22 comment(s). Last comment by moneypedia 2019-05-26 23:16

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-25 15:40 | Report Abuse

Which index fund is this? Who guarantees the fund of it is kept in a central CDS account? If kupang2 closes down, who gets their money back?

Finally, how do we know you are not using the money to invest in drugs, women and guns? Who is the third party monitoring? Who pays them?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-25 16:05 | Report Abuse

written by those unit trust salemen and insurance salesmen.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-25 17:13 | Report Abuse

I think Rm 100k savings is too little nest egg, when u retire loh...!!

Raider say Rm 500k to Rm 1000k are the just bare minimum u should have when u retire loh....!!

Do not be too proud that u have Rm 100k in your account when retire loh.....!! Bcos most people will achieve this in adequate amount mah....!!

The goal is that Your nest egg....should be big enough....to more than finance your retirement without worry about your finance loh...!!

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-25 17:17 | Report Abuse

raider..only u trust insurance salesmen and unit trust sellers.........and your compounding....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-25 17:27 | Report Abuse

It is basic compounding mah....!!
With basic interest return of 3.5% pa

If u earn Rm 2k per month after graduate & your increment is just average 4% pa...i bet after 35 yrs of working...just your epf will have more than Rm 100k after retirement loh...!!

Posted by silom > May 25, 2019 5:17 PM | Report Abuse

epf allows one to do self contribution up to max 60k per annum, can save there too for the fresh grad, and think can get around 5.5% to 6% dividend which is much better than FD which is only around 3% .. can also withdraw for housing when needed.

11255 posts
Posted by qqq3 > May 25, 2019 5:17 PM | Report Abuse

raider..only u trust insurance salesmen and unit trust sellers.........and your compounding....

3,501 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-25 17:31 | Report Abuse

Posted by ks55 > May 7, 2019 11:12 PM | Report Abuse X

If you are 24 yo today, how much is your expected salary when you are at 60, i.e. 36 years from now?

For dumb-dumb, you will expect yearly increment of 4%.
For average or slightly above average, yearly increment 8%.
For high achiever, yearly increment 12% to 15%.

Say if you are with average performance, effective increment 8% yearly taking into consideration 4 promotions/job switch through out your working life, you are expecting 16x your current pay.

If you are earning 3k now, 36 years later (if you retire at 60), you should be earning 48k a month.
Based on last drawn pay at 48k, you need 5.76m equivalent to 120 months of last drawn pay.

If you are spending 60% of your income, when you retire at 60, last annual income is 576k. 60% means 345.6k a year.
If you can generate 10% to give 576k a year, you will be very much prepared for inflation up to 4% a year.

Planning for retirement is not calculate based on what you need today, but to be contemporaneous to the time of retirement.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-25 18:21 | Report Abuse

stupid questions here :

Public mutual agent always said dollar costs averaging ...continue buy even if down or up for longer period of time
so when retire will have enough money for retire as the price per unit will lower

any good wisdom people can advise ? buy into unit trust is it good ?

limko1

281 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2019-05-25 18:29 | Report Abuse

Buying unit trust is relatively safe compared to investing directly in the market. However, there are a few provisos, 1) unit trust costs in commission must not be more than 2%, 2) you are patient enough to wait for a longer period of time to see profit, 3) invest in the correct fund at the right time

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-25 18:39 | Report Abuse

Buying unit trust is relatively safe compared to investing directly in the market.
>>>>>>

Buying unit trust is investing directly into market. You are just paying someone else 1.5% + transactional fee assuming they know more than you do.

limko1

281 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2019-05-25 19:48 | Report Abuse

Silom, Yes, I know as I am a client of fundsupermart. I just dont say it lest people think I am promoting for my own interest.

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2019-05-25 19:57 | Report Abuse

i repeat many time, u should be the best fund manager....managing fund is not only fun, but very rewarding too....why pay other to do it for u? lol

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2019-05-25 22:18 | Report Abuse

You don't count 42 year , you count 20 year and 10 year see , you will cry no tear , rubbish race make rubbish company make rubbish economy , Malaysia rubbish ! But I agree with you 95% investor can't beat market . Invest in US index iis good choice!

Bruce88

Posted by Bruce88 > 2019-05-25 23:00 | Report Abuse

100k at retirement is just simply useless !

Saitama

1,183 posts

Posted by Saitama > 2019-05-26 00:06 | Report Abuse

lol... 100K after 30+ years probably worth 20K. Maybe less

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-26 00:17 | Report Abuse

@limko1

thanks for sharing

I buy public mutual , sales charges 5.25%

lol

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-26 00:18 | Report Abuse

@Philip

thanks for sharing

yes, as I dont have the time and skills to invest full time

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-26 00:21 | Report Abuse

@lizi

thanks for sharing

yes, I also found its fun and interesting to manage my own fund

but my track record is not good , maybe I dont have enough experience and skills

have been reading this and that and still make loss , haiz , sad actually

maybe external market condition ...

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2019-05-26 09:11 | Report Abuse

Just buy property lah.
After 15-20 yrs sure rich la.
Less headache.

This the trend of those who only play real estate only.
Stock market is very risky.

smissions

87 posts

Posted by smissions > 2019-05-26 10:50 | Report Abuse

Basically, this guy expects everyone to give an anonymous app access to their savings account LOL :) later they will blame the bank for their lack of security when someone cracks the app and takes money out of the account :)

25,073 posts

Posted by speakup > 2019-05-26 22:39 | Report Abuse

100k want to shout already?
we want 10million!

Beast

307 posts

Posted by Beast > 2019-05-26 22:54 | Report Abuse

Im 26 this year,start investment on 22,graduate at 25 and start working, Now i have 140k value of stock =)

moneypedia

5,987 posts

Posted by moneypedia > 2019-05-26 23:16 | Report Abuse

100k enough kah marriage atleast 25k, provision after bla bla... if you have decent lifestyle.. humble2 one.dont greedy2...ermm can la maybe...but if suddenly fiat money become useless..u need to thikn other backup laa bro