CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

+0.04 (0.49%)

8.15 - 8.28

21 people like this.

18,528 comment(s). Last comment by masterus 1 day ago

Dentist

49 posts

Posted by Dentist > 2016-03-21 22:51 | Report Abuse

epf dumped so many shares to open market, check announcements

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-22 11:16 | Report Abuse

It s good that EPF dont control much of the market in Bursa as that would create a false market due to tight control by EPF. To encourage healthy market, EPF should reduce the holding after defending our index counters for some time due to negative sentiments back in 2014 and 2015. It's time to let the foreign capital to flow back in.

bursaking

111 posts

Posted by bursaking > 2016-03-22 11:29 | Report Abuse

bro AdCool, how to opt for DRS or not?

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-22 14:38 | Report Abuse

bursaking, I also unsure as I never experienced DRS before. Right issued yes but not DRS. I wonder if we are given the option to opt out at the first place. As per my experiences with rights issued and Privatized (Delist) by owner, my investment bank acct rep gave me a call to ask me to decide on whether to opt in or opt out and advised me on the necessary payment if required. Check with your remiser or investment bank on this.

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-22 14:42 | Report Abuse

Refer to this old announcement by CIMB for 2015 DRS.
https://www.cimb.com/content/dam/cimbgroup/pdf-files/CIMB%20Statement_D4%202015.pdf

According to it, we can opt out of DRS.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-22 22:11 | Report Abuse

DRS is optional to Shareholders. You hve the right to subscribe to full allocation or partial or you can ignore the Dividend Reinvestment Form . The divd due you (net or otherwise) will be credited to your bank a/c on the payment date of the dividend.

Posted by Lee Wen Jie > 2016-03-23 08:49 | Report Abuse

Is the coming 11cent dividend are tax exempted or we need to absorb the taxes?

Junichiro

2,063 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-03-23 10:13 | Report Abuse

The law has changed somewhat. Shareholders are not able to claim back tax the company pay. Thus the div u received is net.

nice4ever

31 posts

Posted by nice4ever > 2016-03-23 11:07 | Report Abuse

anyone attend CIMB's AGM before?

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2016-03-23 21:17 | Report Abuse

the DRS seems more worth it..considering u can buy at 4.04...

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2016-03-23 22:16 | Report Abuse

Is DRS worthy?
It depends on how many shares you have on your hand. If you 1000 shares only, your dividend value is RM110. Theoretically ex price is 4.88-0.11=4.77. Offer price is 4.04 for DRS which is 4.77/4.04=18% discount comparing to open market. Since your dividend value is merely 110, applying 18% on RM110, your paper benefit from DRS is RM20 which is more expensive to fee charged by most of the broker firms i.e. HL charges you RM24.
Therefore if you have 1000 shares only, subscribing DRS looks worthy in fact you are losing money RM20-RM24=-RM4. Furthermore, you will receive odd lot from DRS. You are advised to take cash dividend in this case.

If you have more than 2000 shares, DRS is something worthy.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2016-03-23 22:21 | Report Abuse

Hi bsngpg, is the offer price is fixed to 4.04 ? Thanks

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2016-03-23 22:36 | Report Abuse

Official announcement on 14Mar16 retrieved from Bursa : "the DRS for the Second Interim Dividend has been fixed on 11 March 2016 at RM4.04 per share".

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2016-03-23 22:38 | Report Abuse

Many thanks.

BN_menang

2,982 posts

Posted by BN_menang > 2016-03-23 23:54 | Report Abuse

CIMB to divest its 51% stake in Indonesian insurer for RM169m
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/cimb-divest-its-51-stake-indonesian-insurer-rm169m-0

hh488

29 posts

Posted by hh488 > 2016-03-24 10:16 | Report Abuse

I see. Ex-divid today. 11 ct.
Didn't drop more than 11 ct. That cools!

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-24 11:18 | Report Abuse

If you choose to use the Dividend Reinvestment Application Form , the additional cost is RM10.60 (stamp duty plus postage) to subscribe. Don't worry too much on odd lots, you can always top it up to tradable units in the next DRS offer.

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-24 11:48 | Report Abuse

hh488 it will normally drop just after the ex date.

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2016-03-24 17:58 | Report Abuse

odd lot is just troublesome, I knew once i sold off odd lot and it cost me RM45 for my maybank's renmiser

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-24 22:51 | Report Abuse

Agreed that odd lots are troublesome and cause more brokerage fees to dispose. Besides, it usually dispose below market price.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-25 11:21 | Report Abuse

Agreed, stand alone ,odd lots are nuisance if you get it frm Bonus etc. But CIMB/Maybank hve the regular DRS to accumulate to 100 units (tradable lot) . Of course this is only good for those who hve short to mid term holding power.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-28 01:15 | Report Abuse

iphone4, do you think is DRS is a good news for us ?

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2016-03-28 10:30 | Report Abuse

Take cash is the best. The price will eventually drop.

