GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

4.50 - 4.54

39 people like this.

80,840 comment(s). Last comment by neohts 3 hours ago

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-19 20:14 | Report Abuse

The claim by bank promoters..bank stocks should perform well in high interest rates environment as higher interest rates could lead to higher interest incomes for the banking stocks is wrong/salah
Look at dbs, uob and ocbc ,you will have the answer hor..

It seems... the series of interest rate hikes by ang moh could be tipping global economy into a financial crisis instead..

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-19 20:21 | Report Abuse

当你意识到即使经过如此多的制裁,俄罗斯还没有一家银行倒闭。
而实施制裁的一方每天损失一家银行..

这真是一个尴尬的时刻!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-19 20:46 | Report Abuse

https://www.sinchew.com.my/?p=4551698

Holding on to the banking stocks..mana ada peace of mind

Lai..lai buy GenB ..the best recovery stock to hold in 2023, 2024

AngTayKor

1,660 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-03-19 22:31 | Report Abuse

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/AXfjpjSJZKA

Hold tight... 我们要發達嘛!
---------------------------------

@Michael thanks and nice sharing of good videos. I notice this video was probably recorded 2.5 years ago when GenB was 2.97 zone. This old guy was definitely correct at that time, if bought at 2.97 sure can huat big. Tourism recovery story has been playing since Nov 2020 from the day Pfizer covid vaccine clinical trial good news. Story is getting stale and mouldy by now but strangely this 2.5 years old story still can suck in many JustBorns or Johnny-Come-Late punters buying above rm5.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-19 23:13 | Report Abuse

SINGAPORE, Feb 13 (Reuters) - DBS Group (DBSM.SI), which has seen its net interest margins hit highs for the decade on rising interest rates, expects rates to moderate, its chief executive said, as Southeast Asia's largest bank by assets reported record quarterly and full-year profit.

Singapore lenders, like global peers, are benefiting from higher interest rates, but analysts said that as the cycle peaks and economic growth falters, rising bank profits could be curbed.
DBS has reported record earnings due to rising interest rates.

AngTayKor

1,660 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-03-20 00:42 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/03/19/ubs-offers-to-buy-credit-suisse-for-up-to-1-billion-the-financial-times-reports.html

Will such a low offer price for CS cause banks' stock price to collapse more on Monday?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-20 07:24 | Report Abuse

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/ubs-agrees-buy-credit-suisse-global-regulators-assure-markets-3358511?cid=internal_sharetool_androidphone_20032023_cna

Latest news... UBS will pay 3 billion Swiss francs (US$3.23 billion) and assume up to US$5.4 billion in losses in a deal expected to close by the end of 2023.

From higher interest incomes for the banking stocks to financial panic. Let's see..

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-20 07:47 | Report Abuse

Kicking the can down... can we trust them?

AngTayKor

1,660 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-03-20 15:07 | Report Abuse

So quiet here after discovering price protection Casino Royale Fund is actually 90m rupiah cash.......

Posted by ClaraChan94 > 2023-03-20 16:13 | Report Abuse

Looks like people dispose Genting and buy AAX... both are recovery theme stocks by the way

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-03-20 18:48 | Report Abuse

James darling, didn't I tell you not to use your 180 million RUPPIAH and flush all at once on this??? LOL

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-03-20 18:49 | Report Abuse

James is now cutting all losses at MyEg to cover his position at Genting.......later might even cutkuku.......

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-21 11:04 | Report Abuse

Those who are scared of bank failures should withdraw all their money from the banks and keep cash at home. I have full faith in our local banks.

neohts

2,102 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-03-21 13:32 | Report Abuse

No update and news on GenB ?

DestinyL

4,724 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-21 13:37 | Report Abuse

So far I only see bad news, RWNY and Catskills reduced gross profit
Need to checkout Gens and GenM performance

BILLC

2,028 posts

Posted by BILLC > 2023-03-21 15:52 | Report Abuse

Yes bad news everywhere,,,better runnn for your life,,,boh chow siiiiiiiiii,,,,,,

choysun

4,246 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-03-21 16:30 | Report Abuse

Be patient, accumulate :)

Posted by ClaraChan94 > 2023-03-21 17:13 | Report Abuse

Can wait for 52 weeks low then collect again I guess...

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-03-21 17:19 | Report Abuse

Sister stock GM down today.

GB stockist playing pump to dump game again?

choysun

4,246 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-03-21 18:22 | Report Abuse

52 weeks low is a big ask. Maybe closer to state elections there may be some negative sentiments but Q1 results should be out then and likely to be good.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-21 21:49 | Report Abuse

@choysun, how is the US market tonight?

RWG

1,051 posts

Posted by RWG > 2023-03-21 22:16 | Report Abuse

very good

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-22 11:07 | Report Abuse

So quiet, many already cut loss ?

thurston

555 posts

Posted by thurston > 2023-03-22 11:10 | Report Abuse

Genting Singapore share price is now SGD 1.10, 20% above pre-pandemic level.

Genting Berhad owns 52.5% of Genting Singapore. This shall reflect to its value below,

1.10 x 3.34 x 52.5% x 12B (GenS share number) / 3.85B (GenB share number) = rm 6.00.

Please note this value has not included Genting Malaysia, Genting Plantation, Genting Energy, Resort World Las Vegas and Taurx.

dragon328

1,906 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-03-22 11:36 | Report Abuse

Genting Singapore share price rally is well expected for reasons explained in my earlier article.

