GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

+0.01 (2.08%)

0.48 - 0.50

15 people like this.

18,216 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 1 week ago

Posted by Vincent Soh > 2019-09-06 19:22 | Report Abuse

I hold since 1.19 and drop till today.... My heart is bleeding. happy holiday

Posted by 10155320229421386 > 2019-09-06 20:48 | Report Abuse

Just be patience and collect when it is weak... Buy low sell high

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-07 13:50 | Report Abuse

You will only get your fruits next year. Hold until next year and you will be rewarded.

Posted by Cockroach Paul Lee > 2019-09-08 02:05 | Report Abuse

Gkent please don’t involve in any new PH gov contracts... focus in smart water meter is good...
Become a water meter” king” , don’t become a political slave beg for contracts then U turn here Uturn there...
God bless Gkent

stkstudent

245 posts

Posted by stkstudent > 2019-09-09 15:35 | Report Abuse

is there any +ve catalyst such as new projects,better QR, a strong major holder, to support n lift the share price, in the next 3 mths ?
if not, the technical chart shows that it can only kept sliding lower n lower.

If dont take small lose now, dont cry mother,father, blame this,blame that, blame PH govt, etc but not blame ownself, for investing in false HOPE..
The whole macro environment is darkening, n who knows what will happen nxt year ...

papparich

216 posts

Posted by papparich > 2019-09-10 11:03 | Report Abuse

Good morning cocktalkers

Posted by gorengking69 > 2019-09-11 11:20 | Report Abuse

Chill and relax...Everyone has their own opinion. No need to quarrel. Thats why some will make money and some will lose money in investing

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-11 12:54 | Report Abuse

wake up?

tealeaf

196 posts

Posted by tealeaf > 2019-09-11 13:54 | Report Abuse

agreed with u RainT, wherever these ppl go...there's a quarreling shooting here n there

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-09-11 17:46 | Report Abuse

My cheapest GKent is still 1.08 bought few weeks ago.

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-09-12 21:47 | Report Abuse

lol i just bb at 1.06 , gogogo

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2019-09-15 12:28 | Report Abuse

Dividend due soon. Last year a 2c tax paid Divivident of 2c went ex on the 12.10.18

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-15 13:38 | Report Abuse

Yearly dividend better than Bank FD and EPF.

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-17 13:17 | Report Abuse

Yes, no need to worry about short term volatility, gkent had gone up from 1.01 and up to 1.09 . So is it a good deal or a bad deal? My advice is to ignore the noise from oil, pH, bursa and trade war. Just look to the business and understand the business. The main points to predict and understand is still the same.

1. Is gkent still doing lrt3 job? If they are what is the difference between PDP and turnkey? And in essence, once it is complete what will be gkent net profit to shareholders?
2. Will the net profit and revenue be more in the next few years than it is today?
3 will the dividend be more or less in the next few years compared to previous year? Will they declare no dividend?
4. Will the profit from water meter business alone be enough to pay growing dividend? Will they have competitors in their industry portions?

Everything else is an assumption. These are details which you can ask and find out from the AGM and their competitors and subcontractors.

Please note that the price going up and down has come before quarterly report announcement, meaning it is all speculation. Quarterly report is the real fact on business performance.

Again I always say if the previous quaterv report was good enough for you to make an investment ( which I did from rm 1.12-1.15), if the share price drop without news or announcement from management, it can only mean 2 things, a change in short term perspective ( meaning discount day), or a change in insider information trading ( which is why I rarely buy into smallcaps).

In either case investment should be done upon valuation of information and long term prospects, not based on charts, patterns and conjecture.

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2019-09-17 15:47 | Report Abuse

Just in some at 1.09.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-18 10:50 | Report Abuse

wah

today 1.06

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-18 11:04 | Report Abuse

@Philip

thanks for your insight sharing

pertaining to your points , i would share as follow

1.turnkey or PDP will have profit margin effect to GKENT
this is why PH gomen want to review all the big projects and cut companies who get high margin frm this project

2.the profit and sales will be more until the construction project is finish. take note that GKENT do not have high replenish order book as before already, and PH gomen also do less big project already
so can good until finish the rail project only or miracle happen (PH turn smarter focus on economy, focus less on racial issue)

3.dividend is tie with company prospect, profit and cash flows. Bleak future prospect (after rail project), less profit, less free cash flow, less dividend
additional points : current dividend yield is of past event, it does not necessary reflect future dividend payment also

4.undeniable water meter is part of GKENT competence but dont forget all the years before this the big star contribution is from construction segment and not water meter, profit margin from water meter also far lower than construction segment

what i try to means is GKENT will be good until rail project only,water meter is so so (dont lie to yourself, open eyes see big big)

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-18 11:37 | Report Abuse

I've remember Gkent boss said they are interested to tender for more rail projects in Thailand and Singapore. So far talk only.
Not easy. Hopefullyy they can get one.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-18 11:42 | Report Abuse

LRT3 still got a few good years to go.

