BERJAYA FOOD BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): BJFOOD (5196)

-0.02 (4.71%)

0.40 - 0.42

7 people like this.

2,343 comment(s). Last comment by speakup 21 hours ago

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2015-12-10 04:15 | Report Abuse

If you know accounting well, the net profit has not plummeted but instead improved from last quarter and also the corresponding previous quarter. In fact BFOOD is doing better every quarter. If you read carefully, the gain last year was a one off gain, which means this gain is only one off and did not come from its operating revenue.

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2015-12-10 11:01 | Report Abuse

Another Starbucks-led quarter

2QFY4/16 core net profit, which grew +24% YoY and +1.6% QoQ to MYR6.2m, was only MYR1.0m short of our initial expectation due to the weaker MYR (2QFY16 forex loss was MYR1.0m). 2QFY16 revenue growth was a stronger +80% YoY, mainly driven by Berjaya Starbucks (BStarbucks). We tweaked our FY16/17/18 net profit forecasts by -6%/-2%/-2% to factor in softer operating margins from the weaker MYR and correspondingly adjust our TP by –5sen to MYR3.05 (pegged to unchanged 22.5x CY17 FD PER). Maintain BUY

cheeseburger

2,849 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-12-10 11:49 | Report Abuse

i suggest they may need to reconsider KRR business. Is this business making dollar sense? Look at Nandos. Learn from Nandos. how ppl can do so well.

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2015-12-10 12:18 | Report Abuse

Agreed.. they should divest KRR

Posted by aurangzeb318 > 2015-12-14 13:37 | Report Abuse

EPS is still higher than previous quarter and good Revenue.

spectre007

1,407 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2015-12-14 19:16 | Report Abuse

Can see that not many sellers unless the price is right...

Posted by BetterFuture > 2016-01-28 17:17 | Report Abuse

Wow, price going down so steep. Anyone know what is going on?

f18_A

132 posts

Posted by f18_A > 2016-01-28 17:18 | Report Abuse

F-18/A IS JET FIGHTER PLANE..CALL HORNET.

travoltakeong

1,502 posts

Posted by travoltakeong > 2016-02-01 10:23 | Report Abuse

As of today, Berjaya Food Bhd's intrinsic value calculated from the Discounted Earnings model is RM0.62.

PeterNg

409 posts

Posted by PeterNg > 2016-02-17 11:46 | Report Abuse

This incidents happen in Penang Shopping Mall.
I am surprise there was only one table people in KRR on 12-Feb-2016.
While people queue outside the shop during dinner for Nando and Sushi King.

submarine

32 posts

Posted by submarine > 2016-02-19 07:27 | Report Abuse

The same thing happens in JB everyday while I am happy to see people walking around with a starbucks in their hands. But I really hope BJFood can get rid of KRR and expand Krispy Kreme to JB.

cychoy

19 posts

Posted by cychoy > 2016-03-01 18:28 | Report Abuse

travoltakeong Please enlighten me how you got the intrinsic value of RM0,62 using discounted cash flow method?

Hk Wong

420 posts

Posted by Hk Wong > 2016-03-10 14:16 | Report Abuse

in miri same goes to sushi king outlet have to que

cheeseburger

2,849 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2016-03-10 20:53 | Report Abuse

Nando marketing strategy is good, all kind of promotion/discount/ free chicken reach to customer, since when there is similar promotion for KRR? I don't recall if there is any...why don't BJFood review their strategy and see if they consider to keep this falling KRR business...or sell it off?

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2016-03-31 16:17 | Report Abuse

Hi team , do you know why I cannot find any detail like excercise price , expired date about this : BJFOOD-WA BERJAYA FOOD-WARRANTS
because I wish to buy wa but cant see expired date at i3investor website ?
do you guys know why ?
can help , I appreciate your guys

Posted by bananajerk > 2016-04-25 10:08 | Report Abuse

hot weather will definitely boost the sales of starbucks, and the appreciation of MYR will reduce the import cost of material, buy before it is too late

cheeseburger

2,849 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2016-04-26 23:07 | Report Abuse

Security Name: BJFOOD-WA
Type: Company Warrants
Listing Date: 13 Aug 2012
Maturity Date: 08 Aug 2017
Issue Size in Unit: 115,081,760
Exercise Price: 0.7000
Conversion Ratio: 1 Warrant : 1 New BJFOOD Share
Settlement Type: Physical (Shares)

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-04-27 15:23 | Report Abuse

cheeseburger why bjfood so cheap now, do you think is a good timing to buy more,
ivan9511, you need to check warrant at malayaisa biz site , i3investor no info of bjwa.