DaitoRyu

1,459 posts

Posted by DaitoRyu > 2016-03-28 10:37 | Report Abuse

On its way back to 4.40- 4.50

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-28 13:44 | Report Abuse

The defensive price should be at 4.60 as the DRS offer price was derived from that price. Should it goes below 4.60, DRS wouldn't be attractive anymore and may affect the subscription rate to the DRS.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-28 14:26 | Report Abuse

@AdCool you right - RM4.60 -0.11 :RM4.49. DRS subjected to 10% discount. If CIMB expects 60% take up (DRS), mati mati it has to defend the price. Maybe aft ex DRS, it can be free fall.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-28 14:40 | Report Abuse

@Angielim9955 , it depends on you allocation. Take the example your holding 6K CIMB shares, your allocation would be 163 shares (on assumption full dividend allocation). If you accept the offer, the buying in price would be RM4.105 (163X4.04 +10.60). If you think CIMB price can be better than RM4.10 after all ex, then take the DRS - this is the simplest way I can look at it

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-28 15:46 | Report Abuse

iphone4: what is that 10.60 for?

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-28 17:01 | Report Abuse

Revenue stamp RM10 and postage RM0.60

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-28 18:09 | Report Abuse

@AngieLim9955 - Technically, DRS is a win win situation. Frm the Company stand point there will be additional shares issued complimented by additional Cash and increase in reserve through the price difference (DRS Offer Price minus Share Par Value) putting CIMB in a stronger financial position - that is your benefit too as a shareholders. Add to that you have the opportunity to accumulate additional shares through discounted price (in this case 10%). Investing is an art, not an Engineering rule where if you put two things together you get a “plus”. Life is all about choices, the decision is all yours.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-28 22:27 | Report Abuse

kakashit : ya I undrestand all , will do ,
but how you cal 6K CIMB shares, your allocation would be 163 shares (on assumption full dividend allocation)
how you calculate 6k will get 163 drs share ?

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-29 11:55 | Report Abuse

Angielim9955, 1000 units entitle to RM110 dividend, 6000 units entitle to RM660 dividend. Offer price for the DRS is RM4.04. Hence RM660 can purchase 163 units.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2016-03-29 12:26 | Report Abuse

Hi All, will the bank will call us for DRS ? I still not getting any call in the DRS.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-29 13:20 | Report Abuse

@AdCool/Angielim, just add a little - if you accept the DRS, your entitlement wld be 163 new shares and net dividend of RM1.48 credited to your designated bank a/c

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-29 13:46 | Report Abuse

RM1.48 if through nominee acct, expect nothing as the bank will charges service charge and GST for it.

sun99

194 posts

Posted by sun99 > 2016-03-29 18:52 | Report Abuse

How to calculate cimb price after ex DRS?

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-29 18:58 | Report Abuse

thanks iphone4 . iphone4 if a company declare Capital repayment plan , actually is a good thing or bad thing ?

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2016-03-29 22:28 | Report Abuse

@Angielim, Capital Repayment Plan can involve a multiple proposals, there is no straight forward answer. It has to be looked at why the promoter of that company is doing it.

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-30 10:02 | Report Abuse

Thought DRS ex together with dividend. There shouldn't be anymore ex date for DRS but the listing dates of additional shares.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-31 02:19 | Report Abuse

thanks iphone4

ruby828

1,000 posts

Posted by ruby828 > 2016-03-31 19:10 | Report Abuse

Dun want to buy can?

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-04-01 10:41 | Report Abuse

ruby828, can. No need to do anything if you don't want to subscribe.

ruby828

1,000 posts

Posted by ruby828 > 2016-04-01 10:44 | Report Abuse

i see... thanxs AdCool...:)

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2016-04-02 13:43 | Report Abuse

when is last date to confirm if we want the DRS?

BN_menang

2,982 posts

Posted by BN_menang > 2016-04-04 07:26 | Report Abuse

Advisor for Tony Fernandes AA share placement.

Posted by Teo Cher Ming > 2016-04-04 22:18 | Report Abuse

This year agm so far lol last year bangsar south was good location

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-04-05 13:52 | Report Abuse

My investment bank already contacted me regarding the DRS. Fee is around RM20 for subscription. I just need to agree to the DRS and they would do the rest for me.

Klguy

29 posts

Posted by Klguy > 2016-04-07 16:54 | Report Abuse

all you need is RM10 Hasil Stamp. The DRS is giving you shares at RM4.04 so how much dividend you get will be translated into shares. Current market is 4.80 so you immediately make some money. But depends how many shares you have. If at least 100 then better to take DRS. In my opinion.

BN_menang

2,982 posts

Posted by BN_menang > 2016-04-08 15:21 | Report Abuse

PM: No missing RM42bil as claimed by Mahathir
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016/04/08/pm-no-missing-rm42bil-as-claimed-by-mahathir/

Posted by trexdotcom > 2016-04-08 21:23 | Report Abuse

lol