OSK HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): OSK (5053)

-0.01 (0.64%)

1.55 - 1.56

13 people like this.

7,506 comment(s). Last comment by sephiroth 1 day ago

SP0094701

654 posts

Posted by SP0094701 > 2014-09-24 23:19 | Report Abuse

Drop lah no hope liao ......then enter again better below 1.6

Xiaoxiao

69 posts

Posted by Xiaoxiao > 2014-09-25 00:01 | Report Abuse

It is close to the bottom now. Current price is attractive to everyone including the major shareholders. If they don't buy at current price, they may have to pay for higher prices to investors who really know how to buy low sell high. Do not hope the price to retreat to RM 1.75. This is because after a few months the business value has been increasing and strengthened by a good result in recent financial report. The NAV is increasing at the speed of almost RM 0.15 a year after deducting the dividend pay out. Based on these facts, it is very difficult for it to drop below RM 2.00. Those who do not want to miss the opportunities and aim to be generally right will give strong support at price slightly higher than RM 2 which makes me think that current price of RM 2.06 is already close to bottom.

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-09-25 04:09 | Report Abuse

I do not want anyone to lose hard earned money on Osk. At 2.14 it was worth buying, as the up side was 50% more than the down side. IF no merger were to take place, which is highly unlikely, panic selling will push the price down to around 1.75. All positive reasons and information will be thrown out of the window. It will be over sold before it bounce up again. Investors sell out of fear, that is human behavior. Need to be aware of the psychology side of investing as well as the numerical side. The good thing about investing in share is, you do not realize your lost if you don't sell. Don't add momentum to the herd mentality which will help to depress the price even more. If the future is bright for Osk, why do you want to sell. Agree with Xiaoxiao that it is close to the bottom now. In the event the merger is on, Osk will reach 2.75 being it's NTA value, more if ong gives you at lease half the new entity shares. Rarely normal investors can time to perfection when to buy and sell shares because you do not have perfect information or the financial muscle to do so.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-09-25 08:01 | Report Abuse

While hibernating I had a 'dream'. OSK gives 20 sen special dividend, 15 sen cash distribution and 7.5 sen second interim dividend and the share price rises to RM 3.10. WAH!!!! OLH so good --- and then I woke up and saw that the share price of OSK is RM _____. Wooo, Woooo.

lucky8888

131 posts

Posted by lucky8888 > 2014-09-25 08:05 | Report Abuse

just buy...dont talk 3 talk 4..

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-09-25 18:31 | Report Abuse

Something odd? OSK Property Holdings Bhd. just announces an interim dividend of 5 sen payable on 30/10/14. (At this time of the year??). Ah! ha! news coming ,,, patience man.

SP0094701

654 posts

Posted by SP0094701 > 2014-09-25 21:15 | Report Abuse

This period osk property always give dividen also on lasr year..nonthing

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-09-26 10:27 | Report Abuse

Osk management, good work, see share price is fighting back. This is what we call good stewardship, because the person at the helm understands how reality works: The only way to survive is to fight back, don't back down before atrocities. Anyway, the stock market is skittish because US is fighting a war again ISS, and American are nervous normally in September. But life goes on, all this uncertainty will fade over time, let us see coming October.

AdCool

3,862 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2014-09-26 11:35 | Report Abuse

Any latest update on the merger. It seems quiet down already?

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-09-26 14:08 | Report Abuse

Hope today Najib is doing some PR work for the New Islamic Bank to US fund managers.

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-09-26 14:11 | Report Abuse

wonder why OSK keep dropping for last few days

Posted by superman123 > 2014-09-26 18:42 | Report Abuse

Just buy next week news comming .

paulthesotong

2,717 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2014-09-26 19:00 | Report Abuse

Aabar said to work with Goldman Sachs on Option on Rhb stakes. Bloomberg.

SP0094701

654 posts

Posted by SP0094701 > 2014-09-28 10:21 | Report Abuse

The merger news was on ..... see next week osk performance hope can rebound back and continues fly to rm3.00

xn7891

68 posts

Posted by xn7891 > 2014-09-29 16:05 | Report Abuse

like no hope liao~

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-09-29 16:10 | Report Abuse

My guess is extension Lah. 3 months mana cut up to do such big deals

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-09-29 17:39 | Report Abuse

Cimb went up 20 sen today................must be good news!!! Trade at own risk

damagpie

281 posts

Posted by damagpie > 2014-09-29 17:47 | Report Abuse

CIMB go up not good news le. If RHB goes up is good news..

share2014

404 posts

Posted by share2014 > 2014-09-29 20:30 | Report Abuse

Luckily managed to sell 2.18

Xiaoxiao

69 posts

Posted by Xiaoxiao > 2014-09-29 23:03 | Report Abuse

Did u notice one thing in today's OSK trade: The volume to buy at higher prices are very big compares to the volume to sell at lower prices. Well, I do not know much about technical analysis but can someone who is more experienced to explain this to us?

