12 people like this.

76 comment(s). Last comment by beginner 2021-02-07 21:34

Posted by soojinhou > 2019-11-19 09:35 | Report Abuse

What took you so long to start overseas?

Damager

6 posts

Posted by Damager > 2019-11-19 09:36 | Report Abuse

Can give some guidelines about how to access to those foreigner countries stocks? Thanks.

Damager

6 posts

Posted by Damager > 2019-11-19 09:38 | Report Abuse

like how u all buy shares from taiwan, hongkong and all those? Any more cost saving ways instead of using our own bank broker?

Posted by probability > 2019-11-19 09:38 | Report Abuse

start recommending overseas stocks here in i3 malaysia please, TQ

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:40 | Report Abuse

soojinhou please share more about your experience

I know you invest overseas for quite some years

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:41 | Report Abuse

To invest overseas, contact your broker

They will advise you what to do (seriously !)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:42 | Report Abuse

It is very similar to invest in Bursa

You buy and sell yourself by using your IB portal just like you buy and sell Malaysian stocks

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:44 | Report Abuse

It will appear in the same portfolio together with Malaysia stocks but will show it’s foreign status such as Nasdaq etc

Damager

6 posts

Posted by Damager > 2019-11-19 09:45 | Report Abuse

@icon8888 Do u mean the bank broker or outside one?

11,080 posts

Posted by OTB > 2019-11-19 09:46 | Report Abuse

I used to buy Hong Kong stocks, I did very well too.
I made a lot of money on Casino stocks in 2009/10.
However, my method to select stock is always very tedious and time consuming.
I do not have enough manpower, otherwise, I will continue to trade in HK stock market.
There are so many beautiful stocks.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:48 | Report Abuse

Damager just you EXISTING broker

Which bank you are using now ?

Damager

6 posts

Posted by Damager > 2019-11-19 09:50 | Report Abuse

@Icon8888 I am using Mplus currently. Not sure if they have these features.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 09:52 | Report Abuse

Go RHB and CIMB

Mplus not worth your time (and its logo look like hospital, choi!)

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2019-11-19 10:06 | Report Abuse

Follow me buy TESLA lah.

Damager

6 posts

Posted by Damager > 2019-11-19 10:07 | Report Abuse

Alright, i will go to approach them to ask for more information. Thanks a lot Icon8888 for ur sharing.

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2019-11-19 10:08 | Report Abuse

GOOG also very geng

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2019-11-19 10:08 | Report Abuse

GOOG basically dominate global advertising market.

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2019-11-19 10:09 | Report Abuse

SOFTBANK bought BOSTON DYNAMICS which is super cool also. Haven't you see the shooting robots?

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2019-11-19 10:12 | Report Abuse

The real time quotes I get using RHB Invest for overseas markets have 10-16 mins lag. That is problematic.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 10:15 | Report Abuse

Yes

So i refer to yahoo stocks for real time

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2019-11-19 11:23 | Report Abuse

Thank you for sharing.
Currently I allocate my spare time on Bursa Malaysia only.
I start to buy unit trust which invest into US, Greater China and ASEAN.
Hopefully it works as my plan.

Posted by soojinhou > 2019-11-19 11:27 | Report Abuse

Even without a NYSE portfolio, Asian markets like SGX and HKEX offers plenty of great companies too. And you are right, many of Bursa stocks are jaguh kampungs. Many a times we think fair value for such stocks are PE 10, after finding better companies at even better valuation overseas, I starting to think PE 10 is expensive for low moat jaguh kampungs. Over the years, my Bursa portfolio have shrunk while my foreign portfolio expanded due to better quality companies trading at even more compelling valuation. Some winners I have lately are AEM (again), Penguin International, Sunpower and potentially Yangzijiang.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2019-11-19 12:03 | Report Abuse

there is also opportunity for arbitrage

i'm eagerly awaiting AliBaba new listing in HK

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-11-19 12:20 | Report Abuse

While I agree with most of your points, I disagree with the point about moats.

You confuse growth with moat. Just because a company has been growing, that certainly don't mean they have moat. Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence. Moat is the ability to defend abnormal profitability, not whether the company is growing. Heineken Malaysia has moat as shown by its ROIC of 50% over 14 years and longer I'm sure, but it isn't going to have high growth because reinvestment opportunity is limited in Malaysia. Hence the reason why payout ratio is 90%.

I am not sure why there is a higher chance of picking the wrong stock in Malaysia than developed countries. If anything, there is a higher chance of moat erosion in countries like US because of the nature of the market; the first market every company wants to get in is the US.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 12:33 | Report Abuse

Take it easy Ricky

4,820 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-11-19 12:59 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
Icon8888 is now promoting capital flight from Bursa. No eye see on bursa already.
By the way I think US market bubble is growing bigger and bigger hope Incon8888 is not a running bull in a china store

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 13:22 | Report Abuse

I am suggesting people consider overseas

But no recommendation on when or where to enter

Investing is a life long undertaking. Many years ahead

Targeted

2,604 posts

Posted by Targeted > 2019-11-19 13:43 | Report Abuse

Hehehe, Icon please change yr profile photo. Hard to explain but its uncomfortable

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 13:43 |

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 13:47 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 13:58 | Report Abuse

that is Calvintaneng photo

========

Targeted Hehehe, Icon please change yr profile photo. Hard to explain but its uncomfortable
19/11/2019 1:43 PM

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2019-11-19 14:07 | Report Abuse

hahaha.......