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-18 12:23 | Report Abuse

1.turnkey or PDP will have profit margin effect to GKENT
this is why PH gomen want to review all the big projects and cut companies who get high margin frm this project.

Lim pointed out that the government and Prasarana Malaysia Bhd had renegotiated the 6% fees for the PDP, which amounted to RM948mil.

“The payments will now be based on a fixed fee contract, which is tied to fixed costs, and this means the 6% fee term does not exist,” he said.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/08/08/mrcb-and-gkent-shares-rise-on-confirmation-as-pdp-for-lrt3#tMpHOm7AjWK4ROVf.99

Previously their fees is only for project delivery partner, meaning is consultation and management fees.

Now we are looking at fixed contract of 16.6 billion, so their profit margins are based on this fixed contract, meaning based on renegotiation ( reduced underground, reduced tracks and size of stations, reduced number of stations), anything gkent makes will be based on how efficient they are in handling these costs. I will be the first person to say it is being handled very well.

At a turnkey contractor profit of 10% ( overall), they are looking at additional profit of 1.6 billion for the same project which is even better. Take note on the reduction of size and expenses of lrt3, it will play a huge portion in the final net profit due to mrcb and gkent.
If we just look at gkent only on PDP end management they still earn 948 million, the cost cutting measure will see them earning even more.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-09-18 12:26 |

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-18 12:29 | Report Abuse

A. KUALA LUMPUR (April 12): Malaysia Rail Link Sdn Bhd (MRL) and China Communications Construction Co Ltd (CCCC) have signed a supplementary agreement pursuant to the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) project, which will proceed at a lower cost of RM44 billion

B. A state-initiated project, the PTMP is expected to cost an estimated RM46 billion.
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/04/16/penang-lrt-project-to-start-next-year#0Hy4kZjkbWwADCqM.99

How sure are you gkent will not get a portion of these two mega projects (90 BILLION altogether)? A company profile with a track record of completing lrt, mrt2(2022) trackworks and trains, and lrt3 I believe will always have a higher chance than other local companies that do not have a track record. If course I may be wrong as usual and rainT already has the full list of subcontractors.

>>>>>>

2.the profit and sales will be more until the construction project is finish. take note that GKENT do not have high replenish order book as before already, and PH gomen also do less big project already

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-18 12:33 | Report Abuse

Proven competence of gkent.

A. Water meter
B. Water treatment plant construction and operation
C. Hospitals construction
D. Railways systems

I think a company like this is far better than those that just concentrate on building condos and houses and hotels and stuck with high assets but huge debts.

Who would you rather have building your railways? Binapuri,spsetia, Sunway, gamuda or Gkent?

>>>>>>

4.undeniable water meter is part of GKENT competence but dont forget all the years before this the big star contribution is from construction segment and not water meter, profit margin from water meter also far lower than construction segment

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-18 14:54 | Report Abuse

LRT3 to complete in 2022, meaning that still got 3 years of good results. So should buy now and wait for next year.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-18 15:07 | Report Abuse

@Philip Uncle

if i have full list of ECRL subcon then good lo, i can sapu these company but i dont have lo

haha!

Op3rs

397 posts

Posted by Op3rs > 2019-09-18 15:14 | Report Abuse

The one that made Gkent investable is not LRT or construction. Its the
risk ratio. Price right now, is the value of the meter segment. The construction segment seems to have been discounted after PH takeover.

Go figure.

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-18 16:08 | Report Abuse

well from what information that I do have now:

From what we know, government squeeze gkent for discount, they squeeze us for discount. But still fair price, so its win-win.

