CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

-0.07 (0.88%)

7.84 - 8.00

21 people like this.

18,450 comment(s). Last comment by enning22 5 hours ago

timss

565 posts

Posted by timss > 2016-03-14 15:38 | Report Abuse

Ex-date 24 March..... payment date 25 April

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-14 17:46 | Report Abuse

Thanks timss

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-14 17:51 | Report Abuse

1000share get RM110 dividend but we can choose either DRS with offer price RM4.04?
Can get 110/4.04 = 27.23 share (odd lots?)?

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-14 17:52 | Report Abuse

submit form or on line for DRS option?

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-14 18:17 | Report Abuse

Last time i received bonus shares / share dividends, they did give odd lots but not in decimal. They round it up to the lower odd lots.

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-14 18:23 | Report Abuse

AdCool, 1000share get 27share odd lots?

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-15 14:29 | Report Abuse

Based on the calculation, 1000 units should receive 27 units after the DRS. Not sure though if we can opt out from this DRS.

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-15 15:04 | Report Abuse

Second interim dividend

CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

EX-date 24 Mar 2016
Entitlement date 28 Mar 2016
Entitlement time 05:00 PM
Entitlement subject Second interim dividend
Entitlement description Single Tier Second Interim Dividend of 11.00 sen per share in respect of the financial year ended 31 December 2015.
Period of interest payment to
Financial Year End 31 Dec 2015

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2016-03-15 23:52 | Report Abuse

Those who holding below 40,000 .. I suggest take the dividend...
Because you'll receive the odd lots as well...
And you can't sell online...Must call your remiser to sell for It (odd lots)

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-16 01:29 | Report Abuse

AdCool & Vin Cullen :
hi guys , actually this DRS plan is a good news or bad news, because some say no good for investors like us ?
can explain a bit ?

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-16 07:21 | Report Abuse

Vin Cullen. yes, plan to take the dividend and to sell odd lots the charges is higher if not mistaken?
But we need help from dealer/remisier or can choose option thru on line?

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-16 09:49 | Report Abuse

The last time i sold odd lots, i need to give a call to my investment bank to sell it since there s no option thru online or mobile. Besides, they sold it lower than market price and charge a higher fees. Odd lots isn't a good deal.

Alternatively is to ensure your holding can convert into 100 units of CIMB. My rough calculation would require you to hold at least 3700 units. This will translate into 3.7 x RM110 = RM407. The DRS is offering a share price of RM4.04. Hence with RM407 you would be able to reinvest and obtain 100 units.

Please correct me if i am wrong.

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-16 17:33 | Report Abuse

DRS is like using your dividends to reinvest into CIMB and the price of the counter will be adjusted after ex date. In other words, CIMB needs more money from the shareholders and based on rough calculation, CIMB will raise around RM940 million from this exercise.

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-16 18:00 | Report Abuse

AdCool. You mean share price adjust more than 11cents after ex-date?

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-16 18:18 | Report Abuse

Theoretical ex price is 4.49 based on 5 days average price of 4.60 as per the announcement.

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-16 18:23 | Report Abuse

No. Base on closing price on 23 Mar -11cents. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-16 19:09 | Report Abuse

AdCool:
like you menaing , DRS not vey good to us wor, because cimb bank need money from us , mean cimb short of cASH TO DO THING ??

vinvin

4,492 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2016-03-16 19:24 | Report Abuse

Don't talk nonsense!!! What about Maybank n all other banks.............all also asking to subscribe for DRS???

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2016-03-17 00:13 | Report Abuse

Ok Guys ~~Let say you have 100,000 lots CIMB
You will receive 100,000 x RM110 = RM11000 cash dividend OR If you DRS
You will get RM4.04 = 2,720 lots Which mean your total Of CIMB shares Is ...
102,720 lots ~~
You can sell 102,000 lots by online...and 720 odd lots...you have to call remiser to sell It for you...But the odd lots maybe matched at RM4.30 or RM4.10 depend on how many odd lots there....

Posted by traderken88 > 2016-03-17 00:32 | Report Abuse

pray hard cimb shares go up tommorrow

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-17 00:44 | Report Abuse

Not necessary short of cash to do things. Could be due to the BASEL 3 requirements on capital adequacy and market liquidity.

bryanlau

41 posts

Posted by bryanlau > 2016-03-17 07:42 | Report Abuse

Vin Cullen. For your case, odd lots should 20 not 720, minimum buy/sell is >=100

Space

Posted by Space > 2016-03-17 09:28 | Report Abuse

So do I need to subscribe anything to get this DRS

Zea XG

303 posts

Posted by Zea XG > 2016-03-17 10:14 | Report Abuse

Going up... hee hee

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 10:52 | Report Abuse

CIMB seems to have a dose of viagra? What is the positve news beside the 11sen dividend payout?

