MAA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAA (1198)

-0.005 (1.43%)

0.345 - 0.345

7 people like this.

3,375 comment(s). Last comment by Hippopotamuska 1 month ago

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-04-27 15:37 | Report Abuse

I am very bullish in MAAG and going forward MAAG share price is going to be volatile

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-04-27 15:38 | Report Abuse

Agreed with Markus of a stress free stock....MAA

yapts

560 posts

Posted by yapts > 2016-04-27 15:46 | Report Abuse

Not many stocks < RM1.00 in Bursa pays 6 sen dividend . MAA is one of the very few! In due time it will go back to the 1.50 level.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-04-27 18:22 | Report Abuse

OTHERS MAA Group Berhad ("MAAG" or "the Company") Proposed Disposal of 75% equity interest in MAA Takaful Berhad ("MAAT") ("Proposed Disposal")
MAA GROUP BERHAD
Type Announcement
Subject OTHERS
Description MAA Group Berhad ("MAAG" or "the Company")

Proposed Disposal of 75% equity interest in MAA Takaful Berhad ("MAAT") ("Proposed Disposal")
We refer to the announcement made by the Company on 30 November 2015 whereby the Company, Solidarity Group Holding BSC (Closed) (“Solidarity”) and Zurich Insurance Company Ltd (“Zurich”) have jointly submitted an application to BNM on 30 November 2015 for approval of the Minister of Finance pursuant to the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (“IFSA”) to enter into an agreement with Zurich for the Proposed Disposal by the Company and Solidarity of their respective 75% and 25% equity interest held in MAAT.

The Board of Directors of MAAG wishes to announce that the Minister of Finance of Malaysia had, by a letter from BNM dated 27 April 2016, approved the proposed disposal of its 75% equity interest in MAAT to Zurich under Section 101 of the IFSA.

As the Proposed Disposal is subject to the execution of a Share Purchase Agreement, further details will be announced in due course.

This announcement is dated 27 April 2016.

Posted by Bluecadilliac > 2016-04-27 22:05 | Report Abuse

James, with your expertise how much you think MAA should be tomorrow with this news.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-04-27 23:23 | Report Abuse

The news didn't say the sale price. If anyone got inside information on the Share Purchase Agreement, please share with us.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-04-28 08:59 | Report Abuse

Yesterday,there was no shares buyback by MAAG management, and with over 1,400,000 + shares traded and i think the smart investors were pick up this stock. This is good sign and i believe share price may go up by RM0.10.per share today. This stock is still undervalue.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-04-28 09:22 | Report Abuse

HOOOraaYYYYYY!!!! 1.07 !!! :) :) :)

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-04-28 11:08 | Report Abuse

I consider this small move is still good. This stock need hard cash. No leverage allowed by banks and broker firms.

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-04-28 11:09 | Report Abuse

not even rumours abt the price ?? this is malaysia. everything is "leak-able" . just no accountability.

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-04-28 11:14 | Report Abuse

http://www.reuters.com/article/zurich-ins-group-takaful-idUSL5N17V07C

"MAA Takaful held 1.2 billion ringgit ($306.7 million) worth of assets as of June 2015"

ehh??

Posted by Bluecadilliac > 2016-04-28 13:39 | Report Abuse

Thank you James , I took some profit and keeping some for the next announcements.

Posted by michael_lee > 2016-05-02 14:08 | Report Abuse

Potential special dividend after the sales of maat?

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-05-04 17:26 | Report Abuse

Waiting for tomorrow price.

PDTs

61 posts

Posted by PDTs > 2016-05-04 18:42 | Report Abuse

special dividend 35 cents cheers !!

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-04 19:03 | Report Abuse

Hoooorrayyyy!!!! Me = shareholder since 2011 :))))

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-05-04 19:39 | Report Abuse

can anyone estimate the nett value per share after the sale of 75% Takaful ? Thanks.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-05-04 20:57 | Report Abuse

NTA estimated at RM2.36 before special dividend. Looking at the proposal, page 14, NTA is 2.01 after the special dividend.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-05-04 21:03 | Report Abuse

Finally

21,625 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-05-04 21:16 | Report Abuse

Keep digging money, no use.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-04 21:35 | Report Abuse

Jealous? Hah!

