101 comment(s). Last comment by i3lurker 2022-02-03 22:58

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-30 18:30 | Report Abuse

Well written. It's always important to know whether a company's listing is an exit strategy or need funds to grow. How many more senheng can they open in Malaysia?
In 2010, senheng was my go to store but now with new competitor Harvey Norman in town, no more. Senheng staffs always busy surfing phones (better at Harvey) and many old stocks. Now, that's a sign!!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-30 18:43 | Report Abuse

That is very true and a huge problem here in Kota Kinabalu. I still see they have surface 3 for sale at the counter. Dead stock.

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-30 20:18 | Report Abuse

Quarter
Revenue
PBT
NP
NP to SH
NP Margin
ROE
EPS
DPS
NAPS
QoQ
YoY
Financial Year: 31-Dec-2021
30-Sep-2021 768,021 124,029 90,351 90,351 11.76% 8.62% 1.44 0.65 0.1669 10.00% -20.36%
30-Jun-2021 759,818 112,551 82,134 82,134 10.81% 8.27% 1.31 0.60 0.1582 -34.18% 44.14%
31-Mar-2021 870,181 170,682 124,791 124,791 14.34% 12.44% 1.99 0.80 0.1598 15.26% 113.46%
Financial Year: 31-Dec-2020
31-Dec-2020 768,332 142,486 108,266 108,266 14.09% 12.35% 1.72 0.73 0.1397 -4.57% 19.12%
30-Sep-2020 740,234 155,481 113,452 113,452 15.33% 21.85% 1.86 0.00 0.0853 99.10% 54.11%

Are you sure this type of quarterly financial result deserved a Market Cap of RM 22 billion.

By the way opening stores in many foreign countries (beside Malaysia and Brunei) can contribute any top line and bottom line?

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-30 20:20 | Report Abuse

Talking based on my gut feeling, I don't see bright future in this counter.

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-30 20:33 | Report Abuse

At investment cost of DIY RM 3.54 if you are lucky you will get 0.6-0.7 cent dividend every quarter for the rest of your life.

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-30 20:49 | Report Abuse

SSlee. At current price with PE more than 60, it's definitely not cheap for me. I guess it depends on how much % growth DIY could generate going forward. Not for me. I rather go for Google, Alibaba, Apple (for now).
However, it's definitely better than Senheng.
1. high margin and high stocks turnover
2. Long way to go before saturation due to low price items
3. Online store no competitive advantage due to low price items (I have compared online, price either no difference or so insignificant, i just don't bother the hassle

Having said this, i am not buying DIY. Neither am i for Insas at this price haha.
In fact, Insas's upside is limited even with Inari bull run last year and if technology stocks correct further your wish of 0.50 might come true. But i will be queuing at 0.51 to buy 3 mil shares to beat you being the top 30 haha

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-30 20:59 | Report Abuse

I have no hurry to collect Insas. Now I am collecting Bplant because q4 will be good result and dividend. As of Q1 end 31th March 2022 should be super good result. (Land disposal and super high price of CPO)

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-30 21:05 | Report Abuse

please do not puncture his bluff, steal, sin, con, cheat, lies, fraud and Macau Scam.
He knows jolly well MrDIY is only Malaysia and Brunei.

=> He purposely put it in to bluff, steal, sin, con, cheat, lies, fraud and Macau Scam.

Posted by Sslee > Jan 30, 2022 8:18 PM | Report Abuse

Quarter
Revenue
PBT
NP
NP to SH
NP Margin
ROE
EPS
DPS
NAPS
QoQ
YoY
Financial Year: 31-Dec-2021
30-Sep-2021 768,021 124,029 90,351 90,351 11.76% 8.62% 1.44 0.65 0.1669 10.00% -20.36%
30-Jun-2021 759,818 112,551 82,134 82,134 10.81% 8.27% 1.31 0.60 0.1582 -34.18% 44.14%
31-Mar-2021 870,181 170,682 124,791 124,791 14.34% 12.44% 1.99 0.80 0.1598 15.26% 113.46%
Financial Year: 31-Dec-2020
31-Dec-2020 768,332 142,486 108,266 108,266 14.09% 12.35% 1.72 0.73 0.1397 -4.57% 19.12%
30-Sep-2020 740,234 155,481 113,452 113,452 15.33% 21.85% 1.86 0.00 0.0853 99.10% 54.11%

Are you sure this type of quarterly financial result deserved a Market Cap of RM 22 billion.

By the way opening stores in many foreign countries (beside Malaysia and Brunei) can contribute any top line and bottom line?

