheat what? I don't ask for donations......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 10:37 | Report Abuse

yours is typical marketing tool kit, nothing more.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 11:01 | Report Abuse

me? I prefer if people do not depend on me for their financial well being.....I have no desire to be responsible for anybody's well being except my own.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-05-08 11:04 | Report Abuse

A dollar saved is 20 dollars earned.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2019-05-08 11:06 | Report Abuse

is not how much you earned but how much u saved that matters

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-05-08 11:53 | Report Abuse

10% compound annual return is no easy feat, more so since you are looking at a 30 years period

that level of consistency...

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 11:54 | Report Abuse

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > May 8, 2019 11:52 AM | Report Abuse

10% compound annual return is no easy feat, more so since you are looking at a 30 years period
===========

it can be done if u focus on quality....U will fail if u focus on valuations......

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-08 11:58 | Report Abuse

KC has posted on the wonder of compounding.

He shares good knowledge here.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 12:01 | Report Abuse

too bad his stock selection method is bad..........this kc focus too much on valuations and enough attention to quality/ business sense.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 12:04 | Report Abuse

too bad his stock selection method is bad..........this kc focus too much on valuations and not enough attention to quality/ business sense.

anyway....what compounding? up down up down got lah......

compounding is used in biology like cell divisions and in physics and nuclear reactions......and fixed deposits.....then can lah......

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-08 12:35 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 12:50 | Report Abuse

by 3iii > May 8, 2019 12:35 PM | Report Abuse

Learn from KC.

==========

really meh? compounding is just a marketing tool lah.....they use that in all their presentations...and promises never fulfilled one.

as for accounting....well....they are thousands of accountants and hundreds of analysts...........non accountants can never be as good in accounting as real accountants...u mean non accountants no need to invest?

lots of falsehoods in your statement.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-05-08 12:53 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 8, 2019 11:54 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > May 8, 2019 11:52 AM | Report Abuse

===========

it can be done if u focus on quality....U will fail if u focus on valuations......

i beg to differ. pay a too high price even for a quality company may become a bad investment decision.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 12:54 | Report Abuse

babablackship > May 8, 2019 12:06 PM | Report Abuse

As IQ '0' idiot, U have no business sense at all, don't comment on others.
======

I got excellent business sense....I also know Dr M is grand master...national champion , they call Dr M Bapa Pembangunan.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 12:55 | Report Abuse

Fabien Extraordinaire > May 8, 2019 12:53 PM | Report Abuse

i beg to differ. pay a too high price even for a quality company may become a bad investment decision.
=========

have it your way, u don't get your compounding, don't blame me.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-05-08 13:29 | Report Abuse

lol why would i blame you. you don't manage my portfolio.

3,755 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-08 14:19 | Report Abuse

10年10倍
20年100倍
30年1000倍

All will materialise at 26% compounded growth.
Can you be so consistent making 26% every year?
Surely it is on whole of your capital, not individual stock.

From share market?
I doubt you can achieve that as market is full of surprise with Donald Duck sitting as most idiotic POTUS.

Property?
Generally give you up to 7% for long term (say 30 years) unless you were so lucky to have bought houses in Bangsar 30 years ago.

Land?
If you are damn lucky to buy agriculture land cheap, and government suddenly decided to build one highway cutting through your land just like Bandar Cemerlang of Crescendo, where 50 sen psq agriculture land become 30 ringgit psf development land.

What other type of investment can give you that kind of ROI at 26% consistently over next 30 years?
Surely you must do your homework with all your heart and all your soul.
Fail to plan is plan to fail.
Learn what ever skill to make you live.
Always remember, KNOWLEDGE IS POWER.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-08 14:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 8, 2019 12:04 PM | Report Abuse
anyway....what compounding? up down up down got lah......
compounding is used in biology like cell divisions and in physics and nuclear reactions......and fixed deposits.....then can lah......

I have posted a number of articles in compounding, yet a self-claimed retired accountant still has no clue about what it is, and how it works.

I remember in my time in university of Malaya, although the quality of the education was deteriorating, but the quality of the students was still very high.

I also have no clue how an "accountant" is so bad in numbers and can;t even fathom what is compounding, and how it works, despite after so many articles written by me to try to educate him.

How can an ""accountant"" so bad one? I am a head full of dew water.

But one thing I solute you. Even though you are so stupid, you like to go around and tell the world, ""See, I am very stupid"", and still feel you are so clever.