Posted by traderken88 > 2016-03-17 10:54 | Report Abuse

finally is going up after holding it for the past one week!!! hey, when to sell ar ?

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2016-03-17 10:55 | Report Abuse

yeah i still remember when the price <rm4 people are bashing this counter.. luckily bought a lot that time...

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 11:00 | Report Abuse

mamatede...you are on the run man. You hit at the right time. I was holding it on for the last 4-5 months. Went in a bit too early but was convinced it was turning around. Today is the first time I see my counter turn green :)

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 11:00 | Report Abuse

Rise baby rise!

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2016-03-17 11:04 | Report Abuse

with turnaround and improving outlook and steady dividend can keep for the long run

Zea XG

303 posts

Posted by Zea XG > 2016-03-17 11:13 | Report Abuse

lol, you sure live up to your name, traderken88. only held for one week want to sell already. I am not selling until CIMB Niaga shows improving performance. That time, CIMB will go back to RM7. Hohoho...

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 11:15 | Report Abuse

Based on the past track record and the historical ROI and growth (omitting the last year or so) this will be a good counter to hold if it addresses the issues in Indonesia and the bad loan and shows a turnaround. I believe they have managed to get the bad loan behind them and begining to show good profitable results again. One of the most diversed bank in Malaysia with a good regional foothold.

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 11:28 | Report Abuse

traderken88...you are not a day trader and seems like a week trader. can share what is your trading strategy. Presumably buy as low and sell as high? You need to access what is your short term and long term strategy.o one can really advise you when to sell nor anyoe can advise you when is the absoultute low or when is the absolute high. If we can we don't need to do a day job anymore!

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2016-03-17 13:41 | Report Abuse

hahaha, nice one gozie. furthermore im surprised this counter can attract traders.

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 16:08 | Report Abuse

skyz Maybe now can...seems very hot today...CIMB took a double dose of viagra today it seems

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2016-03-17 18:02 | Report Abuse

EPF and MUFJ keep selling CIMB. Some other foreign funds must be buying.

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2016-03-17 18:02 | Report Abuse

But why EPF keep disposed? ?
Almost 2% EPF DUMP IT!

Posted by traderken88 > 2016-03-17 18:04 | Report Abuse

I mainly buy blue chips stock like genting and cimb and etc... I believe cimb will fly high as it seems they are quite aggressive in giving out loan and their service is good compared to other bank. based on the technical analysis the stock will goes up to rm5. I have heard rumour that cimb is going to have right issue, do you guys hear it.

vinvin

4,492 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2016-03-17 18:22 | Report Abuse

I don't think so as the DRS will help them with the money!!!

gozie

137 posts

Posted by gozie > 2016-03-17 21:52 | Report Abuse

I believe EPF is doing a bit of national service to hold the stock (hence the price) when the foreign players were giving the country a miss. Now that the emerging economy is on their radar again and with the oversold ringgit, the foreign funds are starting to buy in. If they are external buyers, EPF would want to downsize their local portfolio at a profit and probably will be moving some of their fund around to overseas counters or other form of investment instead of putting all their eggs in the local market. I think they are over represented in our local bourse so good to offload and get some foreign liquidity into our local bourse.

Posted by traderken88 > 2016-03-17 22:18 | Report Abuse

hopefully cimb up up all the way :)

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2016-03-17 22:38 | Report Abuse

11 sen dividend next week. RM 5 coming? Like AirAsia EPF also disposed a lot recently yet still move up due to other FF buying.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2016-03-18 06:54 | Report Abuse

After dividend is paid, the price will slump back.

omnigunk

191 posts

Posted by omnigunk > 2016-03-18 09:53 | Report Abuse

I'm also disposing of cimb, climb too fast. I entered around RM4.

timing

726 posts

Posted by timing > 2016-03-21 11:31 | Report Abuse

coz its fly from 4.4 to 4.8. it's more than 0.11

omnigunk

191 posts

Posted by omnigunk > 2016-03-21 12:11 | Report Abuse

climbed way too fast. Time for adjustment

Posted by Lee Wen Jie > 2016-03-21 17:30 | Report Abuse

Can anyone please help me to check if CIMB coming dividend is tax exempted or not? And if it is not, how to calculate the return we might get? Many Thanks~!

AdCool

3,863 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2016-03-21 18:00 | Report Abuse

It s DRS. You won't get a single cent from it but shares units based on your total dividend reinvested.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-03-21 19:48 | Report Abuse

I suppose if u did not elect to reinvest yr div, u will be paid by cash.

BN_menang

2,982 posts

Posted by BN_menang > 2016-03-21 22:48 | Report Abuse

Can choose share(at RM 4.04) or 11 sen cash for dividend. DRS more worth.