MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES

KLSE (MYR): MPI (3867)

+0.90 (3.46%)

26.00 - 26.98

4,165 comment(s). Last comment by James_Bond 6 hours ago

Posted by Kim Yap Lau > 2012-01-26 21:11 | Report Abuse

I want to curi-curi buy this stock. What is best price to buy n sell?

samsam

159 posts

Posted by samsam > 2012-08-15 20:57 | Report Abuse

Hi kcfan, what do u think about the EPS for coming quarter?

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-08-29 11:02 | Report Abuse

wahhh.... another of my old favorite jumps. watching this ....

Posted by Wei Zhe Lee > 2012-08-29 11:05 | Report Abuse

One of my favourite counters

Hope DPS will be back at 10c next quarter

Posted by keringkontang > 2013-04-10 12:35 | Report Abuse

time to buy!!

OneAndOnly

165 posts

Posted by OneAndOnly > 2013-09-07 14:00 | Report Abuse

worth buying now ?

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-10-10 11:56 | Report Abuse

Hmmm... somethings up.

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-10-10 12:56 | Report Abuse

what is today TP?

JimYeoh

1,514 posts

Posted by JimYeoh > 2013-10-10 13:38 | Report Abuse

on recovery play

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2013-10-10 17:54 | Report Abuse

today consume viagra, institution in the market?

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2013-10-10 20:17 | Report Abuse

Once it move,will be fast.

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-10-13 19:01 | Report Abuse

holding company bought back over 4 million MPI shares. should be expecting a good quarter report next month

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-10-13 19:20 | Report Abuse

Wounded giant! Used to be favorite traders joy until when for the longest downtrend lasting years! Finally turning around!

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-10-18 13:28 | Report Abuse

u turn...

Posted by StockLearner > 2013-11-06 12:18 | Report Abuse

Hi guy. Buy MPI. This company's NTA is RM3.78. Every year generate over RM100 million free operating cash flow. Business in 2013 successfully turnaround with over 33% sales from smartphone & tablets. Major shareholder bought back recently with over 4 million units stock. Technical chart looks very impressive with consistent volume pick up over 14 trading days.

Target price is RM4 with over 25% gains. Last quarter's result is over 5 cents but in fact, it is over 10 cents with over 10 million net goodwill written off. If every quarter manage to get 10 cents, this stock's 2014 yearly EPs is 40 cents. Assume PE is 10 times, price is RM4.

Turnaround stock, BUY...

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-06 18:39 | Report Abuse

Stockleaner, with its op cash flow, stock worth RM4.5 maybe?

What is your suggested buying price?

Posted by StockLearner > 2013-11-06 19:03 | Report Abuse

RM2.90 is the right price to buy. 1st wave price retracement is completed from the shoot up at 10th Oct 2013. Now 2nd wave price uptrend is just coming. In less than 3 months, price should be able to reach its resistance point at RM3.50 to RM3.60 with improved quarterly EPS come out later on this month.

Turnaround stock with buy.

Posted by StockLearner > 2013-11-06 19:04 | Report Abuse

Gap at 1st November 2013 is closed up today with price opened at RM2.86.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-06 19:18 | Report Abuse

Thanks stocklearner

thumxj

33 posts

Posted by thumxj > 2013-11-08 13:47 | Report Abuse

Why the are much difference between unisem and mpi?

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-08 13:55 | Report Abuse

Coz unisem dont practice layoff culture. Uncertainty management skill. Treated manager as an asset but engineer and below as their liability. From the balance sheet, i presume this comp will fall into PN17 within 3 years if their top management doesnt change.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-08 13:59 | Report Abuse

MPI has strong cash flow and managable debt. They trim down some lines to make it more efficient. Furthermore, they grow their mobile segment to 33% from 2x % (20 something %, I cant remember). So, interesting to see their financial report coming month. Last quarter register net profit as well while unisem register net loss again.

PJTrader

112 posts

Posted by PJTrader > 2013-11-08 16:39 |

thumxj

33 posts

Posted by thumxj > 2013-11-08 18:10 | Report Abuse

Unisem has strong cash flow as well. Just for short term purpose the current ratio is not that appealing. 3 years into Pn17 may not be easy also, it takes time to depreciate its asset.
I thought unisem and mpi having more or less the same product line with mpi? Probably the porpotion and product quality is different...look forward to see mpi result as well. I heard that there were product material rejection issues by both unisem and mpi's customer, not sure how true it is...

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-08 19:06 | Report Abuse

Lets wait for 4th quater result. You will be shock!!

thumxj

33 posts

Posted by thumxj > 2013-11-08 21:57 | Report Abuse

Are you working in mpi?

