MALAYSIA STEEL WORKS (KL)BHD

KLSE (MYR): MASTEEL (5098)

0.32 - 0.33

18 people like this.

14,813 comment(s). Last comment by rizal2020 2 days ago

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-02-08 09:00 | Report Abuse

end year esp nov dec construction slow down, i dont expect it can beat prev qtr. >25m good enough

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-02-08 09:02 | Report Abuse

when result out sure still have upside refer all high 1.83

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-02-08 09:22 | Report Abuse

I look into my masteel holding. Was asking myself should i hold or pare down my holding while still in profit. But then again, seeing the mega-project that recently announced and coming in this 1 or 2 years, i become very optimistic on steel counter. I know masteel won't get all the project but can't be denied that the demand will be higher compared to last 5 yrs and this will rise all steel counter project. So, i decided to continue to hold loh and will add more if on weakness....

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-02-08 09:26 | Report Abuse

also, i'm reading robert kuok memoir. A very good book. He says when he trade sugar, he don't look at chart. He look at what presence offer and what is upcoming. Hope the same logic still holds......hehe

joeshare

538 posts

Posted by joeshare > 2018-02-08 09:36 | Report Abuse

@titus yup very good book.. but to be fair "what is upcoming"<--- would really help if you have "helpfull" info.. for example if trading sugar and somehow someone told you a certain big country is running out of sugar then wouldn't this information make your prediction better ;p

WaAdaLui

1,225 posts

Posted by WaAdaLui > 2018-02-08 09:49 | Report Abuse

Sold all @1.54

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-02-08 09:49 | Report Abuse

Hi Joe, indeed true if we have the helpful info. Actually, we do. As for construction, it is printed all over. Look at the youtube link where one of the members shared. I guess the difference is the sugar tradng is more fluid because is it consumables while steel is not. But i guess the demand for steel for the on going and up coming projects should bring steel to a good price. So, now just ride with the trend loh. On the question whether the property is oversupply or not, i consider it to be not so relevent. What is important is now project is booming and steel is needed. 5 yrs later?...i might have let go masteel long before that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nvf2WRQnkZ8

csl1991

245 posts

Posted by csl1991 > 2018-02-08 10:01 | Report Abuse

I noticed that most people focus only on the demand side of the equation and totally forget about the supply side. On the demand side, some argue that demand remains healthy due to a slew of mega and rail projects while others argue that property is slowing down with less residential and commercial buildings built.

While both could be true and the effects may offset each other, the optimism on the supply side does not change. Cheap steels imported from China which once killed our local steel manufacturers were long gone since the implementation of duties and tariffs. Steel price has risen to healthy and profitable level in recent times. The duties and tariffs are here to stay for at least several more years.

Another positive factor is that China remains committed to its steel capacity cut. To quote from Reuters, "China aims to meet its target for reducing steel production capacity two years earlier than planned, the industry ministry said in a statement on Wednesday, as the world’s top steel producer ramps up its years-long push to reduce excess output"
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-steel/china-aims-to-meet-2020-target-for-steel-capacity-cuts-this-year-warns-on-resumption-idUSKBN1FR10M

csl1991

245 posts

Posted by csl1991 > 2018-02-08 10:05 | Report Abuse

For the steel industry, the supply factor is way more important than the demand factor. If China's cheap steel is still lying around, it will be pointless no matter how high the demand for steel is because our construction companies will just use cheap China steel. You can have all the mega projects, rail projects, hundreds and thousands of buildings, residential condo etc built but it does not mean anything to our steel manufacturers if the construction companies don't buy from them.

csl1991

245 posts

Posted by csl1991 > 2018-02-08 10:19 | Report Abuse

This is just my assumption with no proof, but I believe the management is issuing bonus issue because they are expecting a stellar result. As you know, bonus issue increases the number of shares and consequently lowers the EPS. However, this negative effect can be mitigated if they are reporting a high profit in the coming quarter, therefore offsetting the lowering of EPS. This is merely my belief and opinion, but it could happen.

