ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ABMB (2488)

-0.03 (0.68%)

4.37 - 4.43

6 people like this.

1,825 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 3 days ago

richcares

1,419 posts

Posted by richcares > 2017-07-24 16:12 | Report Abuse

very quiet now. M & A on or not?

firehawk

4,782 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2017-09-05 15:39 | Report Abuse

Finally, capital reduction and repayment materialized BUT .....

richcares

1,419 posts

Posted by richcares > 2017-09-06 09:25 | Report Abuse

Capital reduction & department????

richcares

1,419 posts

Posted by richcares > 2017-09-07 19:49 | Report Abuse

What is going on

Posted by viking94 > 2017-10-26 14:16 | Report Abuse

Any news?

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2017-11-07 21:48 | Report Abuse

Accumulating mode.. undervalue bank..

Posted by upupup4567 > 2018-01-15 21:15 | Report Abuse

up,up,up

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2018-02-12 21:54 |

Justice

10 posts

Posted by Justice > 2018-03-18 19:17 | Report Abuse

The blog that you are about to view may contain content only suitable for adults. In general, Google does not review nor do we endorse the content of this or any blog. For more information about our content policies, please visit the Blogger

Posted by ribort_kok > 2018-03-22 19:52 | Report Abuse

Tp rm5?....good 2...

BlackWhite

1,053 posts

Posted by BlackWhite > 2018-04-24 09:57 | Report Abuse

Hong Leong don't offer attractive price.

BlackWhite

1,053 posts

Posted by BlackWhite > 2018-04-24 13:02 | Report Abuse

This Stock price falling

Alex Chong

712 posts

Posted by Alex Chong > 2018-05-14 15:29 | Report Abuse

Alliance Bank (M) Bhd

One of the smallest banking groups by asset size in the country, Alliance has in the past been linked to former finance minister Tun Daim Zainuddin through privately held Langkah Bahagia Sdn Bhd.

Langkah Bahagia is the single largest shareholder in the bank’s predecessor Alliance Financial Group

image: https://cdn.thestar.com.my/Themes/img/chart.png
with an effective stake of 15.04%.

In April 2016, three individuals, namely, corporate adviser Seow Lun Hoo, Singapore property tycoon Ong Beng Seng and Ong Tiong Sin, who owns Singapore-based private equity firm RRJ Capital, bought into Langkah Bahagia from Lutfiah Ismail, who was an associate of Daim.

Langkah Bahagia owns 51% of Vertical Theme Sdn Bhd, which, in turn, holds 29.06% of Alliance.

The remaining 49% in Vertical Theme is controlled by Singapore’s investment arm, Temasek Holdings.

Daim is known to have good ties with Temasek Holdings, which could explain the background of the three buyers of the 15.04% block disposed by Lutfiah.

These shareholding changes suggest that Alliance Bank could be poised for an M&A down the road.

At last look, its stock traded at RM4.12 for a market capitalisation of RM6.37bil.

Its price-to-book is at 0.66 times, while return on equity is at 10.5%.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/05/12/stocks-on-the-radar/#8Tt9MgFeHUqTsx6F.99

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2018-05-21 11:19 | Report Abuse

Gogogo RM 5.

Value888

623 posts

Posted by Value888 > 2018-05-25 11:48 | Report Abuse

epf bought in

Posted by supersteph > 2018-05-30 19:01 | Report Abuse

Now that we have a new government..

allenroy

190 posts

Posted by allenroy > 2018-07-19 10:41 | Report Abuse

looking good to pick up

Posted by catch2422 > 2018-07-26 12:05 | Report Abuse

good

Posted by upupup4567 > 2018-07-30 23:38 | Report Abuse

lai,lai,lai,up,up,up.....

Hidup_Anwar

1,010 posts

Posted by Hidup_Anwar > 2018-08-15 09:04 | Report Abuse

No wonder Daim scare Anwar become PM. Closing Alliance Bank is 1 of Anwar target?

Posted by British_better > 2018-08-31 08:46 | Report Abuse

Buy.

Posted by Superman66 > 2018-10-04 19:03 | Report Abuse

Yes must have confident.

Posted by AnwarBestFM > 2018-10-11 15:21 | Report Abuse

Close banks if Anwar PM? Daim don't get angry haha.

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2018-12-17 17:49 | Report Abuse

吉隆坡17日讯)欧洲和中国公布的最新经济数据令外界愈加担心,2018年底的疲软增长势头将会转化为明年的更大幅度滑坡,因为多年来的全球经济扩张趋势走到尽头,贸易紧张局势形成冲击,同时消费者也在控制支出

myrKing

55 posts

Posted by myrKing > 2019-01-22 16:54 | Report Abuse

alliance safe to hold long term?