Wanwan

11 posts

Posted by Wanwan > 2016-05-04 22:53 | Report Abuse

Haut ah!!

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-05-04 23:03 | Report Abuse

Congrats everyone.
I didn't foresee they sold at such high valuation (price-to-book ratio of approximately 4.49 times).
I'm beyond happy. My best bet ever.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-05-04 23:07 | Report Abuse

Congratulation! Tomorrow limit up!!!

De Zhi

29 posts

Posted by De Zhi > 2016-05-05 03:30 | Report Abuse

PN17:(

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-05-05 08:09 | Report Abuse

Wish they proposed a higher dividend from the initial RM300 million proceeds. Currently, keeping 2/3 and distributing 1/3. Would have like to see it the other way round. After all, in 3 years time, getting another RM95.75 million.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-05 09:00 | Report Abuse

Slated to open @ 1.11, but I can see a block of 30,300 shares queueing to buy @ 1.36

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-05 09:08 | Report Abuse

1.20!!!! YayyyyYYY!!!!!

superfly

519 posts

Posted by superfly > 2016-05-05 09:09 | Report Abuse

yang ni tengah henjut cukup2.

superfly

519 posts

Posted by superfly > 2016-05-05 09:10 | Report Abuse

sabar,nak push lagi ni.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-05 09:12 | Report Abuse

1.25!!! HooorrayYYYY!!!

joe79

260 posts

Posted by joe79 > 2016-05-05 09:18 | Report Abuse

aisey sudah 20%.... tak sempat join

superfly

519 posts

Posted by superfly > 2016-05-05 09:21 | Report Abuse

kasi tambah bullet..yah..yah..

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-05-05 14:38 | Report Abuse

It will trade at near its NA value after the proposal (page 14/17) NA per MAAG Share RM2.01
That already discount on all its other smaller business (mortgage lending in australia, Philippines insurance etc) which might sold at premium too and also the special dividend. It's quite obvious they are divesting their business and planning to do so for the rest.

The share price will come to its equilibrium. Just sit back, wait and relax (meantime expect more dividend too). :)

" 8.2 The Proposed Disposal will not have any effect on the earnings and EPS of the MAAG Group for the FYE 2015 as the Proposed Disposal is expected to be completed in the third quarter of 2016.
However, the Proposed Disposal is expected to increase the earnings and EPS of the MAAG
Group for the financial year ending 31 December 2016. The MAAG Group expects to realise
a non-recurring gain on disposal arising from the Proposed Disposal. Nonetheless, MAAT will
no longer contribute to the future consolidated earnings of the MAAG Group upon completion
of the Proposed Disposal.
For illustration purpose only and based on the audited financial statements of the MAAG
Group for the FYE 2015, the Proposed Disposal would result in a proforma non-recurring gain
on disposal of about RM289.5 million (after deducting the estimated expenses of RM2.5
million to be incurred for the Proposals) representing an EPS of approximately RM0.97 to the
MAAG Group.
Upon completion of the Proposed Disposal, MAAT’s PBT of approximately RM2.8 million for
the FYE 2015 will no longer be consolidated as part of the MAAG Group. However, the actual
gain on the Proposed Disposal can only be determined once the completion date is
determined, which is expected to be in the third quarter of 2016.
The Proposed Special Dividend will not have any effect on the earnings of the MAAG Group. "

The disposal of its Takaful arm already will net approx. RM0.97 per share
I think nowadays very few people bother to read.

Fenny Hun

61 posts

Posted by Fenny Hun > 2016-05-05 15:27 | Report Abuse

Markus See : meaning it's good thing?

rice4444

158 posts

Posted by rice4444 > 2016-05-05 17:32 | Report Abuse

sure will be 2.01 per share?

