STRAITS ENERGY RESOURCES BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): STRAITS (0080)

-0.005 (3.85%)

0.125 - 0.13

7 people like this.

4,183 comment(s). Last comment by Daily88 4 days ago

ran777rpt

2,945 posts

Posted by ran777rpt > 2017-11-23 18:22 | Report Abuse

Straits Inter Logistics revenue and profit higher
23 Nov 2017 5:57 PM
BY TEE LIN SAY

KUALA LUMPUR: Bunkering services company Straits Inter Logistics Bhd registered a net profit of RM631,000 for its third quarter of the financial year ending December 31, 2017, representing an increase of 62 times from RM10,000 in the corresponding period last year.

Its revenue stood at RM32.9mil, a 63% increase as compared to RM20.2 mil a year ago.

In a statement on Bursa Malaysia, the company attributed the spectacular financial performance to the diversification of its principal activities into oil bunkering and trading in oil products successfully building a sustaining revenue stream

ran777rpt

2,945 posts

Posted by ran777rpt > 2017-11-23 18:23 | Report Abuse

For the 9-month financial year ending Dec 31, 2017, the company registered a revenue of RM82.9mil, which represents a 65% increase from RM50.3mil a year ago. Its net profit stood at RM1.8mil, 600 times increase from RM3,000 in the corresponding period last year.

Straits Inter Logistics Bhd managing director Datuk Seri Ho Kam Choy said: “We are delighted to see the results of our business strategies bear fruit. Going forward, our focus will be expanding our asset base, strengthening our operational capabilities, and broadening our geographical coverage to capture growth opportunities in the oil bunkering industry in Malaysia.

“The future of Straits will only be better, as we have commenced our oil bunkering operations from Pasir Gudang Port, Johor in the 4Q2017 and it is expected to generate robust earnings visibility for the Company.”

Straits, which currently owned 2 vessels, namely Sturgeon and Straits 1 (with a maximum load capacity of 510,000 liters each), is a major marine logistics company involved in the provision of premium oil bunkering services to marine and cargo bulk transporters, oil and gas vessels, floating production storage and offloading vessels, cruise ships and ferries.

The company’s 51% owned subsidiary, Selatan Bunker (M) Sdn Bhd had in September 2017 entered into a Contract for Services with Tumpuan Megah Development Sdn Bhd to provide bunkering and related services for no less than RM45mil value.

PW888

96 posts

Posted by PW888 > 2017-11-23 18:24 | Report Abuse

Hope there is really another good news soon that will give this counter a boost..

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-11-23 18:46 | Report Abuse

ran777rpt, your info is really chun. can you now please let us know what the fantastic news is and when will it be released

ran777rpt

2,945 posts

Posted by ran777rpt > 2017-11-23 18:49 | Report Abuse

Will let you know when time comes. It is a very good news. Trust me.

Alson168

29 posts

Posted by Alson168 > 2017-11-23 19:01 | Report Abuse

Thanks you ran777rpt

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-11-23 19:03 | Report Abuse

For a company who was not doing well mid last year and then posted 5 consecutive positive result. I cannot ask for more. I am happy. I have lost money on all other counters but this counter help me to recover my losses. Bravo.

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-11-23 19:41 | Report Abuse

Thank you ran777rpt for your willingness to share. God bless you and our counter

Posted by babybreath > 2017-11-24 08:52 | Report Abuse

I think this is a good result, we cannot expect the the company to have sudden growth that give fair PE overnight, but overall we can see the company is turning around and moving there slowly and surely.

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-11-24 09:08 | Report Abuse

I agreed babybreath. Slow and surely is the right word. The management is moving the company in the right direction. I am sure the management has big plans for the company. Only time will show.

micky92

759 posts

Posted by micky92 > 2017-11-24 12:28 | Report Abuse

Need to keep longer...not for contra kakis

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-11-28 15:47 | Report Abuse

Sei lor .23 coming soon lor pls hold on to it ah when it reaches .10 add some more

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-11-28 15:50 | Report Abuse

For those so called long term investor lol

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-11-28 16:41 | Report Abuse

never expect the volcanic eruption in Bali to disrupt sea travel as well, Looks like Straits Tanker's journey to Fantasy Island 88 has hit a snack, may be caused by mini tsunami from the volcanic eruption.Now seeking shelter at Refugee Island 27

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-11-28 20:13 | Report Abuse

Let me guess tomorrow would be 0.255 or 0.25 monday 0.23

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-11-29 00:44 | Report Abuse

ran777rpt, any idea when the fantastic news will be released? WII it be a gift from Santa Claus or a CNY ang pow? Or it will come much earlier?

DL60

248 posts

Posted by DL60 > 2017-11-29 09:24 | Report Abuse

This company's latest quarterly result is a disappointment for those who had a high expectation for short-term gain target. But I believe itss long term prospect will remain intact.

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-01 11:54 | Report Abuse

ran777rpt and davidgoliath, we have not head from you two for one week. Really miss your comments..

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-01 19:47 | Report Abuse

The management has done a great job this year. Turning around a almost dying company. I think next year will be an exciting year for Straits.

ran777rpt

2,945 posts

Posted by ran777rpt > 2017-12-01 20:47 | Report Abuse

I am still here. Not to worry, I won’t run just like that. My TP is around 38- 40. There is a good news which was told me. In this market sentiment, any good news will not materialise on the uptrend of price.Right? So have to be patient.
In this market, to my knowledge, the only counter which is blipping now and then is Palette.
So guys, be patient. Company is doing well so far. It will be good if they can acquire or join up with an entity so that they can really expand.
We pray ya.