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-30 21:12 | Report Abuse

sslee

at last you saw through his guy for what he is?
a bluff, steal, sin, con, cheat, lies, fraud and Macau Scam

thats why I never respected him from day zero

Got_Milk

36 posts

Posted by Got_Milk > 2022-01-30 22:49 | Report Abuse

Physical store retailers are in terminal decline, in other words a sunset industry

Far more rewarding to invest for the future in a company with structural growth drivers that are only just unfolding:

Global dairy milk prices
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/investing_for_the_future/2022-01-30-story-h1598247490-_Rhonema_Global_dairy_prices_hit_8_year_high_as_supply_tightens_milk_pa.jsp

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-01-30 22:50 | Report Abuse

To be frank i never walk into any Senheng store to buy electronic goods as they are always selling more expensive. I have more choice to go and there is no reason why must buy from Senheng for the same product that with same warranty elsewhere.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-30 23:12 | Report Abuse

SenHeng reminds of Parkson! Go figure! I would walk into any DIY the moment i see one! As for SenHeng, i would just walk pass even after 100 times passing them!
For same item, you can get them cheaper at other places! It is what it is!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-30 23:18 | Report Abuse

SenHeng would have thrive in the 80s or 90s! But in this age, with so much convenience and multi choice way to buy electronic stuff, i say SenHeng is battling with unfavorable tide!

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 06:11 | Report Abuse

Good morning i3lurker,
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Telegram/2021-06-15-story-h1566847714-Why_I_bought_even_more_SERBADK_bonds_and_stocks.jsp
Author: Philip ( buy what you understand) | Publish date: Tue, 15 Jun 2021, 5:56 AM

Untill now I still cannot understand what Philip trying to tell in the story of 'The Dog and the Dragon.’

Recently I bought a lot of serba dinamik bonds and stocks.

As to why? Everyone has all the relevant information, everyone has all the reports and PDFs. Importantly, serba has kept their KPMG auditors, and added EY as external reviewers for the issues brought up by KPMG, and 3 more independent directors to monitor all information on serba dinamik.

Why would frauds and liars do something like that? All I can do is present to you a story from a very good story teller.

The Dog and the Dragon.’

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-31 06:57 | Report Abuse

So Phillip brought alot of Serba! Yeah, I too was so into Serba! Until i discover Serba cook their book and got expose! And then i also got Fxxk by Saprng! Fortunately i exit both with some losses! Live and learn! I hope Phillip exit early as well! I hope Phillip didnt remain in denial and pass his Serba stocks to his grandchildren!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-31 07:05 | Report Abuse

Anyway, i have a story to share! It's about the monkey and the pig! The pig cannot climb the banana tree! And so he asked the monkey to get some banana for him!
Once the monkey reach the ripe banana, he started to eat the banana one by one! The pig shouted and demand the monkey to throw him some banana! The monkey instead threw banana skin to awaiting pig!
The pig ate the banana skin not knowing anything better! The pig smile after eating like tons of banana skin! Then he thanked the monkey for painstakingly removing that white thingy inside the banana for him!
The monkey was too stun to speak! He thought to himself! What! The pig got the best part and i am total dumbass for eating the bad part!
Morally of the story! Nobody is wiser!

maf1964

466 posts

Posted by maf1964 > 2022-01-31 07:37 | Report Abuse

Posted by Tobby > Jan 31, 2022 7:05 AM | Report Abuse

Anyway, i have a story to share! It's about the monkey and the pig! The pig cannot climb the banana tree! And so he asked the monkey to get some banana for him!
Once the monkey reach the ripe banana, he started to eat the banana one by one! The pig shouted and demand the monkey to throw him some banana! The monkey instead threw banana skin to awaiting pig!
The pig ate the banana skin not knowing anything better! The pig smile after eating like tons of banana skin! Then he thanked the monkey for painstakingly removing that white thingy inside the banana for him!
The monkey was too stun to speak! He thought to himself! What! The pig got the best part and i am total dumbass for eating the bad part!
Morally of the story! Nobody is wiser!......

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
Nice Chinese Year story....like stories told by the head of
household.....Under one roof,

anyway Happy Chinese New Year and Happy Holidays

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-31 07:42 | Report Abuse

Maf! I do have another story about the tiger and the turtle! But i think you have to wait for the next CNY!

ivanlau

1,326 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2022-01-31 08:02 | Report Abuse

good article........ happy cny......

