MAA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAA (1198)

-0.005 (1.43%)

0.345 - 0.345

7 people like this.

3,375 comment(s). Last comment by Hippopotamuska 1 month ago

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-09 20:42 | Report Abuse

I wish I can.

domperrier

352 posts

Posted by domperrier > 2016-02-10 10:22 | Report Abuse

Defying the worldwide market slump. Good! :)

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-02-11 14:36 | Report Abuse

Indeed defying worldwide sell-off. What do you do when you have plenty of cash and you see that the market significantly undervalued your company at an absurdity price level? Buy back all you can.

They are privy to that buyout information.

Wait till you see the retail participants only you sell. The best is yet to come.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-11 16:51 | Report Abuse

Agreed with you, Markus......Best yet to come!!!!

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-12 10:20 | Report Abuse

Many sellers today.....correction or something to worry about?

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-12 10:34 | Report Abuse

Buying back again.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-12 14:26 | Report Abuse

Yep, strong support at 0.90/0.905. Picked up a some more today. Will soon test 0.945 / 0.95 again.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-15 15:24 | Report Abuse

Wow up again it now

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-15 17:21 | Report Abuse

Source: UOB Kay Hian Research - 11 Feb 2016
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/UOBKayHian/91214.jsp

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-15 17:22 | Report Abuse

Sellers are not willing to sell at lower price now, and the next quarterly result will be announcing by end Feb 2016. Buyers are now willing to pay for higher price. Something good is coming and "Good things come to those who wait"
Just a reminder that MAAG Cash Balance based on my estimation after taken into consideration of shares buyback as at dated (04/12/2015) has RM 383,500,000.00 in the company. Cash per share is RM1.312. .

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-15 20:05 | Report Abuse

The share price correction is getting shorter.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-15 21:21 | Report Abuse

Given the economic situation, I am guessing the quarterly results won't be that good. I am hoping for the announcement of the sale of their Takaful subsidiary to Zurich at a reasonably good price of a few hundred million...Hehehe

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-16 20:07 | Report Abuse

Company buyback now at 0.94 to 0.95

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-16 20:31 | Report Abuse

Management shares buyback at 0.94 to 0.95 at such a high price. Something good is coming and "Good things come to those who wait" , buy, buy, buy and going to trend higher.

JL99

21 posts

Posted by JL99 > 2016-02-17 17:32 | Report Abuse

entire volume @ 94c purchased under company buyback again today

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-17 17:37 | Report Abuse

0.94 is now the new support....Will very soon set a new 52 week high and pass RM1.00, hopefully, before end of this month.

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-17 22:19 | Report Abuse

Do you know how much MAA is worth as a company, and i just do a simple calculation and take a few items from the balance sheet as at 30-9-2015.

1. Cash after shares buyback as at todate is RM382,500,000-00 estimated figure.
2. Shares buyback - shares cancelled was 11,661,500 at RM1.30 based on NTA to add back to NTA = RM15,159,950-00.
3. Impact of the winding-up :-
(The members’ voluntary winding-up of PTMAAG will not have any material operational effects on the Company as PTMAAG had been in a business run-off mode for more than three (3) years. As at 30 September 2015, the Company’s cost of investment in PTMAAG was RM20.7 million where full impairment allowance has been made in the financial year ended 31 December 2011. Based on the consolidated unaudited financial statements for the financial period ended 30 September 2015, the Company expects to record a gain of approximately RM43 million from the deconsolidation of PTMAAG.) ---- RM 43,000,000-00.

Based on the 3 items above, the adjusted NTA is RM440,659,950 divided by 290.805,252 shares = RM1.515 per shares

Extract from i3investor.com sharing by NOBY on 15/12/2015 on - P/B valuations , Based on last annual report,

MAA Takaful minority interest = 25%
MAA Takaful minority interest book value = RM 29.4 mil
MAA Takaful controlling stake = 75%

Valuation of MAA Takaful (75% stake) on different P/B scenarios
P/B =1x , RM 0.29
P/B =1.5x, RM 0.44
P/B =2x, RM 0.59

If MAA Takaful valuation is 1X, worth RM0.29 per share, the NTA ia worth RM1.805 per share.
If MAA Takaful valuation is 2X, worth RM0.59 per share, the NTA ia worth RM2.095 per share.

