MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

givemefive

165 posts

Posted by givemefive > 2014-08-12 09:48 | Report Abuse

Yesterday closing, there was a "give away" signal at 16:57:50. One institutional player buy 50,000 lots at 0.26 in 1 transaction. Just needed to think and figure out why? why?

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2014-08-12 09:52 | Report Abuse

can go down ?

AhSook AhKou

1,296 posts

Posted by AhSook AhKou > 2014-08-12 09:52 | Report Abuse

Now long q selling at 0.255 , looks like panic selling !!!! Why sell o.255 where 0.27 is on table !!!

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2014-08-12 09:54 | Report Abuse

maybe just talk only 27sen on paper or else ?

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2014-08-12 10:08 | Report Abuse

why can go down some more ? weird

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-08-12 10:12 | Report Abuse

the maseu (union) has been ignored during the chairman meeting yesterday.
Invite other unions but did not invite them.
Susahloh. Telah di abaikan.

After BN win GE election, kick them to a side.

More problem come.

tvz32

496 posts

Posted by tvz32 > 2014-08-12 10:12 | Report Abuse

If i buy now at 0.255, with the takeover price of 0.27. I should still be able to earn almost 6%. Isn't this a good deal? Is there a catch to it that i missed?

L2

657 posts

Posted by L2 > 2014-08-12 10:15 | Report Abuse

9.50am long sequence of 4000 1000 5000 lots sold at 25sen.

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-08-12 10:15 | Report Abuse

some funds which accumulated cheap <20sen maybe dont want to wait so long for the payout. they sell to buy other counters which can earn more during that period.

flytothemoon

4,810 posts

Posted by flytothemoon > 2014-08-12 10:22 | Report Abuse

the financial report is releasing, ppl fear of terrible loss maybe

L2

657 posts

Posted by L2 > 2014-08-12 10:22 | Report Abuse

interesting to contrast with tmclife where trade has been taking place since Friday at the MGO price of 48sen.

Posted by Muhammad Jamaluddin > 2014-08-12 10:27 | Report Abuse

Hahaha.. Kontra player is kicking out

flytothemoon

4,810 posts

Posted by flytothemoon > 2014-08-12 10:38 | Report Abuse

same thing, do you have gut to earn this money?

L2

657 posts

Posted by L2 > 2014-08-12 10:56 | Report Abuse

is there any supposedly winfall insurance payout(s) they might have received? historically, some carriers have hugely profited from such tragedies due to insurance. if true, could change the quarterly. just one view.

kalel

Posted by kalel > 2014-08-12 11:15 | Report Abuse

will dr m statement change anything

MAS PRIVATISATION

1. I am a bit mystified by the privatisation of MAS. Khazanah, I believe, is a Government company, or at least a Government controlled company. The CEO reports to the Prime Minister and usually acts on the direction of the Prime Minister.

2. The Prime Minister personifies the Government. If a company is fully acquired by a Government company, is it privatisation or nationalisation?

3. Yes, a company that is owned 100% by one entity, is not a public company. It is a private company. But if that person or entity is the Government, can it be said to be private?

4. I believe prior to this privatisation, Khazanah owned 70% of MAS shares. Its control over MAS must be almost absolute. None of the minority shareholders can really say ‘No’ to MAS even if they all act together. So Khazanah has been in full control of MAS all this time. And all this time MAS has been bleeding profusely. In 10 years it has lost 10 billion Ringgit in terms of capital injection.

5. So why should anyone believe that with 100% control Khazanah will not keep on losing.

6. In fact with no one to check and give concerned criticism as when there were minority shareholders, MAS can go very wrong indeed.

7. In true privatisation, fear of losing money on the part of a private owner would force him to scrutinise the management and check the balance sheets frequently. The Government as the owner would be less concerned. The Government is about spending money. Any shortages (or losses) can be overcome by increasing taxes or borrowing money. The way money is being spent nowadays doesn’t indicate the kind of careful financial management and scrutiny that MAS would require in order to turn around.

8. Once when a new CEO was appointed MAS registered some profit. But that was through selling assets. How much more assets can MAS sell?

9. Catering was given to a company with very long term contract and even as MAS loses money the contractors seems to be doing well. A Government company will not be able to terminate this unusual contract. It is too sensitive. Someone might advice against it.

