GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

+0.04 (0.89%)

4.50 - 4.55

40 people like this.

80,999 comment(s). Last comment by neohts 1 minute ago

Posted by ClaraChan94 > 2023-03-23 14:29 | Report Abuse

One of the best recovery stocks, but taken over by AAX which shot up from 60 cents to RM1.60...

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 14:38 | Report Abuse

Buy...GenB to follow suit

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 15:03 | Report Abuse

@MoneyMakers
"@Prudentinv MY got many failed bank in 1997 crisis - merged under MBB/PBB/CIMB"
There was no bank failure per se in Malaysia during the 1997 financial crisis. After the crisis, Bank Negara directed big banks like MBB to take over/merge with smaller banks so that the merged banks were stronger and more efficient and hence more competitive.
"Coming bank crisis - gov takeover everything like in US/Switz (shareholder 100% loss)"
I won't say it would never happen but is highly unlikely. Do you think the government would allow ASB to lose all its money? You are highly imaginative.

MoneyMakers

7,482 posts

Posted by MoneyMakers > 2023-03-23 17:00 | Report Abuse

Aiyoyo bank negara force merger means bank fail lo

Dont compare urself to ASB - they easily survive even if bank stock collapse

Now riskiest time to own banks (high interest rate destroy banks balance sheet) - anytime can total 100% loss no warning

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 17:46 | Report Abuse

@MoneyMakers
"Aiyoyo bank negara force merger means bank fail lo"
No bank had failed. It is your warped opinion. Name me one bank in which the shareholders lost all their investments. In fact smaller bank shareholders had been offered prices higher than their banks' net book values.
With political uncertainty and PN gaining support, the riskiest time is to own a casino counter. Banks are very, very unlikely to fail in this country but casinos/gaming outlets can be closed anytime.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 18:00 | Report Abuse

I bought Maybank at around RM8.50 a share and Genting at RM5.15 just over 3 years ago. To date, Maybank has already paid me RM1.77 a share in dividends and another 30 sen would be paid tomorrow. I disposed of Genting over a year ago for a small loss and switched to Maybank. I don't know how much Genting has rewarded its shareholders but it should be less than 25% of what Maybank pays its shareholders. It should be very obvious to everyone which counter is a better investment.

James_Bond

2,460 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-23 18:15 | Report Abuse

Congratulations comrades! Hv faith in Genting Berhad and you will be rewarded greatly! Mark my words! Cheers!

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 20:55 | Report Abuse

@MoneyMakers
"Gdluck lo hodl banks"
I don't invest in Maybank and then pray that luck would be with me. I have 100% faith in my investment. You should pray that PN doesn't win the next GE, meaning your investment is risky. Don't worry about bank failures in Malaysia, let alone Maybank failure. It is a figment of your imagination. Instead worry about Genting, worry when it can earn over 70 sen a share and pays 60 sen a share in dividend yearly.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 22:04 | Report Abuse

@MoneyMakers
"wont save u when bank crisis hit (high interest rate = bad 4 banks)"
Banks are benefiting from higher interest rates. DBS Bank has seen its profits surge from higher interest rates. Wonder where you studied economics.
"Wait & see lo if bank collapse this yr - very high risk"
Don't worry about bank collapse. Genting has a much, much higher chance of collapsing.
https://www.reuters.com/business/finance/singapore-bank-dbs-q4-profit-soars-68-flags-robust-outlook-2023-02-12/

MoneyMakers

7,482 posts

Posted by MoneyMakers > 2023-03-23 22:45 | Report Abuse

@Prudentinv Got old saying - ‘high interest rate good 4 banks until they’re not’

Go learn higher level economics & will understand how high interest rates destroy/collapse bank

James_Bond

2,460 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-24 07:33 | Report Abuse

Real facts as below:-

1. Genting Berhad is a net cash company with cash/ total current liability of 2.70! 

2. No Prosperity tax will impose to Genting Berhad because for the past few years Genting Berhad in huge loss. 

3. Tourism is the best way to move forward now to increase Gov revenue without spending a single coin from government.

4. Genting Berhad has lucky 7 turbocharged engines. 

Turbocharged Engine 1: Genting Singapore, transforming to RW 2.0, one of the world best resorts for tourists. Recent QR showed that revenue and profit improved tremendously! 

