RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

-0.08 (1.29%)

6.09 - 6.20

3,880 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 12 hours ago

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-10 08:51 | Report Abuse

There is a reality that says: There is no gain without a pain, this is for sure. But can everyone in this country bear the blunt of the painful process of transforming, and why should they?. I see this merger as a power "enlarging" process. For the 3 banks that want to merge they gain some and lose some. But for the Malaysian public, it is more pain and more risk than ever. In the short term and long term: In the long term, company wise nobody can tell, even its own impact on the Malaysia banking sector where it is going to make the smallar bank more difficult to survive (banking merger depends on current condition and situation). You merge and create a multi-big bank while the country's borrowers are already in vey big debts like 87%, where are you going to increase revenue and profitability (where the population are not growing). Of course, the merger is a "making progress" is a theory but will create pain for the Malaysia public in the short term and long term (No pain no Gain). For shareholders, there will be winners and loses. The only winner is MBSB because it is the worst stock and still could fetch RM$2.82 or what. But shareholders of CIMB and RHB are losers. The value of CIMB shares got diluted by 30% but poor rhb shareholders will see their shares devalue by 70%. In conclusion, MBSB is biggest winner, RHB is biggest losers, CIMB win some and lose some (not so bad). For the other Malaysian banks they are losers if they don't work harder than now, and the Malaysian public is losers because now they have a bigger bank they have the biggest risk on them. Everything is business for people, that is why we should do something for ourselves by not supporting this process because it is bad for us. Is it going to benefit all of us when we have a very powerful bank in the mist of others? Don't we need to care for the others also and not just ourselves only? You will learn very soon that everything is in fact a theory until everyone is happy or well taken care of . Let them hear our voices if we are not happy, because everything is a business for everyone.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-10 08:58 | Report Abuse

If you don't know how to do business, you will remain a poor person forever, who are you to blame?

AhMoi

5,802 posts

Posted by AhMoi > 2014-10-10 09:16 | Report Abuse

Say, A's market value as accorded by the market all this while is 300k, B's 100k

Now they want to merge and value themselves, themselves. .. oh.... A is worth 500k, B is worth 250k

And, they set up a new co C... ask yourself will the market value of C be suddenly 750k???? 350k more over 400k just like that...

cchin

571 posts

Posted by cchin > 2014-10-10 10:02 | Report Abuse

Hey guys, RHB values at 1.38x CIMB

if CIMB stays at RM6.80 now, then RHB will be = RM6.80x1.38=RM 9.384 (Still cheap now is RM8.95)

follow this RHB values at 1.38x CIMB

cchin

571 posts

Posted by cchin > 2014-10-10 10:04 | Report Abuse

RHB still cheap!!

Posted by DreamConqueror > 2014-10-10 20:42 | Report Abuse

Wow. Looking good. Much more upside?

steady

649 posts

Posted by steady > 2014-10-11 15:40 | Report Abuse

i think this deal will be rejected by Aabar because of they bought in at 12.00, now trade at 10.00? Must be crazy.

AhMoi

5,802 posts

Posted by AhMoi > 2014-10-12 12:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by AhMoi > Oct 10, 2014 08:30 AM | Report Abuse X

Be careful market has never accorded RHB that kind of valuation ie 10+

It is an internal valuation for the merger purpose.... ask yourself if the value/market price of the new bank can ever reach the value now given under the merger exercise? ???

Posted by AhMoi > Oct 10, 2014 09:16 AM | Report Abuse X

Say, A's market value as accorded by the market all this while is 300k,
B's 100k

Now they want to merge and value themselves, themselves. .. oh.... A is worth 500k, B is worth 250k

And, they set up a new co C... ask yourself will the market value of C be suddenly 750k???? 350k more over 400k just like that...