Ningen

53 posts

Posted by Ningen > 2019-02-04 13:43 | Report Abuse

buy buy buy , go holland

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-04 15:16 | Report Abuse

small trick, scared like hell,hopeless investor.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-05 10:31 | Report Abuse

Malaysia’s M3 and loan to grow at a healthy pace of 5.5% and 5.2% in 2019, says RHB Research

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 4): RHB Research Institute Sdn Bhd expects Malaysia’s M3 and loan to grow at a healthy pace of 5.5% and 5.2% in 2019, from 8% and 5.6% respectively for 2018. This should keep demandpull price pressure contained.

In a note today, the research house said it expects headline inflation to be within a range of 1.5-2.5% in 2019, from 1% for 2018, due to the increased volatility of oil prices in recent months.

“Malaysia’s M3 growth ended 2018 at the fastest pace in five years, supported by higher demand for funds from the public sector and foreign operations.

“Separately, loan growth lost some steam and retraced in end-2018 on lower corporate loan demand. Deposit growth, in contrast, picked up further,” it said.

RHB Research maintained its view for the central bank to keep the overnight policy rate (OPR) unchanged at 3.25% for 2019.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-07 15:03 | Report Abuse

Tumasek bank is not play play one,has some strong muscle.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-08 14:21 | Report Abuse

one of these days, hopefully we see a new HongLeong Bank in the process of making.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-08 21:19 | Report Abuse

Termasek fund 100 times stronger then Hongleong Bank group lah, HLB is no match, it a matter they want to do it or not.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-09 11:19 | Report Abuse

the forth coming corporate result earning of ABMB at the end of this month ,if the profit can reach 150 millions , everything will be fine.

LionSing

62 posts

Posted by LionSing > 2019-02-19 15:39 | Report Abuse

so buy or not buy??

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-20 23:33 | Report Abuse

malaysian economy is finally has turn around for the better, banks for certain will reasonably be benefitted in the future, property sector is recovering ,businesses could fare better,many stocks will regain more ground . well ,finally the worst is over, best of luck,my friends.The question is , which are the stocks could rise faster, right?.For investment , sure buy.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-21 11:54 | Report Abuse

for reference , Public bank announce will pay out 69 sen as dividend, not bad right, this proved the banking sector in our economy ,still is performing enormously healthy and well.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 00:09 | Report Abuse

only dumbos will invest in this counter. Every bank is posting good growth, this organization stagnant or marginal growth. High employee turnover, senior and mid level managers all busy meeting everyday, busy scandling with their own subordinate/colleagues and playing politics. Employees also demoralized, everyday ular and point fingers and politicking. Back office and middle office staff gets higher bonuses than front office staffs.

Just pay a visit to their branches. Forever empty. 5 counters open, 2 customer waiting also need to take 15 mins for your turn. No innovative products, only rely on SMEs and retail customers. Only rely on charging high margins to their customers. Such business can be easily taken away by other banks, should other banks just approach their customer with slightly lower margin. Especially when other banks provide better facilities, convenience, and better service.

Undervalued bank? Go visit their branches, talk to their employees, gauge their passion about their work. Go check glassdoor reviews.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 00:14 | Report Abuse

and please ah...dont tell me how potential take-over yea. This take-over story has been on-going for the past 10 years. NOBODY WANTS TO BUY THIS BANK. Their business model is decades behind. Only doing lending business to SME and Consumer. Not to say their pricing competitive also. Moreover always struggling to think of ways to make their Loan-deposit ratio look nicer.

Any bank can just whallop their business up. This is the only bank where i heard where "favoured employees" get higher bonuses/promotion by reducing their budget year-after year. Growth Bank? good luck

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 00:20 | Report Abuse

Temasek want to buy? Temasek also gave up la, previous CEO sng seow wah who was from fullterton, temasek's financial arm also left. You guys really think Temasek will buy? This bank is CHEAP FOR A REASON

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-28 13:03 | Report Abuse

Breakthrough in Alliance Financial Group, new shareholders resolve issue
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/04/13/breakthrough-in-afg/#mLcTwX8oe1svMVrG.99' target='_blank'>https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/04/13/breakthrough-in-afg/#mLcTwX8oe1svMVrG.99

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/04/13/breakthrough-in-afg/

Langkah Bahagia’/ Vertical Theme ,now put under one nominees name

Posted by Angel of KLSE 大马股仙 > 2019-02-28 16:10 | Report Abuse

Result good why price no up?

mancingbursa

4,268 posts

Posted by mancingbursa > 2019-02-28 16:39 | Report Abuse

More than 20% earning! Congratulations

Posted by Angel of KLSE 大马股仙 > 2019-02-28 17:18 | Report Abuse

Fall like shit flushed into toilet hole. Sky no eye!

