105 comment(s). Last comment by Sslee 2021-12-11 12:08

Goldgent

1,348 posts

Posted by Goldgent > 2020-05-24 15:19 | Report Abuse

Good article from Philip sifu. But he just can't catch the correct timing
a) sold TopGlove way too early
b) bought O&G (Serbadk) way too early

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 15:43 | Report Abuse

Timing the market is an exercise in futility. My recommendation is you don't need to time the market, you just need to be right.

My total investment in topglove over the years I would say is around 1 million. I sold the entire position after 10 years for 17.

My total investment in QL over the years would also be around 800k? That one I'm still holding, despite comments over the years...

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 16:08 | Report Abuse

That is definitely true.

patrick8

334 posts

Posted by patrick8 > 2020-05-24 16:15 | Report Abuse

I come in to I.3 forum everyday to get extra knowledge and inspiration from top investors and i must say you are one of them who put the money where his mouth is. Thanks for the write up, Philip. My portfolio is tiny by comparision but hope to grow it to eventually be one I am proud of.

samheong78

472 posts

Posted by samheong78 > 2020-05-24 16:40 | Report Abuse

Philip, is it true that your portfolio is close to 80 million?

53,262 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-05-24 16:47 | Report Abuse

The most stupid thing done by a fool

Cut the flowers and water the weed

Why sell a stock like top glove when bull run just started?

Why keep lemons like serba and yinson when even Warren Buffet is getting out from philps66?

Better be very careful that this fella leads you to Holland

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-24 16:48 | Report Abuse

Calf run only, Calvin (not bull yet)

99 posts

Posted by 7210 > 2020-05-24 16:49 | Report Abuse

your total investment is 1 mil or 11 mil?

samheong78

472 posts

Posted by samheong78 > 2020-05-24 16:55 | Report Abuse

7210, if it is 11 million then the performance is very poor le for turning 11 million into 17 million in 10 years time ... Less than 5 percent compounding growth per year..

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 16:57 | Report Abuse

I'm not the fool who became 30 largest shareholders in NETX, buying at 2 cents a share expecting it to go to 8 cents. Or did you forget already..

>>>>

Posted by calvintaneng > May 24, 2020 4:47 PM | Report Abuse

Why keep lemons like serba and yinson when even Warren Buffet is getting out from philps66?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 17:00 | Report Abuse

Of course not, a lot of it is borrowed money and margin loan. If you look through the cash in transactions list I'm almost 100 margin loan into stocks after the covid-19. My fmr is around 35-40%.

The real secret to investing is making safe decisions while compounding other people's money.

>>>>>>>

Posted by samheong78 > May 24, 2020 4:40 PM | Report Abuse

Philip, is it true that your portfolio is close to 80 million?

99 posts

Posted by 7210 > 2020-05-24 17:04 | Report Abuse

samheong78, from the screenshot, the total investment is 11.xx mil, not 1.xx mil.

samheong78

472 posts

Posted by samheong78 > 2020-05-24 17:16 | Report Abuse

Phillip, care to clarify if your invested capital in topglov was 1 million or 11 million?

samheong78

472 posts

Posted by samheong78 > 2020-05-24 17:17 | Report Abuse

Because from the screenshot, it shows 11 million

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-24 17:39 | Report Abuse

Dear All,
The screen shot is his Topglove holding mark to market price at 1st Jan 2020. His buying cost when he start buying TopGlove in year 2010 and continues bought over the year till holding 2,043,800 is about RM 1 million.

23-Mar-2020 Sell TOPGLOV
-120,000 6.20 2,394.80
+741,605.20
27-Apr-2020 Sell TOPGLOV
-500,000 7.32 10,899.00
+3,649,101.00
12-May-2020 Sell TOPGLOV
-500,000 8.00 11,800.00
+3,988,200.00
14-May-2020 Sell TOPGLOV
-400,000 10.32 12,139.20
+4,115,860.80
15-May-2020 Sell TOPGLOV
-523,800 10.20 15,358.31
+5,327,401.69

Total sold 2,043,800 TopGlove for: RM 17,822,168.69
If he had hold his TopGlove till today at 22/5/2020 close price of RM 11.82 his 2,043,800 TopGlove is worth 11.82x 2,043,000 = RM 24,148,260 a different of about RM 6 m+

So I wish Philip good luck that his new purchased in O&G will give him this return (RM 6m+) in 2 year time.