MBSB has gone up cause its shareholders will be receiving cash

RHB CIMB shareholders all will be receiving shares in the new bank.. will this new bank value be 750k or 400k?? Market now says it is still 400k

Remember at the time when the new CIMB is listed the furute Bursa Malaysia may have gone thru a correction, the value may not even be 400k as 400k is the value during a bull market.......

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-10-12 15:50 | Report Abuse

How high a premium will be accorded to the new entity share depends on information to be release by the mega bank as to the forecast of future profits, cost savings, new businesses, new markets and how the entity will expand. It is goodwill Ah Moi is referring to, paying a higher price for the brand. Why do you buy Prada, Dior, Channel, Gucci and not Bonia or Padini. Local brands provide you with the same function. It is the same with watches, why buy Patek Philip, Rolex, Cartier, Dunhill and not Casio which tell you the time just as accurate. Goodwill is the intangible asset of the company and there is a value attach to it. The new entity will have to be informative, give the new entity a chance to show you what they will be doing. The public is not dumb and if they are convince about the bright future this new entity will have then they will pay a premium for it.

bmwm5

261 posts

Posted by bmwm5 > 2014-10-12 22:24 | Report Abuse

Aabar bought the share at 10.8, but he asking for 12. As a investor, I believe he can see the potential after merging that the bank will become the 4th biggest bank in south east Asia and the biggest bank in m'sia.

tingalfred

127 posts

Posted by tingalfred > 2014-10-16 17:57 | Report Abuse

Why drop.

lengfan

15 posts

Posted by lengfan > 2014-10-16 22:07 | Report Abuse

I sold today afternoon ... hold 4 month, highest paper gain few thousand but today dropped over my average price RM8.50... sold at RM 8.43 , have big shareholder keeping selling 100 lots , 100 lots to pull down the price ... really fuxk up!!!! keep the cash for next round battle!!

tingalfred

127 posts

Posted by tingalfred > 2014-10-17 05:43 | Report Abuse

if soon up? how?

paulthesotong

2,769 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2014-10-21 17:53 | Report Abuse

Nazir give Aabar the damn money 12 bucks or else Bank hari hari mau also mau lol.

sudahkena

1,804 posts

Posted by sudahkena > 2014-10-21 18:41 | Report Abuse

Selling on Thursday? Aabar against ths merger?

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2014-10-21 23:23 | Report Abuse

“If Bursa does not allow EPF to vote, the chances of it (merger) failing is higher and this may result in CIMB’s stock going up as the market has perceived this deal to be negative for them. Alternatively, RHB and MBSB may see their stock price coming off,” said a senior banking analyst.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-24 16:16 | Report Abuse

With my rhb shares, I would sell out to them before the voting. I believe cimb share price drop to around RM6.28 is because this will be the price of cimb after the conversion of rhb and cimb shares to the new entity. see RM6.28*1.38=RM8.67. Even if you get the new shares of 1.38 times more, you still can not sell at a profit. They are deliberately keeping the CIMB shares low now for the sake of the merger. If you don't sell before the voting, you will be trapped!

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-24 16:24 | Report Abuse

I suspect the rhb share price will stay around this region of RM8.50 for you to stay on and vote in favor of the higher valuation of RM10 per share. Either way you vote, it is the same for rhb shareholders. You are going to get a value of RM8.50 in the short term.

paulthesotong

2,769 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2014-10-24 17:10 | Report Abuse

Now Aabar start talking give give give 11-12 bucks. lol.

Jimmy Ng

86 posts

Posted by Jimmy Ng > 2014-11-21 10:25 | Report Abuse

wow... kena whack upside down... wat hapen here?

craptree

4,356 posts

Posted by craptree > 2014-12-01 16:04 | Report Abuse

sudah lausai.......

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-02 14:16 | Report Abuse

zzzzz

craptree

4,356 posts

Posted by craptree > 2014-12-04 14:19 | Report Abuse

see lor.... no hope.... going to be RM6 soon.....

Kikster

21 posts

Posted by Kikster > 2014-12-04 15:10 | Report Abuse

Why are RHB and CIMB crashing? How much lower can it go?