Turbocharged Engine 2: Genting Malaysia, holding the monopoly casino business in Malaysia. With the opening of the new Sky-world theme park + higher rental fees + higher hotel rate per night, definitely will generate more profits to Genting. 

Turbocharged engine 3: High palm oil price, depreciating ringgit, will bringing more profits to Genting Plantation and Genting Berhad. 

Turbocharged Engine 4: High turnover of visitors to Genting premium outlets with higher parking rate and rental fees will bring higher profits to Genting Plantation/ Genting Berhad. 

Turbocharged Engine 5: High oil and gas price will bring more profits to Genting berhad! 

Turbocharged Engine 6: TauRx, awaiting FDA approval for Alzheimer treatment. 

Turbocharged Engine 7: Genting Berhad is going to auction off Miami property, which it acquired in 2011 for US$236 million. This Miami property worth more than US$1000 million at current market value. 

All in all, Genting is your Best of the best investment in 2023. Creme de la creme. 

To all Genting shareholders, I wish you all, Happy Investing in Genting Berhad with glamorous returns! 

Best Wishes,

-James_Bond-

25,184 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-24 07:42 | Report Abuse

Genting net debt rm17 Bil lah

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-24 08:18 | Report Abuse

Accumulation almost... finish. Uptrend lai liao... up..up up.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-24 09:18 | Report Abuse

Take a look at sembcorp, u96 ... people has been shouting it has super high debts since 2020

See today..

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-24 10:21 | Report Abuse

Genting Debt to Equity Ratio is only.. 1.275 for Sept. 30, 2022.

No worry... 放心啦!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-24 10:48 | Report Abuse

https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/2534624/china-travel-rebound-bets-turn-toward-airports

China expects inbound and outbound tourist numbers in 2023 to reach more than 90 million, recovering to.... 31.5% of pre-pandemic levels.

Slow and steady.. it may disappoint many

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-24 10:49 | Report Abuse

@MoneyMakers
@Prudentinv Got old saying - ‘high interest rate good 4 banks until they’re not’
Bank Negara raises OPR in a measured manner, 4 times over the past year and by only 25 basis points each time, unlike in some countries where interest rates could be increased by 10% to defend their currencies and to fight hyper inflation.

"Go learn higher level economics & will understand how high interest rates destroy/collapse bank"
Rate increases are likely to come to an end before the end of this year. Probably another two increases at the very most. How would these result in bank failures/collapse?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-24 13:12 | Report Abuse

Analysts expect Chinese airlines (same same for GenM and GenB) will see profits peak next year as international traffic makes a fuller rebound. "I think we need to be patient and wait for the earnings to kick in to drive the valuations...down".

Patient.., patient and patient. Lock in the freezer

choysun

4,254 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-03-24 15:41 | Report Abuse

Just be happy and take divvy now lo. :)

Posted by ClaraChan94 > 2023-03-24 16:55 | Report Abuse

Genting will surge back to RM5 I believe. Accumulate when it's cheap

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-24 17:32 | Report Abuse

No need to talk about banks, the price pressure already showed what market perceive

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-03-24 19:21 | Report Abuse

DestinyL more, more, more drop GB, banks.
When extreme low, oppo to buy.

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-24 19:46 | Report Abuse

Hope can go back to election low of 4.1x

rickygiam

68 posts

Posted by rickygiam > 2023-03-25 12:14 | Report Abuse

Monday go up kaw kaw....

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-25 12:21 | Report Abuse

Thanks Rickygiam for the good news..

Big bull is coming. Cheers!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-25 12:24 | Report Abuse

輪也該輪到Genting 了..

neohts

2,116 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-03-25 12:50 | Report Abuse

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2023/03/25/gentings-prime-miami-waterfront-property-attracts-5-bids-topping-us1bil/

MIAMI: A prime waterfront Miami parcel put up for sale by Genting Bhd has attracted five offers exceeding US$1 billion, according to the broker, potentially setting a record for such property.