Maybank research yesterday upgraded Genting Singapore to a BUY with tp of S$1.18, an 23% uplift citing similar reasons. To note that its projected EBITDA of S$1.307 billion for FY2024 is not too far off from my earlier projection of S$1.4 billion.

I expect Genting Singapore share price to continue upwards trend to beyond S$1.20 in coming months. This will create another 60 sen in value to Genting Bhd.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-22 12:34 | Report Abuse

Two retail favorite ....Genting n PBB are down.
One institution favorite, the Big Blue is up.

May be, retailers are selling ahead of FOMC announcement on rates

DestinyL

4,724 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-22 12:45 | Report Abuse

NTA doesn't mean much for conglomerate shareholders
The cake is yours but not for your eating, how?
Unless there is high dividend payout from Gens, and GenB other entities are not negating the profits

DestinyL

4,724 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-22 12:47 | Report Abuse

As usual, another big impact is when your subsidiaries gives you the equivalent high dividend, and you squander the profits via RPTs

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-22 14:10 | Report Abuse

Posted by DestinyL > 1 hour ago | Report Abuse

NTA doesn't mean much for conglomerate shareholders
The cake is yours but not for your eating, how?
Unless there is high dividend payout from Gens, and GenB other entities are not negating the profits

Agree !

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-03-22 14:48 | Report Abuse

Simple, park some $ in MBB.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-03-22 14:58 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/659583

KUALA LUMPUR (March 17): Rakuten Trade said it will not be surprised if foreign funds make a U-turn back into the Asia market over the next couple of months, amid the erratic US market and the recent banking debacle.

Rakuten Trade head of research Kenny Yee said that investors are getting more risk-averse, seeing that the volatility in the US and Europe is increasing, and will shift their attention back to Asia, which they have been ignoring since the 2020 pandemic period.

“With their abundance of liquidity, they have been comfortable trading within their own market, but now with high risks there, I think they have no choice but to start looking at Asia again,” Yee said in the firm’s virtual media briefing on Friday (March 17) regarding Malaysia's second-quarter market outlook.

“There will certainly be a realignment of their portfolios. Some foreign funds will look to diversify their portfolios, especially for the financial sector. I think they are selling Western banks to look at Asia banks which, I say, are more stable and better capitalised.”

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-22 15:10 | Report Abuse

Why banks?
Never see Sembcorp U96 in full action meh?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-22 15:11 | Report Abuse

But GenB is still the best recovery stock to hold. Cheers!

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-22 15:18 | Report Abuse

STI green green.. chiong 50 pts up

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-22 21:56 | Report Abuse

"Once bank crisis start, gov immediately takeover (delisted) - shareholder total loss
Basically 100% loss within days - somemore without warning (nobody know bank trouble until too late)"
@MoneyMakers, Can you give one example of bank failures which occurred in Malaysia over the past 40 years and which resulted in shareholders losing all their money?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 07:35 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/03/22/treasury-will-do-whatever-it-takes-to-ensure-savings-remain-safe-yellen-to-tell-senators-.html

Ang mohs rushing to withdraw money from the banks.. safer to put under their pillows

neohts

2,102 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-03-23 07:58 | Report Abuse

Genting Bhd got nothing to do with US bank.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 08:23 | Report Abuse

Of course GenB is still the best... many are quietly accumulating

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 09:18 | Report Abuse

GenB.. go..go

DestinyL

4,724 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-23 12:18 | Report Abuse

I have stated my intention long time ago to switch Genting to Aji
Should've made more switching when GB shot up to around 5+ but decided to wait for the QR for bulk switching
Aji was around 13.80 at the time

DestinyL

4,724 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-03-23 12:26 | Report Abuse

Instead, I was bombarded to talk good on Aji here in GB forum, and the die hard investor with seemingly bottomless fund says MSG is dying lol
I didn't know forums were for good news only, and I still pity those who thinks so lol

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 12:56 | Report Abuse

Good. This is the stock I added the inv. funds because of the higher than expected impairment losses declared in 2022. Many sti listed companies have done it in 2021

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 12:58 | Report Abuse

GenB ..go go

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-03-23 12:59 | Report Abuse

"@Prudentinv No use see history
Credit Suisse (170 yrs) / SVB (40 yrs) / silvergate bank (30 yrs) / signature bank (20 yrs) - all sudden collapse no warning (shareholder 100% loss)
Switz gov even bypass ‘shareholder vote’ - forcesell credit suisse"
@MoneyMakers, I asked you if there was any collapse of Malaysian banks which resulted in shareholders losing all their money in the past 40 years. Why did you keeping harping about foreign banks? Don't avoid my question.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-03-23 13:09 | Report Abuse

DestinyL
GB $4.26 Oct '22 $4.53 now
Aji $11.00 Oct '22 $14.76 now
DestinyL you are right.
GB not as profitable stk trade as Aji

neohts

2,102 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-03-23 13:12 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/660347

“Going forward, consensus is projecting the group to make [a] net profit of RM1 billion for FY December 2023 and RM1.27b for FY December 2024, translating to forward PERs of 14.5x and 11.4x respectively,” it said.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 14:13 | Report Abuse

Good. GenM's directors are buying own company shares .. what does this imply

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-03-23 14:17 | Report Abuse

Lai lai.. don't miss this best recovery stock in 2023