GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

-0.02 (0.45%)

4.32 - 4.40

45 people like this.

84,307 comment(s). Last comment by MoneyMakers 47 minutes ago

trum

7,631 posts

Posted by trum > 2021-08-27 23:07 | Report Abuse

赚钱不容易。有些人说在股市中赚钱很容易。

Posted by valueinvestor15 > 2021-08-27 23:16 | Report Abuse

Interesting to note is that from their opening to end of June 2021, in 6 days, their revenue is about 15.9mil usd or RM 61mil or RM 10mil per day. If extrapolated to a year, that is about RM 3.7bil. With EBITDA of around 26%, this can easily contribute RM 1bil profit to the company annually during Covid-19 period.

Posted by valueinvestor15 > 2021-08-27 23:17 | Report Abuse

It is for their resort world las vegas.

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 00:01 | Report Abuse

Opening could be over hyped, ppl were queuing to get inside on first day, and the restaurants ran out of food even
Can't expect business to be like opening week for the whole year right
Don't be overconfident

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 00:02 | Report Abuse

Oh shareinvestor88, impressive results you would agree? Why why tell me why

BILLC

2,042 posts

Posted by BILLC > 2021-08-28 00:27 | Report Abuse

Wow! Impressive results,,,,dividend mana??

Berapa dividend ini kali?? Hahaha,,,,

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-08-28 07:37 | Report Abuse

Big pullback next week? I don't think so. Let see.

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 07:46 | Report Abuse

Am so excited for next week!

Look at the high quality food reviews & huge crowds at RWLV’s Ayu Dayclub…. wish I could be there.

To share with my Genting Comrades & educated people Only (fruit flies are blind, cannot see…Hahaha),

https://youtu.be/xp1l6X2ZvmM

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 07:50 | Report Abuse

More new restaurants, attractions opening & pending opening of new performing theater, Zouk niteclub, spa etc at RWLV…. Good signs so far…

trum

7,631 posts

Posted by trum > 2021-08-28 08:31 | Report Abuse

购买好的股票。一家好公司的股票会在一定时期内提高其价格。

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 08:32 | Report Abuse

3.10am Fruit fly cannot sleep…. don’t worry about gloves la…

virust

552 posts

Posted by virust > 2021-08-28 08:46 | Report Abuse

Yokohama IR biding is ON regardless who is the mayor. GenT just wait for the biding result

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 09:27 | Report Abuse

Am not hopeful though. Let’s see…

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 10:13 | Report Abuse

@Peaches, just because I'm being cautious of RWLV doesn't mean I will buy your story
If you share your source and provided it is a reliable source, maybe I can consider that true
Don't drag me into your personal fiasco yah

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 10:14 | Report Abuse

@Shareinvestor88, very good indeed! We finally see eye to eye! But impressive because of what?
Why why tell me why

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-28 10:16 | Report Abuse

Great great impressive improvement...

EBITDA = 958.9 mil (QoQ +77%)

wkwkwk...kekeke...hehehe...

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 10:18 | Report Abuse

Hahahahaha

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 10:25 | Report Abuse

Hi @Keyman188, Can you imagine the EBITDA when Genting MY can fully re-open again ie when interstate opens up fpr fully vaccinated people?

To the moon!!!

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-28 10:42 | Report Abuse

Market unexpected result...

Great great impressive...Great great improvement...

EBITDA = 958.9 mil (QoQ +77%) ; (YoY +1437%)......

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2021-08-28 11:35 | Report Abuse

CEO pls think out of box. Results like this, it seems like you eat n sleep. Shareholders are investing into your company to hope that you really can do something new to help n grow up genting. I invested 10 years in genting, now I curious that this company is good to hold on . Really disappointed with the CEO which do nothing to improve.

loneranger

319 posts

Posted by loneranger > 2021-08-28 11:52 | Report Abuse

Because you always think eat coconut can win... which is not true. Haha.

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-28 12:57 | Report Abuse

Cash is king...and EBITDA is a more representative measure for Casinos, as you can see from the research houses

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-28 12:59 | Report Abuse

Amboi...market always willing to buy willing to sell...

Respective management never force you to buy their co. share...