I will be happy if the valuation on sale of Takaful is estimated at 1X only, the NTA is RM1.805 per share.

This counter to me is still undervalue stock....... and I am a shareholder of MAAG.
Going forward, this could be very exciting for the shareholders to see more improvement in the share price trending up and something good is coming and "Good things come to those who wait"

It is for education sharing only and i am not recommend anybody to buy, and if you choose to buy MAAG, it is solely your responsibility on your action.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-18 10:42 | Report Abuse

JamesOoi - Excellent analysis. Thank you.

JL99

21 posts

Posted by JL99 > 2016-02-18 17:36 | Report Abuse

wow the buyback continues today 230k units @ 94c

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-18 18:53 | Report Abuse

Very soon stock will break for new height.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-19 08:15 | Report Abuse

Would now be difficult to pick up below RM0.94. Supported by company buy back. Looking at the charts, there should be a triangle breakout any time now.

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-19 09:13 | Report Abuse

You are right, Balvin71, Sellers are not willing to sell at lower price now and with Shares Buyback by Management at 0.94 and 0.95 recently, MAA shares scripts are getting less and less to offer for sale, only way the share price will continue to up and up.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-19 17:22 | Report Abuse

Refer to Announcement
Subject PRACTICE NOTE 17 / GUIDANCE NOTE 3
OTHERS
Description MAA GROUP BERHAD ("MAAG" OR "THE COMPANY")

APPLICATION FOR AN EXTENSION OF TIME TO COMPLY WITH PARAGRAPH 8.04(3) AND PRACTICE NOTE 17 (PN17) OF THE MAIN MARKET LISTING REQUIREMENTS OF BURSA MALAYSIA SECURITIES BERHAD ("BURSA SECURITIES") ("MMLR")
We refer to the Company’s announcement dated 16 December 2015 (“Announcement”) in relation to the application for an extension of time to submit MAAG’s regularisation plan (“Application”).

Further to the Announcement, on behalf of the Board of Directors of MAAG (“Board”), SJ Securities Sdn Bhd wishes to announce that Bursa Securities has, vide its letter dated 18 February 2016, granted an extension of time of up to 30 June 2016 to submit a regularisation plan to the regulatory authorities (“Extension of Time”).

The Extension of Time is without prejudice to Bursa Securities' right to proceed to suspend the trading of the listed securities of MAAG and to de-list the Company in the event:

(i) MAAG fails to submit a regularisation plan to the regulatory authorities on or before 30 June 2016;

(ii) MAAG fails to obtain the approval from any of the regulatory authorities necessary for the implementation of its regularisation plan; and

(iii) MAAG fails to implement its regularisation plan within the time frame or extended time frame stipulated by any of the regulatory authorities.

Upon occurrence of any of the events set out in (i) to (iii) above, Bursa Securities shall suspend the trading of the listed securities of MAAG on the next market day after five (5) market days from the date of notification of suspension by Bursa Securities and de-list the Company, subject to the Company's right to appeal against the delisting.

In this respect, the Board of Directors of the Company wishes to inform that the Company, Solidarity Group Holding BSC (Closed) (“Solidarity”) and Zurich had jointly submitted an application to BNM on 30 November 2015 for approval of the Minister of Finance pursuant to the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 to enter into an agreement with Zurich for the Proposed Disposal by the Company and Solidarity of their respective 75% and 25% equity interest held in MAAT. The application is pending BNM’s decision. In the meantime, the Company is exploring new investment opportunities to regularise its PN 17 status.

This announcement is dated 19 February 2016.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-19 18:16 | Report Abuse

Fantastic.....confirms only need MOF rubber stamp.....should be within the next 60 days!!! Buy, buy, buy!!!

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-02-23 10:31 | Report Abuse

MAA chart shows bullish and uptrend, yet the share price goes up slowly compare to other goreng counters.
Invest in MAA shares, it is a patience game due to good news only that the share price can fly. Some time i feel like selling MAA and switch to other goreng counters that has faster returns. But I know i invest in MAA due to sale of business and assets plays. it takes time to negotiate for the sale of the business. I have to be very patience, till today i am still holding this stock for last 4 to 5 years already. My return till to date is 115% since i invested in MAA.
This final round of waiting for the approval for the sale of MAA Takaful and is not far away waiting for the sale to materialize, the shareholders shall see their investment increase in value more......