Posted by superman123 > 2014-12-04 23:15 | Report Abuse

Just buy osk

tofuman

417 posts

Posted by tofuman > 2014-12-05 10:03 | Report Abuse

hi all sifu, can tell what is the merger between CIMB, RHB and MSBS story? What will happen to RHB if Bank Negara approve on this deal? catch no ball on this

http://www.todayonline.com/business/cimb-rhb-capital-and-mbsb-merger-create-msias-biggest-bank

thank you

ufoisreal

198 posts

Posted by ufoisreal > 2014-12-05 10:26 | Report Abuse

if they really merged,the Asset integration costs(資產整合成本) gonna drag down the profit by how much? especially between rhb and cimb,most of their bank location are stick together so near

rizerlee

752 posts

Posted by rizerlee > 2014-12-10 16:12 | Report Abuse

merger on 1Q15 ?

by right after merge , they will close down lot of overlap branch which 1 time cost.
previously HLB took around year to finish whole process ?

4,100 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2014-12-11 17:54 | Report Abuse

RHB , CIMB and MBSB gone case tomorrow !!

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-11 21:13 | Report Abuse

can KWSP vote for the merger?

ckwan11d

567 posts

Posted by ckwan11d > 2014-12-14 16:10 | Report Abuse

EPF Board is still not allowed to vote.

richcares

1,419 posts

Posted by richcares > 2014-12-15 16:06 | Report Abuse

whole market in red

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2014-12-16 11:46 | Report Abuse

Somethings not right...
Either merger is abort Or They make It "FEAR" and then only merger....

gnailmihk

17 posts

Posted by gnailmihk > 2014-12-16 23:02 | Report Abuse

go see their balance sheet ...take the cash divided by total asset...and go study what is Lehman's leverage when it fails...rhb and cimb need to "merge".

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-12-17 14:57 | Report Abuse

@gnailmihk can you post those figures for all to see ? thanks

SinGor

4,874 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-06 17:25 | Report Abuse

SomeOne came in and bought alot of shares at 4:30pm. EPF agents?

Posted by Leonard Seok > 2015-01-07 13:03 | Report Abuse

My friends i need some help understanding..
I have read that rhb will be the acquirer in the merger, but yet cimb shareholders will have 70% and rhb only have the remaining 30%? So does this mean that its bad for rhb shareholders as the shares are diluted??
Also if these 2 merge to form a new megabank, then will the shares of the current shareholders be transferred to a new counter?

Jimmy Ng

86 posts

Posted by Jimmy Ng > 2015-01-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

“With MBSB facing the prospect of being excluded from the merger, the EPF may not proceed with the deal, and hence, the merger could be called off,” said a source.

Good or bad news for RHB?

SinGor

4,874 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-09 13:02 | Report Abuse

Before the propose merger and now RHB got "BUY Tag" from All Securities House. Actually
merger has crushed RHB price because CIMB is actually quite broke. How can a "poke kai"
bank buy another bank--All politics

SinGor

4,874 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-09 15:18 | Report Abuse

The propose renegotiation of exchange ratio could be in favour of RHB. Over 1 million shares
traded today. For such a illiquid counter 1m shares traded is like 10m shares traded in CIMB

Jimmy Ng

86 posts

Posted by Jimmy Ng > 2015-01-09 15:59 | Report Abuse

Abar got in at $10.20... it's hard to imagine that they are willing to let it go at any price lower than that they paid...

Posted by DreamCommander > 2015-01-10 19:18 | Report Abuse

Looks like there's more upside.

SinGor

4,874 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-12 16:18 | Report Abuse

Near 3 m share traded for RHB. Cimb-- massive 14m sell down. Must be Good news for RHB.

SinGor

4,874 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-13 09:47 | Report Abuse

Don't worry zuolun. We still have Boleh Rating established in Balakong near my factory old
shack.