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 08:44 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Sslee_blog/2022-01-31-story-h1598249353.jsp

一雙筷子,一個農曆新年, 讓我們明白,自己是文化傳承的中國人

Wishing you and your family a Happy and Prosperous Chinese Lunar New Year

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-31 08:46 | Report Abuse

Yes, sadly full of trolls who talk about everything other than the original post. Yes I lost 5 million on my serba investment and I posted exactly when I cut my losses in my portfolio page. And yes it is a small portion of my portfolio at 5%, meanwhile my entire portfolio is still boring and intact and doing well.

As for i3lurker who has never had a stock idea but insist only on being a troll with no portfolio and no performance, what makes you think anyone cares what you think? If you have 20k views on your blog article with a trackable portfolio to actually back up whatever you have to say, maybe one day you will realize:

Those who can do.
Those who can't talk.
Those who can't talk, can only be a troll.

Until then on an 3 year rolling basis since I started tracking my portfolio on i3, my long term performance is still miles better than a troll like you. At 16.5% CAGR over 3 years, much much better.

Maybe you should spend less time trolling or and more time thinking about investments.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-31 08:55 | Report Abuse

Just as I cannot understand why you will ever want to become top 30 shareholders of companies like insas,

You will never understand why I bought DIY(1.7), Tesla(500), palantir(13) and stoneco(19). After selling at 2+, 1100+, 38+, and 80+, all tracked on telegram,

You will probably also never understand why I bought back pltr, stne, Baba and Netflix as well, prices and decisions also tracked portfolio.

Then again, as a previous major top 10 shareholder of xinquan,

Your goal is never to understand, but more to make everyone agree with your way of thinking. Too bad your results also don't match your claims.

>>>>>>>>>>>

Sslee Good morning i3lurker,
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Telegram/2021-06-15-story-h1566847714-Why_I_bought_even_more_SERBADK_bonds_and_stocks.jsp
Author: Philip ( buy what you understand) | Publish date: Tue, 15 Jun 2021, 5:56 AM

Untill now I still cannot understand what Philip trying to tell in the story of 'The Dog and the Dragon.’

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:15 | Report Abuse

Correction I am at No.13 on the top 30 shareholders of Xingquan.
I was then very naive and now I will run fast fast if I sense any hint of accounting fraud.

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:26 | Report Abuse

Sslee. While i am still an amateur in investment, i would like to point out the flaws in your investment decisions. I realise you tend to choose companies with high discount to NTA. While it's "safe" decision, but what you should evaluate is "why"? Are you the only investors in Bursa who found these gems? If 1 counter is consistently selling at huge discount to NTA, there must be reasons. Unless of course, if Bursa is full of dummies!
Bursa definitely got lots of water fishes but the smart one actually never comment here (then you know our levels haha). So, can't be noone ever found out your gems right?
Get Bplant as an example. While i know little about oil palm which you should be expert, i puzzled why you bought Bplant for investment? From my limited recollection, those GLC always make losses which other companies like IOI, KLK etc making profits? At your age and experience, you should know WHY right? Yet you bought Bplant because it's at a discount right?
When Warren Buffett talked about value investment, he is talking about a profit growth company temporarily selling at discounts because of market conditions. BPlant got profit growth meh?

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:30 | Report Abuse

Bplant is a turnaround play with many undervalue land assets that can be monetised easily and most likely the share price will increase more compare to other like IOI, KLK and etc.

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:33 | Report Abuse

As of Insas just read the financial report. You are actually put in RM1.00 to get and investment sum of RM3.00 for Insas to invest the money for you.

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:35 | Report Abuse

Sslee. That's what i highlighted. Yes, undervalued land assets ie high NTA right?
I once told the stories that many rich second generations in my town keep bragging about their fathers wealth. Yes, their fathers are richer than me but for the foreseeable future, i am richer than them which making a meagre salary or hand out from their fathers. With life expectancy now in the 80s, this so called 2nd gen rich could only enjoy the riches in their 60s.
Why bet on uncertainty while you can grapse certainty?

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:37 | Report Abuse

Nvm. let's track IOI, KLK share price against your beloved Bplant over the next 2 years? Hopefully you would come to your conclusions by then. You are still new in investment but yet you have learnt a lot but if you stop here, you won't progress

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-31 09:38 | Report Abuse

This is one of the silliest mental models that I have learned to shake of decades ago. If something is selling cheap, we have to understand why, instead of dumb dumb buy, because bursa rules and nyse rules are different.

And yes windy1974, the goal is to never too busy simply buy something that looks cheap on paper. We need to understand why something is selling cheap. Even more so when shares of "undervalued" Insas has been selling at cheap price since 2015 with no improvement.