10. People in glass houses should not throw stones. Right. I shouldn’t say all these. I had such a bad record as Prime Minister. But I was ready to resign. And I did. I did because I failed. But no one wants to follow my example.

11. I may be wrong but I think Khazanah’s 100% ownership of MAS will not be much different from its 70% ownership. We are going to see a lot of new people who will receive huge salaries, allowances and bonuses and not much else. That I believe is how Khazanah operates.

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-08-12 11:21 | Report Abuse

Though I am a fan of his, I think he has got valid points

givemefive

165 posts

Posted by givemefive > 2014-08-12 11:21 | Report Abuse

During Financial crises time, they have this so call "creative accounting"method which could mitigate the losses over a 5 to 10 years-periods of time and make the current p&l figure "Nice" looking :)

givemefive

165 posts

Posted by givemefive > 2014-08-12 11:27 | Report Abuse

He talked sense, I agreed.

Funtrade

596 posts

Posted by Funtrade > 2014-08-12 12:09 | Report Abuse

khazanah want give u 27sen but ppl sell at 255sen. So impatience. LOL

Posted by Gokula Krishnan > 2014-08-12 12:28 | Report Abuse

must be contra players
if you have cash, this is good time to buy at 0.255, sell at 0.27, almost 1.5 cent gain

mohawk

33 posts

Posted by mohawk > 2014-08-12 12:42 | Report Abuse

Gokula. to gain 1.5 cent in a month is quite attractive. What about if this exercise takes more than 6 months. Chances the proposal will get all parties approval but there are still chance it doesn't get enough vote from minority shareholder. It makes 1.5 cent not so attractive.Should buy lower than 25.5cents to be save

Ring

6,522 posts

Posted by Ring > 2014-08-12 12:53 | Report Abuse

“I may be wrong but I think Khazanah’s 100 percent ownership of MAS will not be much different from its 70 percent ownership. We are going to see a lot of new people who will receive huge salaries, allowances and bonuses and not much else. That I believe is how Khazanah operates,” Mahathir said.

BumbleBee

602 posts

Posted by BumbleBee > 2014-08-12 12:59 | Report Abuse

Tun cakap??? Hehehe better switch to TA big potential http://gorengaddict.blogspot.com/2014/08/ta-low-priced-fundamental-strong-stock.html

Nallayak

928 posts

Posted by Nallayak > 2014-08-12 13:43 | Report Abuse

When not publicly listed can restructure faster lah

Drago Tian

564 posts

Posted by Drago Tian > 2014-08-12 13:56 | Report Abuse

Hari ini kebayakan lari lintang pukang.

Funtrade

596 posts

Posted by Funtrade > 2014-08-12 14:03 | Report Abuse

Tun cakap punya barang akan affect Khazanah dan gov punya decision ??

Khazanah suddenly withdraw proposal ??

Like that better be careful lo guys.

kakisaham

7,263 posts

Posted by kakisaham > 2014-08-12 14:05 | Report Abuse

Ini kaunter dicadang mahu dislisting..mana tak lari ..masuk buat apa

stupid168

336 posts

Posted by stupid168 > 2014-08-12 14:10 | Report Abuse

Dont dream ...just sell it and walk away.....

L2

657 posts

Posted by L2 > 2014-08-12 14:16 | Report Abuse

Sensible points made by TDM. Khazanah needs a proper minder too.

AhSook AhKou

1,296 posts

Posted by AhSook AhKou > 2014-08-12 16:19 | Report Abuse

I wonder who's buying all these lots at 25.5 ??? Cant b KHAZ ????

ryei

555 posts

Posted by ryei > 2014-08-12 17:33 | Report Abuse

what is the logic for selling below Khazanah offer price of 27 cents? anybody to enlighten me?

yaustan24

28 posts

Posted by yaustan24 > 2014-08-12 18:35 | Report Abuse

Khazanah is not buying the 30% minority shareholding. It is MAS making a repayment of 0.27 cents to the minority shareholders.Its Capital Reserves and Share Premium account will be cancelled and slashed for the purpose of this exercise. The Paid up shares will eventually be lesser by the minority shareholders portion. Khazanah owns MAS 100% thereafter. Creative accounting.