Genting, which owns casino resorts in Malaysia, Singapore and the US, acquired the Florida property and some nearby real estate for about US$236 million in 2011.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-25 13:26 | Report Abuse

Hello James_Bond, your Turbocharged Engine 7 activated.. Congratulations! Cheers!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-25 13:37 | Report Abuse

The highest bid was just under US$1.5 billion. The company plans to narrow the field to three before making a final decision in the coming weeks...
wow! Above the market expectations ..

KooSan

364 posts

Posted by KooSan > 2023-03-25 13:48 | Report Abuse

Got special dividend?

James_Bond

2,460 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-25 21:33 | Report Abuse

AngTayKor/ Bob, please don’t hide away and remember to be gentlemen and pay all the losses for those investors who listening to you and cut losses! We all know you hv plenty i3 accounts with different names!

James_Bond

2,460 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-25 21:37 | Report Abuse

I hv won big in plenty shares that i invested! Do track my i3 entry prices for the shares that I bought and re-post them in genting i3 forum! I bet you don’t dare because you r a loser and not gentleman! Haha…

James_Bond

2,460 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-25 21:39 | Report Abuse

Congrats Michael Chan and my fellow Genting comrades! We will definitely ride the waves up! Cheers!

newbie2019

1,698 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2023-03-25 23:09 | Report Abuse

Lai guess Mon up how much…
50 sens to RM5.00 yeah

Riaz1954

1,243 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 2023-03-25 23:34 | Report Abuse

It won’t go up, as sellers who go for small gains will do as they always have done …sell. Won’t see much movement up is my two, pence worth. Only time it will shoot us is when TAUrx are successful in getting approval….Which May happen any time in the 2 half

choysun

4,254 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-03-25 23:42 | Report Abuse

Don't think we'll see TauRx movement that soon. Would rather see it's core profits strengthen quarter on quarter for now :)

thurston

556 posts

Posted by thurston > 2023-03-26 10:15 | Report Abuse

Special dividend of rm1.00 coming

choysun

4,254 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-03-26 12:27 | Report Abuse

Huh? Why special dividend? The proceeds will be used for US growth la :p

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-26 15:24 | Report Abuse

https://www.theborneopost.com/2023/03/25/sagah-no-harm-in-having-casino-in-borneo-highlands-can-spur-sarawaks-economy/

Many naysayers are speculating PN wants to close Genting Casino... see what has happened..

Sarawak wants to has a Highlands casino to spur its economy

Sarawak boleh!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-26 15:35 | Report Abuse

Now naysayers may start speculating... end to casino monopoly in Malaysia... haha

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-26 15:50 | Report Abuse

Will add more genting to my stocks portfolio tomorrow. Cheers!

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-26 16:23 | Report Abuse

Won't be big boost lah

Excerpt: Genting intends to invest the proceeds in its resorts, including possibly an expanded hotel and casino complex at its Resorts World slot-machine parlour next to the Aqueduct Racetrack in Queens, New York. The company is vying for one of three new downstate casino licences in New York

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-26 16:26 | Report Abuse

If no capital returns, then just a case of NTA boost
Hope not a case of owning the cake but can't taste it

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-26 16:32 | Report Abuse

Thanks DestinyL, I am not looking for short term gains

Icon 888

2,216 posts

Posted by Icon 888 > 2023-03-26 17:28 | Report Abuse

Recession come.. run

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-26 19:49 | Report Abuse

You have not board the ship ah Icon 888 lol

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-26 19:55 | Report Abuse

Michael_chan, why you think chances are not very high?

Excerpt: Because two licenses are expected to go to existing so-called racinos with horse racing and digital betting, the competition for a city license figures to be fierce

Competition is only fierce for the other 3, exception are the 2 with high chance (one of them is Genting)
Yeah its all just theory at this stage, but that's the general concensus
Anyway, nothing is priced in now, so either way its a good thing
50m license fee per year is probably not too high IMO

DestinyL

4,725 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-26 20:02 | Report Abuse

If Genting wins the NY license upgrade, they could theoretically taste the cake earlier than most other winners
Early bird entrance boost by just upgrading existing casino, even if geographically they are some distance away from each other