Adui...lagi nak berani cakap sudah invest 10 years...masih tak faham "The Rule of Share Market"...

Keyman188 though you just joined this market yesterday...

stkoay

6,237 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2021-08-28 13:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by newbie2019 > Aug 27, 2021 9:48 PM | Report Abuse

@stkoay… been MBB members since 20 years ago (I mean I have Maybank acc lol)….. but only bought MBB stocks 2 years back

So newbie should be at least in the thirties....not too new anymore ya.....haha :p

MBB is now my biggest and long term hold....a "NO SELL" stock :)

stkoay

6,237 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2021-08-28 13:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sharefisher > Aug 28, 2021 7:37 AM | Report Abuse

Big pullback next week? I don't think so. Let see.

I quite agree
From my observation, I think the trading is being controlled by some big players, quite well supported....but it also didn't managed to attract much retail buying during the current market run up.

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-28 13:16 | Report Abuse

*EBITDA positive, Cashflow positive

Remember there is a company who had shown increasing accounting profits but had increasingly negative cashflows...and to hire an independent external reviewer to verify the accuracy and veracity of the matters highlighted by the company's former external auditors...

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 13:48 | Report Abuse

Recovery stocks means going back to Pre-covid prices…. provided such listed companies could survive & becomes more competitive.

Gloves seemed heading to Pre-covid prices also…..only those evil glove losers hoping more deaths & no effective vaccines & more mutations.

Top local banks are generally ‘safe’ investments but risky to buy if prices already recovered close to pre-covid levels, in my view. FDs sometimes are safer for cash preservation.

For me, I can only depend on luck & hard work to earn more money. Share investments are for extra pocket money… cos buying shares are similar to betting. No one knows for sure how prices gonna move every minute, every day!! Risky

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-28 17:12 | Report Abuse

RM3.50 impossible, US$ 3.50 likely

BILLC

2,042 posts

Posted by BILLC > 2021-08-28 17:34 | Report Abuse

Wow! Usd 3.50,,,,,dividend berapa ??

trum

7,631 posts

Posted by trum > 2021-08-28 17:57 | Report Abuse

Just invest here. Keep it until interstate travel is allowed.
Don’t argue every day. Serve no purpose. Genting doesn’t need you to buy if you’re very worried and can’t sleep well.

trum

7,631 posts

Posted by trum > 2021-08-28 18:00 | Report Abuse

See, I don’t come here every day to complain about Genting.
Stay calm and you will be rewarded abundantly.

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 18:03 | Report Abuse

BILLC is syndicate member of Shareinvestor88
They'd use any negativity and enlarge it 100x.
But I very welcome them here!

Agjl

5,710 posts

trum

7,631 posts

Posted by trum > 2021-08-28 18:10 | Report Abuse

@ DestinyL, both of them can’t make Genting gives big discount for us to add on. Their performance in that regard, is very poor indeed.

BILLC and Shareinvestor88, please Work Harder to make Genting gives big discount for us to add on.

Posted by DestinyL > Aug 28, 2021 6:03 PM | Report Abuse

BILLC is syndicate member of Shareinvestor88
They'd use any negativity and enlarge it 100x.
But I very welcome them here!

choysun

4,326 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-08-28 20:08 | Report Abuse

@Agjl Thanks for sharing. Good to know they are preparing to open. :)

newbie2019

1,770 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2021-08-28 20:37 | Report Abuse

preparing to open…. Mon up lo

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-28 21:07 | Report Abuse

Noted trum
But I'd rather have them trying than not trying lol

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-28 21:12 | Report Abuse

Genting's USD $4.3 billion RWLV (or RM18.1bil at exchange rate of US$1=RM4.19) which opened only on 24 June 2021 was already EBITDA positive

Extract from 2Q21 report page 19: -
"Revenue and adjusted EBITDA over the first six days of operations which amounted to approximately USD14.9 million (equivalent to approximately RM61.1 million) and USD3.9 million (equivalent to approximately RM15.5 million)..."

Markets are generally expecting RWLV to be lacklustre, with RHB expecting RWLV to only be EBITDA positive in FY2022, while Nomura only projects EBITDA of US$ 82 mil in FY2022 while being silent with regards to FY2021
Source: https://themalaysianreserve.com/2021/04/22/gentings-las-vegas-venture-to-be-profitable-from-fy24/

As we can see above, after only 6 days (24 June - 30 June) of opening, RWLV has already delivered EBITDA of USD3.9 mil.