53,262 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-05-24 17:52 | Report Abuse

philips is not only a fool to sell gloves too early

He is also a big liar to say Calvin bought Netx at 2 sen

SEE CALVIN BUY CALL FOR NETX IS ONE SEN

Don't believe this liar Philip. His words CANNOT be Trusted at all

See the Proof

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600226691.jsp

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2020-05-24 18:02 | Report Abuse

It is too early to sell glove counter.
the bull won't get tired too fast.
this is once in a life time opportunity and you need to have the power to hold along with the bull

Ravi1969

246 posts

Posted by Ravi1969 > 2020-05-24 18:23 | Report Abuse

Philip I respect your decision to sell early and lollipops for the next best thing. In wish you all the best. I am planning to do the same at the right time. O&G maybe in the pits for not but not 2’ years from now. I bought 300k of Sidon shares at 4 sen a pop and sold at 13.5 sen. Calculated risk

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 19:20 | Report Abuse

Imagine a new island resort being built. The local hardware store would have a huge growth of earnings and profits selling materials to the foreign contractors. But before you decide to buy that hardware store for it's earnings, shouldn't you consider the business after the construction is finished and the contractors have all left?

That is rationality.

Sadly, promoters like you who can't make money long term act and talk nonsense.

Why sell a stock that had doubled in value?

I am just selling my business to an idiot who thinks that the massive earnings is forever and will be the new normal.

So I will sell it to you first and let you try to find other idiots to buy it from you.

But sooner or later you will realize that once the resort is complete, no one will be paying the massive prices your paid for the hardware store.

>>>>>>>>>>

Posted by calvintaneng > May 24, 2020 4:47 PM | Report Abuse

JBond007

1,257 posts

Posted by JBond007 > 2020-05-24 19:38 | Report Abuse

Bagus! Bagus!.....Uncle Philip very 'generous & kind', he left 6 million on the table as a bonanza to all Malaysian in this difficult time.

A real superhero.....'The Six Million Dollar Man'.
Just like the old American sci-fi action TV series in the 70s that has superhuman strength, speed and vision.

Posted by noobietrader69 > 2020-05-24 19:41 | Report Abuse

Talk c0ck la u philip, wanna buy back say straight away la, write long article waste my time

Goldgent

1,348 posts

Posted by Goldgent > 2020-05-24 20:47 | Report Abuse

Philip sifu has emotional stress when Top Glove share price keep on rising.
Every 1.00 -2.04 million

4,720 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-24 21:19 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
What is your opinion on the below comment in Serbadk forum?

Posted by dxbman > May 24, 2020 5:46 PM | Report Abuse
When bagging the EPCC project in A Dhabi, Serbadk apparently was not aware of the 1st rule of doing business in the ME: DO NOT bid for lump sum EPCC projects, only go for reimbursable Pre-FEED or FEED study projects in the ME. Learn the lessons from huge losses incurred by Sime Engineering (QP job), WCT (airport job) and UEM (highway job) in Qatar, and my ex-company (a 1st tier international EPC Contractor)'s offshore project with ADNOC in the UAE.

The main reason is that these ME clients like QP, ADNOC, etc. do not follow acceptable international standard or code of practice on variation orders and insist everything under the sun is covered in the EPCC lump sum contract, and EPC Contractors have no choice but to accept otherwise they will be threatened with lawsuits and blacklisted in future projects.

I can already foresee Serbadk incurring a few hundred millions losses when the project is completed in a few years time.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-24 22:15 | Report Abuse

Firstly, I would study the commenter. Someone who bought NETX and held as it kept dropping and finally got loss is already a red flag in my book.

Secondly for someone who claims that he had 20+ years experience working in middle east is most likely around the 40-50 year age. However the actions, comments and thought pattern and seem to childish, and the purchases and investments leave much to be expected.

As for the comments itself, there is a huge difference between serbadk and sime engineering, wct, and uem. The difference?

https://www.pressreader.com/malaysia/the-sun-malaysia/20170711/281904478213910

Nonperformance.

Whatever else, you can see that serbadk is not only recently in UAE, Qatar and Saudi, but has a history of successful o&m completion of projects in the region that is growing larger.

Unlike those companies who jump in and bid on tenders, Karim has been slowly building up reputation and contacts in the region year after year.

Since serba track history is more consistent in the region than all those other companies, I will give serba a longer leash.

My opinion, monitor quarterly, if things are good, build a position.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Sslee > May 24, 2020 9:19 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
What is your opinion on the below comment in Serbadk forum?

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-05-25 08:04 | Report Abuse

Will oil n gas decommisdioning affect the oil n gas counter? Sorry i am still new.. I just love this forum. Thanks

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-25 08:24 | Report Abuse

Hi batfly, you can go to my telegram chat discussion to discuss over there, a lot of oil and gas professionals and also as lot of glove staff in the group that you can get information from.

Rather than follow those who buy high and sell higher, I prefer to buy low and sell high.

I believe that the market is overdoing the fear in oil. As the oil prices can do to -37 USD, I believe there will be a stretch of belt tightening going on where a lot of companies will go bankrupt.

But there are still many companies that are making profits during this time that is selling below IPO price, despite having grown assets and retained earnings over the last 10 years.

I just choose to find those with less risk.

Posted by frleong2005 > 2020-05-25 08:29 | Report Abuse

Supermax will catch up with Top Glove soon. Now only 5.60. PE ratio only 40. Top glove is already 74 ratio. I believe Supermax reach at least 9.00. Just started moving 3 trading days. Definitely on uptrend. Can jump into bandwagon & get a free ride.