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-08 22:25 | Report Abuse

Nope. but i work in semicon industry for many years. current hot business is RF device which drive Inari to higher profit coz Avago is their prime customer. but RF devices can survive for how long? the smart phone technology advance too fast and if you compare 1st smart phone(6 years back) how many integrated circuit in the phone and current smart phone. i can tell you the chip is reduce by 50% coz of the Nano technology. the profit margin for subcon getting less coz Copper price keep on increasing causing the lead frame too expensive and RF reject rate is high. if you study the profit for local semicon industry is only 2% over revenue (if the borrowing is less) but if you look at Unisem borrowing (which is 500M+) imagine how much you have to pay interest PA?? and their revenue keep on decreasing. please go to study their operating cost VS revenue and predict for upcoming quarter profit or loss if the revenue keep on decreasing. by the way, is your choice to make decision coz is your money. i am not asking you to dump or stop you to buying this share. i just telling the truth what happen in semicon industry now.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-08 22:35 | Report Abuse

Yup...their margin is less than 2%. For mpi..its debt to equity ratio is quite low at 0.46...lower than 0.5 which is consider low debt...lets see their Q result. Then decide again since it's just a few weeks more. Ive bought in some at 2.9 though..

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-08 23:18 | Report Abuse

Sorry the debt to equity ratio is 0.16 for mpi

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-08 23:35 | Report Abuse

MPi has strong foundation support sure their dept is the lowest. okay, what is your Target price kakashi?? for me i will not touch semicon share, it is too uncertainty. any bad results from global semicon sale will push down the price.

thumxj

33 posts

Posted by thumxj > 2013-11-09 00:08 | Report Abuse

Mentioned about global semicon sale, it has been consecutive sales growth globally, who are the benefiaries?

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-09 00:23 | Report Abuse

Samsung, ASM, globalfoundries, ASE and etc

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-09 11:38 | Report Abuse

I don't have a firm price target as now but intend to ride it if it's 33% mobile sector generate higher profit for mpi. Like you say strong foundation n rebound from all time low at 2.4 ... position at 2.9 is my personal call then

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-09 11:41 | Report Abuse

Ppl like fairchild manage to maintain their revenue due to mobile sector as well. Intel trying hard to venture into mobile. Pc sales hard hit. Arm mcu is a hot IP as well from their low power low cost mcu. I'm from electronic sector as well Por

Posted by Por Soon Keong > 2013-11-09 11:47 | Report Abuse

You are right. Those company have their own patent. And they are main con. Like globtronic has their own patent. So making hugh profit. What does Mpi and Unisem has? They just ordinary subcon has to compete with world no1 subcon ASE to fight for lower price to get the business.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-09 12:31 | Report Abuse

Yup... so their profit margin is very low. Let's see how shocking it is when their Q report is out . All the best to you

Posted by bonescythe > 2013-11-14 18:57 | Report Abuse

One quarter earning already 9.43 cents. Dividend 5 cents... Geng la

izoklse

5,269 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2013-11-14 20:45 | Report Abuse

waaaaaa why im not buying this counter before.tomorrow sure up kaw kaw. will q early morning. the revenue increase from last year 318 Million to 330 Million and profit increase like crazy from 2 million last year to 23 million this year. EPS already 9.43 and dividend 5 cent. wow. the best.

Posted by jeffkenneth > 2013-11-14 22:44 | Report Abuse

Wow profit increased about 1200%!!!

izoklse

5,269 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2013-11-14 22:55 | Report Abuse

early Christmas angpau :-). Normally if MPI up then UNISEM also up. :-) .

Posted by jeffkenneth > 2013-11-14 23:22 | Report Abuse

Have fun tomorrow :D

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-14 23:41 | Report Abuse

Hahaha....bulls eye... So, congrates to those who hold

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-11-14 23:47 | Report Abuse

Luckily this counter stagnant even today! Close up only 1 cent! Nobody know about the quarter report! Hiddengem!

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-14 23:51 | Report Abuse

Por, this is sure a shocking profit results as you mention ... but maybe you predict the other way...

izoklse

5,269 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2013-11-14 23:57 | Report Abuse

This is really a shocking profit result. I also miss look this counter. never thought it will touch that huge profit and increase in their revenue simultaneously. I think the giant is waking up. it just wow.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-15 00:01 | Report Abuse

i enter at 2.9. I think probably can up our stake again tomorrow?

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-11-15 00:04 | Report Abuse

Shocking is the right word! Even the NTA is shocking at RM3.26 if not mistaken! I hate the word undervalue! But shocking! Just shocking!

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-11-15 00:05 | Report Abuse

The margin of safety is very strong! The margin for TP also very high! Its like buying something for sure make big money but just not move yet!

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2013-11-15 00:05 | Report Abuse

Yup...I think I am going to up my stake again tomorrow. They manage to increase their mobile segment to 33%. I think this is the major contribution