Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 13:22 | Report Abuse

I am suggesting people consider overseas

But no recommendation on when or where to enter

Investing is a life long undertaking. Many years ahead

Targeted

2,604 posts

Posted by Targeted > 2019-11-19 13:43 | Report Abuse

Hehehe, Icon please change yr profile photo. Hard to explain but its uncomfortable

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 13:43 |

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 13:47 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 13:58 | Report Abuse

that is Calvintaneng photo

========

Targeted Hehehe, Icon please change yr profile photo. Hard to explain but its uncomfortable
19/11/2019 1:43 PM

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2019-11-19 14:07 | Report Abuse

hahaha.......

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 14:25 | Report Abuse

you cannot be more wrong, I don't really belong to your world and circle

I have explained many times to you that I am not against Buffetology whereby you buy good companies at fair price and hold on for long term so as to enjoy compounded growth year after year. I think it is a fantastic concept

I disagree with you on two things :

(1) how you practise Buffetology. Your Nestle is a good company, but it is trading at 50 times PER, and its only market is Malaysia. As such, it is difficult to convince me that it will continue to grow and deliver capital gain over extended period of time. At most, it will be paying you good dividend (which is not so fantastic, for me).

(2) the way you condemn anything other than Growth Investing. I am open minded and accept both Growth Investing and Value Investing as valid investment philosophy.

3iii Icon8888 Finally, you acknowledged growth investing. Welcome to my investing world and circle.
19/11/2019 1:43 PM

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-11-19 14:46 | Report Abuse

overseas market is to vast and complicated

need spend lots of time & effort to monitor

buy unit trust that have overseas exposure is smarter choice

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-11-19 14:51 | Report Abuse

dont have much time to study overseas stocks

buy mutual fund is better

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 14:53 | Report Abuse

"overseas market is to vast and complicated "

That was exactly how I felt at the beginning (please read Section 1 of my article)

However, after I started investing overseas, I realised that due to the high quality of the companies (applicable to those strong companies in US), stock picking has actually become substantially less complicated

there are less risk factors to be considered

that is why in the Concluding Remarks, I mentioned that I will only invest in strong stocks in developed countries

so far, my only pick is Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company. It fulfils the criteria for long term hold due to its technological supremacy that almost makes it a monopoly OVER THE NEXT FIVE YEARS AT LEAST

Posted by casualplay888 > 2019-11-19 15:31 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 sifu, u bought Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing from Taiwan stock market or the US stock market? I think it is also good to invest in Taiwan

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2019-11-19 15:59 | Report Abuse

Icon's article only applicable to the top 2% of Malaysians who are extremely knowledgeable and filthy rich.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2019-11-19 17:00 | Report Abuse

Icon, I support you... when you go to overseas investing, one will discover the number of quality companies that's available... watchout for Disney too...

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:20 |

4,690 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-11-19 17:25 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
3iii, Incon8888's gruesome stock Armada is now RM 0.53.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:28 | Report Abuse

Thats why i say u must use peter lynch strategy instead of buffet strategy bcos LYNCH offer u more investment choices mah...!!

Posted by Sslee > Nov 19, 2019 5:25 PM | Report Abuse

Hahahaha

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:29 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:31 | Report Abuse

If u can get more than 100% in 4 mts like armada...are u not compounding leh ??

Posted by 3iii > Nov 19, 2019 5:29 PM | Report Abuse

>>>>
Posted by Sslee > Nov 19, 2019 5:25 PM | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
>>>>

The power of compounding long-term is truly amazing. Beats these short term gains many hundreds of time over each year.

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:35 | Report Abuse

Everytime my portfolio value doubled, the incremental value of the last doubling period exceeds the gains derived from all the period before since inception of my portfolio.

That is the true power of compounding over the long term.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:37 | Report Abuse

U slowly tunggu loh...NESTLE PE 50x will take at least 30 yrs to double loh....!!

Posted by 3iii > Nov 19, 2019 5:35 PM | Report Abuse

Everytime my portfolio value doubled, the incremental value of the last doubling period exceeds the gains derived from all the period before since inception of my portfolio.