Hopefully I can get more info from forumers on the status of these projects
1. Design and Build 150-Bed District Hospital in Tanjung Karang (progress claim submission) - 277 million
2. Design and build 220-bed Hospital Endokrin in Precinct 7, Putrajaya from Public Works Department -364.9 million
3. the mrt2 package ssp-sy-204 (1 billion JV CCCC and gkent) still to be completed in May 1st 2021 (work package for trackworks, maintenance vehicles and work trains for the entire 52.2-km Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya (SSP) mass rapid transit (MRT) alignment, also known as MRT2.

anyone have any idea what is going on with these other contracts?

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2019-09-18 17:47 | Report Abuse

LRT3 total budget RM16.6bil with RM11.8b awarded to MRCB-GK JV, balance RM4.8 for land acquisition and finaning costs. So, we are looking at profit on the RM11.8b.

MRT2 progress reached 36% as in May 2019 to be completed in July 2021 (refer annual report 2019)

Hospital Tanjung Karang to be completed in November 2020 and Hospital Endokrin to be completed in January 2020, according to annual report 2019, both on schedule.

Posted by Armada An Quantum Leap Stock In 2019/2020 > 2019-09-18 19:42 | Report Abuse

Macam mau tuju ke $0.700
Lets see if $1/ got support no

I like to join gk again by then.

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-09-18 23:35 | Report Abuse

Look at their past record la.. At least not the goreng type ..
Some famous GLC alot projects on hand but still making loss.. which better

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-19 12:27 | Report Abuse

Gkent good cash rich company, why so many people still selling ? Current price is really undervalued.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-19 13:28 | Report Abuse

EPS 13.7. PE 7.7. Dividend 6.7. Basically zero loan and cash rich. Where to find such a good company.

SinGor

4,767 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2019-09-19 18:11 | Report Abuse

Projects overrun, Delay, wrong specs are all taken care in bygone era. But Lge's era is different

SC

741 posts

Posted by SC > 2019-09-20 09:39 | Report Abuse

below 1.1 is cheap... bought a lot at 1.05

ChickyWaWa

243 posts

Posted by ChickyWaWa > 2019-09-20 10:03 | Report Abuse

Waiting for QR

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-20 10:14 | Report Abuse

Another possible U turn : ERCL

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-20 16:47 | Report Abuse

Quarter 2 result should be out next week with Dividend announcement.

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2019-09-20 16:57 | Report Abuse

True.
___

SHQuah Quarter 2 result should be out next week with Dividend announcement.

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2019-09-20 16:57 | Report Abuse

Bought some more at 1.05.

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2019-09-22 13:15 | Report Abuse

THE Mass Rapid Transit Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya (SSP) Line (MRT2) work progress is 54% complete with its Phase 1 set to begin operation in July 2021.

According to MMC-Gamuda KVMRT (PDP SSP) Sdn Bhd, the contractor for the underground portion of the MRT2 project, Phase 1 will start from the Sungai Buloh station to the Kampung Batu station, while Phase 2 is slated to begin operation in July 2022.

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2019/07/25/mrt2-54-complete-on-track-to-be-completed-by-2022/

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-23 14:20 | Report Abuse

below 1.00 soon?

lets see

Newbieinshare

2,117 posts

Posted by Newbieinshare > 2019-09-24 17:30 | Report Abuse

Qr gg.com

Posted by Vincent Soh > 2019-09-24 17:39 | Report Abuse

QR out, see tomorrow

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-09-24 18:39 | Report Abuse

So so la.. no expectation pun

Newbieinshare

2,117 posts

Posted by Newbieinshare > 2019-09-24 18:53 | Report Abuse

I think this qr is alrdy factor in the share price

ramada

3,955 posts

Posted by ramada > 2019-09-24 19:17 | Report Abuse

The latest quarterly result so-so, nothing special. It can't up or down too much.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-24 19:49 | Report Abuse

Dividend 1.5 sen. Pay on 30 October

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-09-24 19:57 | Report Abuse

Not sure this quarter any Rail projects factor in ?

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-09-24 22:48 | Report Abuse

-The transfer of the production facilities is currently in “full swing”

-The Group is also making preparations to establish a strong presence in the “15 new territories”.

-The Selangor state water authority in September 2019 “awarded a contract” to the Group to supply, deliver and install 5,540 water meters fitted with the Group’s Smart Metering solution for a six-month pilot test.

-results are expected to improve in the second half of the financial year as export orders that were anticipated for the first half of the year are realised.

All about metering.. but i wanna know LrT3 leh

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2019-09-24 23:40 | Report Abuse

Just hodl for now.