And cheeseburger , I dont understand what is the different between :
Settlement Type: Physical (Shares) and Settlement Type: Cash

PeterNg

409 posts

Posted by PeterNg > 2016-05-16 13:06 | Report Abuse

Boring stock, no volume at all.

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2016-05-27 13:52 | Report Abuse

Boring stock, no volume at all. +1

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2016-06-02 13:39 | Report Abuse

I day up next day drop....

Mgician

716 posts

Posted by Mgician > 2016-06-10 17:50 | Report Abuse

EPS only 1.05 in this QR, one of the stock in focus in Monday

Posted by comebackisreal > 2016-06-11 01:26 | Report Abuse

Sapu

Posted by davidpau98 > 2016-06-13 17:20 | Report Abuse

i think this stock is a disaster making due to KRR. management is not good enough to solve the KRR problem, KRR menu is not attractive, i have dine in KRR couple mth ago, it is not really taste that good but the service is ok. clean and comfortable. i believe they really need a good head chef for the menu. since nandos have their hot source, why don't KRR create their own hot source too? like KRR sambal? everyone love sambal.

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2016-06-13 19:38 | Report Abuse

agreed

PeterNg

409 posts

Posted by PeterNg > 2016-06-14 10:33 | Report Abuse

Price did not go down?

Posted by davidpau98 > 2016-06-14 13:30 | Report Abuse

one more cent and price going to hit 52weeks lowest, still no actual plan how management going to solve the KRR problem, or they want to wait for ''all time lowest''? ganti the head chef and marketing la, apa susah ni... by the way, i haven't bought any share... not yet

tomwah

1,599 posts

Posted by tomwah > 2016-06-14 16:04 | Report Abuse

slow and stable

Posted by comebackisreal > 2016-06-14 22:09 | Report Abuse

Sold all. Damn. Thought starbuck can help to increase the profit. Damn it

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-06-15 18:52 | Report Abuse

@davidpau98 Hope you can keep up updated on your assessment of BJFood. I've been following it too and hoping to have it as a longer-term investment. Being at a 52-week low looks attractive. But maybe it's better to wait a bit more. Let it carve a new support point first.

Posted by comebackisreal > 2016-06-15 20:41 | Report Abuse

Bjfood have new product to sell. Sell red chilli XD

Posted by comebackisreal > 2016-06-16 18:19 | Report Abuse

Red chilli buy one free one

xncziyi44

124 posts

Posted by xncziyi44 > 2016-06-17 09:10 | Report Abuse

actually the second generation owners are not skill n tough enough running their corp.same in many listed co.used professional managers may be better.let them have their equity only less business decision.very difficult choise; blood is so much thicker.

kinfatt999

2,913 posts

Posted by kinfatt999 > 2016-06-17 12:11 | Report Abuse

stock under bjcorp really cannot buy, dividen pay also kiam siap, 1sen only

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-06-20 17:17 | Report Abuse

Are the sellers gone and is 1.58 the support? Might not be a bad time to buy a few lots. KRR pulls the company down but the top management most likely has a plan. 1 sen dividend is chickenfeed, yes. But BJFOOD pays out every quarter. The more important thing is the share price, of course. If this is the bottom, then now is a good time as any.

tomwah

1,599 posts

Posted by tomwah > 2016-06-20 17:52 | Report Abuse

tomoro can buy ???

kkgan

142 posts

Posted by kkgan > 2016-06-20 19:03 | Report Abuse

Bjfood
52 weeks low 1.57
52 weeks high 2.67
Now 1.60

xncziyi44

124 posts

Posted by xncziyi44 > 2016-06-21 02:19 | Report Abuse

what plan the chief go in n cut the bullshit at kenny r r. get the music up ,make more noise more promotions chicken fairs whatever but give it more ...omp compete fight ,get our share,dont accept a sleeping brand.

submarine

32 posts

Posted by submarine > 2016-06-21 08:03 | Report Abuse

The company starts to buy back the share, stopping the slides in price or seeing value in current price?