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2019-02-28 17:28 | Report Abuse

Higher Q3 net profit for Alliance Bank
CORPORATE NEWS
Thursday, 28 Feb 2019

3:04 PM MYT
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/01/22/23/52/alliance-bank-oct16.ashx/?w=620&h=413&crop=1&hash=434F1F7713334B2FE74E5FB20E92D286A5060B12

KUALA LUMPUR: Alliance Bank Bhd's net profit rose by 21.5% to RM148.93mil in the third quarter ended Dec 31, 2018, boosted by higher net interest margin and operating income.

It announced on Thursday the net profit had increased from RM122.55mil a year ago. Its revenue increased by 7.8% to RM418.40mil from RM388mil a year ago. Earnings per share were 9.6 sen compared with eight sen.

Alliance Bank's net income grew by 7.8% or RM30.4mil mainly from net interest income while its net interest margin rose by 18 basis points to 256bps.

Its other operating income was RM76.2mil. Its operating expense was better off by 8.6% or RM18.5mil while cost to income ratio improved by 8.5% to 47.0%. Expected credit loss was RM32.6mil.

广告

The banking group also performed better when compared with the second quarter. Its net profit of RM148.93mil in Q3 was up by 6% or RM8.4mil.

In the nine months, its net profit increased by 11.9% to RM425.82mil from RM380.35mil in the previous corresponding period. Its revenue rose by 4.2% to RM1.22bil from RM1.17bil.

On the outlook, Alliance Bank said it would leverage on its franchise strength to deliver sustainable profitability and to fulfill the financial needs of its customers.

“In FY19, we will continue to scale up for growth in our core businesses i.e. consumer lending and SME Banking.

“For these businesses, we will drive productivity and increase our sales capacity to accelerate loan growth, aiming to outpace industry growth. We will also enhance our leads generation and sales management through better customer and market analytics.

“In addition, Alliance@Work (our bank-at-work programme) will continue to be an important acquisition channel to garner consumer CASA and business CASA (via company payroll and online cash management),” it said.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/02/28/higher-q3-net-profit-for-alliance-bank/#COAPo6D4P1iXOtuX.99

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 17:52 | Report Abuse

not sky no eye, you no eye.

Posted by corporatefinancier > 2019-02-28 19:44 | Report Abuse

@TA_trader, just wonder if are u a disgruntled employee or ex-employee of ABMB. Be honest pls.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 20:43 | Report Abuse

@corporatefinancier please la, if you are a truly well-informed investor, you will meet all kinds of professionals from the financial industry, this includes bankers. Since your nick is corporatefinancier, i assume you are in the industry, if not, have frequent dealings with people within this industry. More so, you should know that the industry is damn small. It is not surprising you get first hand news from disgruntled employees. Like i said, just visit the branch.

MBB, RHB, CIMB all posts phenomenal growth. Dont forget these banks have high revenue/net profit base, in order to have such a percentage growth, it is even tougher if compared to having a low revenue base. Yet you all ask, why P/E so low, when the Earnings cant even grow?!

2018 net profit = 493,228 (-3.69% yoy)
2017 net profit = 512,123 (-1.90% yoy)
2016 net profit = 522,038 (-1.65% yoy)
2015 net profit = 530,780 (-5.81% yoy)

ARE YOU BLIND? look at past 4 years net profit. NEGATIVE GROWTH WEIHH. Numbers dont lie.

Fyi, ive profited from this counter back in 2012 on "take-over news". Hence i said this news have been around for more than a decade!

@corporatefinancier be honest to please. Are you disgruntled investor stuck in this counter with a high price?

Oh well since you are so blinded and bitter, i wont bother to share more. Good luck! meanwhile i go enjoy my other counter limit up =)

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-02-28 20:55 | Report Abuse

OMG @ corporatefinancier

"Good day everyone, we are pleased to introduce Finmarket Asia. We are a financial and investment training provider. Currently we are offering a 1-day class on investing in Kuala Lumpur. Please visit finmarketasia.net to find out more.

p.s. We would like to advise visitors to this website and the internet to be wary of scammers and fraudsters, especially investment related propositions. We have been working with the Malaysian Police Force on and off to create awareness on scams among the general public with the rise of technology and social media. "

ARE YOU FREAKING SERIOUS? and here you are accusing me of being a disgruntled employee when you cant even analyze basic net profit growth!? Maybe i should be the one reporting to police about you being a scammer.