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-01 23:40 | Report Abuse

davidgoliath and ran777rpt, it is so good to hear from you two. ran777rpt your words are very encouraging. They are like beacons in a very dark night, guiding our Straits Tanker from running aground or hitting some huge rocks so that we can reach our destination, Fantasy Island 88

ran777rpt

2,945 posts

Posted by ran777rpt > 2017-12-02 00:01 | Report Abuse

Good luck, klugman.

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-04 12:43 | Report Abuse

i think Straits needs a double dose of Viagra lah

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-04 23:49 | Report Abuse

purposely closed at 0.265 which looks very fishy! when are you selling at 0.24 fast fast lor

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-05 06:45 | Report Abuse

billionn you are again trying your luck to spread negative news. Hoping to pick up cheap, cheap.
Excerpt from yesterday Edge, "“It’s no longer just about selecting a certain sector and hoping to profit from it. We have to look into individual counters and do our research — smaller caps that have done well in their financial results and share price performances, including companies like Straits Inter Logistics Bhd and Kelington Group Bhd,” he added.

Posted by adisuffian83 > 2017-12-05 20:00 | Report Abuse

i guess someone is very happy as today didnt purposely closed 265 lol

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-05 22:59 | Report Abuse

Seems like i dont need to talk down the price it is reaching soon 0.24 lol

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-06 11:37 | Report Abuse

Tatata coming soon0.24 then 0.2

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-06 19:01 | Report Abuse

billionn when is your 0.24....0.20 coming

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-06 22:48 | Report Abuse

when it breaks 0.25 you guys better run. Agak thanks for the effort well done keep it up

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-06 22:54 | Report Abuse

obviously, pricing is trending lower low yet he is still question my motive. Sigh!

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-11 12:47 | Report Abuse

Billion where is your 0.24 and then 0.20...,, anymore negative news???

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-11 13:11 | Report Abuse

double dose of Viagra do not seem to work. Needs a whole root of tongkat ali lah!

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-12 19:00 | Report Abuse

looks like billion may right after all

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-12 23:55 | Report Abuse

david you should know damn well who are you mingle with? This is a penny stock. Agak if you are the gang of this syndicate pls ask your boss to push up now no point ding dong ding dong it leads us nowhere wasting times. Learn from PUC la

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-13 00:09 | Report Abuse

or you can go sell down just to shake off the weak holder

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-13 00:13 | Report Abuse

or you are disposing off ? looks like

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-13 22:46 | Report Abuse

Lol what makes you think u can trap me?

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-12-13 22:48 |

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-14 08:04 | Report Abuse

Guys, this is not a money game counter. If you are in for quick money then you will be disappointed. I had huge paper loss during Raya time. But now all have come back oledy. I have full confidence in the new management. They are creating values for this counter. Be patient la guys.

klugman

600 posts

Posted by klugman > 2017-12-14 09:07 | Report Abuse

davidgoliath, any idea when the fantastic news you were talking about will be announced?

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-14 09:14 | Report Abuse

It is ran777rpt who mentioned it. Any idea Bro ran777rpt

Posted by BankNagara > 2017-12-14 09:42 | Report Abuse

Wont be at this low price anymore when the last quarter results comes out as the oil bunkering business already operating for three months now

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-14 18:43 | Report Abuse

Lol last chance to sell too bad for those cannot make it

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-14 21:51 | Report Abuse

TP 0.24 is coming soon lor even if it's traded at 0.2 it's still not worth buying

Posted by weavefinder > 2017-12-14 21:58 | Report Abuse

"Straits, which currently owned 2 vessels, namely Sturgeon and Straits 1 (with a maximum load capacity of 510,000 liters each), is a major marine logistics company involved in the provision of premium oil bunkering services to marine and cargo bulk transporters, oil and gas vessels, floating production storage and offloading vessels, cruise ships and ferries".
The above statement is an excerpt from archives..
1) With just 2 vessels, the MD estimates a monthly sales volume of 8 million liters.

2) The key to this business, given the thin margins, is pricing and smart buying. In managing its business, the company focuses on gross spread, which is calculated by subtracting from sales of marine petroleum products ("mpp") the cost of mpp sold (the price paid to the supplier). Margins can range from 5 to 8 %. Marine petroleum products can range from USD 340-380/ tonne currently, averaging RM 1512 per tonne.

3) Lets estimate for 3 months (one quarter) business: with sales volume of 8000 tonne/month X 1512/tonne X 3 months X 6% gross spread = est 2.2 million as gross margins. Cannot precisely guess how much are the administrative and other expenses, but just assume 1mil every quarter. Thus for three months Net profit could be 1.2 mil. Thus about 4.8 mil per year translating into EPS of about 1.3 sen /share based on NOSH of 360 million after the rights issue. Since it is an ace market share, a PE of 20 to 25 times will give a price range of 26 sen to 32 sen.

4) They only started recently with 2 vessels. Either they ply the seas regularly for more sales tonnage or they would have to add few more vessels to enhance business volume and profitability.

I don't think it will be an attractive result, but more so as an acceptable result based on their capabilities in the next quarter. But give it about 4 to 8 quarters down the road as they expand, this co will definitely reward medium term holders.

Anyway, just my 2 sens worth!

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-14 23:43 | Report Abuse

Like I said it's not worth even 20 cents as of now

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-15 00:26 | Report Abuse

Billionn if you think this counter is not worth investing. Just sell of all your shares and stop commenting negatively otherwise you have ulterior motifs. Either that you are part of a syndicate

Posted by davidgoliath > 2017-12-15 00:28 | Report Abuse

This is no longer a speculative counter. A turn around company working on strong foundations for medium to long term holders

billionn

731 posts

Posted by billionn > 2017-12-15 05:31 | Report Abuse

How the hell u know this is a turn around company price is trending lower low? u should at least sell your now nbuy back later. buy back later products