Posted by davidpau98 > 2016-06-21 10:30 | Report Abuse

i only thinking at least the next q result if not one or two years. if i assuming next q still bad, it wont hold long but drop back again. plus i wont invest any till the brexit. dropping or rasing ringgit will make other counter easier to predict their q3 and q4 earning. i can tell you if ringgit rose alot, i will rather put money in counter like opensys than this counter, those counters already have confirm bulk orders, profit or not really depand on currency exchange.

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-06-21 11:36 | Report Abuse

That's the clincher. I was also thinking about OpenSys the past few weeks. 0.28 looks to be strong support and this company seems to the local leader when it comes to cash deposit and similar machines. Currency-wise, I believe it's more likely for ringgit to recover than it getting to like last year.

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-06-21 12:20 | Report Abuse

I've observed that with this kind of counter, one will likely (there's never a guarantee) make a profit when he: 1) didn't buy at near the historical highest point. 2) Waits "long enough".

It will always be a guess when it comes to buying. We simply won't know what the lowest point really is until after the facts. With BJFood, 1.58 might have been the lowest point. Or this point might be tested again in the near future, and fail to hold. We have seen "cheap" becoming cheaper so many times. With Parkson, for instance, which is just one of many examples. Just when you thought "It can't possibly get lower than this", it does!

But we have also seen of many turnarounds. AirAsia is a very good example. Most of us should remember that period after the report by one Hong Kong analyst. Just some months ago it was at 0.90. Many were speculating it would go to 0.50. But it staged a remarkable turnaround after that. Those who took the risk easily made at least 100% returns. Many others are filled with regret about that missed chance.

BJFood may not command the same attention among investors and traders. But one can't deny it is quite attractively price right now. When compared to previously. There's the worry about it slipping again. But I think we can mitigate this by setting a cut-loss point. If it gets below 1.55, for instance, then just sell. Take the small loss there and then. Actually this is what I'm doing with BJFood - had used one-third of the allocated capital for it to buy at this level. Will add more should the price show signs of recovery. Have to take risks at one point. We just don't know when "the best time" really is.

tomwah

1,599 posts

Posted by tomwah > 2016-06-22 09:14 | Report Abuse

....keep faster your seatbelt .....

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-06-27 20:23 | Report Abuse

Considering the general market since Brexit, this counter's performance is encouraging. Don't have to put up anything spectacular. Slow and steady is just fine.

Posted by davidpau98 > 2016-06-29 16:54 | Report Abuse

doesn't show slow and steady for me. fly high in few days without any clear reason. no big changing on the menu or market stratergy, as i dine in time squares krr yesterday. no change of management. new starbuck doesn't guarantee of profit earning. someone or some group are goreng this share. doesn't want to enter as a speculator.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-29 18:36 | Report Abuse

davidpau98 agreed lol from 1.57 fly till now, why no any news ffrom newspaper or TV , any reason, or bjc goreng it up sendiri ???

Posted by comebackisreal > 2016-07-05 15:28 | Report Abuse

Out of expectation. This stock can rise back to 1.80

aikinlai

896 posts

Posted by aikinlai > 2016-07-27 13:53 | Report Abuse

Is anyone thinking that bjfood might bid for the mcdonalds 20 year franchise right? Or any other player that u got info?

Gusen

1,871 posts

Posted by Gusen > 2016-08-01 09:38 | Report Abuse

this stock will goreng soon

Posted by stephanieloo87 > 2016-08-01 20:00 | Report Abuse

Does anyone know the impacts of Employees Share Scheme against the existing shareholders and share price?