MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.08 (0.79%)

10.12 - 10.24

38 people like this.

23,444 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 3 hours ago

stkoay

6,490 posts

Posted by stkoay > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Occasionally, the no have will come to remind about his status.

linges

2,701 posts

Posted by linges > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Congrats to all who received dividend..done ‘DIY DRP’ @ 10.50..more to go Tiger, for bigger dividend next !!!

linges

2,701 posts

Hi @stkoay..after so long :)

does 10.xx still a good for accumulation? Appreciate your thoughts..

12,404 posts

Posted by Income > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Well said

Posted by Tedinvestor > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Those with moomoo trading account can track extra large selling contracts on both Maybank and Cimb. Having huge foreign investments not necessarily a good things.

cheeseburger

2,870 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

agreed. Very big piece of selling. It probably has to do with China market where some channel their fund to china.

Chinese investors treat stock investment as gambling. So higher it goes the harder it falls.

12,404 posts

Well said

stkoay

6,490 posts

@linges, hi good to hear from you again.

...few months ago, I switched some to CIMB...
...last few weeks, I took some profit from CIMB but found that there was hardly anywhere to park the fund for a reasonably potential good return....so I bought back MBB at 10.6+
...still got some fund left, will wait for market to stabilize to either add CIMB or MBB.

stkoay

6,490 posts

5 to 6% dividend yield is still considered quite attractive compared to bond or other low risk investment.

linges

2,701 posts

Congrates @stkoay..for the profit from sotong.
True..5-6% return with possible capital gain always great opportunity:)

skybursa

1,484 posts

Posted by skybursa > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

You get 5 to 6 % dividend but 10 % capital loss. Hurry buy

linges

2,701 posts

@skybursa..ha ha..that also possible..risks always in both ways..can balance risks with ASM, FD and EPF (self contribution)

nhbeen

197 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

@linges. You have the right point. Allocate hard earned money in diverse plus good capital protection investment products with good liquidity and reasonable return.

stkoay

6,490 posts

Thanks @linges.
Cimb is being rerated, but the rerating and price has risen too fast during the past few months.
Now, the much needed consolidation....PE n PB is still the lowest among the top 3.

stkoay

6,490 posts

For this one, PNB has been adding.......
ASM has been adding....
and EPF also has been adding lately :)

stkoay

6,490 posts

Oh....correction, I mean ASB has been adding...
ASM own less than 5%, so no reporting even if they have been adding...
....from their latest annual report you can see that their fund size increased by 5.3b over 2023...and 12.91% is invested in MBB

stkoay

6,490 posts

I diversify by having direct MBB & CIMB and indirect MBB & CIMB thru ASM ....haha :)

Posted by prudentinvestor > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

@stkoay, I thought you are a very smart investor and don't need the services of a fund manager. I had sold all my investments in unit trusts 15 years ago. Initial commission is too high and unit holders have to pay yearly management charges.

Posted by Steven Chan > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Often ppl who talk smart are empty vessels haha

stkoay

6,490 posts

@prudentinvestor, I have never ever invested in unit trust.
You are correct the up front commission and yearly charges is high.

ASM stands for Amanah Saham Malaysia.
It is a fixed price fund.
Previously, it used to give out dividend ranging 6 to 7+ %.
It dropped to 3.75% for ASM3 & 4% for ASM during covid....that was when I switched out to MBB average at at 8.00 and have been holding that till April this year, when I switched some to top up my CIMB bought during 2020 at average 3.50.

I am surprised that you mistaken ASM for unit trust....

...and of course la the no have doesn't know....

stkoay

6,490 posts

ASM is a capital guaranteed fixed price fund managed by PNB.
There is no limit of how much u can buy provided allocation for non bumi is available.
Now, it's difficult to get, only during when existing unitholders cash out.
In August this year, for a short period, both ASM & ASM3 was opened for additional subscription.

Posted by Patrick Ling > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Better put in epf whose dividend is higher than asm

stkoay

6,490 posts

Correct, EPF dividend is higher than ASM...
...but it is limited to only 100k per year...
...any if you are below 55 (or 60 i am not too sure), you cannot withdraw from your EPF.
....For ASM, you can withdraw anytime, no limit and payment is on the spot...
...dividend is calculated monthly, if u withdraw in October, dividend for the amount withdrawn will be paid till September....but it will only be credited on the year close for the fund.

stkoay

6,490 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2020-06-26 12:51 | Report Abuse

It will be good for CIMB if more investor like DeepValueInvestor buy the share.