Posted by Steven Tan > 2018-02-08 10:20 | Report Abuse

no worries about China steel...anti dumping duties are in place for the next 3 years. So our steel industries will be profitable till then...just like last 3 years all export companies were making tons of money due to the favourable foreign exchange rate of their sale in US dollars. Now it is game over for them. It's steel companies' turn.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-02-08 10:31 | Report Abuse

economic demand vs supply. both side have effect. must look both.

kevin008

1,360 posts

Posted by kevin008 > 2018-02-08 10:45 | Report Abuse

2 more trading days bonus ex hehe
hold tight

WaAdaLui

1,225 posts

Posted by WaAdaLui > 2018-02-08 11:54 | Report Abuse

Morning UP, Evening DOWN ?

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2018-02-08 11:55 | Report Abuse

yup

aslm

379 posts

Posted by aslm > 2018-02-08 11:57 | Report Abuse

Regretted because sold out too fast? Now want to talk bad?

WaAdaLui Morning UP, Evening DOWN ?
08/02/2018 11:54

WaAdaLui Sold all @1.54
08/02/2018 09:49

WaAdaLui Alamak 1.51 matched!!!
07/02/2018 16:45

WaAdaLui Matched 1.52, support sikit sikit
07/02/2018 15:12

Mygdd

Posted by Mygdd > 2018-02-08 11:57 | Report Abuse

Afternoon turn black

STC1136

977 posts

Posted by STC1136 > 2018-02-08 12:04 | Report Abuse

aslm, short term traders aim for up & down, therefore can earn small money.

hope he really can win at the end....

WaAdaLui

1,225 posts

Posted by WaAdaLui > 2018-02-08 12:05 | Report Abuse

Haha.... okok I talk good.... Up Up Up, Buy Buy Buy. Come join de FLYING ROCKET!!!

STC1136

977 posts

Posted by STC1136 > 2018-02-08 12:08 | Report Abuse

with this month going to announce Q4 results, it will only enchance the confident of Masteel investers which most of us estimate Masteel can earn good profit, hope so this round can announce dividends, should be the "highest" over the 10 years...

After Ex bonus total share 427mil, if Masteel give 5 cents div, cash paid out 21.35mil. Hope it can be realized.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-02-08 13:00 | Report Abuse

Past 4 qtrs only prev qtr superb at 38m, if the next 3 qtr earn ave 25m, annually earn >100m.
let say 100m / 427m = EPS 23 cents. TP 1.80, PE = 7.8

FY18 growth will be superb. Definitely for long term hold.

GG_Liang

1,008 posts

Posted by GG_Liang > 2018-02-08 13:27 | Report Abuse

呵呵

aslm

379 posts

Posted by aslm > 2018-02-08 13:46 | Report Abuse

looks like most of people just targeting net earning of 25mil in Q4. Any number above 25mil is definitely a good news!

Posted by Babihutan88 > 2018-02-08 13:59 | Report Abuse

35m here

Posted by Lim Kentphang > 2018-02-08 14:14 | Report Abuse

lol aim lower.. better yoy is already good .. i ady very happy

kevin008

1,360 posts

Posted by kevin008 > 2018-02-08 15:10 | Report Abuse

average selling price higher...scap iron price lower...demand higher(Suke , duke 3, mrt2, lrt3, pan borneo)
I think Q4 PBT should be better (Q3 24m)

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2018-02-08 15:55 | Report Abuse

I call Trump just now, he said today DJ down another 1k point.

JN888

6 posts

Posted by JN888 > 2018-02-08 16:02 | Report Abuse

I call Trump just now, he said today DJ down another 10k point.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2018-02-08 16:24 | Report Abuse

LOLOLO

Force

1,418 posts

Posted by Force > 2018-02-08 16:28 | Report Abuse

Don't buy now buy after sure got lower price can jump in... After bonus issue . .. u think will direct fly after bonus issue... recently Market so bad

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-02-08 16:52 | Report Abuse

almost correct

=>
SuperPanda Tomorrow may try to rebound 1 more time to 1.60
07/02/2018 19:21

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2018-02-08 17:05 | Report Abuse

DJ already sold down, only those punters want it further down so that they can collect cheap shares with all sort of conflicting news spread by analyst and economist.

