heavy rain in thailand .... Bengkok flooded ???? .... Jay-see-why again to benefit ????? i thought yingluck already settled the problem ... hehehe too pretty to be prime minister lol
Thanawat Jarupongsakul of Chulalongkorn University told a seminar that Bangkok would likely see torrential rain this weekend between Saturday and Monday.
Working for the science faculty's unit for disaster and land information studies, Thanawat believes the best way for Bangkok to avoid a flood disaster this year is to drain most of the water out of its canals.
"There is a very high risk that storms will hit the country in the next two months," he said.
Low-pressure ridges have stagnated over the country for longer than usual, making it impossible for storms to come in so far this year.
"But this means the Central region will get hit by a few storms around October and November just like in 1990, 1996 and 2006," he said.
Bangkok's flood risk this year will be from storms, not run-off from the upper part of the country, he added.
Bangkok Governor MR Sukhumbhand Paribatra told the media that the heavy rainfall in the capital from September 4-23 produced 444 million cubic metres of water, or about half of the Pasak Jolasid reservoir.
Floods, hard disk demand, minimum wage etc. - all these are factors that will definitely decide on the company's business performance. Presumably, these will also affect the share price. But it's fascinating to note that one can use the above factors to argue BOTH ways :-)
With counters like this, I feel "current sentiments" will decide on which direction the price goes. Investors/traders/speculators are very fickle - don't be surprised should the present jittery sentiments are checked and everyone suddenly becomes optimistic. We have seen this happening so many times.
From a gloomy 0.78 earlier to 0.815 at the moment - *what* has changed for JCY business-wise during the last couple of hours? Nothing. Sentiments and perception are a lot more important. If momentum is created, I wouldn't be surprised if it shoots past 0.90. This is a trader's counter and not really "investor's" although its dividends are decent enough.
For all you know, it might go back down to 0.78 after this:-P But that's it - no one really knows what will happen after this. We can discuss and argue using all the known factors. However, there are the unknowns and other variables that will come into play, of which we can't quantify to predict the movements. The best that we can do is to evaluate what we do know and then make a decision on whether to buy and at what price.
Anyway, regardless of how the price will be after this, 0.78 is definitely not a sucker's price. One has to take risks in an effort to make profits.
JCY Falls 6% On Force-selling And Market-maker Activity JCY International continues to drop in afternoon trade on force-selling and market-maker activity after opening lower in early trade. Four trading days ago when the stock had been sold down to 94 sen, many traders had misjudged the timing of a rebound, said one dealer. This lead many contra players being forced to sell the stock in advance based on the T+3 settlement rule. Under this rule, traders who had not paid to pick up the shares or had not sold their shares within the specified cut-off period would have their holdings be force-sold by the respective stockbroking firms. The leading Hard Disk Drive (HDD) maker closed at a new low of 80.5 sen after being the third most active stock on Monday, 24 September. There were also indications that market-making activities by institutions had led to the sell down of the share in order to profit from a fall in the company’s warrant. It is presumed that these institutions had sold warrants at higher prices few days prior to picking up the much cheaper warrants now.
Significance: Earlier in August, JCY saw the dumping of its shares by funds due to weaker results, bleak outlook for the HDD sector and a downgrade in its recommendation. Despite receiving a lower target price of between RM1.20 to RM1.45 by leading stockbroking houses, JCY has since continued to decline.
(I'm not holding any share on JCY.Just for my case review only).
Don't know about the mother but I'm keenly following the warrants. CF especially. Big lots sold at 0.025 today and also yesterday - someone or some people throwing 5,000 lots in one shot several times. Forced selling? But when this is over, then the supply-demand principle will also be in action at the other end too... provided JCY picks up a bit.
BANGKOK: -- Bangkok residents can expect more downpours and likely flooding over the next few days.
According to the Meteorological Department's forecast, thunderstorms will affect most parts of Bangkok and its adjacent provinces until next Monday. Cloudbursts are expected in many areas too.
Following hour-long downpours, traffic became paralysed in several parts of Bangkok as dozens of roads were swamped. Bangkok's total rainfall this month is already the highest for any month in five decades.
The Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) has warned residents that it takes several hours for all the water to drain after a heavy downpour. It says the capital's water-drainage system is designed to deal with up to 60 millimetres of rainfall only.
Dear all the sifus, i just came back from holidays and i just lost 100K!!!! My partner will certainly KILL me for this!! What should i do now?? Any comments please?!! I don't want to jump down just yet.... :(
We are initiating coverage on JCY with a MARKET PERFORM rating and a Target Price of RM0.85 based on 1.15x P/BV. JCY is one of the largest global precision engineering manufacturers of HDD mechanical components. Since Aug 2012, JCY’s share price has corrected by 50.0% from its peak. Despite this, we reckon that the share price could still continue to be overshadowed by a number of concerns on the industry outlook at this juncture. We believe macro uncertainties, challenging industry trends and possible company-specific issues will be the headwinds limiting a strong rebound in the share price. The tide in the industry has turned negative and JCY being a leader in the local HDD sector is likely to feel the adverse impacts. In fact, its earning visibility is likely to get worse before it gets better over the next 6 months. Hence, the investment strategy on the stock, in our view, is to wait out the sector weakness at the moment and re-look for opportunities later when the sector woes clear up a little. Our current MARKET PERFORM rating is premised on the stock offering an upside of 6% to our Target Price.
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Namoyaki Takarajima
1,530 posts
Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-09-25 09:36 | Report Abuse
datuk, siam girl nice eyh?