What type of skin you have? Crocodile skin?

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-08 15:47 | Report Abuse

>>>>

qqq3 by 3iii > May 8, 2019 12:35 PM | Report Abuse

Learn from KC.

==========

really meh? compounding is just a marketing tool lah.....they use that in all their presentations...and promises never fulfilled one.

as for accounting....well....they are thousands of accountants and hundreds of analysts...........non accountants can never be as good in accounting as real accountants...u mean non accountants no need to invest?

lots of falsehoods in your statement.
08/05/2019 12:50

>>>>>

Very important to know compounding.

It is through understanding the power of compounding that you can grow your wealth significantly.

Forget about other motives. You should know the power of compounding. Learn this yourself. See how it has delivered wealth to your friends or family.

Accountants

Yes, they are experts in accounts and accounting. But investing is different. The majority of accountants I am acquainted with are poor investors. They are actually not knowledgeable in investing in the stock markets. Surprisingly, some even refuse to look at fundamentals of the companies, they said these were useless for their investing. They prefer to look at charts. By forgoing their advantage over others (fundamental analysis of the companies) for no advantage over others (charting/ technical analysis), I am not surprised these accountants I know do not do so well in the stock market. Their indulgence in the stock markets is just like short term insignificant non-serious plays on certain occasions, and never for the long term.

trapped

181 posts

Posted by trapped > 2019-05-08 16:43 | Report Abuse

Trapped in Crescendo talk big? Loss 26% yearly not gain?

Posted by ks55 > May 8, 2019 2:19 PM | Report Abuse

10年10倍
20年100倍
30年1000倍

All will materialise at 26% compounded growth.
Can you be so consistent making 26% every year?
Surely it is on whole of your capital, not individual stock.

From share market?
I doubt you can achieve that as market is full of surprise with Donald Duck sitting as most idiotic POTUS.

Property?
Generally give you up to 7% for long term (say 30 years) unless you were so lucky to have bought houses in Bangsar 30 years ago.

Land?
If you are damn lucky to buy agriculture land cheap, and government suddenly decided to build one highway cutting through your land just like Bandar Cemerlang of Crescendo, where 50 sen psq agriculture land become 30 ringgit psf development land.

What other type of investment can give you that kind of ROI at 26% consistently over next 30 years?
Surely you must do your homework with all your heart and all your soul.
Fail to plan is plan to fail.
Learn what ever skill to make you live.
Always remember, KNOWLEDGE IS POWER.

rajachulan

1,740 posts

Posted by rajachulan > 2019-05-08 17:04 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 17:35 | Report Abuse

by kcchongnz > May 8, 2019 2:36 PM | Report Abuse

What type of skin you have? Crocodile skin?
======

u understand it very well, just no one wants to expose u, call a spade a spade, a king with no clothes.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-08 17:38 | Report Abuse

If one does not understand compounding, it's not surprising they are poor till the day they die.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 17:39 | Report Abuse

how to be successful?

one way is kyy way ....happy and positive......and if Dayang goes to $3 , $4 or $ 5.....he makes a lot of money and if not....well, there is always a next time........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 17:45 | Report Abuse

by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 8, 2019 5:38 PM | Report Abuse

If one does not understand compounding, it's not surprising they are poor till the day they die.
=========

there is no billionaire alive who needs lessons from kc about compounding....a guaranteed statement..........

to be successful...just needs to he happy and positive.....and a bit of luck and good product to sell.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 18:21 | Report Abuse

the eighth wonder of the world is people think they can place an intrinsic value on every share .............

now, that is the real eighth wonder.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 18:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by silom > May 8, 2019 6:19 PM | Report Abuse

I knew this compounding formula when I was in secondary school, very powerful, and if you know or learn how to appreciate it, can make you retire comfortably or maybe can make you rich !
=====

u know the formula.....so? its still stock market, its not cells dividing.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 18:57 | Report Abuse

there is this article about physics envy, about people using maths formulas in stock market....well, todate no AI has been able to conquer and subdue stock market.

in biology classes, in physics classes about nuclear reactions, compounding formulas can tell u with very accurate precisions what is going to happen and when.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 18:58 | Report Abuse

osted by silom > May 8, 2019 6:55 PM | Report Abuse

U talking about the share market meh ? am talking the formula only wor
======

kc is clearly talking about share market.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-08 19:10 | Report Abuse

Please allow KC to share. Let us not argue for the sake of argument only.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 19:14 | Report Abuse

what is wrong with gambling in share market?

to come out a winner still is luck and skill and experience.....anyway, ask him if he ever gets compounding lah.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 19:15 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > May 8, 2019 7:10 PM | Report Abuse

Please allow KC to share. Let us not argue for the sake of argument only.
=======

its not argue for sake of argument....its the reality of share market I am talking about.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 19:17 | Report Abuse

the eighth wonder of the world is people think they can place an intrinsic value on every share .............

now, that is the real eighth wonder.

