BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

+0.03 (0.38%)

7.98 - 8.07

9 people like this.

12,617 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 1 day ago

kfbusjd

665 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2020-12-04 18:42 | Report Abuse

wait for another half year to observe qr result 1st. Dont like last time everybody goreng then price go up to rm30+ then result still bad and price back to rm10.

JohnFarmer458

1,797 posts

Posted by JohnFarmer458 > 2020-12-04 19:21 | Report Abuse

Next week BAT will be above rm14.50

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-12-04 20:55 | Report Abuse

BAT has not achieved RM2 / Day closed this week----I hope next week, Bat will Not disappoint
me again

kfbusjd

665 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2020-12-04 21:07 | Report Abuse

1.加强边境管控不代表打击走私(可能只针对非法外劳)
2.就算走私问题解决了 还是有vape JTI 这些竞争对手
3.没了走私烟的价格也不会下,没钱的买不起烟
所以清醒吧 这家公司没可能回到rm70的年代了。

longranger

220 posts

Posted by longranger > 2020-12-04 21:35 | Report Abuse

hunter70, i m in TG as well. bauto & bat. we think alike:))

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-12-04 22:23 | Report Abuse

Just don't believe my BAT turn green.. It is growing from strength to strength. Next qtr profit will prove everything.

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-12-05 00:50 | Report Abuse

Since many traders/investors like BAT, here's another great merit about BAT.
https://focusmalaysia.my/business/the-virtues-of-bat-malaysias-award-winning-annual-report/

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-12-05 01:01 | Report Abuse

ICYMI, here's some past information and what the managements did to gain back the market share. Not hard selling, buy only if you confident and understand the company. Happy investing :)

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/CatchTheBull/2020-01-31-story-h1482991851-Have_faith_in_BAT_British_American_Tobacco_Malaysia.jsp

observatory

1,059 posts

Posted by observatory > 2020-12-05 01:44 | Report Abuse

Let's recap BAT results in the past 16 quarters:

Quarter EPS DPS
9/30/2020 22.3 21
6/30/2020 19.1 18
3/31/2020 17.8 17
12/31/2019 34.2 33
9/30/2019 29.1 29
6/30/2019 26.7 26
3/31/2019 31.0 30
12/31/2018 40.8 47
9/30/2018 51.1 40
6/30/2018 38.6 35
3/31/2018 33.7 33
12/31/2017 28.4 43
9/30/2017 51.0 43
6/30/2017 51.6 43
3/31/2017 41.6 40
12/31/2016 101.3 77

Trailing 12-month EPS declined 62% from 245.5 sen to 93.4 sen. DPS declined 56% from 203 sen to 89 sen.

The share price declined 65% from RM37.86 three years ago (4 Dec 2017) to RM13.38 today.

BAT has been trading at a low price earlier for a very good reason.

Now the market sentiment has reversed after the government has vowed to raise revenue by cracking down on illicit cigarettes.

However, a share price recovery is only sustainable if EPS keeps on increasing in the coming quarters. It happened in 2018 when the share price rose 65% from RM23 to RM38, backed up by 3 consecutive quarters of EPS increase. But when EPS growth faltered after 2018, the share price collapsed again.

Whoever believes that BAT share price could grow back to RM30+ (last reached in 2018), let alone the all-time high of RM70+ (reached in 2014), needs to have a plausible story on how BAT EPS could keep on growing quarter after quarter.

Why illicit tobacco market share could be successfully rolled back this time whereas the effort failed in 2018?

Why is this time different?

14,630 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-12-05 06:52 | Report Abuse

I doubt if u can do well in stock mkt Dude

Vulture123

405 posts

Posted by Vulture123 > 2020-12-05 08:59 | Report Abuse

Trust Me 13,14,15,16,17,18,19, BINGO :-)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 09:00 | Report Abuse

Back to 60 kah?

DepecheM

810 posts

Posted by DepecheM > 2020-12-05 10:17 | Report Abuse

RM3 profit... very nice... keep going BATman

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 10:19 | Report Abuse

BATman is back.....alive and kicking

Posted by Fundamental123 > 2020-12-05 10:44 | Report Abuse

Hi Guys

WORLDWIDE MARKET SENTIMENT OVER VACCINE AND BIDEN’S POLICY

BAT has been on up trend since two week ago was not due to our talk that can push up the price but the market trend pushed up by big players and funds in group over certain positive factors.

We should think what are the strong factors for such stable or good trend market around the world ? ; and

What had made the world market so worried?

Of course, COVID-19 and US-China trade war which was triggered by unusual trump mindset over US self - interest without considering worldwide business interest that made markets worried .

NOW, WHAT HAVE MADE WORLDWIDE MARKET UP ?