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-05-25 08:48 | Report Abuse

Thanks philip..

Posted by handsomfoo > 2020-05-25 09:35 | Report Abuse

Thank you all the Sifus for the sharings and discussions

Posted by Alex™ > 2020-05-25 09:41 | Report Abuse

Thank you all the Sifus for the sharings and discussions

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-25 13:04 | Report Abuse

@Philip

thanks for sharing with us this good piece of information

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-25 13:04 | Report Abuse

by the way, how to joing your telegram group?

there must be group name, then only we can search it ...

Posted by probability > 2020-05-25 13:59 | Report Abuse

Serbadk is a good company , but i am unable to comprehend how they can do their services in middle east when all flights are restricted

By next qtr we will see the true implication by the dip in its earnings

and the same goes to Gloves to see the surge in earnings

This will be the true earnings going forward for both industry if new-norm does not get any better

Posted by probability > 2020-05-25 14:03 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, gloves demand will infact soar when a country eases lockdown. As much as other industries may benefit by the easing, gloves industry will equally benefit if not more.

The below is something to ponder deep:

- The hospitals will be operating at a much higher patients capacity who were hesitant / constrained to visit healthcare earlier due to risk of Covid 19 infections.

- imagine what happens when the airline industries start operating again? every check in counter staff & all staff (stewardess) who works there will be using gloves. Same goes to other public transport booths

- the same goes to many other industries (tourism & hotels) when they start operating as they normally do

Posted by Alex™ > 2020-05-25 14:46 | Report Abuse

probability bro...i scare invest leh...haha

this kind of market, all earning analysis can throw d....usa sp500 valuation is forward looking to...guess what...2025...hehe

crazy

Posted by probability > 2020-05-25 14:49 | Report Abuse

@Alex, agree...almost all sectors are affected... and i can tell vaccine will not be available anytime soon ( 2 years at the earliest)

Posted by freetospeak > May 24, 2020 2:22 PM | Report Abuse

Do u know even a 0.01% death rate in vaccine canresult more death in the covid itself...becoz not everyone got covid but everyone wannna get vaccinated....so u can go calculate.

Posted by Alex™ > 2020-05-25 14:51 | Report Abuse

why alex no buy.....aiya.... amdui

Posted by Alex™ > 2020-05-25 14:52 | Report Abuse

i buy gilead 81 throw 77, rugi =(

Posted by probability > 2020-05-25 14:55 | Report Abuse

buy intel....they are doing well (sis works there)

https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/INTC:US

Posted by Treasure_stalker > 2020-05-25 16:59 | Report Abuse

haha.. Mr Philip, your story seems very interesting to the crowd. Keeping a stock for over 10 years. Adding position every year. and talking cock after it went up more than 200%. Nowadays when the market rebound, many self-claimed sifu.... hahahaha. beh tahan this guy

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-25 17:04 | Report Abuse

That's why I just keep a trackable online portfolio to show performance since 2019. Talk cock no use. Have to show results right?

If you think I am the same as those other self claim sifu, just click here and read through every single transaction and every single trade.

Got date, got position got buy and sell record.

You try to ask other so called sifu for their portfolio, see what answer you get?

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-25 17:06 | Report Abuse

It's tme/philipcapitalmanagement.

tm.e

>>>>>>>>>

RainT by the way, how to joing your telegram group?

there must be group name, then only we can search it ...
25/05/2020 1:04 PM

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2020-05-25 17:11 | Report Abuse

I can't believe the sohai Calvin come and call omeone a far better investor than him stupid....

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-25 17:30 | Report Abuse

With his track record, that is the only thing he can do.

He was actually proud of saying the he sold houses and bought shares in NETX and is currently 30 biggest shareholder in NETX, right before it dropped to 1 cent.

His date of promotion is clearly 2 cents so he loss 50% networth in a single stroke of he sold everything to jump to glove stocks.

But of course this fake pastor is a liar. He will say he only put a little bit in NETX, and he jumped chun chun into glove stocks.

However, only buy calls no sell calls on his sold stocks to jump into gloves. So.... Believe in him la. Cun cun.

When I buy, everyone know what I buy. When I sell, everyone know I sell. Everyone already know I held topglove since 2019, this is FACTS.

So when I sell, everyone knows I sell.

Big difference with Calvin, only chun chun buy, never a chun chun sell.

What to do, got 40 stocks to sell stock subscription on, promote those that work hide those that don't la.

momo33

148 posts

Posted by momo33 > 2020-05-25 17:30 | Report Abuse

time will tell who got it RIGHT .
for me i will hold it .

Posted by stockraider > 2020-05-25 17:52 | Report Abuse

I REMEMBER TELLING PHILIP NOT TO BE A SOHAI, SELLING HIS WINNER SWITCHING TO LOSERS LOH...!!