Xiaoxiao

69 posts

Posted by Xiaoxiao > 2014-09-29 23:04 | Report Abuse

I am guessing that someone is trying to distort the supply the demand. How likely is this?

Posted by Wong Kah Wei > 2014-09-29 23:42 | Report Abuse

Xiaoxiao i think so.

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-10-01 01:20 | Report Abuse

Instead of looking for ways to get around Aabar, EPF should confront the problem of valuing Rhb at 12 ringgit. EPF will benefit from the higher valuation too as the largest shareholder.It is only fair to have a special purpose company to exchange for the shares of the 3 banks. Rhb valued at 12 , Cimb at 8.5 and Mbsb at 3. The mega bank should command a premium price, it should beat Pbb hands down. Why worry about valuing 20% more for Rhb. Aabar is not holding 100% of Rhb. It seems that everyone is forgetting that this a merger and the future profit of the mega bank is the most important thing. Paying 20% more is peanuts compared to what the mega bank will get back in profits in the future. Not to mention the Arabs are threatening to pull out billions in investment in Malaysia. You do not throw away the whole chicken just because you do not want to eat the skin. It would be a pity for Malaysia to lose out just because of 20%.

lucky8888

131 posts

Posted by lucky8888 > 2014-10-01 10:20 | Report Abuse

actually not only aabar kena liwat...all malaysian employees kena liwat...bcoz instead of getting a better deal we end bailing out two rotten cos!!! msia boleh ...pui!!

lucky8888

131 posts

Posted by lucky8888 > 2014-10-01 10:32 | Report Abuse

bursa shd not grant them the waiiver to vote...bcoz the rule clear states that...they cant vote!!..if bursa grant them the waiver then bursa might as well close shop...acting in concert to deny protection of minorities shareholders...they r supposed to enforce the rule !!

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-10-01 15:43 | Report Abuse

If Cimb miss this opportunity and Maybank is handed the chance to do this merger, Cimb will have a hard time catching up. Cimb merging with HLB or PBB, I don't see how this can happen.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-10-02 12:56 | Report Abuse

today is a sad day for the OSK stable of "horses".

Posted by Wong Kah Wei > 2014-10-02 15:16 | Report Abuse

why....everyday down...??

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-10-02 15:17 | Report Abuse

There are investors willing to take the risk at these prices, 2.10-2.15. They are the buyers. Volume more than 1 mil.

sonic

29 posts

Posted by sonic > 2014-10-02 16:17 | Report Abuse

Announcement on CIMB-RHB merger news starting to leak out. Announcement coming on 8 October.

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-10-02 17:01 | Report Abuse

Dear Gheekong, Yes there are buyers --- but more sellers; that's why share price keeps tumbling down.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-10-02 20:53 | Report Abuse

Managed to sell 6,000 shares at RM2.43 in August 2014 n still holding some more to test the price pending the announcement of the metger.

Xiaoxiao

69 posts

Posted by Xiaoxiao > 2014-10-02 22:29 | Report Abuse

If the merger is called off, it should be a good news for RHB shareholders. Merging with CIMB is like marrying to a poor guy because NPL of CIMB is much higher. Look for other guys, such as Maybank.

Remisier

100 posts

Posted by Remisier > 2014-10-02 23:36 | Report Abuse

Osk, sell call for this.

Gheekong

132 posts

Posted by Gheekong > 2014-10-03 00:57 | Report Abuse

Vinvin you are correct that there are more investors willing to sell at a lower price. The number of buyers must equal to the numbers of sellers otherwise there won't be any transaction done. So there are investors willing to take up the risk of holding Osk's shares. That is why you should not panic and sell at such a low price. If you are selling at a discount, the price of the share will tumble. The only way to stop the share from tumbling is to stop panic selling. As I have said, Osk will diversify and can double it's profit. Osk can easily borrow 1 billion. I am not surprise if ong has been accumulating Osk shares over the past few weeks. Ong knows he can get a buyer for Rhb shares which is why he wanted to take Osk private. Rhb of old, when Aabar bought in, is so different from what it is today. Kam has done a great job in integrating Osk investment bank, the success is beginning to show in the profits of Rhb. Big funds will buy Osk shares when Osk has acquired new businesses. At present they are not allowed to do so because Osk is considered a small company. The future is still bright for Osk with or without the merger. I don't think this time ong can take Osk private at anything less than 2.50. Offer should be nearer to NTA value to stand any chance of being successful.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-06 21:02 | Report Abuse