Posted by Tom > 2018-02-08 17:09 | Report Abuse

你怎么不在三个月前买呢?现在才说会drop a lot....让我来告诉你为什么,因为你不可能会买,涨了你说涨太多了fully valued 了,跌的时候你会说downtrend会被套牢.....lol

Posted by Force > Feb 8, 2018 04:28 PM | Report Abuse

Don't buy now buy after sure got lower price can jump in... After bonus issue . .. u think will direct fly after bonus issue... recently Market so bad

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-02-08 17:40 | Report Abuse

今天的亮点, 赞!

Posted by Tom > Feb 8, 2018 05:09 PM | Report Abuse
你怎么不在三个月前买呢?现在才说会drop a lot....让我来告诉你为什么,因为你不可能会买,涨了你说涨太多了fully valued 了,跌的时候你会说downtrend会被套牢.....lol

aslm

379 posts

Posted by aslm > 2018-02-08 17:43 | Report Abuse

Well say.. Tom!

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2018-02-08 18:13 | Report Abuse

Because he dunno how to value a value of company....LOLOL

GG_Liang

1,008 posts

Posted by GG_Liang > 2018-02-08 18:31 | Report Abuse

算命师。比warren buffett 厉害。

xiaoqing88

504 posts

Posted by xiaoqing88 > 2018-02-08 18:31 | Report Abuse

two more days to buy in masteel. By obviously, people not interested in new BONUS shares. HAHA

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-08 18:55 | Report Abuse

Stock Market Investment In Malaysia And Singapore
by Soon Kean Neoh

this is an excellent book for fundamental analysis...v detailed explanation of basic concepts in stock like:

(1) what drives a mania/ speculation
(2) how to value a stock - earning yield or dividend yield ( the author prefers a dividend valuation approach)
(3) why bonus issue/ right issue/ stock split should be (and treated as) a non event

(book review by Joseph, in goodreads)

bluebiznet

1,179 posts

Posted by bluebiznet > 2018-02-08 18:58 | Report Abuse

Relax la all bros and sists.... Bonus issue it nothing news, it not surprise either, so ple*ase do not expect a SURPRISE UP, it wont happens, be it ex date or what... Just relax and hold the share to maximise your profit...

GG_Liang

1,008 posts

Posted by GG_Liang > 2018-02-08 19:23 | Report Abuse

呵呵

GG_Liang

1,008 posts

Posted by GG_Liang > 2018-02-08 19:25 | Report Abuse

Bonus issue does have a purpose for very expensive stocks. Not sure why cheap Malaysian stocks have so many bonus issues though

Posted by EveryoneCanTrade > 2018-02-08 19:55 | Report Abuse

The Company Owner like to said Reward Shareholder with Bonus issue. Actually, what is the reward, end up the share price is divided, and there is a delay few days to become available in shareholders account. They use no use REWARD this keyword , really LPPL.

Posted by EveryoneCanTrade > 2018-02-08 19:57 | Report Abuse

If I am a boss, I will reward my employee with money change, which they give me Rm 100 note, I split it into Rm 10 note x 10 pieces, and give them Rm 10 x 5 the same days another Rm 10 x 5 will reward them after 3 days. IT IS CALL REWARD ?

bluebiznet

1,179 posts

Posted by bluebiznet > 2018-02-08 20:18 | Report Abuse

You are such a bad boss. If me, i will exchange 100 to 10x rm10 and give them all on the spot.. And gong xi fa cai.. Bonus settled foe this year

Posted by EveryoneCanTrade > 2018-02-08 21:03 | Report Abuse

HAHAHHAA, see this is the words on REWARD the shareholder, really TALK COCK.

Teong77

26 posts

Posted by Teong77 > 2018-02-09 07:34 | Report Abuse

US share big drop last night.

Posted by immortallhs > 2018-02-09 08:49 | Report Abuse

HOld tight. Don't Panic

Posted by EveryoneCanTrade > 2018-02-09 08:53 | Report Abuse

LET us HOLD it, and bring it up, make this counter a miracle counter