US in-coming president, Biden friendly and pandemic concerned policy over the world ( more friendly to the World ) and VERY IMPORTANTLY, US, EUROPE, CHINA, AND JAPAN MONETARY POLICY where money flowed into market particularly share markets that have made those funds and big players come and buy back shares of good fundamental counters, such as blue chips in banking, oil n gas , telecommunications and do on.

CONCLUSION: Strong fundamental counters around the World will always benefit from the above factors.

lotuseater

151 posts

Posted by lotuseater > 2020-12-05 10:46 | Report Abuse

For those skeptics that do not believe BAT can relive their glory days, pls bear in mind the situation is different now. The government needs to crack down on illicit cigarettes to earn more tax revenue as its coffers are dry. The main benefactor of this is BAT - the price has been moving up because more & more people are aware of this..

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-12-05 11:11 | Report Abuse

This continued growth now means that 10% of BAT's revenues come from non-combustible categories. The company's Vuse/Vype brand is the leader in key markets around the world, as can be seen below, and is a great indicator of future growth.

=====.======.======.

UncleFollower

1,423 posts

Posted by UncleFollower > 2020-12-05 14:19 | Report Abuse

Well said.

CharlesT I doubt if u can do well in stock mkt Dude
05/12/2020 6:52 AM

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-12-05 14:58 | Report Abuse

RSI @ 88 but the buying momentum is still pretty strong. Will this bull take a break?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 15:00 | Report Abuse

Had rested so looooooooooong

Lot of energy now

huat ar

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-12-05 15:00 | Report Abuse

Trading views still on strong buy calls

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 15:02 | Report Abuse

Just sit back and relax ...while collecting dividend for the next few quarters.....and see how high it can go

JohnFarmer458

1,797 posts

Posted by JohnFarmer458 > 2020-12-05 15:04 | Report Abuse

Collecting dividend with limited downside. Capital gain is huge bonus

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-12-05 15:16 | Report Abuse

Already collected dividend twice with rough yield of 6.50 % against FD of 2%..Thanks to budget 2021..

Posted by Fundamental123 > 2020-12-05 15:33 | Report Abuse

Hi retail investors,

My two cents as follows:-

1) FUNDAMENTAL TECHNICAL ANALYSIS ON BAT

Other than just started good bull run market of KLCI following :-
i ) Vaccine hope into real action where UK, first country in the world, will be injecting vaccine ( it will be real action but in talk) ;

ii ) US incoming president, Biden Joe, who is pandemic prevention rather than triggering more serious COVID-19 by Donald Trump and Biden’s friendly negotiation policy for world; and

iii ) Low local interest rate and above factors have encouraged more funds and big players buying back good fundamental stocks like BAT ( Oligopoly business, one of best dividend policy under blue chip, good corporate governance management and new potential product, Vype ).

2) TECHNICAL POTENTIAL TARGET PRICE OF BAT’S SHARES

After funds and investors started buying shares in good fundamental stocks in banking, telecommunications , industrial & Services and so on.

Now, level of the stocks price resistance are important Reach BEFORE COVID-19 level in Jan -Feb 2020. For example of BAT, the level of price resistance that was in Jan 2020 was about RM15.00. This RM15.00 resistance level is to be tested technically in this current just indicated bull run.

3) ADVANTAGES OF EARLY BIRD

If you are retail investors, you have to analyse BAT very early and have good confidence in this stocks particularly in just indicated bull run currently and do not wait for reaching RM15.00 and then just to build up your confidence in this stock that will be quite late, higher risk in term of selling pressure for you (normally, most of retail investors always listen to Neighbouring friend without real study for taking responsibility for their real hard-earned money) as more investors might consider to sell the shares at RM15.00. Is it fair for you at that level of price ?

Furthermore, lower prices meaning lower risk of investment and more in quantity of shares are managed to be bought for higher margin of profit as compared to higher prices where you may just see clearer picture to just build up your confidence in this stocks.

Early analyse like above factors, huge volumes shares of fundamental counters ( but not penny stocks) traded like BAT indicates funds buying and big players exist that are able to push up the shares prices in the past weeks and coming as well in good market run, technical analysis like EPS, financial performance and dividend policy plus mgt.

From Market sentiment view of point, firstly coming vaccine action and secondly Biden taking president position in Jan 2021 that have become most motivation to share markets other than China economy recovery.

Hope these can help you more and less and good luck to All of you !