That is the true power of compounding over the long term.

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:46 | Report Abuse

>>>>

stockraider U slowly tunggu loh...NESTLE PE 50x will take at least 30 yrs to double loh....!!

>>>>

Since 2009, Nestle price has gone up 7 multibaggers. At every price, raider asked those with Nestle to sell!

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 18:00 | Report Abuse

Raider should be honest.

Nestle has delivered hugely to its long term investors.

Posted by i3lurker > 2019-11-19 19:08 | Report Abuse

lack of sleep shortens lifespan irrevocably
takes more than 2 weeks to recover disturbed sleep patterns
rich people are usually educated nowadays.
the illiterate rich have all died
educated people know how to take care of health.

for the rich, there is no reason to invest in the US.

for the poor, they just cannot afford it.

leaving just those extra greedy semi-rich people who want more money at the expense of shorter lifespan. Die faster never mind. The money fanatics.

Posted by probability > 2019-11-19 19:58 | Report Abuse

wei..is that image really calvintan? but it matches the image i had on him quite closely!...really handsome man.

the singer who sang pen-pineapple-pen also looks similar i think...cant remember!

Posted by Icon8888 > Nov 19, 2019 1:58 PM | Report Abuse

that is Calvintaneng photo

========

Posted by probability > 2019-11-19 20:01 | Report Abuse

I think those accumulated reasonable capital from local stocks...should venture overseas slowly with small capital first...to feel the depth of the water...at least for 6 months...before going heavy...

Icon, soojinhou...kindly post your recommendations in i3...
easy for part-time man like me to monitor in a single location.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2019-11-20 10:51 | Report Abuse

Malaysia stock:
1. Boss earn money for continuously few years positive net profit and thinking to listed in KLSE.
2. After listed in Bursa, Boss start how to draw the graft, earn huge profit, high enumeration and so etc.
3. This cycle can repeat at least 10-20 years.
4.No value, less dividend, less attractive.

US stock:
1. Boss start a business, the whole mindset is thinking about creating value.(this value mean value and impact to society but not the money value)
2. After company get profit, boss absorb more talent, R & D creating more value.
3. The counter in US basically have 2 important characteristics (cpital growth and dividend growth)
4. The rise in stock price is not cycle or goreng , but the value they sell their service to entire world.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2019-11-20 10:55 | Report Abuse

IN Malaysia: Many good company creating value...but wrong marketing in whole world and less creativity...

Eg. Topglov, Kossan, Airasia, Penta....Only Glove company in Malaysia creating value. But the power is too low...For Airasia, due to political issue.....

The should learn, AIA, ALlianz, GE how they penetrated into other country even their own country have their own firm.

stncws

10,260 posts

Posted by stncws > 2019-11-20 11:02 | Report Abuse

kyy should go...he will win 1b....instead win 100m here

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2019-11-20 13:07 | Report Abuse

you can trade with etrade. just open a trading account outside...just be aware that trading involve the risk of "currency exchange" on top of the stock performance.

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-20 16:01 | Report Abuse

Nestle up RM 1.80

RM 28.5 million worth of shares traded so far today.

Posted by Hafizh Zubir > 2019-11-20 17:35 | Report Abuse

Any recommendation on a good, low cost broker to invest in foreign equity? I trade options with saxotrader and tastyworks. Both aren't so great for long term investing because of the maintenance costs. There is saxo investor which looks great but it's not available in Malaysia. TD ameritrade seems reasonable, I'm in the process of opening an account with them. Anyone uses TD? Or hv other suggestions.

I use maybank to invest in bursa. I hv a foreign trading account but it seems too much of a hassle and even my remiser doesn't suggest I use it.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-11-20 19:25 | Report Abuse

I agree with most of your points.

And my comments are similar to ricky's.