So, patience, patience, patience is the name of the game and going forward, this could be very exciting for the shareholders to see more improvement in the share price trending up and something good is coming and "Good things come to those who wait"

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-02-23 16:17 | Report Abuse

I think it is taking so long because Zurich wants to buy all (100%) of the MAA Takaful.

"....the Company, Solidarity Group Holding BSC (Closed) (“Solidarity”) and Zurich had jointly submitted an application to BNM on 30 November 2015 for approval of the Minister of Finance pursuant to the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 to enter into an agreement with Zurich for the Proposed Disposal by the Company and Solidarity of their respective 75% and 25% equity interest held in MAAT. "

A foreign insurer can buy up to 70% stake in a local insurance company in view of the liberalisation of the insurance industry although a higher limit than this will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

This is a special case.

Like said, i see no reason for MoF to deny this as it's not good to upset Negeri Sembilan royal family or Bahrain. :) Ok... I shouldn't sensationalize something that I just assume. We all have imaginations. Anyway more rationale is since BNM okay this deal, no reason for MoF to nay.

I also think if Zurich eventually buys all of MAAT, Zurich might do a reverse take over of MAA Group. They make a general offer for MAA Group shares and take control of MAA Group and inject all their insurance businesses (conventional insurance and the newly bought Takaful) into MAA Group and change name to Zurich Holdings/**Whatever** Bhd. and maintain a listing status thru backdoor. Or something like that. I just write a simplify version. Then we have 3 foreign insurance titans which is listed on Bursa - Allianz, Manulife and Zurich.

I like to imagine. :)

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-24 15:57 | Report Abuse

Another break out with volume.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-25 10:56 | Report Abuse

MAA share is the seller market and if you want the shares, you have to pay for higher price in order to accumulate. Demand is stronger than the supply. And it break out yesterday above RM0.965 and it will go higher.

UOB Kay Hian Research - 11 Feb 2016
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/UOBKayHian/91214.jsp

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-25 15:25 | Report Abuse

Agreed. 0.965 is now the new support. Believe it will cross RM1.00 in a matter of a weeks.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-25 15:46 | Report Abuse

Most likely this week .

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-25 16:04 | Report Abuse

new shareholders are collecting MAA shares due to yesterday trading with high volume and no shares buyback from the company.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-26 06:50 | Report Abuse

MAA share price movement and volatility for 2015 were as follows:-

- 01/01/15 to 31/03/15, open at RM0.585 and closed at RM0.645 with price movement uptrend added RM0.06 for the 1st quarter 2015.
- 01/04/15 to 30/06/15, open at RM0.685 and closed at RM0.77 with price movement uptrend added RM0.085 for the 2nd quarter 2015 with a total gain RM0.185 for 2 quarters.
- 01/07/15 to 30/09/15, open at RM0.77 and closed at RM0.745 with price movement downtrend loss of minus -- RM0.025 for the 3rd quarter 2015 with a total gain RM0.160 for 3 quarters.
- 01/09/15 to 31/12/15, open at RM0.75 and closed at RM0.935 with price movement uptrend added RM0.185 for the 4th quarter 2015 with a total capital gain of RM0.35 for 4 quarters.

Dividend for 2015 was 6 sens and total gain for 2015 was RM0.41 per share.

As a minority shareholder, if you invested at the beginning of 2015 at RM 0.585 per share in MAA , you would have make profit of 70% for just buy and hold for 2015.

MAA share price from 01/01/2016 until today 25/02/2016, open at RM0.94 and closed at RM0.975 with price movement uptrend added RM0.035 as at todate.

Not bad for a PN17 stock, and I believe that if the sale of MAA Takaful is materialize, the share price increasing is just a beginning …....

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-26 08:08 | Report Abuse

And if you buy today @ RM0.975, can goes to 1.22 per UOB, can make 25% in a few weeks. If goes to RM2.00 with sales of Takaful, can make 105% return in a few weeks!

