ORIENTAL HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): ORIENT (4006)

+0.12 (1.75%)

6.82 - 6.99

645 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookieNEW 14 hours ago

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 14:42 | Report Abuse

In that eventuality, the unrealised profit of 100mil should translate into more than RM0.15/share. A special dividend fo RM0.10/share should be in order. What say ya? ;p

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-20 15:03 | Report Abuse

Its extremely unlikely that the company will unwind the loans despite the significant accounting gain. But from a prudent view, they should at least pare down some JPY loans to take advantage of the currency depreciation. maybe 1B?

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 15:14 | Report Abuse

Yes, the gain will remain unrealised until such time that it is unwound.. Agree fully with your suggestion that the timing might be right to unwind the forex loans given the substantial forex gain. As a matter of fact, given the pile of cash they are sitting on, they are not only in the position to not only liquidate/unwind the entire borrowings of the company, they can even privatise ORIENT with the existing pile without chipping in with their own money.

Posted by Bedakong116 > 2022-04-20 22:24 | Report Abuse

The book value of investment prop is 1.1bn but market value is 2.7bn or 1.6bn unrealised gain or 2.6 per share! So revalued net asset almost 13.6! Even after a run up only 50% of RNAV!!

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-21 05:25 | Report Abuse

Difficult for them to privatize as GLC hold more than 10%

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-21 07:15 | Report Abuse

EPF caught selling cheap over the past 2 years...I can manage my investment funds 10x better than they mismanage the billions entrusted to them! No wonder ringgit is dropping to multi-year lows against US$ & S$ even as oil & CPO are at sky-high prices!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-21 10:17 | Report Abuse

7.00! =D

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-21 10:27 | Report Abuse

If the management / major shareholders were to do the right things (besides taking it private), RM7 is not even half of ORIENT's intrinsic value to me!

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-21 10:30 | Report Abuse

I mean if we consider the fact that many of its business segments (e.g. medical, automotive, hotels and even property investment) are bound to improve significantly upon re-opening of economies, the current valuation of RM7 may still be too low.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-21 10:32 | Report Abuse

7.05 =)

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-21 10:39 | Report Abuse

There is still plenty of headroom for profitability to improve. Actually they could have declared 100% of current year profit as cash dividends. The business would not be affected by such strategy as it already has too much cash on hand.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-21 10:48 | Report Abuse

7.10 =D

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-21 10:49 | Report Abuse

ORIENT is deeply undervalued at the moment. There are so many things the management could have done to improve profitability, market liquidity and even fairer reflection of its valuation. They even have two big plots of reclaimed lands (listed among 10 largest properties of the group) which are pending issuance of titles. Just imagine the explosion in its valuation if all these are to be unlocked.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-21 10:50 | Report Abuse

Could someone with influence please wake the management up?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-21 15:12 | Report Abuse

Suddenly shoot up to 7.11/7.15....where is wallstreetdummie? lol

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-23 19:20 | Report Abuse

The low price gives you opportunity to accumulate.

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-23 19:29 | Report Abuse

Low price give you opportunity to accumulate

Jimmy Lim

291 posts

Posted by Jimmy Lim > 2022-04-24 00:25 | Report Abuse

bonus coming

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-24 09:56 | Report Abuse

Now price is no longer low.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-25 09:59 | Report Abuse

Jimmy, where do you get the news that there is bonus? is that bonus issue? If it is true, time to add more ...

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-25 10:28 | Report Abuse

Why has epf stopped selling? I hope there are more sellers to push it below RM7..

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-25 17:15 | Report Abuse

The management can unlock value in many ways

1) Spin out the Automative business and list Kah motors as a seperate entity
2) Spin out the Hospitality business and form a REIT
3) GIVE BONUS ISSUE OF SHARES FRANKED OUT FROM RETAINED EARNINGS

I urge ALL SHAREHOLDERS HERE TO WRITE IN TO THE MANAGMENT AND DEMAND THEY DO A BONUS ISSUE OF SHARES!

Send in your request to them at this email:
ir@ohb.com.my

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-26 04:34 | Report Abuse

The new and younger chairman from the third generation may move the company in a dynamic manner.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 07:18 | Report Abuse

I'm sure there was quite a bit of private grumbling among my clients after I recommended a BUY @ ard 5.45 in Nov '20 for the dividend yield because it went down after that for months. I then re-recommended a long-term BUY @ 5.35 in Nov '21 & again no movement for 2 months. Now...=D

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 07:22 | Report Abuse

A vintage BMW was selling for Toyota prices for many many months...then finally the market recognised the value & bid the price up.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-26 10:31 | Report Abuse

The younger chairman may know what to do to generate better returns for the Company. The question is if he still has to report to old guards....

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-26 10:35 | Report Abuse

Actually there is no need for complicated corporate exercise to enhance shareholder value. What is needed is simply better cash dividends for shareholders. This is considered the low hanging fruits that can be harvested immediately. It makes perfect sense too as the Company does not seem to have any plan to utilise it at the moment. To retain loads of cash without doing anything is unacceptable as the inflation rate is super high now while bank interest rate is super low...