Valid points raised by Tun. This is nationalisation and not privatisation.

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-08-12 18:43 | Report Abuse

no point to wait for 3 months for 0.270. I can earn more than 7% during that time. Just sell it at 0.255 and buy something.

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-08-12 18:46 | Report Abuse

Look at today event where it can dropped to 0.250. What are the possibility that it mights drop to 0.245 or lower? Someone or buyer might create a panic sell because of how naive or greedy we are. JMHO

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-08-12 18:58 | Report Abuse

lari kuat kuat.
Cepat dari kapalterbang. Jangan pandang belakang bila lari. Tertinggal satu selipar pun tarak apa. Janji lari.

Slick

655 posts

Posted by Slick > 2014-08-12 19:20 | Report Abuse

ryei, basically for such a small profit,
your funds will be locked down until the payout.
so better of disposing your shares.
Maybe you could invest in something else.

Posted by Ammar Roshidy > 2014-08-13 08:34 | Report Abuse

If you have 15000 shares and below, just sell and run. If you have more then that It might be worth the wait. Besides after all you know your 0,27 is waiting. ah.... even if it is a lost. something might happen and it might go up to .30. Just saying it if you are a gambling man.

zKingDB

760 posts

Posted by zKingDB > 2014-08-13 09:21 | Report Abuse

This counter delisting end year from Bursa.... why risk buying??

ryei

555 posts

Posted by ryei > 2014-08-13 09:32 | Report Abuse

@Slick i'm not holding any MAS share.. just out of curiosity... thanks :D

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-08-13 09:49 | Report Abuse

wait n see, madey said, khazanah isn't suitable or not good for mas's turnaround.... hope he find others to takeover mas at higher price soon..

my8sev3n

29 posts

Posted by my8sev3n > 2014-08-13 09:56 | Report Abuse

Counter close today?

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-08-13 09:56 | Report Abuse

must read article.... hope some true private groups of companies would emerge to counter the offer price of 27sen by khazanah... or all these are just wayang, a higher offer price will be offered by others soon :)

http://www.nst.com.my/node/22578

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-08-13 10:20 | Report Abuse

madey seems right, this time. nationalisation by khazanah not privatisation if the deal gets through... http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/08/13/Dr-M-Privatisation-not-the-solution-for-MAS/

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-08-13 10:21 | Report Abuse

This nationalisation also leads to higher corporate borrowing cost that will be passed on to consumers :)
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1139098

yaustan24

28 posts

Posted by yaustan24 > 2014-08-13 12:47 | Report Abuse

clap, clap, clap. Watch out 22/8/2014. Results will be announced for 2Q2014. See what will happen to the share price at current level of 0.25

Ring

6,522 posts

Posted by Ring > 2014-08-13 14:39 | Report Abuse

In a true privatisation, Dr Mahathir pointed out that the fear of losing money on the part of the private owner would force him to scrutinise the management and check the balance sheets frequently.

“But the Government as the owner would be less concerned. The Government is about spending money. Any shortages (or losses) can be overcome by increasing taxes or borrowing money. The way money is being spent nowadays doesn’t indicate the kind of careful financial management and scrutiny that MAS would require in order to turn around,” he said.

In retrospect, he recalled that MAS had once appointed a new CEO some years ago and registered some profit via the sale of assets.

“How much more assets can MAS sell?” he questioned.

Another concern of Dr Mahathir was on the catering contract. “Catering was given to a company with a very long-term contract and even as MAS loses money, the contractors seem to be doing well,” he said.

buanaz

5 posts

Posted by buanaz > 2014-08-13 15:07 | Report Abuse

now you guys support madey?? LOL..

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-08-13 15:44 | Report Abuse

buanaz: we look at the issues highlighted by madey , if the issues highlighted make sense, then we would support it.... as simple as ABC... for MAS, in my opinion ,he seems to make good suggestion this time ...

tuapuikia

2,346 posts

Posted by tuapuikia > 2014-08-13 15:51 | Report Abuse

buy at this price, can get 0.27 if privatize?

L2

657 posts

Posted by L2 > 2014-08-13 15:52 | Report Abuse

...and that is mostly true too.