5,488 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-08 19:51 | Report Abuse

LOL. Quack accountant claim “I knew this compounding formula when I was in secondary school, very powerful, and if you know or learn how to appreciate it, can make you retire comfortably or maybe can make you rich !”

After retire for so many years, pity quack accountant worked so hard for the last 2 years in PLP and front running Mr. Koon in JAKS and SENDAI, he only have below to show:
Posted by qqq3 > Apr 25, 2019 1:04 PM | Report Abuse
r whether he has 100k to invest?
=========
my original $ 100k now more than $ 300k already.....not bad for 2 years work

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-08 19:56 | Report Abuse

qqq3, how do you see the market going forward ?

In view of the trade war

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 19:57 | Report Abuse

me? U know me lah....I am not a perpetual bull.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 19:59 | Report Abuse

on the other hand, Malaysia many many shares drop to where? most shares losses will not be much......

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-08 20:01 | Report Abuse

I sold quite a lot these two days

Raise cash

Pessimistic about the market due to trade war

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 20:05 | Report Abuse

truth be told, nothing can hurt me now...I have reshuffled my portfolio to my satisfaction.

its not the market that kills....its whether happy and positive and prepared.

I like your statement about Jaks....just leave it alone as it cannot hurt you......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 20:06 | Report Abuse

not bad for 2 years work.....if this compounds till 80, I surely richer than the Bufalo.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-08 20:14 | Report Abuse

Be happy and positive

Cheers qqq3

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-08 20:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 8, 2019 8:06 PM | Report Abuse
not bad for 2 years work.....if this compounds till 80, I surely richer than the Bufalo.

If anyone still take the words of this quack quack quack, he must be a fool to do so.

1) Is there any evidence?
2) Has he provided a portfolio the last two years and then compared with the prices now?

None, except quack quack quack.

But I do find something here, this is what he said,

Posted by qqq3 > Oct 8, 2018 09:43 PM | Report Abuse
Sendai is very good to me...I am sitting on 15% profits, not selling yet until I come back from holidays.
Pmetal and Serba.....any drop just buy la.....sure make money one if keep long enough.......
not talking about horse before cannon but talking about the future.......

This is the result so far,

10/8/2018 5/9/2019
Sendai 0.8 0.47 -41.3%
Serba 4.15 4.00 -3.6%
Pmetal 5.15 4.57 -11.3%

Any evidence that he tripled his investment?

There are some other stocks quacked by him on the dates and the results as shown below,

10/31/2018 5/9/2019
KESM 12 7.66 -36.2%
Layhong 0.4 0.465 16.3%
Seacara 0.28 0.19 -32.1%
D&O 0.89 0.67 -24.7%
Elsoft 1.29 0.925 -28.4%
Hibiscus 1.12 1.06 -5.4%

Any evidence he triple his investments?

Or was it the other way, that he lost his pants?

You be the judge.

5,488 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-08 20:22 | Report Abuse

Dear Choivo Capital,
Hahahaha, can help myself but to poke fun with quack accountant. If he is lucky with his trading skill with no one to PLP and front running most likely his return is as follow.
Year 0: 100K
Year 1: 100% become 200K
Year 2: 50% become 300k
Year 3: 25% become 375K
Year 4: 12.5% become 421K
Year 5: 6.25% become 448K
Year 6: a bad year and wipe out his capital by 77% so back to 100K again.
I wonder whether quack accountant need KC help to calculate for him CAGR needed for him to grow his tiny sausage to Mr. Koon size when he reach Mr. Koon age.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 20:23 | Report Abuse

kc............really meh ?

But I am a trader....I can say one thing in the morning and do the opposite in the afternoon....then how?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-08 20:25 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > May 8, 2019 8:22 PM | Report Abuse

I wonder whether quack accountant need KC help to calculate for him CAGR needed for him to grow his tiny sausage to Mr. Koon size when he reach Mr. Koon age.
=========

u go and calculate so much for what? U mean u put on paper it will come true meh?