Anybody who is looking for a broker, go for interactive brokers.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-11-20 19:28 | Report Abuse

As soojinhou said,

PE 10 in malaysia is actually not that cheap, when interest rates are 3%, you are getting a premium of only 7% assuming you are perfectly right and the money is reinvested right.

wantousek

533 posts

Posted by wantousek > 2019-11-21 00:00 | Report Abuse

wat broker do u recommend for overseas trade? tdameritrade?

leno

6,123 posts

Posted by leno > 2019-11-21 09:33 | Report Abuse

just a simple reminder : if u cannot make money in your own tuff .. u cannot make in other ppl, if u lose money in your tuff, u will lose even more .. on top of poor info, late news, poor grasp of other country, foreign exchange eating up your money, got scammed, any development u will be the last to received, ... i've known personally a lot of ppl ... real ppl ... who started with bursa, go to FX, then oversea stock, then option, then ... disappear. THEY LOSE and LOSE and LOSE. One thing they wish ... to turn back the time, and never touch anything at all. These are TRUE STORIES. Sekian.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-21 09:54 | Report Abuse

leno, my article says that you should invest in good foreign companies that can be held for real long term so as to enjoy compounded growth (I argue that such companies are rare in Malaysia, it is like looking for fish in desert)

I never ask people to punt forex, option, or speculative trade at foreign market

for those kind of activities, do it in Malaysia, if you want, so as to enjoy home advantage

I thought my article makes it very clear ?

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 11:18 | Report Abuse

>>>>

Posted by leno > Nov 21, 2019 9:33 AM | Report Abuse

just a simple reminder : if u cannot make money in your own tuff .. u cannot make in other ppl, if u lose money in your tuff, u will lose even more .. on top of poor info, late news, poor grasp of other country, foreign exchange eating up your money, got scammed, any development u will be the last to received, ... i've known personally a lot of ppl ... real ppl ... who started with bursa, go to FX, then oversea stock, then option, then ... disappear. THEY LOSE and LOSE and LOSE. One thing they wish ... to turn back the time, and never touch anything at all. These are TRUE STORIES. Sekian.

>>>>>

I have to agree with Leno totally.

You will know the local companies a lot better than the foreign ones.

As long as these companies are "WITHIN YOUR CIRCLE OF COMPETENCE", you will do alright.

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 11:27 |

Posted by stockmanmy > 2019-11-21 12:12 | Report Abuse

I have nothing to add
TSMC also doing well. I have reserved 10% for TSMC, still got 90% to trade/ speculate in Malaysia.

untong

55 posts

Posted by untong > 2019-11-21 13:24 | Report Abuse

I like Icon8888 open minded and humble, most importantly willing to share :)

I dont know about moat but i do know those companies like Airbus/Boeing, Adobe/Microsoft do have global moat. If i open an airline company, where else i buy airplane other than Airbus/Boeing?
If i open a company need softwares to install on the PCs, wherelse i go other than Adobe/Microsoft etc.Same goes to TSMC hehehe, Such companies are really not easy to find in Malaysia market.

I believe in business world if there is no growth,the value will be destructed over time. 逆水行舟,不进则退。 So growth is always no.1 priority then only how much to pay for it :)

Btw what is the difference of TSMC listed in Taiwan and listed in NYSE?

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 15:28 |

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 15:35 |

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 15:40 |

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-21 15:45 |

12,800 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-22 11:01 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-22 11:06 |

tracy92

18 posts

Posted by tracy92 > 2019-11-22 19:15 | Report Abuse

icon, can I have ur view in Kobay? Result looks good. Are u still holding?

sniper123

242 posts

Posted by sniper123 > 2019-12-20 10:17 | Report Abuse

hi icon
wa

just curious, wats ur take on inari after yesterday big selloff???

Flying Fox

849 posts

Posted by Flying Fox > 2021-02-07 20:48 | Report Abuse

May be icon left for oversea already

beginner

1,274 posts

Posted by beginner > 2021-02-07 21:34 | Report Abuse

Dow now already break 30k snd klci still ding dong ding dong to break 1600, it is obvious grass is greener at overseas