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-26 10:49 | Report Abuse

ORIENT should emulate what other businesses with good governance are doing. Declare a big special dividend and return the cash to shareholders. Let them decide what to do with their own money.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-26 10:52 | Report Abuse

Cash per share of around RM5 while share price is languishing at around RM7.10, while the company's many segments (automotive, medical, plantation, property etc.) are expected to generate even more cash in near future? Come on....

Posted by stockraider > 2022-04-26 11:46 | Report Abuse

Very smart analysis loh!
Posted by valueinvestor96 > 18 hours ago | Report Abuse

The management can unlock value in many ways

1) Spin out the Automative business and list Kah motors as a seperate entity
2) Spin out the Hospitality business and form a REIT
3) GIVE BONUS ISSUE OF SHARES FRANKED OUT FROM RETAINED EARNINGS

I urge ALL SHAREHOLDERS HERE TO WRITE IN TO THE MANAGMENT AND DEMAND THEY DO A BONUS ISSUE OF SHARES!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 16:28 | Report Abuse

M'sia has become a PARIAH market....shunned by foreign funds because of ENDEMIC corruption & daylight robbery widespread in govt. Only a handful of stocks are investible & Orient is at the top of my list.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 16:32 | Report Abuse

Crooks like Jho LOWest of the LOW & Naj!s think they are so clever, siphoning billion$ into their own pocket$(& they are idols to more ppl than we care to admit) yet they are stuuup!d in the sense they are accumulating bad karma blowback that they will have to pay for during many lifetimes...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 16:35 | Report Abuse

Ditto for Karam of Serbak...all this thievery is why the S$ is hitting a record high against worthless RM...& the US$ is rising also DESPITE soaring CPO & Crude oil prices.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-26 16:43 | Report Abuse

I hope a new govt gets elected & investigates how much kickbacks were paid to ppl who pushed through the vaccine agenda(gov spent $4.7 bil buying vaccines) & also the mysejahtera sleaziness. Don't think we're so much better than Sri Lanka which just went into insolvency!!

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-27 09:54 | Report Abuse

Finally starts to normalize... Hope it goes back to near RM6 for some reloads...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-27 16:40 | Report Abuse

Die hard Oriental fans finally throwing in the towel? Too late however to save shortist wallstreetdummie lol

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-29 04:12 | Report Abuse

This share.....buy for your grandchildrens

gohku

373 posts

Posted by gohku > 2022-04-29 10:53 | Report Abuse

Very good investment.
Its cash plus equity investment holdings exceed Rm 5.50 per share.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-29 11:12 | Report Abuse

As suggested by valueinvestor96, I also wrote to ir.ohb.com.my to request for a bonus issue but no reply from them. Can some of you also email them?

Golf123

92 posts

Posted by Golf123 > 2022-04-29 15:14 | Report Abuse

It's difficult to move them, went to one AGM, not too welcoming.

Family complications and very old conservative values prevent from more robust management, share has not really move last 20 years.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-29 15:45 | Report Abuse

Typical Cinaman company. As long as the old guards are still around and the younger generation is not given the mandate to do business differently, it will be difficult.... :(

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-29 15:48 | Report Abuse

Luckily they have a much younger chairman now. At the very least, the payout is around RM0.40/share. It used to be much lower (RM0.10 - RM0.20)...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-29 18:23 | Report Abuse

They won't listen to you small fries la....even aberdeen sold out @ a loss in 2020 rather than agitate for higher returns...how likely mgt will listen to ikan bilis like u?

Posted by stockraider > 2022-04-29 19:10 | Report Abuse

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ coming loh!

Posted by Fabien _the efficient capital allocator > 2022-04-29 22:47 | Report Abuse

Oriental is like a business with free optionality

You are getting paid to wait. or rather i am getting paid 6% on my 5.30 cost every year waiting for the market to adjust

Look at it this way, their cash itself is always 50-60% of their market cap. This company generates healthy earnings and free cash flow every year. so in no way it is a value trap. as investors, we are getting rewarded every year

The free optionality comes from increased in asset values which the market has for some reasons not pricing it in.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-05-10 14:58 | Report Abuse

Truly gravity-defying! Resisting all 3-digit drops in the Dow. Any viable explanation?

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-05-11 11:14 | Report Abuse

Looking at what happens in FAVCO's recent announcement of 85sen per share dividend and the subsequent rally in its share price, imagine what would happen if ORIENT decides to do the same thing...

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-05-11 11:17 | Report Abuse

ORIENT has a much deeper pocket with the huge cash piles they are sitting on. The issue is the major shareholder is so rich that it has no intention of cashing out anytime soon. Sigh.....

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-05-20 09:10 | Report Abuse

I have send an email to Oriental IR with the following suggestions but have yet to receive a reply. I will continue sending them emails daily until a satisfactory response is achieved

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-05-20 09:11 | Report Abuse

I urge everyone here to write in to the IR to let them know that company management is accountable to the shareholders and they must note shareholders concern and treat it with respect