JohnFarmer458

1,797 posts

Posted by JohnFarmer458 > 2020-12-05 15:49 | Report Abuse

Big funds continue accumulating BAT since last week, based on homily chart this big fund not going to just push to rm16-rm17 Potentially pushing to over rm20 by next year. My TP to end of 2021 is rm37

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-12-05 16:10 | Report Abuse

Technically there No resistance to any upwards momentum. BAT came down from 70.
Both 800 lbs, Gorillas EPF and Kwsp had totally unloaded. If this 2 losers try to Buy back next
2 weeks, then you would see alot "elbows" being throws. When ikan Bilis sees money, they
really dont care you got bigger fist then theirs

freeze789

234 posts

Posted by freeze789 > 2020-12-05 16:31 | Report Abuse

I thought epf or kwsp cannot buy this stock anymore..because it's categories as non-shariah stock.
anywhere with or without them will not bring impact to bat.

virust

552 posts

Posted by virust > 2020-12-05 16:51 | Report Abuse

Most defensive stock in the world regardless pandemic, air pollution, flood, politics etc

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 16:52 | Report Abuse

Right.....tested and proven again this year

virust

552 posts

Posted by virust > 2020-12-05 17:04 | Report Abuse

Don't underestimate retail investor. since outbreak foreign investor offload so many share in emerging market however retailer overtake they position and push up so many stock price to the new record high that we never see before. BAT major shareholder is it parent company thus no insider information available to those minor institution investor to speculate the share price. epf also offload long time ago and won't return due to shariah compliance but company fundamental never change. And from other side, National fund of Singapore still hold tight they portion and keep smile with div.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2020-12-05 17:16 | Report Abuse

I'm holding even if it goes to 20.00. At least for sure I get more than a few dividends that will offset all the commissions when I sell off my shares eventually...maybe @ 35 =)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2020-12-05 17:18 | Report Abuse

I've sold this share before @ $51 as recently as 2016.

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-12-05 17:52 | Report Abuse

Don't talk so good about BAT, those who see the potential already parked in their funds here. Let the EPS each quarter do the talking. I prefer the price growth 15 to 20% each quarter. But obviously, price below 16 still undervalue GEM. Price range 16 to 22 is reasonable, above 22 is outperform bonus. I will come back to this BAT forum again by Q3Y21 or earlier if this price achievable. Do your homework, Happy Investing :)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 18:29 | Report Abuse

Just simply call it a goose that lays golden eggs will do for now

freeze789

234 posts

Posted by freeze789 > 2020-12-05 20:28 | Report Abuse

bat had crossed over worst scenario q1-q3 2020 for covid-19 market crisis.

just compare their eps bat vs topglove vs uwc you can get ur answer.

freeze789

234 posts

Posted by freeze789 > 2020-12-05 20:29 | Report Abuse

talk so much no point..so never collect will keep said bad thing of the stop..so have do homework will wait for next TP price. eps will tell everything

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 20:30 | Report Abuse

eps will go back to 50

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-12-05 20:41 | Report Abuse

DJIA up 248 pts, BAT already 7 consecutive trading days up, will we be able to see BAT break another record?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 20:42 | Report Abuse

This is going to be an unprecedented post-covid Tobby-inspired Vaccinated Superbull

Posted by StockHunters > 2020-12-05 21:33 | Report Abuse

Don't understand people that doubt this stock.
This is the golden stock of 2020.

TP by March 2021 = RM 20 and above. Simple as that.

BAT = STRONG STOCK, buy and go to sleep, no worries at all.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-05 21:35 | Report Abuse

Right. Whence to do bottom fishing

60.00 coming.....huat ar

freeze789

234 posts

Posted by freeze789 > 2020-12-05 22:29 | Report Abuse

stock hunters..you are right!!

Posted by StockHunters > 2020-12-05 22:54 | Report Abuse

Thanks freeze.

My current holdings

BAT
TAWIN

these 2 only. buy and sleep with a smile.

Posted by StockHunters > 2020-12-05 22:55 | Report Abuse

sorry not current holdings* current holdings that i know i dont have to monitor daily*

wkc5657

286 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2020-12-06 13:45 | Report Abuse

usually, 7 trading days green without a breather, must close red a bit, if not too bullish, correction will be harsh...

weirdly to say, i wish monday small red or next whole week range bound before continuing uptrend.

slow slow go up better than rocket up with too much retail chasing...

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-06 13:48 | Report Abuse

How the market moves in unpredictable.....but BATman is back - alive and kicking.....this is real

And for good

60.00 coming

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-12-06 13:54 | Report Abuse

I remember blue chip like BAT sort of will jump and not climbing slowly these way the many retail will be hesitated to chase ,It could jump by from 1-2.50 ,for the muscles of these funds are very strong and Bat is their top favoring it they decided to return.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-06 13:56 | Report Abuse

Clear sign (leaked footage)...they're returning

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-12-06 14:02 | Report Abuse

I am glade be able to collected as low as 9.50 and most are between10.50 to 10.02,Cheer ,collected 4th time the dividen in 2020,let see 16 is immediate resistant ,if break will chanlleng to break 20 by Feb