Home work Well Done!

stkoay

6,490 posts

When buy?
Cash out or not can be traceable from comments posted in forum..
...if one is curious and have the time to trace :)

linges

2,701 posts

ASM 4-5% - high liquidity, low risk, limited fund.
EPF 5-6% - low liquidity, low risk, limit RM100k/year for self-contribution or I-Saraan (for self-employed or earning overseas)
FD 3-4% - medium liquidity, low risk, PIDM upto RM250k only.
SSPN 2-3% - medium liquidity, low risk, tax relief saving for parents.
Maybank, CIMB 6-7% - high liquidity, medium risk, unlimited units.

no right or no wrong choice, personalized your portfolio, as per your risk appetite.

As rightly said in above post, buying ASM, EPF…is indirectly way of buying Maybank. The differences are you get lesser return, bcoz both fund reduces you risk fr medium to low, provide capital protection, and fixed entry price RM1/unit. Its a fair deal for conservative investors and for parents who saving kids education fund.

Sorry for long post :)

There's no point to rush and buy at present price. Those who bought below 9 are advised to hold. PNB and epf support the price because the valuation of their assets are depreciating. But can they able to sustain if foreign funds decided to cash out? Unless malaysian government implement GST or others income to reduce the country deficit problems and cut subsidies. Funds won't park in Malaysia for long-term.

stkoay

6,490 posts

@linges very well said.
Thanks for sharing.

linges

2,701 posts

Welcome @stkoay :)

12,404 posts

Tiger is good

Posted by prudentinvestor > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Good company also have to take profit. Above RM11 I am going to slowly sell again.

Posted by Steven Chan > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Say no good u hv nothing good u hv everything that's SK mentality

Posted by UpUpRocket > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Since this counter less risk I will just hold. If in case the price suddenly go up more then sell slowly. But with this current market not likely.

12,404 posts

Tiger no up?

Posted by Bell2stock > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Dividend more than RM100,000 will be tax additional 2%.

LossAversion

1,727 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

bravo, time to tax the super rich!

LossAversion

1,727 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

bravo, time to tax the super rich, after enjoying the subsidies for so long.

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/730786

The 2% tax is nothing, Based on a return of 6.0%, nett returns after tax is 5.88% Okay what? Why panic?

My MBB is around 7.18%, if I get taxed also nett returns is 7.03%. Only thing too bad I dont have RM100K dividend from MBB so no worries

Posted by Value Investor Coo1eo > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Total dividend income of RM100K, not just from MBB alone!

superman_

240 posts

Posted by superman_ > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Double tax, not fair at all.

superman_

240 posts

Posted by superman_ > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Furthermore , is target individuals in purposed, and big fund will not get this 2% tax. Does it mean, big fund is poorer then individual?

12,404 posts

Company already paid tax for giving dividend to shareholder s。
Now another 2% dividend tax for Rm100,000。
Sslee sir will be taxed Kaw kaw because more than rm100,000。

Bursino

314 posts

Posted by Bursino > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

why the 2% tax on dividends received in excess of RM 100k, i believe it also includes dividends received from our own sdn. bhd. isn't it messy with all the additional paper work! why not increase corporate taxes? is LHDN mining data ?

12,404 posts

Messy only if you have Rm100,000 Helividen。
You need to report all different comp dividend → e-fialling like last time 15 years ago。Very hard to report.

12,404 posts

Avoid havimau and all Bursa comp Helividend。U need to report to Lhdn。
U think raky at too free to do failling and report ker。

12,404 posts

Like my Grandpasaid , got money and no money, both create problems.

Mabel

24,187 posts

Posted by Mabel > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Let see if Santa is cuming to town at the end of this year.

Yesterday, Bursa Malaysia’s FBM KLCI closed at 1,645.99 points, a 0.28% increased. Market Outlook: Bursa Malaysia is expected to rise, with the FBM KLCI index potentially surpassing 1,780 points by the end of the year.

The Malaysian ringgit is expected to strengthen against the US dollar, potentially reaching RM4.10 to RM4.20 by the end of 2024.

Meow Meow Meow

27,028 posts

Posted by speakup > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

cum? Isn't that orgasm?