Market rerating to come with Genting Highlands' reopening being the catalyst, now that political stability has been achieved

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-28 21:31 | Report Abuse

In addition, US-based listed gaming co's are flying (fully US - Caesars, Boyd; majority US - MGM)

As at close of 27 August (Friday):
Caesars Entertainment Inc (NASDAQ: CZR)
104.24 USD 4.25 (4.25%) today

Boyd Gaming Corporation (NYSE: BYD)
63.24 USD 2.27 (3.72%) today

MGM Resorts International (NYSE: MGM)
43.32 USD 1.34 (3.19%) today

Note: Genting owns 100% of the USD 4.3 billion RWLV (or a whopping RM18.1 billion, which is larger than the market cap of GenM). The market will soon realise that while the share price of US-based have surpassed pre-pandemic levels and close to record highs, Genting (3182) has lagged, and foreign/domestic funds will realise that it provides the cheapest entry for exposure to the Las Vegas gaming revival

See also: https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/emsvsi/2021-06-22-story-h1566967034-BREAKING_The_share_price_of_US_based_gaming_companies_are_at_record_hig.jsp

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-28 21:33 | Report Abuse

Just watch the latest videos of Ayu Dayclub in Instagram

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-29 00:49 | Report Abuse

If based on 6 day EBITDA of 3.9m, thats roughly 19.5m per month

Nomura's 82m FY22 might be a little too conservative, that's almost another half off my estimate of 30% discounted average EBITDA of 13.65m per month or 163m per year.
If based on 50% off the peak, would still be 117m EBITDA per year

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-08-29 00:53 | Report Abuse

That said, many facilities are still yet to open
Celine Dion performance is not within the first 6 days, same goes to the night clubs, convention etc

Posted by Sunflower01 > 2021-08-29 08:22 | Report Abuse

good morning highlands

Posted by Sunflower01 > 2021-08-29 08:22 | Report Abuse

anyone know when genting open

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-08-29 09:25 | Report Abuse

Genting will open sept

Shines

2,772 posts

Posted by Shines > 2021-08-29 09:48 | Report Abuse

Is reporting losses impressive, GIL report a lower profit share prices also down inspite of looking forward of Singapore opening up their borders sooner than Msia.

choysun

4,326 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-08-29 12:26 | Report Abuse

August month is typically quiet in Las Vegas. But RWLV casino floor still has a good crowd. Not bad la :)
https://youtu.be/9eTpFfjlbqM

choysun

4,326 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-08-29 12:28 | Report Abuse

Can't wait until all the shops open and concerts starts. More activity at the convention center next door would bring the crowd in as well.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-29 13:14 | Report Abuse

For Genting Group as conglomerate business, we shall consider to use this metric, EV/EBITDA

The EV/EBITDA ratio is calculated by dividing EV by EBITDA to achieve an earnings multiple that is more comprehensive than the P/E ratio.

What is EV/EBITDA?

EV/EBITDA is a ratio that compares a company’s Enterprise Value (EV) to its Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation & Amortization (EBITDA). The EV/EBITDA ratio is commonly used as a valuation metric to compare the relative value of different businesses.

What is the EV/EBITDA multiple used for?

The ratio of EV/EBITDA is used to compare the entire value of a business with the amount of EBITDA it earns on an annual basis. This ratio tells investors how many times EBITDA they have to pay, were they to acquire the entire business.

What is EV?

EV stands for Enterprise Value and is the numerator in the EV/EBITDA ratio. A firm’s EV is equal to its equity value (or market capitalization) plus its debt (or financial commitments) less any cash (debt less cash is referred to as net debt).

What is EBITDA?

EBITDA stands for Earnings Before Interest Taxes Depreciation and Amortization.

To Determine the Enterprise Value and EBITDA:

Enterprise Value = (market capitalization + value of debt + minority interest + preferred shares) – (cash and cash equivalents)

EBITDA = Earnings Before Tax + Interest + Depreciation + Amortization.