根據股神巴菲特: 買股票投資人只要抓住兩個重點, (1)得到的報酬會有多少(得到) (2)投資時間有多長(付出). “孙子兵法” 只能用來判斷股市進場的時間點,股市是否已經到達絕處逢生的好買點. 僅此特點. 而且, “孙子兵法” 只提到天時,地利,人和, 藉由此“孙子兵法” 斷定打戰的好時機,但是這其中還少了一樣, 不然, 這個天下早就屬於曹超或朱葛亮了. 冷眼先生.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-06 21:23 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, the merger is a neutral for OSK, it only has such a value of NTA RM2.70 and it will stay this way. Why? In the short term, the merger is not producing any realizable profit for any party. In the long run, the combined entity might perform better or worst, nobody knows, because it is long term, how can anyone be sure? So, nobody is collecting profits now, for rhb or for osk, why do share price go up. Man. No need to follow fundamental in buying stocks is like guessing. Buy 4 D or 1+3 is the same, maybe that way you can make more money, no need to waste your brain think here and think, right Gheekong? You are so green! Ther merger has a risk, it could dilute OSK's shareholding in the combined entity and dilute is gain on dividends from the parent. Now, 9.5% in rhb, but later on maybe 2% or 3% left in the combined entity, it this a good thing Gheekong, ask your parents if you don't know.

happyman

168 posts

Posted by happyman > 2014-10-06 21:25 | Report Abuse

kian leong lim, it is wrong for you to say that warren buffet consider investment in terms of how long the investment ....in fact the core of value investment is not to consider when , when is about timing , timing is speculation . value investment is about finding value and not to consider about timing , time fame , in fact according to warren buffet time frame should be forever as long as the is good value ........please don't confuse yourself and confuse others

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-10-06 22:10 | Report Abuse

Gheekong has an analytical mind; (whether he is right or wrong remains to be seen.) He is not green. I hope Gheekong is not offended by Kian Leong Lim. As I have said in the past; OSK won't move because OLH is tight-fist and shareholders won't get much out of the company.

vinvin

4,479 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2014-10-07 08:58 | Report Abuse

True hanting999, the price movement of OSK is more or less controlled by OLH n he can make it goes up sky high if he wants to..............all depend on him!!! Trade at own risk

Posted by ericoconut > 2014-10-07 14:13 | Report Abuse

Any leaking news on mega-bank merger?

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-10-07 15:10 | Report Abuse

To quote my acquaintance, Leno Tsu, "BOH CHOW, CCCCCCCC AAAAAAAAAHHH."

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-07 18:13 | Report Abuse

Gheekong, happyman, and vinvin: I only want everyone to make money even though we might disagree with our viewpoints. It is a fact in life that money can not be made by us very easily. The discussions will help us to find a good way to invest in stocks. I strongly believe that we should not speculate at what will happan today or tomorrow or what. If we are to take action on something, I do hope we are able to come up with at least some comfortable reason first. Be cool by keeping our mind very open and clear now. please go to this website to take a look. http://www.quoteswise.com/warren-buffett-quotes-3.html
When you go work for someone, when you go buy something from someone, you always talk about price (cost) and value (happiness). In investing, time is the cost! To Warren Buffett, RM$1 today is worth the RM$10 in 10 years later when you count backwards using the the time value of money. RM$1 (now)=RM$10 (in 10 years). Money becoming small or less in value gradually after 10 years. I am giving you the clue as to what he meant by value (please love your parents, sisters and brothers, and friends more and more each day and you will know what it is like to be a very happy man and happiness is priceless). value = happiness. That is why he bought coca-cola, ice cream chain, donut chain, hamburger chain, furniture marts, chocolate bars, ketchup, car dealership, and a bunch of companies that bring happiness to people.He brags a lot of times about how happy he is with his life because he is seeing himself living the most valuable (nothing money can buy) life on earth just by being the happiest person on earth. Gheekong: why your uncle Warren told you so many times and you still don't listen or see!

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-10-07 18:31 | Report Abuse

I forgot to ask you a question happyman: Would you think that all mentally normal human being if he is a happy person (like the happyman on I3Investor) will be hoping that that his happiness will last forever or for as long as possible? please do tell me! would you please? I don't know because my father didn't tell me this before( a small price for you to pay don't be angry). I wrote these silly comments only when I am really bored with life.

SP0094701

654 posts

Posted by SP0094701 > 2014-10-08 13:50 | Report Abuse

Hope the deals closed well. Otherwise we will get caught in falling knife!

hanting999

463 posts

Posted by hanting999 > 2014-10-08 14:27 | Report Abuse

Yep, it is obvious the deal will go through. But, what about OSK? If the past is any indication, I fear the worst for OSK. The signs are there. The axe will fall. Quote: "BOH CHOW SEE AAAAAAAAAH.

SP0094701

654 posts

Posted by SP0094701 > 2014-10-08 14:48 | Report Abuse

CHOW YA SEE BOH CHOW YA SEE AAAH....SO SAD I ENTER IN HIGHER PRISE...SEE WHEN HAVE MAGIC SHOW LOH :<

Posted by Wong Kah Wei > 2014-10-08 15:00 | Report Abuse

唉!投机变投资囖。

5percent

225 posts

Posted by 5percent > 2014-10-08 16:27 | Report Abuse

cost average..wait the entry price