JL99

21 posts

Posted by JL99 > 2016-05-05 17:46 | Report Abuse

Based on the Annual Report and the Proposel Disposal, the assets with the company should amount to 350m (approx existing cash), 200m (cash from disposal after paying special dividend), 93.75m (receivables from Zurich 3 years after disposal) totaling 644m. That translates to almost RM 1.90 cash per share. I'm sure RM 2.0 per share should be no issue.

Appreciate if the experts here can validate my calculation and assumptions.

Ssy X-line

169 posts

Posted by Ssy X-line > 2016-05-05 18:39 | Report Abuse

how about tomorrow?

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-05-05 19:19 | Report Abuse

Based on the MAAG Annual Report 2015 page no. 193 Note no.48

The Cash & Cash Equivalents for Shareholders fund as at 31/12/2015 was RM 251,656,000-00.

The Cash & Cash Equivalents for General Takaful as at 31/12/2015 was RM 56,710,000-00,
and the Cash & Cash Equivalents for Family Takaful as at 31/12/2015 was RM48,879,000-00.

Total Cash & Cash Equivalents for the MAAG as at 31/12/2015 was RM357,245,000-00

the Proposel Disposal of MAAT for Cash consideration of RM 393,750,000-00 ,

The Cash & Cash Equivalents after the completion of the sales of MAAT and after payment of Special Dividend of RM0.35 per share (RM102,000,000-00), the final cash balance totalling
= Shareholders fund as at 31/12/2015 was RM 251,656,000-00 plus (RM 391,750,000-00 less
RM102,000,000-00) = RM 543,406,000-00

That translates to almost RM 1.87 cash per share.

21,625 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-05-05 20:42 | Report Abuse

Forget it, after repayment no More biz! Die

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-05-06 07:53 | Report Abuse

The way I look at it, it is a buy. There is potential for this stock to go above RM2.00 before the ex date for the special dividend.

Even after no biz, the company is cash rich and we will continue to give dividend of RM0.06 per year. The major share holders would want that. This will generate dividends yields better than leaving the cash in the bank.

After no biz, there is potential of a reverse take over or a back-door listing. Just before this happens, they will announce another special dividend or Statutory Reduction to clear their cash. Than after the back-door listing, we still have shares in the new company.

There is value here.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-05-06 08:28 | Report Abuse

I hang on to my shares because this company has become a pure cash play to me...the way I see it, the majority shareholders want to just slowly collect the cas$h sitting on the company's balance sheet.

Markus See

103 posts

Posted by Markus See > 2016-05-06 12:45 | Report Abuse

This is a good arbitrage opportunity.

I'm still not selling even at this price that secure me abt 90% profit. I'm willing to wait till MAA at its breakup value of near RM2 per share.

I don't know what the board will do after this. Who knows Tunku Yaacob might do MGO. I guess there will be more capital repayments and dividends.

They may kinda follow ECM Libra Group's path SLIGHTLY which was also in PN17 after selling their core business. ECM sold their investment bank to Kenanga and have since made capital repayment via combination of cancellation of shares, special dividend and other structuring. MAA one will not be as complicated since Zurich is paying all in cash. I'm using ECM as comparison only because it was also financial holdings company.

I like company with 'too much' cash. I did the same to Abric Bhd. The arbitrage on Abric Bhd with its cash have been positive and winning formula.

Just be patient. What else do you want to invest in nowadays? Please share what other stocks have limited downside risk and potential higher upside reward?

Oh yes, don't forget our "beloved" leader's mantra : Cash is King

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-05-06 14:27 | Report Abuse

Agreed.....Cash is King

Sy Woon

169 posts

Posted by Sy Woon > 2016-05-06 14:44 | Report Abuse

Lol ..keep drop!in vip room already...fk!

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-05-06 15:14 | Report Abuse

I think drop (or correction) because some people decide to take profit (maybe bought below RM1.00) without understanding / reading the proposal. Not to worry, soon be up again. Patience.

Sy Woon

169 posts

Posted by Sy Woon > 2016-05-06 16:08 | Report Abuse

same b4 puncak buy in thn in vip room...

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-05-06 16:38 | Report Abuse

Trade with the trend and MAAG is 4 years up trend. Never sell a stock because it seems high priced. I am Trend following and let the profits run until trend end.