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-26 09:18 | Report Abuse

My target for 2016, my calculation if MAA able to sell MAA Takaful to Zurich, I am happy that MAA can produce the same return like 2015.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-26 09:23 | Report Abuse

Looks like MAA going to break RM 1.00 today

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-02-26 09:41 | Report Abuse

wow, break RM1.00 now

domperrier

352 posts

Posted by domperrier > 2016-02-26 10:27 | Report Abuse

1.00 touched for the first time since 2011! Hooraayyyy!!! :D

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2016-02-27 01:09 | Report Abuse

MAA will test 1.05 next week

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-02-27 06:53 | Report Abuse

Jamesooi- thanks for u update. This stock is like a 'hidden goldmine' to me.

domperrier

352 posts

Posted by domperrier > 2016-02-27 09:00 | Report Abuse

When I wanted to use a margin account to buy MAA @ 48.5c in 2012, the broker said that because of "PN17", the bank assigned a value of zero to the stock!!

What a moron!

Thankfully, I persisted by using my regular account to buy @ 49c and waited patiently for the rewards to manifest. Although I sold the low priced shares already after receiving the co's first dividend since 2007, I STILL have my higher priced shares from 2011(<80c) :)

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-27 13:35 | Report Abuse

Getting more exciting as price moving up.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-29 10:24 | Report Abuse

Correction buying more,

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-02-29 14:55 | Report Abuse

Same here, picked up a bit more this morning. Quarter result should be out today, I do not expect it to be very good, given the economy. Hopefully also announce sale of Takaful to boost share price.

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2016-02-29 19:05 | Report Abuse

Lots of profits though revenue down...!!

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-29 19:13 | Report Abuse

MAA GROUP BERHAD

EX-date 11 Mar 2016
Entitlement date 15 Mar 2016
Entitlement time 05:00 PM
Entitlement subject First Interim Dividend
Entitlement description First Interim Dividend of 3 sen per share under the Single-Tier System in respect of the financial year ending 31 December 2016
Period of interest payment to
Financial Year End 31 Dec 2016
Share transfer book & register of members will be 15 Mar 2016 to 15 Mar 2016 closed from (both dates inclusive) for the purpose of determining the entitlement
Registrar or Service Provider name, address, telephone no TRACE MANAGEMENT SERVICES SDN BHD
Suite 12.03, 12th Floor,
566 Jalan Ipoh
51200Kuala Lumpur
Tel:0362528880
Fax:0362528080
Payment date 31 Mar 2016
a.Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before 4:00 pm in respect of transfers 15 Mar 2016
b.Securities deposited into the Depositor's Securities Account before 12:30 pm in respect of securities exempted from mandatory deposit
c. Securities bought on the Exchange on a cum entitlement basis according to the Rules of the Exchange.
Number of new shares/securities issued (units) (If applicable)
Entitlement indicator Currency
Currency Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)
Entitlement in Currency 0.0300
Par Value Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) 1.000

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2016-02-29 19:21 | Report Abuse

Bravo

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-02-29 19:25 | Report Abuse

The Shareholders’ Fund recorded a PBT of RM32.1 million in 4Q-2015 (4Q-2014: PBT of RM3.8 million), of
which the continuing operations recorded a PBT of RM32.2 million (4Q-2014: LBT of RM3.3 million), after
taking into account the surplus transfer of RM0.1 million (4Q-2014: deficit of RM2.1 million) from the
General Takaful fund and a surplus of RM3.7 million (4Q-2014: surplus of RM4.0 million) from the Family
Takaful fund whilst the discontinued operations recorded a LBT of RM0.1 million (4Q-2014: PBT of RM7.1
million). The higher PBT in 4Q-2015 was due mainly to a gain of RM48.3 million from deconsolidation of PT
MAAG and higher surplus transfer from takaful funds.

domperrier

352 posts

Posted by domperrier > 2016-03-01 12:27 | Report Abuse

Almost as good as FD even if one chases @ this price. But fortunately, I don't have to :D

JAMESOOI

397 posts

Posted by JAMESOOI > 2016-03-01 13:10 | Report Abuse

The sale of MAA Takaful to Zurich is very near to announcement, maybe one to two months and my guess is latest by May 2016. Anyone one to share???