3 comment(s). Last comment by ks55 2019-11-03 16:48

3,675 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-10-24 11:24 | Report Abuse

Do you really think inflation is at 1.1% YoY?
Do you send your car for services? How much was the charges compared with last year?
Do you go out for dinner? Increased by only 1.1%?
Have you renovate/ repair your house this year? Still the same charge?
Do you send your children for tuition? Tutors never ask you to pay more this year?
Do you send your kids to minder/ nursery? Never bother to ask how much more they charge?

All CPI is only good on book - Govt's book, not yours.
If the rate of inflation is so low, employers have the justification to give you a 2% salary increase.
If you want to plan for your retirement, and if you use govt figure, surely you are planning to fail!

3,675 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-10-24 11:44 | Report Abuse

Set up your own CPI.
CPI varies with different age groups and different requirements.

For young people yet to get marry, entertainment/ eating out/ excursion/ overseas travel may be heavier components.

Young couples with kids will tend to have high weightage spend on kids.

Retirees will have different set of needs, especially on travelling, entertainment, health care, car replacement etc etc.

Young people should have a set of goals as how their retirement should be. Project estimated cost at the time of retirement 30 years down the road. Work out saving schedule, and give a realistic inflation rate as how much will be required at the first day of retirement.

Using official inflation rate will kill you half way through your retirement. Check with your parents (if they are staying on their own) to see actual rate of inflation based on their needs.

3,675 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-11-03 16:48 | Report Abuse

From RM 1800 a month to RM 2400 in 4 years, work out to be 8% compounded. Not bad take into consideration rate of inflation is only 1.7% yoy.
Employer already giving much more than his fair share only if govt CPI rate boleh pakai.......

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019/11/03/are-salaries-keeping-up-with-increased-prices

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019/11/03/malaysian-salaries-are-insufficient