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 14:25 | Report Abuse

you cannot be more wrong, I don't really belong to your world and circle

I have explained many times to you that I am not against Buffetology whereby you buy good companies at fair price and hold on for long term so as to enjoy compounded growth year after year. I think it is a fantastic concept

I disagree with you on two things :

(1) how you practise Buffetology. Your Nestle is a good company, but it is trading at 50 times PER, and its only market is Malaysia. As such, it is difficult to convince me that it will continue to grow and deliver capital gain over extended period of time. At most, it will be paying you good dividend (which is not so fantastic, for me).

(2) the way you condemn anything other than Growth Investing. I am open minded and accept both Growth Investing and Value Investing as valid investment philosophy.

3iii Icon8888 Finally, you acknowledged growth investing. Welcome to my investing world and circle.
19/11/2019 1:43 PM

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-11-19 14:46 | Report Abuse

overseas market is to vast and complicated

need spend lots of time & effort to monitor

buy unit trust that have overseas exposure is smarter choice

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-11-19 14:51 | Report Abuse

dont have much time to study overseas stocks

buy mutual fund is better

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-11-19 14:53 | Report Abuse

"overseas market is to vast and complicated "

That was exactly how I felt at the beginning (please read Section 1 of my article)

However, after I started investing overseas, I realised that due to the high quality of the companies (applicable to those strong companies in US), stock picking has actually become substantially less complicated

there are less risk factors to be considered

that is why in the Concluding Remarks, I mentioned that I will only invest in strong stocks in developed countries

so far, my only pick is Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company. It fulfils the criteria for long term hold due to its technological supremacy that almost makes it a monopoly OVER THE NEXT FIVE YEARS AT LEAST

Posted by casualplay888 > 2019-11-19 15:31 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 sifu, u bought Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing from Taiwan stock market or the US stock market? I think it is also good to invest in Taiwan

UnicornP

2,749 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2019-11-19 15:59 | Report Abuse

Icon's article only applicable to the top 2% of Malaysians who are extremely knowledgeable and filthy rich.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2019-11-19 17:00 | Report Abuse

Icon, I support you... when you go to overseas investing, one will discover the number of quality companies that's available... watchout for Disney too...

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:20 |

4,820 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-11-19 17:25 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
3iii, Incon8888's gruesome stock Armada is now RM 0.53.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:28 | Report Abuse

Thats why i say u must use peter lynch strategy instead of buffet strategy bcos LYNCH offer u more investment choices mah...!!

Posted by Sslee > Nov 19, 2019 5:25 PM | Report Abuse

Hahahaha

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:29 |

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:31 | Report Abuse

If u can get more than 100% in 4 mts like armada...are u not compounding leh ??

Posted by 3iii > Nov 19, 2019 5:29 PM | Report Abuse

>>>>
Posted by Sslee > Nov 19, 2019 5:25 PM | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
>>>>

The power of compounding long-term is truly amazing. Beats these short term gains many hundreds of time over each year.

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:35 | Report Abuse

Everytime my portfolio value doubled, the incremental value of the last doubling period exceeds the gains derived from all the period before since inception of my portfolio.

That is the true power of compounding over the long term.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-11-19 17:37 | Report Abuse

U slowly tunggu loh...NESTLE PE 50x will take at least 30 yrs to double loh....!!

Posted by 3iii > Nov 19, 2019 5:35 PM | Report Abuse

Everytime my portfolio value doubled, the incremental value of the last doubling period exceeds the gains derived from all the period before since inception of my portfolio.

That is the true power of compounding over the long term.

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 17:46 | Report Abuse

>>>>

stockraider U slowly tunggu loh...NESTLE PE 50x will take at least 30 yrs to double loh....!!

>>>>

Since 2009, Nestle price has gone up 7 multibaggers. At every price, raider asked those with Nestle to sell!

12,834 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-11-19 18:00 | Report Abuse

Raider should be honest.

Nestle has delivered hugely to its long term investors.

Posted by i3lurker > 2019-11-19 19:08 | Report Abuse

lack of sleep shortens lifespan irrevocably
takes more than 2 weeks to recover disturbed sleep patterns
rich people are usually educated nowadays.
the illiterate rich have all died
educated people know how to take care of health.

for the rich, there is no reason to invest in the US.

for the poor, they just cannot afford it.

leaving just those extra greedy semi-rich people who want more money at the expense of shorter lifespan. Die faster never mind. The money fanatics.

Posted by probability > 2019-11-19 19:58 | Report Abuse

wei..is that image really calvintan? but it matches the image i had on him quite closely!...really handsome man.

the singer who sang pen-pineapple-pen also looks similar i think...cant remember!

Posted by Icon8888 > Nov 19, 2019 1:58 PM | Report Abuse

that is Calvintaneng photo

========