>>>>>>>>>

Sslee As of Insas just read the financial report. You are actually put in RM1.00 to get and investment sum of RM3.00 for Insas to invest the money for you.
31/01/2022 9:33 AM

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:38 | Report Abuse

FYI. i started share investment in 1993. 29 years ago and yet i am an amateur

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:39 | Report Abuse

I have a couple of share market games title under my belt too

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:41 | Report Abuse

NTA is just pure book value no yet include the current market value. Similarly Insas holding of 535,993,575 (14.48%) inari is at book value not yet mark to market.

Windy1974

724 posts

Posted by Windy1974 > 2022-01-31 09:45 | Report Abuse

Sslee. You still talking about NTA. It's not your company and money even if NTA at 100

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:45 | Report Abuse

If investors ready to pay 1 billion for 10% of Inari Private Placement what am I to complain to collect Insas cheap cheap?

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 09:49 | Report Abuse

I am talking about assets that generate income.

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-31 10:03 | Report Abuse

Sslee Insas & Inari both listed companies hence Insas holding of Inari according to accounting standards already valued Market Value at the date of the reporting of results

))))))))))))
Posted by Sslee > Jan 31, 2022 9:41 AM | Report Abuse 

NTA is just pure book value no yet include the current market value. Similarly Insas holding of 535,993,575 (14.48%) inari is at book value not yet mark to market.

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 10:16 | Report Abuse

Please read Insas annual financial report.
Page: 134-138
11. Associate companies

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-31 11:00 | Report Abuse

Sslee,Oh... Insas is using equity accounting for its investment in Inari.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 11:16 | Report Abuse

sslee

helping you lah

buying some Inari now to catch falling knife, not recommending this to anyone else

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2022-01-31 11:36 | Report Abuse

Can keep the pasar malam talk to on TOPIC please? If you want to discuss, stick to senheng. I remember you were very very WRONG about the prospects of Mr DIY, so if you dont have anything to add, you are welcome to write your own post about Inari somewhere else, no need to hijack other writeups.

>>>>>>>

Posted by i3lurker > Jan 31, 2022 11:16 AM | Report Abuse

sslee

helping you lah

buying some Inari now to catch falling knife, not recommending this to anyone else

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-31 11:45 | Report Abuse

I don't own any shares in Insas. As Sslee interested in this counter, I may take a closer look ...

》》》》》》
Posted by i3lurker > Jan 31, 2022 11:16 AM | Report Abuse 

sslee

helping you lah

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 11:46 | Report Abuse

the Maddoff Ponzi Scheme lasted more than 20 years

totally not surprised that MrDIY can still sustain at extreme low earnings and low dividends for many many years.

typically such schemes can last years and years

Even today we still have bluff, steal, sin, con, cheat, lies, fraud and Macau Scam people trying to brainwash that MrDIY expanding globally when the truth is that its merely Malaysia and Brunei.

that shows that the foundation of MrDIY is based on bluff, steal, sin, con, cheat, lies, fraud and Macau Scam.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 11:53 | Report Abuse

Inari is allowed to sell its products globally. No restrictions.

Compare MrDIY not allowed to expand.
MrDIY is restricted to Malaysia and Brunei only

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 12:01 | Report Abuse

otb also eyeing Inari and stated "will buy"
not too sure whether that is a good thingy or not.

4,717 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-01-31 12:08 | Report Abuse

Controlling shareholders hold controlling interest in entities for MR D.I.Y. branded retail operations elsewhere including Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, and more. They have also licensed the use of the brand to third party for retail operations in India.
These overseas operations are not consolidated into the current to-be-listed entity. The current to-be- listed entity only for MR DIY’ Malaysia and Brunei Business.

So maybe later on all the cost will be charged to MRDIY Berhad and all the profit transfer to SDN BHD.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 12:16 | Report Abuse

Hopefully................

I am gonna front run otb and buy Inari up before it triggers his buy signal

hpcp

450 posts

Posted by hpcp > 2022-01-31 13:13 | Report Abuse

Not sure if it was due to lousy investment banker who ill-advised Senheng or greedy Senheng major shareholders. Don't like ipo companies that overprice the ipo resulting staff and business partners to lose money.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-01-31 13:43 | Report Abuse

its normal for the staff and business partners to be exploited

1 leader of a Malaysian political party will always tell his staff even his own personal secretary to buy while he is secretly selling...

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-31 14:16 | Report Abuse

Insas is a very classic value trap stock! Insas can make FA gurus wet their pants! So very attractive! But like i said, a very trap! Can play on buy low sell high but the gap will not be that great! Anyway, i think SsLee has every right just like all of us! At least much better than Serba! No worry, won't lose money on Insas! Just not going up that much!